VPN 如何影响 Internet 速度

VPN 通过对流量加密来确保连接安全和私密,但这会带来安全性和性能之间的取舍,因为某些 VPN 功能会引入延迟。

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义“VPN”和“延迟”
  • 了解 VPN 如何造成延迟
  • 探索 VPN 的替代方案

复制文章链接

什么是 VPN?

虚拟专用网络(VPN)是一种 Internet 安全服务,能够让用户像连接专用网络一样接入 Internet。VPN 可以加密 Internet 通信,并使用户活动保持匿名。

虚拟专用网络(VPN)

人们需要在 Internet 上获得额外一层隐私和安全性时会使用VPN。因此,VPN 在员工需要远程办公或分散于全球的公司中非常受欢迎。但 VPN 具有一个内在缺点:它们通常会造成延迟。

什么是延迟?

在 Internet 上,延迟指的是从用户发起操作到获得响应之间的时间量。例如,用户点击链接以查看图像与浏览器显示该图像之间的延迟。假设鲍勃点击一个链接,等待几秒之后图像才加载。在这一情形中,鲍勃的请求遇到了很大的延迟。

什么是延迟?

造成 Internet 延迟的一个主要原因是数据访问位置和交付位置之间的物理距离。当用户发出 Internet 请求时,请求和随后响应必须传输的距离越远,用户遇到的延迟就越长。例如,如果位于加利福尼亚的爱丽丝向某个网站发出请求,并且该网站的内容存储在几英里外的 CDN 服务器中,那么请求和响应的速度都非常快,因为需要传输的距离很短。

不过,如果爱丽丝向位于韩国的网站服务器发出请求,那么请求和响应花费的时间要长得多。如同搭乘具有许多连接点的国际航班一样,每个请求和响应在从A 点传到 B 点时都要经过一系列路由器。路由器之间的每一个“跃点”都会带来更多延迟。了解有关延迟的更多信息 > >

VPN 如何增加延迟?

增加传输时间

VPN 会给请求和响应造成额外的传输时间,从而增加延迟。例如,假设鲍勃是位于俄勒冈的远程员工,并且使用基于德克萨斯的 VPN 服务来连接他的公司网络。每当鲍勃的计算机通过 Internet 通信时,都必须将请求一路发送到德克萨斯,他的 VPN 服务接着解密请求并将其转发到 Web 服务器。Web 服务器而后将响应发送回德克萨斯的 VPN 服务器,VPN 最后对响应进行加密并将其发送给俄勒冈的鲍勃。

也就是说,即使鲍勃尝试与距离他家几英里远的数据中心通信,他的请求也必须从俄勒冈一路传送到得克萨斯,再回到俄勒冈,其响应也须如此。这就是所谓的长号效应,它会带来许多延迟。

长号效应

服务器负载

服务器负载也会增加延迟,而且连接 VPN 会给用户带来遭遇服务器负载问题的新机会。假设爱丽丝与 1000 个其他用户同时连接到某一 VPN 服务器,并且该服务器的容量仅够一次处理 300 个请求。服务器有可能会过载,并开始排队或丢弃请求,从而减慢爱丽丝以及该 VPN 的许多其他用户的加载时间。对于免费和廉价 VPN 服务,这种遭遇尤为常见。

加密

使用 VPN 时,用户与 VPN 之间的所有通信都会加密。加密过程需要时间,长短视所用加密类型而异,这有可能显著增加 Internet 通信的延迟。VPN 加密强度与延迟之间需要权衡;通常,加密协议安全性越高,耗时就越久,造成的延迟也越长。(应注意,TLS 1.3 等一些新型加密协议旨在通过加快加密过程来纠正此问题。)

IPsec 和 SSL VPN 性能对比

VPN 使用的加密协议中有两种最为流行:在 OSI 模型的网络层上运行的 IPsec,以及在应用程序层上运行的 SSL(也称为 TLS)。在挑选 VPN 提供商时,客户必须要决定选择哪一种协议。

IPsec 和 SSL 提供了非常相似的性能速率,但是 IKEv2/IPSec 协议连接协商速度稍快一些,因具有些许性能优势。

需要注意的是,在涉及防火墙时 SSL VPN的性能可能会更好。由于 SSL VPN 流量与普通的 HTTPS Internet 流量没有区别,因此不太可能被防火墙阻止或限速。

VPN 能否提高 Internet 速度?

在特定情况下,VPN 可以提高某些服务的速度。ISP 有时会限流或人为减慢特定类型的流量。例如,一些大型 ISP 对 Netflix 等流媒体娱乐服务实施限流。如果 ISP 限制与特定服务的通信速度,则 VPN 可以规避这种限制,因为 VPN 加密使得 ISP 无法知道用户正在与哪些服务进行通信。

有没有速度更快的方案来替代 VPN?

Cloudflare Access 是一种身份和访问管理(IAM)产品,能够监控用户对托管于 Cloudflare 的任何网域、应用程序或路径的访问。它能与单点登录(SSO)(身份)提供程序(如 Okta 和 Google Auth)集成,同时也允许管理员更改和自定义用户权限。

Many businesses are starting to use remote access services to replace their corporate VPNs, because they are much easier to use and do not encounter al ofl the same latency issues as VPNs. Since Cloudflare Access leverages Cloudflare's global network, customers can expect speedy performance from anywhere in the world, integrated with a powerful zero trust security solution. To get started with a free version of Cloudflare Access, see our Developer documentation.

