什么是 DNS? | DNS 的工作方式

DNS 可使用户使用域名而不是 IP 地址连接到网站。了解 DNS 的工作方式。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

DNS

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义 DNS
  • 理解 DNS 的工作方式
  • 区分递归和迭代 DNS 查找
  • 将权威性域名服务器与递归 DNS 解析器分开
  • 探索 DNS 高速缓存的工作方式

什么是 DNS?

域名系统 (DNS) 是 Internet 电话簿。人们通过例如 nytimes.com 或 espn.com 等域名在线访问信息。Web 浏览器通过 Internet 协议 (IP) 地址进行交互。DNS 将域名转换为 IP 地址 ,以便浏览器能够加载 Internet 资源。

连接到 Internet 的每个设备都有一个唯一 IP 地址,其他计算机可使用该 IP 地址查找此设备。DNS 服务器使人们无需存储例如 192.168.1.1(IPv4 中)等 IP 地址或更复杂的较新字母数字 IP 地址,例如 2400:cb00:2048:1::c629:d7a2(IPv6 中)。

DNS

DNS 的工作方式

DNS 解析过程涉及将主机名(例如 www.example.com)转换为计算机友好的 IP 地址(例如 192.168.1.1)。Internet 上的每个设备都被分配了一个 IP 地址,必须有该地址才能找到相应的 Internet 设备 - 就像使用街道地址来查找特定住所一样。 当用户想要加载网页时,在用户在 Web 浏览器 (example.com) 中键入的内容与查找 example.com 网页所需的机器友好地址之间必须进行转换。

为理解 DNS 解析过程,务必了解 DNS 查询必须经过的不同硬件组件。对于 Web 浏览器,DNS 查找在“幕后”进行,除了初始请求外,不需要从用户的计算机进行任何交互。

加载网页涉及 4 个 DNS 服务器:

  • DNS 解析器 - 解析器可被视为被要求去图书馆的某个地方查找特定图书的图书馆员。DNS 解析器是一种服务器,旨在通过 Web 浏览器等应用程序接收客户端计算机的查询。然后,解析器一般负责发出其他请求,以便满足客户端的 DNS 查询。
  • 根域名服务器 - 根服务器是将人类可读的主机名转换(解析)为 IP 地址的第一步。可将其视为指向不同书架的图书馆中的索引 - 一般其作为对其他更具体位置的引用。
  • TLD 域名服务器 - 顶级域服务器 (TLD) 可被视为图书馆中的特定书架。此域名服务器是搜索特定 IP 地址的下一步,其托管主机名的最后一部分(在 example.com 中,TLD 服务器为 “com”)。
  • 权威性域名服务器 - 可将这个最终域名服务器视为书架上的字典,其中特定名称可被转换成其定义。权威性域名服务器是域名服务器查询中的最后一站。如果权威性域名服务器能够访问请求的记录,则其会将已请求主机名的 IP 地址返回到发出初始请求的 DNS 解析器(图书管理员)。

权威性 DNS 服务器与递归 DNS 解析器之间的区别是什么?

这两个概念都是指 DNS 基础设施不可或缺的服务器(服务器组),但每一个执行不同的角色,并且位于 DNS 查询管道内的不同位置。考虑二者差异的一种方式是,递归解析器位于 DNS 查询的开头,而权威性域名服务器位于末尾。

递归 DNS 解析器

递归解析器是一种计算机,其响应来自客户端的递归请求并花时间追踪 DNS 记录。为执行此操作,其发出一系列请求,直至到达用于所请求的记录的权威性 DNS 域名服务器为止(或者超时,或者如果未找到记录,则返回错误)。幸运的是,递归 DNS 解析器并不总是需要发出多个请求才能追踪响应客户端所需的记录;高速缓存是一种数据持久性过程,可通过在 DNS 查找中更早地服务于所请求的资源记录来帮助短路必要的请求。

DNS query diagram

权威性 DNS 服务器

简言之,权威性 DNS 服务器是实际持有并负责 DNS 资源记录的服务器。这是位于 DNS 查找链底部的服务器,其将使用所查询的资源记录进行响应,从而最终允许发出请求的 Web 浏览器达到访问网站或其他 Web 资源所需的 IP 地址。权威性域名服务器可满足来自其自身数据的查询,并且无需查询其他来源,因为这是某些 DNS 记录的最终真实来源。

