加密货币 DDoS 攻击

代币交易所成为旨在中断服务的 DDoS 攻击的目标

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

加密货币 DDoS

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义加密货币
  • 描述加密货币网站面临的攻击类型

什么是加密货币?

加密货币是一种数字货币,与传统货币主要有两个区别。首先,加密货币不受任何政府的束缚或支持,因此是真正国际化的货币形式。其次,加密货币总是去中心化的。

中心化和去中心化货币有什么区别?

传统货币是中心化的。如果拥有美元的人将资金存入实体银行,则该银行将负责跟踪这些货币。这些资金的所有者必须回到该银行以才能取出资金。同样,如果该人想将自己的资金存入在线银行,则该在线银行将在中央服务器中对该人的帐户记录一笔金额。该银行的中央服务器是该人帐户的权威信息来源。在这两种情况下,货币都是中心化的,亦即可以从一个地方跟踪货币。

而对于加密货币而言,有关每个投资者拥有的货币数量的信息存储在许多(通常是数千台)计算机(称为节点)上。这些节点上的信息可公开访问,没有单个中央机构统一负责跟踪这些帐户。这意味着无论何时发生交易,每个节点都必须同时更新,以确保所有节点中的分类帐保持同步。

所有这些节点保持同步是非常重要的,因为如果没有同步,并且在所有分类账有机会更新之前,有人两次支出同一笔资金,货币就可能失效;这就是所谓的“重复支付”。称为区块链的流程可防止加密货币重复支付。

什么是区块链?

区块链是使加密货币成为可能的技术突破成果。对区块链的完整技术解释超出了本文的范围,但有一个重点,那就是区块链需要挖掘。

什么是加密货币挖掘?

在加密货币挖掘的过程中,计算机花费时间来解决一个非常复杂的数学问题,解决该问题之后,一组加密货币交易就会被添加到一组相似的交易集合队列中,这些交易集合将被广播到所有节点,更新它们的分类帐。为了鼓励挖掘,解决这些复杂数学问题的计算机将相应获得新的代币。这就是新的加密货币进入流通的方式。

为什么加密货币会遭到 DDoS 攻击?

像大多数高知名度的企业一样,代币交易所也成为 DDoS 攻击的目标。人们的兴趣激增、以及随之而来的加密货币相关流量的增加,都为不良行为者打开了大门,他们开始试图破坏加密货币资源,拒绝加密货币用户的访问。

分布式拒绝服务(DDoS) 攻击是破坏现代 Internet 的主要方法之一。通过使用虚假流量使目标超载,不良心行为者可以使网站或服务不可用。加密货币的热度和重要意义使其成为攻击的主要目标。

我们分析了一些攻击我们网络上的多个代币交易所的 DDoS 攻击,以评估可识别的兴趣模式。DDoS 流量的最主要来源包括 SSDP 放大攻击、NTP 放大攻击和应用程序层攻击

在大约一年的时间里,一项热门的代币交易服务被 76 次应用程序层 DDoS 攻击标记,但值得注意的是,流量的惊人增长可能会产生误报,导致正常流量显示出某些攻击迹象。无论如何,很明显,比特币交易已成为 DDoS 攻击的主要目标。

下图显示了截至 2017 年 12 月中旬,针对常用加密货币 Web 资产的潜在应用程序层攻击数量。

Cryptocurrency DDos Attack Frequency

特别令人感兴趣的是 11 月 11 日前后攻击猛增的情况。在此期间,许多区块链货币提供商站点似乎都成为攻击目标。幸运的是,我们的 DDoS 防护软件和基础设施顺利防止了服务中断。

即使在最好的情况下,许多与比特币及其他加密货币有关的网站和应用程序也没有资源来应对流量的剧增。这种增加可能发生在 DDoS 攻击期间或高水平的正常活动期间,因此会导致临时中断和拒绝服务。将内容托管在 CDN 上对于使站点保持在线状态必不可少,但可能还需要负载均衡的服务器网络来处理激增可能产生的数据库请求数。Cloudflare 的 DDoS 保护可帮助许多高流量加密货币服务保持在线状态,欢迎了解更多相关信息。

Cryptocurrency DDoS Attacks

Coin exchanges are being targeted with DDoS attacks attemping to disrupt service.

