什么是 DNS 洪水?| DNS 洪水 DDoS 攻击

旨在淹没目标 DNS 服务器并使其不堪重负的攻击。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

DNS 洪水

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义 DNS 洪水 DDoS 攻击
  • 深入探讨 DNS 洪水攻击如何禁用目标
  • 了解防护 DNS 洪水的方法

什么是 DNS 洪水?

域名系统 (DNS) 服务器是 Internet 的“电话簿”;它们是 Internet 设备查找特定 Web 服务器以访问 Internet 内容的途径。DNS 洪水是分布式拒绝服务攻击 (DDoS) 的一种,攻击者对特定域的 DNS 服务器发起流量洪水,以图破坏该的 DNS 解析。如果用户找不到电话簿,则它将无法查找地址以调用特定资源。通过破坏 DNS 解析,DNS 洪水攻击将损害网站、API 或 Web 应用程序对合法流量的响应能力。DNS 洪水攻击可能很难与正常的繁忙流量区分开来,因为大量流量通常来自多个位置,它们查询域中的真实记录,完全模仿合法流量。

DNS 洪水攻击的工作原理

DNS Flood DDoS Attack Diagram

域名系统的功能是在易于记忆的名称(例如 example.com)和难以记忆的网站服务器地址(例如 192.168.0.1)之间进行转换,因此成功攻击 DNS 基础设施会使大多数人无法使用 Internet。DNS 洪水攻击构成了一种相对新型的基于 DNS 的攻击,随着高带宽物联网 (IoT) 僵尸网络(如 Mirai)的兴起而激增。DNS 洪水攻击使用 IP 摄像头、 DVR 盒和其他 IoT 设备的高带宽连接来直接淹没主要提供商的 DNS 服务器。来自物联网设备的请求数量使 DNS 提供商的服务不堪重负,并阻止合法用户访问提供商的 DNS 服务器。

DNS 洪水攻击与 DNS 放大攻击不同。DNS 放大攻击会反射和放大来自不安全的 DNS 服务器的流量,以隐藏攻击的来源并提高其有效性。DNS 放大攻击使用带宽连接较小的设备向不安全的 DNS 服务器发出大量请求。设备发出许多较小的请求,形成非常大的 DNS 记录,但是在发出请求时,攻击者将返回地址伪造为预期受害者的地址。放大使攻击者使用有限的攻击资源即可破坏更大的目标。

如何防护 DNS 洪水攻击?

DNS 洪水是传统上基于放大的攻击方法的变更结果。借助易于访问的高带宽僵尸网络,攻击者现在可以针对大型组织发起攻击。在可以更新或更换受损的 IoT 设备之前,抵御这些攻击的唯一方法是使用大型、高度分散的 DNS 系统,以实时监视、吸收和阻止攻击流量。了解 Cloudflare 的 DDoS 保护如何防御 DNS 洪水攻击。

Improve your site with free and paid apps:

Cloudflare Developer Fund

Cloudflare and world class investment firms invest $100 Million to deliver powerful tools for the Internet. The Cloudflare Developer Fund is looking for companies that are building apps on Cloudflare’s platform.

DNS Flood DDoS Attack

DNS Flood

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define a DNS Flood DDoS attack
  • Walkthough how a DNS flood attack disables a target
  • Understand methods of mitigation for a DNS flood

What is a DNS Flood?

Domain Name System (DNS) servers are the “phonebooks” of the Internet; they are the path through which Internet devices are able to lookup specific web servers in order to access Internet content. A DNS flood is a type of distributed denial-of-service attack (DDoS) where an attacker floods a particular domain’s DNS servers in an attempt to disrupt DNS resolution for that domain. If a user is unable to find the phonebook, it cannot lookup the address in order to make the call for a particular resource. By disrupting DNS resolution, a DNS flood attack will compromise a website, API, or web application's ability respond to legitimate traffic. DNS flood attacks can be difficult to distinguish from normal heavy traffic because the large volume of traffic often comes from a multitude of unique locations, querying for real records on the domain, mimicking legitimate traffic.

How does a DNS flood attack work?

The function of the Domain Name System is to translate between easy to remember names (e.g. example.com) and hard to remember addresses of website servers (e.g. 192.168.0.1), so successfully attacking DNS infrastructure makes the Internet unusable for most people. DNS flood attacks constitute a relatively new type of DNS-based attack that has proliferated with the rise of high bandwidth Internet of Things (IoT) botnets like Mirai. DNS flood attacks use the high bandwidth connections of IP cameras, DVR boxes and other IoT devices to directly overwhelm the DNS servers of major providers. The volume of requests from IoT devices overwhelms the DNS provider’s services and prevents legitimate users from accessing the provider's DNS servers.

DNS flood attacks differ from DNS amplification attacks. Unlike DNS floods, DNS amplification attacks reflect and amplify traffic off unsecured DNS servers in order to hide the origin of the attack and increase its effectiveness. DNS amplification attacks use devices with smaller bandwidth connections to make numerous requests to unsecured DNS servers. The devices make many small requests for very large DNS records, but when making the requests, the attacker forges the return address to be that of the intended victim. The amplification allows the attacker to take out larger targets with only limited attack resources.

How can a DNS Flood attack be mitigated?

DNS floods represent a change from traditional amplification based attack methods. With easily accessible high bandwidth botnets, attackers can now target large organizations. Until compromised IoT devices can be updated or replaced, the only way to withstand these types of attacks is to use a very large and highly distributed DNS system that can monitor, absorb, and block the attack traffic in realtime. Cloudflare DDoS Protection