SYN 洪水攻击

SYN 洪水利用 TCP/IP 握手漏洞尝试破坏 Web 服务。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

SYN 洪水

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义 SYN 洪水 DDoS 攻击
  • 解释 SYN 洪水攻击的工作原理
  • 区分不同类型的 SYN 攻击
  • 了解一些 SYN 洪水攻击缓解技巧

什么是 SYN 洪水攻击?

SYN 洪水(半开连接攻击)是一种拒绝服务(DDoS)攻击,旨在耗尽可用服务器资源,致使服务器无法传输合法流量。通过重复发送初始连接请求(SYN)数据包,攻击者将可击垮目标服务器计算机上的所有可用端口,导致目标设备在响应合法流量时表现迟钝乃至全无响应。

SYN 洪水攻击如何工作?

SYN 洪水攻击利用 TCP 连接的握手过程发动攻击。正常情况下,TCP 连接将完成三次握手以建立连接。

  1. 首先,客户端向服务器发送 SYN 数据包以发起连接。
  2. 接着,服务器通过 SYN/ACK 数据包对该初始数据包做出响应,以便确认通信。
  3. 最后,客户端返回 ACK 数据包以确认接到服务器发出的数据包。完成这一系列数据包发送和接收操作后,TCP 连接将处于打开状态并且能够发送和接收数据。
TCP Three-way handshake diagram

为发起拒绝服务攻击,攻击者需利用这样一项事实:收到初始 SYN 数据包后,服务器将通过一个或多个 SYN/ACK 数据包做出回响,等待完成握手过程的最后一步。工作方式如下:

  1. 攻击者通常使用伪造的 IP 地址向目标服务器发送大量 SYN 数据包。
  2. 然后,服务器分别对每一项连接请求做出响应,并确保打开的端口做好接收响应的准备。
  3. 在服务器等待最后一个 ACK 数据包(永远不会到达)的过程中,攻击者将继续发送更多 SYN 数据包。每当有新的 SYN 数据包到达,服务器都会临时打开一个新的端口并在一段特定时间内保持连接;用遍所有可用端口后,服务器将无法正常运行。
SYN flood DDoS attack animation

在网络中,如果服务器连接处于打开状态但另一端的机器连接未打开,则视为半开连接。在此类 DDoS 攻击中,目标服务器将使连接一直处于打开状态,静待各个连接超时,避免再次开放端口。因此,此类攻击可视为“半开连接攻击”。

恶意用户可通过三种不同方式发起 SYN 洪水攻击:

  1. 直接攻击:不伪造 IP 地址的 SYN 洪水攻击称为直接攻击。在此类攻击中,攻击者完全不屏蔽其 IP 地址。由于攻击者使用具有真实 IP 地址的单一源设备发起攻击,因此很容易发现并清理攻击者。为使目标机器呈现半开状态,黑客将阻止其计算机响应服务器的 SYN-ACK 数据包。为此,通常采用以下两种方式实现:部署防火墙规则,阻止除 SYN 数据包以外的各类传出数据包;或者,对传入的所有 SYN-ACK 数据包进行过滤,防止其到达恶意用户机器。实际上,这种方法很少使用(即便使用过也不多见),因为此类攻击相当容易缓解 – 只需阻止每个恶意系统的 IP 地址。哪怕攻击者使用僵尸网络(如 Mirai 僵尸网络),通常也不会刻意屏蔽受感染设备的 IP。
  2. 欺骗攻击:恶意用户还可以伪造其发送的各个 SYN 数据包的 IP 地址,以便阻止缓解措施并加大身份暴露难度。虽然数据包可能经过伪装,但还是可以通过这些数据包追根溯源。此类检测工作很难开展,但并非不可实现;特别是,如果 Internet 服务提供商(ISP)愿意提供帮助,则更容易实现。
  3. 分布式攻击(DDoS):如果使用僵尸网络发起攻击,则追溯攻击源头的可能性很低。随着混淆级别的攀升,攻击者可能还会命令每台分布式设备伪造其发送数据包的 IP 地址。哪怕攻击者使用僵尸网络(如 Mirai 僵尸网络),通常也不会刻意屏蔽受感染设备的 IP。

恶意用户可以通过 SYN 洪水攻击尝试在目标设备或服务中创建拒绝服务,其流量远低于其他 DDoS 攻击。SYN 攻击不属于容量耗尽攻击,其目的并非使目标周围的网络基础设施达到饱和,只需保证大于目标操作系统的可用积压工作即可。如果攻击者能够确定积压工作规模以及每个连接保持打开状态的时间长度(超出时间将进入超时状态),攻击者将可以找出禁用系统所需的确切参数,从而将创建拒绝服务所需的总流量降至最低。

如何缓解 SYN 洪水攻击?