Share
Common DDoS Attacks
DDoS Attack Tools
DDoS Glossary of Terms

Cryptocurrency DDoS

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define a cryptocurrency
  • Describe the types of attacks cryptocurrency sites are facing

What is a cryptocurrency?

A cryptocurrency is a form of digital currency that has two key differences which distinguish it from traditional money. First of all, cryptocurrency is not tied to or backed by any government, making it a truly international form of currency. Secondly, cryptocurrency is always decentralized.

What is the difference between centralized and decentralized currency?

Traditional money is centralized. If someone who has US Dollars puts their money in a brick-and-mortar bank, that bank will be responsible for keeping track of that currency. The owner of the money will have to go back to that bank to take their currency out. Similarly, if that person wants to put their dollars into an online bank, that online bank will keep a record of the amount of money in that person’s account in a central server. That bank’s central server is the authoritative source of information for that person’s account. In both these cases, the currency is centralized, meaning it’s kept track of in one place.

With cryptocurrencies, the information about the amount of currency each investor owns is stored across many (often thousands) different computers, known as nodes. The information on these nodes are publicly accessible, and there is no single central authority responsible for keeping track of these accounts. This means whenever a transaction happens, every node has to be updated simultaneously to ensure that the ledgers in all the nodes remain in sync.

It is very important that all these nodes remain in sync, because otherwise the currency would be invalidated by the possibility that someone spends the same money twice before all the ledgers have a chance to update; this is known as double-spending. Double-spending of cryptocurrencies is prevented by a process called blockchain.

What is blockchain?

Blockchain is the technological breakthrough that made cryptocurrency a possibility. A full technical explanation of blockchain is beyond the scope of this article, but the important takeaway is that blockchain requires mining.

What is cryptocurrency mining?

Mining of cryptocurrency is a process where a computer spends time solving a highly complex math problem, and once that problem is solved, a set of cryptocurrency transactions gets added to a queue of similar sets of transactions which will be broadcast to all the nodes, updating their ledgers. In order to encourage mining, computers which solve these complex math problems are rewarded for doing so with newly minted coins of the currency they are mining. This is how new cryptocurrency comes into circulation.

Why are cryptocurrencies being DDoSed?

Like most high-visibility business, coin exchanges have been targeted with DDoS attacks. With the surge in interest and the resulting increase of traffic around cryptocurrencies, the door has been opened for bad actors to attempt to disrupt cryptocurrency resources, denying cryptocoin users access.

A distributed denial-of-service (DDoS) attack is one of the primary methods of disruption in the modern Internet. By overloading a target with bogus traffic, a bad actor is able to render a website or service unavailable. The popularity and importance of cryptocurrencies makes them a prime target for attack.

We’ve been analyzing some of the DDoS attacks hitting the many coin exchanges on our network in order to gauge any discernible patterns of interest. The most prominent volume of DDoS traffic originated from SSDP amplification attacks, NTP amplification attacks, and application layer attacks.

One popular coin exchange service has been flagged for 76 application layer DDoS attacks over about a year, though it’s worth noting that the incredible surge in traffic may create false positives where normal traffic may show some signs of being an attack. Regardless, it’s clear that bitcoin exchanges have become prime targets for DDoS.

Here’s a graph showing the number of potential application layer attacks targeting popular cryptocurrency web properties through mid December 2017.

Cryptocurrency DDos Attack Frequency

Of particular interest is the huge spike in attacks around November 11. During this time a number of blockchain currency provider sites appear to have been targeted. Luckily, our DDoS mitigation software and infrastructure were able to prevent service disruption.

Even in the best of circumstances, many of the websites and applications related to bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies do not have the resources to deal with a massive surge in traffic. Such increases can occur during a DDoS attack or during high levels of normal activity, resulting in temporary outages and denial-of-service. Hosting content on a CDN can be essential to keeping a site online, though it may also take a properly load balanced network of servers to be able to handle the number of database requests a surge can produce. Learn more about Cloudflare’s DDoS Protection, which is helping keep many high traffic cryptocurrency services online.