DNS query diagram

值得一提的是,在查询对象为子域(例如 foo.example.com 或 blog.cloudflare.com )的情况下,将向权威性域名服务器之后的序列添加一个附加域名服务器,其负责存储该子域的 CNAME 记录

DNS query diagram

许多 DNS 服务与 Cloudflare 提供的服务之间存在一个关键区别。 Google DNS、OpenDNS 等不同 DNS 递归解析器以及 Comcast 等提供商均保持 DNS 递归解析器的数据中心安装。这些解析器可实现通过 DNS 优化式计算机系统的优化群集快速轻松地进行查询,但它们与 Cloudflare 托管的域名服务器截然不同。

Cloudflare 维护 Internet 功能不可或缺的基础设施级域名服务器。一个主要示例是 Cloudflare 部分负责托管的 f-根服务器网络。F 根是每天负责数十亿个 Internet 请求的根级 DNS 域名服务器基础设施组件之一。我们的 Anycast network 在处理大量 DNS 流量方面发挥着不可替代的作用,同时不会出现服务中断。

DNS 查找有哪些步骤?

大多数情况下,DNS 与正被转换为相应 IP 地址的域名有关。要了解此过程的工作方式,在 DNS 查找从 Web 浏览器经过 DNS 查找过程然后再返回时,跟踪 DNS 查找的路径会有所帮助。我们来看一下这些步骤。

注意:通常,DNS 查找信息将本地高速缓存在查询计算机内,或者远程高速缓存在 DNS 基础设施内。DNS 查找通常有 8 个步骤。高速缓存 DNS 信息时,将从 DNS 查找过程中跳过一些步骤,从而使该过程更快。以下示例概述了不高速缓存任何内容如时的所有 8 个步骤。

DNS 查找的 8 个步骤:

  1. 用户在 Web 浏览器中键入 “example.com”,查询传输到 Internet 中,然后 DNS 递归解析器接收该查询。
  2. 接着该解析器查询 DNS 根域名服务器 (.)。
  3. 然后根服务器使用存储其域信息的顶级域 (TLD) DNS 服务器(例如 .com 或 .net)的地址响应该解析器。在搜索 example.com 时,我们的请求指向 .com TLD。
  4. 然后该解析器向 .com TLD 发出请求。
  5. TLD 服务器随后使用该域的域名服务器 example.com 的 IP 地址进行响应。
  6. 最后,递归解析器将查询发送到该域的域名服务器。
  7. 接着 example.com 的 IP 地址从域名服务器返回该解析器。
  8. 然后 DNS 解析器使用最初请求的域的 IP 地址响应 Web 浏览器。

  9. DNS 查找的这 8 个步骤返回了 example.com 的 IP 地址后,浏览器便能够发出对该网页的请求:

  10. 浏览器向该 IP 地址发出 HTTP请求。
  11. 位于该 IP 的服务器返回将在浏览器中呈现的网页(第 10 步)。
DNS query diagram

什么是 DNS 解析器?

DNS 解析器是 DNS 查找的第一站,其负责与发出初始请求的客户端打交道。解析器启动查询顺序,这最终将使 URL 转换为必要的 IP 地址。

注意:典型的未高速缓存 DNS 查找将涉及递归查询和迭代查询。

务必区分递归 DNS 查询和递归 DNS 解析器。该查询是指向需要解析该查询的 DNS 解析器发出的请求。DNS 递归解析器是一种计算机,其接受递归查询并通过发出必要的请求来处理响应。

DNS query diagram

DNS 查询有哪些类型?

在典型 DNS 查找中会出现三种类型的查询。通过使用这些查询的组合,优化的 DNS 解析过程可缩短传输距离。在理想情况下,高速缓存的记录数据将可用,从而使 DNS 域名服务器能够返回非递归查询。

3 种 DNS 查询类型:

  1. 递归查询 - 在递归查询中,DNS 客户端要求 DNS 服务器(一般为DNS 递归解析器)将使用所请求的资源记录响应客户端,或者如果解析器无法找到该记录,则返回错误消息。

  2. 迭代查询 - 在这种情况下,DNS 客户端将允许 DNS 服务器返回其能够给出的最佳应答。如果所查询的 DNS 服务器与查询名称不匹配,则其将返回对较低级别域名空间具有权威性的 DNS 服务器的引用。然后,DNS 客户端将对引用地址进行查询。此过程继续使用查询链中的其他 DNS 服务器,直至发生错误或超时为止。

  3. 非递归查询 - 一般当 DNS 解析器客户端查询 DNS 服务器以获取其有权访问的记录时会进行此查询,因为其对该记录具有权威性,或者该记录存在于其高速缓存内 。一般 DNS 服务器将高速缓存 DNS 记录,以防止更多带宽消耗和上游服务器上的负载。

什么是 DNS 高速缓存?DNS 高速缓存发生在哪里?

