什么是 CDN?| CDN 的工作原理是什么?

探索 CDN 的工作原理,其如何为网站和网络服务快速、高效和安全地交付内容。

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • Define a content delivery network (CDN)
  • 了解使用 CDN 的一些好处
  • 更详细了解 CDN 的工作方式

复制文章链接

什么是 CDN?

内容分发网络(CDN)是指一组分布在不同地理位置的服务器,协同工作以提供互联网内容的快速交付。

CDN 允许快速传输加载互联网内容所需的资源,包括 HTML 页面、javascript 文件、样式表、图像和视频。 CDN 服务已得到不断普及。如今,大多数 web 流量都通过 CDN 提供服务,包括来自Facebook、Netflix 和亚马逊等主要网站的流量。

正确配置的 CDN 还可帮助保护网站免受某些常见的恶意攻击,例如分布式拒绝服务(DDOS)攻击

CDN 是否与 web 主机一样?

虽然 CDN 不承载内容,也不能取代适当 web 托管的需求,但它确实帮助在网络边缘缓存内容,从而提高网站性能。许多网站很难通过传统的托管服务满足其性能需求,这就是他们选择 CDN 的原因。

CDN 利用缓存来减少托管带宽,帮助防止服务中断,以及提高安全性,因此对于传统网页托管带来的一些主要痛点,CDN 成为一种流行的选择。

使用 CDN 有什么好处?

尽管使用 CDN 的好处取决于互联网资产的大小和需求,但对于大多数用户而言,主要好处可以分为以下四个不同的部分:

  1. 缩短网站加载时间 – 通过将内容分发到访问者附近的 CDN 服务器(以及其他优化措施),访问者体验到更快的页面加载时间。由于访问者更倾向于离开加载缓慢的网站,CDN 可以降低跳出率并增加人们在该网站上停留的时间。换句话说,网站速度越快,用户停留的时间越长。
  2. 减少带宽成本 – 网站托管的带宽消耗成本是网站的主要费用。通过缓存和其他优化,CDN 能够减少源服务器必须提供的数据量,从而降低网站所有者的托管成本。
  3. 增加内容可用性和冗余 – 大流量或硬件故障可能会扰乱正常的网站功能。由于 CDN 具有分布式特性,因此与许多源服务器相比,CDN 可以处理更多流量并更好地承受硬件故障。
  4. 改善网站安全性 – CDN 可以通过提供 DDoS 缓解、安全证书的改进以及其他优化措施来提高安全性。

CDN 如何工作?

CDN 的核心是一个服务器网络,目的是尽可能快速、便宜、可靠和安全地交付内容。为了提高速度和连接性,CDN 会将服务器放置在不同网络之间的交换点。

这些互联网交换点(IXP)是不同互联网提供商连接的主要位置,以便彼此提供对来自其不同网络的流量的访问。通过连接到这些高速且高度互连的位置,CDN 提供商可以减少高速数据传输中的成本和传输时间。

什么是 CDN

除了在 IXP 中放置服务器,CDN 还对标准客户端/服务器数据传输进行了诸多优化。 CDN 将数据中心放置在全球的战略位置,增强安全性,并设计成可承受各种类型的故障和互联网拥塞。

延迟 – CDN 如何改善网站加载时间?

在网站加载内容方面,隨着网站速度变慢,用户数量会迅速减少。 CDN 服务可以通过以下方式帮助减少加载时间:

  • CDN 的全球分布性可缩短用户与网站资源之间的距离。CDN 使得用户不必连接到网站源服务器的所在地,而是连接到一个地理位置更近的数据中心。更少的传输时间意味着更快的服务。
  • 硬件和软件优化,例如有效的负载均衡和固态硬盘驱动器,可以帮助数据更快地到达用户。
  • CDN 可以使用最小化和文件压缩之类的策略来减小文件大小,从而减少传输的数据量。较小的文件意味着更快的加载时间。
  • CDN 还可以通过优化连接重用和启用 TLS 假启动来加速使用 TLS/SSL 的站点。

探索 CDN 帮助网站更快加载的所有方式

可靠性和冗余 – CDN 如何使网站始终保持在线状态?

对于拥有互联网资产的任何人来说,正常运行时间都是至关重要的组成部分。恶意攻击或只是受欢迎程度增加所致的硬件故障和流量激增,都有可能使 web 服务器停机并阻止用户访问站点或服务。完善的 CDN 具备一些可最大程度减少停机时间的功能:

  • 负载均衡可在多个服务器之间平均分配网络流量,从而更容易适应流量的快速增长。
  • 即使一台或多台 CDN 服务器由于硬件故障而脱机,智能故障切换也可提供不间断的服务;故障转移可以将流量重新分配给其他正常运行的服务器。
  • 如果整个数据中心都遇到技术问题,那么 Anycast 路由会将流量转移到另一个可用的数据中心,以确保所有用户都能继续访问网站。

进一步了解 CDN 如何帮助网站保持在线

数据安全性 – CDN 如何保护数据?

信息安全是 CDN 不可或缺的一部分。CDN 可以使用新的 TLS/SSL 证书保护站点的安全,这将确保高标准的身份验证、加密和完整性。了解有关 CDN 的安全问题,并探索可以采取什么措施来安全地交付内容。了解 CDN SSL/TLS 安全性

带宽费用 – CDN如何减少带宽成本?