SYN 洪水漏洞早已为世人所知,而且开创了大量缓解方法。其中一些方法包括:

扩展积压工作队列

目标设备安装的每个操作系统都允许具有一定数量的半开连接。若要响应大量 SYN 数据包,一种方法是增加操作系统允许的最大半开连接数目。为成功扩展最大积压工作,系统必须额外预留内存资源以处理各类新请求。如果系统没有足够的内存,无法应对增加的积压工作队列规模,将对系统性能产生负面影响,但仍然好过拒绝服务。

回收最先创建的 TCP 半开连接

另一种缓解策略是在填充积压工作后覆盖最先创建的半开连接。这项策略要求完全建立合法连接的时间低于恶意 SYN 数据包填充积压工作的时间。当攻击量增加或积压工作规模小于实际需求时,这项特定的防御措施将不奏效。

SYN Cookie

此策略要求服务器创建 Cookie。为避免在填充积压工作时断开连接,服务器使用 SYN-ACK 数据包响应每一项连接请求,而后从积压工作中删除 SYN 请求,同时从内存中删除请求,保证端口保持打开状态并做好重新建立连接的准备。如果连接是合法请求并且已将最后一个 ACK 数据包从客户端机器发回服务器,服务器将重建(存在一些限制)SYN 积压工作队列条目。虽然这项缓解措施势必会丢失一些 TCP 连接信息,但好过因此导致对合法用户发起拒绝服务攻击。

Cloudflare 如何缓解 SYN 洪水攻击?

Cloudflare 通过隔离目标服务器与 SYN 洪水攻击来缓解此类攻击。当发出初始 SYN 请求时,Cloudflare 将在云中完成握手过程,拒绝与目标服务器建立连接,直到完成 TCP 握手过程。此策略使目标服务器不再需要浪费资源与伪造的 SYN 数据包建立连接,而是将资源用于打造 Cloudflare 的 Anycast 网络。了解有关 Cloudflare DDoS 保护工作原理的更多信息。

Cloudflare stops SYN Flood attacks diagram

Improve your site with free and paid apps:

Cloudflare Developer Fund

Cloudflare and world class investment firms invest $100 Million to deliver powerful tools for the Internet. The Cloudflare Developer Fund is looking for companies that are building apps on Cloudflare’s platform.

SYN Flood Attack

SYN Flood

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define a SYN flood DDoS attack
  • Explain how a SYN flood attack works
  • Differentiate the different types of SYN Attacks
  • Understand some mitigation techniques for SYN Floods

What is a SYN flood attack?

A SYN flood (half open attack) is a type of denial-of-service (DDoS) attack which aims to make a server unavailable to legitimate traffic by consuming all available server resources. By repeatedly sending initial connection request (SYN) packets, the attacker is able to overwhelm all available ports on a targeted server machine, causing the targeted device to respond to legitimate traffic sluggishly or not at all.

How does a SYN flood attack work?

SYN flood attacks work by exploiting the handshake process of a TCP connection. Under normal conditions, TCP connection exhibits three distinct processes in order to make a connection.

  1. First, the client sends a SYN packet to the server in order to initiate the connection.
  2. The server than responds to that initial packet with a SYN/ACK packet, in order to acknowledge the communication.
  3. Finally, the client returns an ACK packet to acknowledge the receipt of the packet from the server. After completing this sequence of packet sending and receiving, the TCP connection is open and able to send and receive data.
TCP Three-way handshake diagram

To create denial-of-service, an attacker exploits the fact that after an initial SYN packet has been received, the server will respond back with one or more SYN/ACK packets and wait for the final step in the handshake. Here’s how it works:

  1. The attacker sends a high volume of SYN packets to the targeted server, often with spoofed IP addresses.
  2. The server then responds to each one of the connection requests and leaves an open port ready to receive the response.
  3. While the server waits for the final ACK packet, which never arrives, the attacker continues to send more SYN packets. The arrival of each new SYN packet causes the server to temporarily maintain a new open port connection for a certain length of time, and once all the available ports have been utilized the server is unable to function normally.
SYN flood DDoS attack animation

In networking, when a server is leaving a connection open but the machine on the other side of the connection is not, the connection is considered half open. In this type of DDoS attack, the targeted server is continuously leaving open connections and waiting for each connection to timeout before the ports become available again. The result is that this type of attack can be considered a “half-open attack”.