高速缓存的目的是将数据临时存储在某个位置,从而提高数据请求的性能和可靠性。DNS 高速缓存涉及将数据存储在更靠近请求客户端的位置,以便能够更早地解析 DNS 查询,并且能够避免在 DNS 查找链中进一步向下的额外查询,从而缩短加载时间并减少带宽/CPU 消耗。DNS 数据可高速缓存在各个位置,每个位置均将存储 DNS 记录并保存由生存时间 (TTL) 确定的一段时间。

浏览器 DNS 高速缓存

新式 Web 浏览器被设计为默认将 DNS 记录高速缓存一段时间。目的很明显;越靠近 Web 浏览器进行 DNS 高速缓存,为检查高速缓存并向 IP 地址发出正确请求而必须采取的处理步骤就越少。发出对 DNS 记录的请求时,浏览器高速缓存是针对所请求的记录而检查的第一个位置。

在 Chrome 浏览器中,您可以转到 chrome://net-internals/#dns 查看 DNS 高速缓存的状态。

操作系统 (OS) 级 DNS 高速缓存

操作系统级 DNS 解析器是 DNS 查询离开您计算机前的第二站,也是本地最后一站。操作系统内旨在处理此查询的过程通常称为“存根解析器”或 DNS 客户端。当存根解析器获取来自某个应用程序的请求时,其首先检查自己的高速缓存,以便查看是否有此记录。如果没有,则其将本地网络外部的 DNS 查询(设置了递归标记)发送到 Internet 服务提供商 (ISP) 内部的 DNS 递归解析器。

与先前所有步骤一样,当 ISP 内的递归解析器收到 DNS 查询时,其还将查看所请求的主机到 IP 地址转换是否已经存储在其本地持久性层中。

根据其高速缓存中具有的记录类型,递归解析器还具有其他功能:

  1. 如果解析器没有 A 记录,但确实有针对权威性域名服务器的 NS 记录,则其将直接查询这些域名服务器,从而绕过 DNS 查询中的几个步骤。此快捷方式可防止从根和 .com 域名服务器(在我们对 example.com 的搜索中)进行查找,并且有助于更快地解析 DNS 查询。
  2. 如果解析器没有 NS 记录,其将向 TLD 服务器(在我们这里为 .com)发送查询,从而跳过根服务器。
  3. 万一解析器没有指向 TLD 服务器的记录,其将查询根服务器。这种情况通常在清除了 DNS 高速缓存后发生。

了解 Cloudflare DNS 与其他 DNS 提供商之间的区别。

Extensions Extension Products
Extensions Extension Products
Extensions Extension Products

What is DNS? How Does A Domain Name Server Work?

DNS is what lets users connect to websites using domain names instead of IP addresses. Learn how DNS works.

DNS

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define DNS
  • Understand how DNS works
  • Differentiate between recursive and iterative DNS lookups
  • Separate authoritative nameservers from recursive DNS resolvers
  • Explore how DNS caching works

What is DNS?

The Domain Name System (DNS) is the phonebook of the Internet. Humans access information online through domain names, like nytimes.com or espn.com. Web browsers interact through Internet Protocol (IP) addresses. DNS translates domain names to IP addresses so browsers can load Internet resources.

Each device connected to the Internet has a unique IP address which other machines use to find the device. DNS servers eliminate the need for humans to memorize IP addresses such as 192.168.1.1 (in IPv4), or more complex newer alphanumeric IP addresses such as 2400:cb00:2048:1::c629:d7a2 (in IPv6).

DNS

How does DNS work?

The process of DNS resolution involves converting a hostname (such as www.example.com) into a computer-friendly IP address (such as 192.168.1.1). An IP address is given to each device on the Internet, and that address is necessary to find the appropriate Internet device - like a street address is used to find a particular home. When a user wants to load a webpage, a translation must occur between what a user types into their web browser (example.com) and the machine-friendly address necessary to locate the example.com webpage.