源服务器每次响应请求时,都会消耗带宽。了解 CDN (例如 Cloudflare CDN )如何减少对源服务器的请求并降低带宽成本

What is a CDN?

Explore how a CDN works under the hood to deliver fast, efficient and secure delivery of content to websites and Internet services.

What is a CDN?

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define a content distribution network (CDN)
  • Understand some of the benefits of using a CDN
  • Explore more details of how a CDN works

What is a CDN?

A content delivery network (CDN) refers to a geographically distributed group of servers which work together to provide fast delivery of Internet content. A CDN allows for the quick transfer of assets needed for loading Internet content including HTML pages, javascript files, stylesheets, images, and videos. The popularity of CDN services continues to grow, and today the majority of web traffic is served through CDNs, including traffic from major sites like Facebook, Netflix, and Amazon.

A properly configured CDN may also help protect websites against some common malicious attacks, such as Distributed Denial of Service (DDOS) attacks.

Is a CDN the same as a web host?

While a CDN does not host content and can’t replace the need for proper web hosting, it does help cache content at the network edge, which improves website performance. Many websites struggle to have their performance needs met by traditional hosting services, which is why they opt for CDNs. By utilizing caching to reduce hosting bandwidth, helping to prevent interruptions in service, and improving security, CDNs are a popular choice to relieve some of the major pain points that come with traditional web hosting.

What are the benefits of using a CDN?

Although the benefits of using a CDN vary depending on the size and needs of an Internet property, the primary benefits for most users can be broken down into 4 different components:

  1. Improving website load times - By distributing content closer to website visitors by using a nearby CDN server (among other optimizations), visitors experience faster page loading times. As visitors are more inclined to click away from a slow-loading site, a CDN can reduce bounce rates and increase the amount of time that people spend on the site. In other words, a faster a website means more visitors will stay and stick around longer.
  2. Reducing bandwidth costs - Bandwidth consumption costs for website hosting is a primary expense for websites. Through caching and other optimizations, CDNs are able to reduce the amount of data an origin server must provide, thus reducing hosting costs for website owners.
  3. Increasing content availability and redundancy - Large amounts of traffic or hardware failures can interrupt normal website function. Thanks to their distributed nature, a CDN can handle more traffic and withstand hardware failure better than many origin servers.
  4. Improving website security - A CDN may improve security by providing DDoS mitigation, improvements to security certificates, and other optimizations.

How does a CDN work?

At its core, a CDN is a network of servers linked together with the goal of delivering content as quickly, cheaply, reliably, and securely as possible. In order to improve speed and connectivity, a CDN will place servers at the exchange points between different networks. These Internet exchange points (IXPs) are the primary locations where different Internet providers connect in order to provide each other access to traffic originating on their different networks. By having a connection to these high speed and highly interconnected locations, a CDN provider is able to reduce costs and transit times in high speed data delivery.

How a CDN works

Beyond placement of servers in IXPs, a CDN makes a number of optimizations on standard client/server data transfers. CDNs place Data Centers at strategic locations across the globe, enhance security, and are designed to survive various types of failures and Internet congestion.

Latency - How does a CDN improve website load times?

When it comes to websites loading content, users drop off quickly as a site slows down. CDN services can help to reduce load times in the following ways:

  • The globally distributed nature of a CDN means reduce distance between users and website resources. Instead of having to connect to wherever a website’s origin server may live, a CDN lets users connect to a geographically closer data center. Less travel time means faster service.
  • Hardware and software optimizations such as efficient load balancing and solid-state hard drives can help data reach the user faster.
  • CDNs can reduce the amount of data that’s transferred by reducing file sizes using tactics such as minification and file compression. Smaller file sizes mean quicker load times.
  • CDNs can also speed up sites which use TSL/SSL certificates by optimizing connection reuse and enabling TSL false start.

Explore all the ways a CDN helps websites load faster

Reliability and Redundancy - How does a CDN keep a website always online?

Uptime is a critical component for anyone with an Internet property. Hardware failures and spikes in traffic, as a result of either malicious attacks or just a boost in popularity, have the potential to bring down a web server and prevent users from accessing a site or service. A well-rounded CDN has several features that will minimize downtime:

  • Load balancing distributes network traffic evenly across several servers, making it easier to scale rapid boosts in traffic.
  • Intelligent failover provides uninterrupted service even if one or more of the CDN servers go offline due to hardware malfunction; the failover can redistribute the traffic to the other operational servers.
  • In the event that an entire data center is having technical issues, Anycast routing transfers the traffic to another available data center, ensuring that no users lose access to the website.

Learn more about how a CDN helps keep websites online

Data Security - How does a CDN protect data?

Information security is an integral part of a CDN. a CDN can keep a site secured with fresh TSL/SSL certificates which will ensure a high standard of authentication, encryption, and integrity. Investigate the security concerns surrounding CDNs, and explore what can be done to securely deliver content. Learn about CDN SSL/TLS security

Bandwidth Expense - How does a CDN reduce bandwidth costs?

Every time an origin server responds to a request, bandwidth is consumed. See how a CDN cuts down on origin requests. (coming soon)