How VPNs affect Internet speed

VPNs encrypt traffic to make a connection safe and private, but this can create a tradeoff between security and performance, as some VPN features can introduce latency.

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon
  • What is IAM?
  • Access Control
  • Zero Trust Security
  • What is SASE?
  • Secure Web Gateway
  • Remote Access
  • Glossary

VPN Speed

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define ‘VPN’ and ‘latency’
  • Understand how VPNs can create latency
  • Explore alternatives to VPNs

What is a VPN?

A virtual private network (VPN) is an Internet security service that allows users to access the Internet as though they were connected to a private network. VPNs encrypt Internet communications and keep user activity anonymous.

virtual private network (VPN)

People use VPNs when they need an extra layer of privacy and security on the Internet; for this reason, VPNs are very popular with companies that have remote or globally distributed workforces. But VPNs have a built-in drawback: they can often create latency.

What is latency?

On the Internet, latency refers to the amount of time between a user action and a resulting response —for instance, the delay between when a user clicks a link to view an image and when the browser displays that image. Suppose Bob clicks a link and it takes several seconds before the image loads. In this case, Bob’s request is experiencing significant latency.

What is Latency?

One of the primary causes of Internet latency is the physical distance between locations where data is accessed and delivered. When a user makes an Internet request, the farther the request and subsequent response have to travel, the more latency the user will experience. For example, if Alice in California makes a request to a website that has its content in a CDN server a few miles away, the request and response will be very fast because there is only a short distance to cover.

However, if Alice makes a request to a website server located in South Korea, the request and response will take significantly longer. Much like taking an international flight with many connections along the way, each request and response must travel through a series of routers as it travels from point A to point B. Each of these ‘hops’ from one router to another introduces more latency. Learn more about latency >>

How do VPNs increase latency?

Increased travel time

VPNs can increase latency by introducing extra travel time for requests and responses. For example, suppose Bob is a remote employee in Oregon and he uses a Texas-based VPN service to connect to his corporate network. Every time Bob’s computer communicates over the Internet, it must send a request all the way to Texas, and then his VPN service will decrypt the request and forward it to the web server. The web server will then send a response back to the VPN server in Texas, and finally the VPN will encrypt this response and send it to Bob in Oregon.

This means even if Bob is trying to communicate with a data center a few miles from his home, his request will have to travel all the way from Oregon to Texas and back again, and so will the response. This is known as the trombone effect, and it can introduce a lot of latency.

The Trombone Effect

Server load

Server load can also increase latency, and connecting to a VPN introduces a new opportunity for users to experience server load issues. Suppose Alice is connecting to a VPN server at the same time as 1,000 other users, and the server only has enough capacity to handle 300 requests at a time. The server will likely get overloaded and start queueing or dropping requests, slowing load times for Alice and many of the VPN’s other users. This experience is especially common with free and discount VPN service.

Encryption

With a VPN, all communication between the user and the VPN is encrypted. The encryption process takes time, and depending on the type of encryption used, this may add noticeable latency to Internet communications. There is a tradeoff between VPN encryption strength and latency; typically, the most secure encryption protocols are more time-consuming and create the greatest amount of latency. (It should be noted that some newer encryption protocols such as TLS 1.3 aim to correct this by speeding up the encryption process.)

IPsec vs SSL VPN performance

The two most popular encryption protocols used by VPNs are IPsec, which runs on the network layer of the OSI model, and SSL (also known as TLS), which runs on the application layer. When choosing a VPN provider, customers will have to decide which protocol they prefer.

IPsec and SSL provide very similar performance rates, but the IKEv2/IPSec protocol provides slightly faster connection negotiation speeds, giving it a slight performance edge.

One caveat here is that SSL VPNs may perform better when there are firewalls involved. Since SSL VPN traffic is indistinguishable from normal HTTPS Internet traffic, it is less likely to get blocked or rate limited by a firewall.

Can a VPN improve Internet speed?

Under specific circumstances, VPNs can increase speeds for certain services. ISPs sometimes throttle, or artificially slow down, specific types of traffic; for example, several major ISPs have throttled streaming entertainment services like Netflix. If an ISP throttles communication speeds with a specific service, a VPN could circumvent this throttling, because the VPN encryption will prevent the ISP from knowing which services the user is communicating with.

Is there a faster alternative to a VPN?

Cloudflare Access is an identity and access management (IAM) product that monitors user access to any domain, application, or path hosted on Cloudflare. It integrates with single sign-on (SSO) (identity) providers like Okta and Google Auth while allowing administrators to alter and customize user permissions.

Many businesses are starting to use remote access services to replace their corporate VPNs, because they are much easier to use and do not encounter al ofl the same latency issues as VPNs. Since Cloudflare Access leverages Cloudflare’s global network, customers can expect speedy performance from anywhere in the world, integrated with a powerful zero trust security solution.