In order to understand the process behind the DNS resolution, it’s important to learn about the different hardware components a DNS query must pass between. For the web browser, the DNS lookup occurs “ behind the scenes” and requires no interaction from the user’s computer apart from the initial request.

There are 4 DNS servers involved in loading a webpage:

  • DNS recursor - The recursor can be thought of as a librarian who is asked to go find a particular book somewhere in a library. The DNS recursor is a server designed to receive queries from client machines through applications such as web browsers. Typically the recursor is then responsible for making additional requests in order to satisfy the client’s DNS query.
  • Root nameserver - The root server is the first step in translating (resolving) human readable host names into IP addresses. It can be thought of like an index in a library that points to different racks of books - typically it serves as a reference to other more specific locations.
  • TLD nameserver - The top level domain server (TLD) can be thought of as a specific rack of books in a library. This nameserver is the next step in the search for a specific IP address, and it hosts the last portion of a hostname (In example.com, the TLD server is “com”).
  • Authoritative nameserver - This final nameserver can be thought of as a dictionary on a rack of books, in which a specific name can be translated into its definition. The authoritative name server is the last stop in the nameserver query. If the authoritative name server has access to the requested record, it will return the IP address for the requested hostname back to the DNS Recursor (the librarian) that made the initial request.

What's the difference between an authoritative DNS server and a recursive DNS resolver?

Both concepts refer to servers (groups of servers) that are integral to the DNS infrastructure, but each performs a different role and lives in different locations inside the pipeline of a DNS query. One way to think about the difference is the recursive resolver is at the beginning of the DNS query and the authoritative nameserver is at the end.

Recursive DNS resolver

The recursive resolver is the computer that responds to a recursive request from a client and takes the time to track down the DNS record. It does this by making a series of requests until it reaches the authoritative DNS nameserver for the requested record (or times out or returns an error if no record is found). Luckily, recursive DNS resolvers do not always need to make multiple requests in order to track down the records needed to respond to a client; caching is a data persistence process that helps short-circuit the necessary requests by serving the requested resource record earlier in the DNS lookup.

DNS query diagram
Authoritative DNS server

Put simply, an authoritative DNS server is a server that actually holds, and is responsible for, DNS resource records. This is the server at the bottom of the DNS lookup chain that will respond with the queried resource record, ultimately allowing the web browser making the request to reach the IP address needed to access a website or other web resources. An authoritative nameserver can satisfy queries from its own data without needing to query another source, as it is the final source of truth for certain DNS records.

DNS query diagram

It’s worth mentioning that in instances where the query is for a subdomain such as foo.example.com or blog.cloudflare.com, an additional nameserver will be added to the sequence after the authoritative nameserver, which is responsible for storing the subdomain’s CNAME record.

DNS query diagram

There is a key difference between many DNS services and the one that Cloudflare provides. Different DNS recursive resolvers such as Google DNS, OpenDNS, and providers like Comcast all maintain data center installations of DNS recursive resolvers. These resolvers allow for quick and easy queries through optimized clusters of DNS-optimized computer systems, but they are fundamentally different than the nameservers hosted by Cloudflare.

Cloudflare maintains infrastructure-level nameservers that are integral to the functioning of the Internet. One key example is the f-root server network which Cloudflare is partially responsible for hosting. The F-root is one of the root level DNS nameserver infrastructure components responsible for the billions of Internet requests per day. Our Anycast network puts us in a unique position to handle large volumes of DNS traffic without service interruption.

What are the steps in a DNS lookup?

For most situations, DNS is concerned with a domain name being translated into the appropriate IP address. To learn how this process works, it helps to follow the path of a DNS lookup as it travels from a web browser, through the DNS lookup process, and back again. Let's take a look at the steps.

Note: Often DNS lookup information will be cached either locally inside the querying computer or remotely in the DNS infrastructure. There are typically 8 steps in a DNS lookup. When DNS information is cached, steps are skipped from the DNS lookup process which makes it quicker. The example below outlines all 8 steps when nothing is cached.

