什么是远程桌面协议(RDP)?

远程桌面协议(RDP)使员工可以在远程工作时连接到其办公用桌面计算机。

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 了解远程桌面连接的工作方式
  • 了解远程桌面协议(RDP)的功能
  • 探讨 RDP 的优缺点

相关内容


想要继续学习吗?

订阅 TheNET,这是 Cloudflare 每月对互联网上最流行见解的总结!

参阅 Cloudflare 的隐私政策,了解我们如何收集和处理您的个人数据。

复制文章链接

什么是远程桌面协议(RDP)?

远程桌面协议 (RDP) 指的是用于远程使用桌面计算机的协议或技术标准。远程桌面软件可以使用几种不同的协议,如 RDP、独立计算架构 (ICA) 和虚拟网络计算 (VNC) 等,但 RDP 是最常用的协议。RDP 最初由微软公司发布,可用于大多数 Windows 操作系统,但 Mac 操作系统也提供相应的支持。

“远程桌面”是什么意思?

远程桌面是从另外一台计算机连接并使用远方的桌面计算机的功能。远程桌面用户可以访问其桌面,打开和编辑文件,并使用各种应用程序,就如实际坐在桌面计算机前一样。员工在出差期间或居家办公时,通常使用远程桌面软件访问其办公用计算机。

远程桌面访问与云计算有显著差别,尽管两者都能让员工实现远程办公。在云计算中,用户访问存储在云端(具体而言,云服务器中)的文件和应用程序。相反,使用远程桌面软件时,用户实际上是在访问其物理桌面计算机,并且只能使用存储于该桌面计算机本地的文件和应用程序。对于远程工作者而言,云计算有时更易于使用和实施,但许多公司尚未迁移到云,或者由于安全或法规方面的原因而无法迁移到云。

RDP 如何工作?

可以比作遥控无人机或玩具车。用户按下按钮并操控远处的无人机或玩具车,并将命令传输给它们。使用 RDP 有点像这样:用户的鼠标移动和击键通过互联网远程传输到其桌面计算机,而不是通过无线电波传输。用户的桌面显示在他们从中连接的计算机上,就像坐在桌面前一样。

RDP 协议开启一个专用的网络通道,用于在连接的两台计算机(远程桌面和当前使用的计算机)之间来回发送数据。为此,它始终使用网络端口 3389。鼠标移动、击键、桌面显示和所有其他必要的数据利用 TCP/IP 并通过此通道发送,这是用于大多数种类的 Internet 流量的传输协议。RDP 也会加密所有数据,提升通过公共互联网连接的安全性。

由于必须对键盘和鼠标活动进行加密并通过互联网传输(这需要花费几毫秒时间),而且必须将桌面显示传回给用户,因此经常会出现一些延迟。例如,如果用户双击某个应用程序以将其打开,则“双击”可能要等待几毫秒才会执行,因为用户操作需要传输到桌面后才会执行。然后,应用程序打开时也要等待一个短暂的延迟让显示画面传回给用户。

使用 RDP 有什么优缺点?

RDP 有几个优点。一个优点是它不需要 VPN。数据也会安全地存储在用户的桌面上,而不是存储到云服务器或用户的不安全个人设备上。此外,RDP 使具有传统本地 IT 设置的公司可以实现员工居家办公。

不过,RDP 可能会导致用户遭受延迟,尤其是在其本地互联网连接速度较慢的情况下。这可能会使远程员工感到沮丧,并降低他们的工作效率。RDP 还具有一些严重的安全漏洞,容易受到网络攻击。(进一步了解 RDP 安全性。)

Cloudflare 如何帮助加快和保护 RDP?

Cloudflare Spectrum reduces network latency associated with long-distance RDP connections and other network issues. Cloudflare decreases the connection time for sessions and helps reduce overall network latency for a more real-time user experience by using smart routing. Cloudflare also offers Tunnel to prevent unauthorized port 3389 connections, making RDP more secure.

