DNS 放大攻擊

DNS 是放大一種 DDoS 攻擊,它利用 DNS 解析器產生大量流量,使受害者不堪重負。

學習目標

閱讀本文後,您將能夠:

  • 定義 DNS 放大攻擊
  • 解釋 DNS 放大攻擊的原理
  • 了解針對 DNS 放大攻擊的一些緩解策略

複製文章連結

什麼是 DNS 放大攻擊?

這種 DDoS 攻擊是基於反射的大規模分散式阻斷服務 (DDoS) 攻擊,其中,攻擊者利用開放 DNS 解析器的功能產生大量流量,使目標伺服器或網路不堪重負,導致伺服器及其周圍基礎設施無法存取。

DNS 放大攻擊的原理是什麼?

所有放大攻擊都利用攻擊者和目標 Web 資源之間的頻寬消耗差異。當消耗差異經過多次請求而被放大時,所產生的流量可導致網路基礎設施中斷。通過發送小型請求來導致大規模回應,惡意用戶就能達到四兩撥千斤的效果。當通過某個僵屍網路中的每個機器人發出類似請求來使這種放大效果倍增時,攻擊者既能躲避檢測,又能收穫攻擊流量大增的好處。

對於 DNS 放大攻擊中的一個機器人,可比作一個懷有惡意的青少年電話給一個餐廳說,「我要每樣東西都點一份,請給我回電並告訴我整個訂單的內容。」餐廳要求提供回撥號碼時,所給號碼就是目標受害人的電話號碼。然後目標會接到來自餐廳的電話,提供其并未請求的大量信息。

由於每個機器人向開放 DNS 解析器提出請求時都提供欺騙性 IP 位址,也就是目標受害者的真實源 IP 位址,目標隨後會收到來自 DNS 解析器的回應。為了產生大量流量,攻擊者會以某種方式來構造請求,以便讓 DNS 解析器產生盡可能大的響應。因此,目標接收攻擊者的初始流量的放大結果,其網路被虛假流量堵塞,導致阻斷服務。

DNS 放大可分為四步:

  1. 攻擊者使用受損的端點將有欺騙性 IP 位址的 UDP 封包發送到 DNS 遞迴程式。封包上的欺騙性位址指向受害者的真實 IP 位址。
  2. 每個 UDP 封包都向 DNS 解析器發出請求,通常傳遞一個參數(例如“ANY”)以接收盡可能最大的回應。
  3. DNS 解析器收到請求後,會向欺騙性 IP 位址發送大規模回應。
  4. 目標的 IP 位址接收響應,其周邊的網路基礎設施被大量流量淹沒,從而導致阻斷服務。

儘管少量請求不足以導致網路基礎設施下線,但在這一過程通過多個請求和 DNS 解析器翻倍後,目標最終接收的資料量變得非常大。進一步瞭解反射攻擊的技術詳情

如何緩解 DNS 放大攻擊?

對於運行網站或服務的個人或公司來說,緩解選擇並不多。這是因為,儘管個人或公司的伺服器可能是攻擊目標,但其並非容量耗盡攻擊影響最大的地方。鑒於攻擊所產生的大量流量,伺服器周圍的基礎設施感受到影響。網際網路服務提供者(ISP)或其他上游基礎設施提供商可能無法處理傳入流量而不堪重負。因此,ISP 可能會將向受害者 IP 位址發送的所有流量傳送到一個黑洞路由,以保護自己並將目標網站下線。除了象 Cloudflare DDoS 防護這樣的異地保護服務外,緩解策略大多是預防性的網際網路基礎設施解決方案。

減少開放 DNS 解析器的總數

DNS 放大攻擊的一個重要組成部分是對開放 DNS 解析器的存取權限。如果網際網路上有配置不當的 DNS 解析器,那麼攻擊者僅僅需要找到這種 DNS 解析器即可利用。理想情況下,DNS 解析器應僅向源自受信任域名的裝置提供服務。對於基於反射的攻擊,開放 DNS 解析器將回應網際網路上任何位置的查詢,因此有可能被利用。限制 DNS 解析器,使其僅回應來自受信任來源的查詢,即可使伺服器無法被用於任何類型的放大攻擊。

源 IP 驗證 —— 阻止僞造封包離開網路。

由於攻擊者僵屍網路發送的 UDP 請求必須有一個偽造為受害者 IP 位址的源 IP 位址,對於基於 UDP 的放大攻擊,降低其有效性的一個關鍵是網際網路服務提供者(ISP)拒絕帶有偽造 IP 位址的所有內部流量。如果一個從網路內部發送的資料包帶有一個看起來像來自網路外部的源位址,那麼它可能是偽造資料包並可被丟棄。Cloudflare 強烈建議所有提供商實施入口篩選,並不時聯繫無意中參與了 DDoS 攻擊的 ISP,幫助其瞭解自己的漏洞。

Cloudflare 如何緩解 DNS 放大攻擊?