The 8 steps in a DNS lookup:
  1. A user types ‘example.com’ into a web browser and the query travels into the Internet and is received by a DNS recursive resolver.
  2. The resolver then queries a DNS root nameserver (.).
  3. The root server then responds to the resolver with the address of a Top Level Domain (TLD) DNS server (such as .com or .net), which stores the information for its domains. When searching for example.com, our request is pointed toward the .com TLD.
  4. The resolver then makes a request to the .com TLD.
  5. The TLD server then responds with the IP address of the domain’s nameserver, example.com.
  6. Lastly, the recursive resolver sends a query to the domain’s nameserver.
  7. The IP address for example.com is then returned to the resolver from the nameserver.
  8. The DNS resolver then responds to the web browser with the IP address of the domain requested initially.
  9. Once the 8 steps of the DNS lookup have returned the IP address for example.com, the browser is able to make the request for the web page:

  10. The browser makes a HTTP request to the IP address.
  11. The server at that IP returns the webpage to be rendered in the browser (step 10).
DNS query diagram

What is a DNS resolver?

The DNS resolver is the first stop in the DNS lookup, and it is responsible for dealing with the client that made the initial request. The resolver starts the sequence of queries that ultimately leads to a URL being translated into the necessary IP address.

Note: A typical uncached DNS lookup will involve both recursive and iterative queries.

It's important to differentiate between a recursive DNS query and a recursive DNS resolver. The query refers to the request made to a DNS resolver requiring the resolution of the query. A DNS recursive resolver is the computer that accepts a recursive query and processes the response by making the necessary requests.

DNS query diagram

What are the types of DNS Queries?

In a typical DNS lookup three types of queries occur. By using a combination of these queries, an optimized process for DNS resolution can result in a reduction of distance traveled. In an ideal situation cached record data will be available, allowing a DNS name server to return a non-recursive query.

3 types of DNS queries:
  1. Recursive query - In a recursive query, a DNS client requires that a DNS server (typically a DNS recursive resolver) will respond to the client with either the requested resource record or an error message if the resolver can't find the record.
  2. Iterative query - in this situation the DNS client will allow a DNS server to return the best answer it can. If the queried DNS server does not have a match for the query name, it will return a referral to a DNS server authoritative for a lower level of the domain namespace. The DNS client will then make a query to the referral address. This process continues with additional DNS servers down the query chain until either an error or timeout occurs.
  3. Non-recursive query - typically this will occur when a DNS resolver client queries a DNS server for a record that it has access to either because it's authoritative for the record or the record exists inside of its cache. Typically, a DNS server will cache DNS records to prevent additional bandwidth consumption and load on upstream servers.

What is DNS caching? Where does DNS caching occur?

The purpose of caching is to temporarily stored data in a location that results in improvements in performance and reliability for data requests. DNS caching involves storing data closer to the requesting client so that the DNS query can be resolved earlier and additional queries further down the DNS lookup chain can be avoided, thereby improving load times and reducing bandwidth/CPU consumption. DNS data can be cached in a variety of locations, each of which will store DNS records for a set amount of time determined by a time-to-live (TTL).

Browser DNS caching

Modern web browsers are designed by default to cache DNS records for a set amount of time. the purpose here is obvious; the closer the DNS caching occurs to the web browser, the fewer processing steps must be taken in order to check the cache and make the correct requests to an IP address. When a request is made for a DNS record, the browser cache is the first location checked for the requested record.

In chrome, you can see the status of your DNS cache by going to chrome://net-internals/#dns.

Operating system (OS) level DNS caching

The operating system level DNS resolver is the second and last local stop before a DNS query leaves your machine. The process inside your operating system that is designed to handle this query is commonly called a “stub resolver” or DNS client. When a stub resolver gets a request from an application, it first checks its own cache to see if it has the record. If it does not, it then sends a DNS query (with a recursive flag set), outside the local network to a DNS recursive resolver inside the Internet service provider (ISP).

Recursive resolver DNS caching

When the recursive resolver inside the ISP receives a DNS query, like all previous steps, it will also check to see if the requested host-to-IP-address translation is already stored inside its local persistence layer.

The recursive resolver also has additional functionality depending on the types of records it has in its cache:

  1. If the resolver does not have the A records, but does have the NS records for the authoritative nameservers, it will query those name servers directly, bypassing several steps in the DNS query. This shortcut prevents lookups from the root and .com nameservers (in our search for example.com) and helps the resolution of the DNS query occur more quickly.
  2. If the resolver does not have the NS records, it will send a query to the TLD servers (.com in our case), skipping the root server.
  3. In the unlikely event that the resolver does not have records pointing to the TLD servers, it will then query the root servers. This event typically occurs after a DNS cache has been purged.

Learn about what differentiates Cloudflare DNS from other DNS providers.