In addition, the Cloudflare Zero Trust platform helps keep remote teams secure and productive. By placing RDP-connected assets behind the Cloudflare network, companies can use SSO credentials to validate sessions, instead of relying on weak user passwords.

What is the Remote Desktop Protocol (RDP)?

The Remote Desktop Protocol (RDP) makes it possible for employees to connect to their work desktop computer when they work remotely.

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon
  • What is IAM?
  • Access Control
  • Zero Trust Security
  • What is a CASB?
  • Secure Web Gateway
  • Remote Access
  • Glossary

Remote Desktop Protocol

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Understand how remote desktop connections work
  • Learn what the Remote Desktop Protocol (RDP) does
  • Explore the pros and cons of RDP

What is the Remote Desktop Protocol (RDP)?

The Remote Desktop Protocol (RDP) is a protocol, or technical standard, for using a desktop computer remotely. Remote desktop software can use several different protocols, including RDP, Independent Computing Architecture (ICA), and virtual network computing (VNC), but RDP is the most commonly used protocol. RDP was initially released by Microsoft and is available for most Windows operating systems, but it can be used with Mac operating systems too.

What does 'remote desktop' mean?

Remote desktop is the ability to connect with and use a faraway desktop computer from a separate computer. Remote desktop users can access their desktop, open and edit files, and use applications as if they were actually sitting at their desktop computer. Employees often use remote desktop software to access their work computers when they are traveling or working from home.

Remote desktop access is very different from cloud computing, even though both allow employees to work remotely. In cloud computing, users access files and applications that are stored in the cloud — specifically, in cloud servers. In contrast, when using remote desktop software, users are actually accessing their physical desktop computer, and can only use files and applications saved locally on that desktop. Cloud computing is sometimes easier to use and more efficient to implement for remote workforces, but many companies have not migrated to the cloud, or cannot for security or regulatory reasons.

How does RDP work?

Think of a remote-controlled drone or toy car. The user presses buttons and steers the drone or car from afar, and their commands are transmitted to the vehicle. Using RDP is somewhat like that: the user's mouse movements and keystrokes are transmitted to their desktop computer remotely, but over the Internet instead of over radio waves. The user's desktop is displayed on the computer they are connecting from, just as if they were sitting in front of it.

The RDP protocol opens a dedicated network channel for sending data back and forth between the connected machines (the remote desktop and the computer currently in use). It always uses network port 3389 for this purpose. Mouse movements, keystrokes, the desktop display, and all other necessary data are sent over this channel via TCP/IP, which is the transport protocol used for most types of Internet traffic. RDP also encrypts all data so that connections over the public Internet are more secure.

Because keyboard and mouse activity has to be encrypted and transmitted over the Internet, which takes a few milliseconds, and because the desktop display has to be transmitted back to the user, slight delays often occur. For instance, if a user double-clicks on an application to open it, the "double click" may not take place for a few milliseconds as the user's action is transmitted to the desktop before being carried out. Then, when the application opens, there may be another short delay while the display is transmitted back to the user.

What are the pros and cons of using RDP?

There are several advantages to RDP. One advantage is that it does not require a VPN. It also keeps data stored securely on the user's desktop, instead of storing it on cloud servers or on the user's unsecured personal devices. Furthermore, RDP enables companies with a legacy on-premises IT setup to allow their employees to work from home.

However, RDP may cause users to experience lag, especially if their local Internet connection is slow. This can frustrate remote employees and cut down on their productivity. RDP also has some serious security vulnerabilities that leave it open to cyber attacks. (Learn more about RDP security.)

How does Cloudflare help accelerate and secure RDP?

Cloudflare Spectrum reduces network latency associated with long-distance RDP connections and other network issues. Cloudflare decreases the connection time for sessions and helps reduce overall network latency for a more real-time user experience by using smart routing. Cloudflare also uses Argo Tunnel to prevent unauthorized port 3389 connections, making RDP more secure.

In addition, the Cloudflare for Teams product suite helps keep remote teams secure and productive. By placing RDP-connected assets behind Cloudflare Access, companies can use SSO credentials to validate sessions, instead of relying on weak user passwords.