A SYN flood can occur in three different ways:

  1. Direct attack: A SYN flood where the IP address is not spoofed is known as a direct attack. In this attack, the attacker does not mask their IP address at all. As a result of the attacker using a single source device with a real IP address to create the attack, the attacker is highly vulnerable to discovery and mitigation. In order to create the half-open state on the targeted machine, the hacker prevents their machine from responding to the server’s SYN-ACK packets. This is often achieved by firewall rules that stop outgoing packets other than SYN packets or by filtering out any incoming SYN-ACK packets before they reach the malicious users machine. In practice this method is used rarely (if ever), as mitigation is fairly straightforward – just block the IP address of each malicious system. If the attacker is using a botnet such as the Mirai botnet they won’t care about masking the IP of the infected device
  2. Spoofed Attack: A malicious user can also spoof the IP address on each SYN packet they send in order to inhibit mitigation efforts and make their identity more difficult to discover. While the packets may be spoofed, those packets can potentially be traced back to their source. It’s difficult to do this sort of detective work but it’s not impossible, especially if Internet service providers (ISPs) are willing to help.
  3. Distributed attack (DDoS): If an attack is created using a botnet the likelihood of tracking the attack back to its source is low. For an added level of obfuscation, an attacker may have each distributed device also spoof the IP addresses from which it sends packets. If the attacker is using a botnet such as the Mirai botnet, they generally won’t care about masking the IP of the infected device

By using a SYN flood attack, a bad actor can attempt to create denial-of-service in a target device or service with substantially less traffic than other DDoS attacks. Instead of volumetric attacks, which aim to saturate the network infrastructure surrounding the target, SYN attacks only need to be larger than the available backlog in the target’s operating system. If the attacker is able to determine the size of the backlog and how long each connection will be left open before timing out, the attacker can target the exact parameters needed to disable the system, thereby reducing the total traffic to the minimum necessary amount to create denial-of-service.

How is a SYN flood attack mitigated?

SYN flood vulnerability has been known for a long time and a number of mitigation pathways have been utilized. A few approaches include:

Increasing Backlog queue

Each operating system on a targeted device has a certain number of half-open connections that it will allow. One response to high volumes of SYN packets is to increase the maximum number of possible half-open connections the operating system will allow. In order to successfully increase the maximum backlog, the system must reserve additional memory resources to deal with all the new requests. If the system does not have enough memory to be able to handle the increased backlog queue size, system performance will be negatively impacted, but that still may be better than denial-of-service.

Recycling the Oldest Half-Open TCP connection

Another mitigation strategy involves overwriting the oldest half-open connection once the backlog has been filled. This strategy requires that the legitimate connections can be fully established in less time than the backlog can be filled with malicious SYN packets. This particular defense fails when the attack volume is increased, or if the backlog size is too small to be practical.

SYN cookies

This strategy involves the creation of a cookie by the server. In order to avoid the risk of dropping connections when the backlog has been filled, the server responds to each connection request with a SYN-ACK packet but then drops the SYN request from the backlog, removing the request from memory and leaving the port open and ready to make a new connection. If the connection is a legitimate request, and a final ACK packet is sent from the client machine back to the server, the server will then reconstruct (with some limitations) the SYN backlog queue entry. While this mitigation effort does lose some information about the TCP connection, it is better than allowing denial-of-service to occur to legitimate users as a result of an attack.

How does Cloudflare mitigate SYN Flood attacks?

Cloudflare mitigates this type of attack in part by standing between the targeted server and the SYN flood. When the initial SYN request is made, Cloudflare handles the handshake process in the cloud, withholding the connection with the targeted server until the TCP handshake is complete. This strategy takes the resource cost of maintaining the connections with the bogus SYN packets off the targeted server and places it on Cloudflare’s Anycast network. Cloudflare DDoS Protection

Cloudflare stops SYN Flood attacks diagram