The OSI Model

The Open Systems Interconnection Model breaks down network communication into seven layers.

Common DDoS Attacks
DDoS Attack Tools
DDoS Glossary of Terms

The OSI Model

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define The OSI Model
  • Identify The 7 Layers Of The OSI Model

What is the OSI Model?

The Open Systems Interconnection Model (OSI model) defines the components of a network connection in seven protocol layers. It is a conceptual framework which can be used to understand the components behind a network connection and is useful in understanding the types of DDoS attacks.

Each layer handle a specific job and communicates with the layers above and below itself. DDoS attacks target specific layers of a network connection; application layer attacks target layer 7 and protocol layer attacks target layers 3 and 4.