擁有正確配置的防火牆和足夠的網路容量(這不一定是易事,除非您達到 Cloudflare 的規模),阻止 DNS 放大攻擊等反射攻擊就易如反掌了。儘管攻擊會針對單一 IP 位址,我們的 Anycast 網路將把所有攻擊流量分散到不再具有破壞力的地步。Cloudflare 能利用其規模優勢來將攻擊的力度分散到眾多資料中心,平衡負載,這樣服務就始終不會中斷,攻擊永遠無法導致目標伺服器的基礎設施超載。在最近一個六個月期間,我們的 DDoS 緩解系統「Gatebot」檢測到 6,329 次簡單反射攻擊(相當於每 40 分鐘一次),我們的網路成功緩解了所有攻擊。進一步瞭解 Cloudflare 的進階 DDoS 防護。

DNS Amplification Attack

DNS amplification is a DDoS attack that leverages DNS resolvers to overwhelm a victim with traffic.

Common DDoS Attacks
DDoS Attack Tools
DDoS Glossary of Terms

DNS Amplification Attack

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define a DNS amplification attack
  • Explain how a DNS amplification attack works
  • Understand several mitigation strategies for DNS amplification attacks

What is a DNS amplification attack?

This DDoS attack is a reflection-based volumetric distributed denial-of-service (DDoS) attack in which an attacker leverages the functionality of open DNS resolvers in order to overwhelm a target server or network with an amplified amount of traffic, rendering the server and its surrounding infrastructure inaccessible.

How does a DNS amplification attack work?

All amplification attacks exploit a disparity in bandwidth consumption between an attacker and the targeted web resource. When the disparity in cost is magnified across many requests, the resulting volume of traffic can disrupt network infrastructure. By sending small queries that result in large responses, the malicious user is able to get more from less. By multiplying this magnification by having each bot in a botnet make similar requests, the attacker is both obfuscated from detection and reaping the benefits of greatly increased attack traffic.

A single bot in a DNS amplification attack can be thought of in the context of a malicious teenager calling a restaurant and saying “I’ll have one of everything, please call me back and tell me my whole order.” When the restaurant asks for a callback number, the number given is the targeted victim’s phone number. The target then receives a call from the restaurant with a lot of information that they didn’t request.

As a result of each bot making requests to open DNS resolvers with a spoofed IP address, which has been changed to the real source IP address of the targeted victim, the target then receives a response from the DNS resolvers. In order to create a large amount of traffic, the attacker structures the request in a way that generates as large a response from the DNS resolvers as possible. As a result, the target receives an amplification of the attacker’s initial traffic, and their network becomes clogged with the spurious traffic, causing a denial-of-service.

DNS Amplification DDoS Attack Diagram

A DNS amplification can be broken down into four steps:

  1. The attacker uses a compromised endpoint to send UDP packets with spoofed IP addresses to a DNS recursor. The spoofed address on the packets points to the real IP address of the victim.
  2. Each one of the UDP packets makes a request to a DNS resolver, often passing an argument such as “ANY” in order to receive the largest response possible.
  3. After receiving the requests, the DNS resolver, which is trying to be helpful by responding, sends a large response to the spoofed IP address.
  4. The IP address of the target receives the response and the surrounding network infrastructure becomes overwhelmed with the deluge of traffic, resulting in a denial-of-service.

While a few requests is not enough to take down network infrastructure, when this sequence is multiplied across multiple requests and DNS resolvers, the amplification of data the target receives can be substantial. Explore more technical details on reflection attacks.

How is a DNS amplification attack mitigated?

For an individual or company running a website or service, mitigation options are limited. This comes from the fact that the individual’s server, while it might be the target, is not where the main effect of a volumetric attack is felt. Due to the high amount of traffic generated, the infrastructure surrounding the server feels the impact. The Internet Service Provider (ISP) or other upstream infrastructure providers may not be able to handle the incoming traffic without becoming overwhelmed. As a result, the ISP may blackhole all traffic to the targeted victim’s IP address, protecting itself and taking the target’s site off-line. Mitigation strategies, aside from offsite protective services like Cloudflare DDoS protection, are mostly preventative Internet infrastructure solutions.

Reduce the total number of open DNS resolvers

An essential component of DNS amplification attacks is access to open DNS resolvers. By having poorly configured DNS resolvers exposed to the Internet, all an attacker needs to do to utilize a DNS resolver is to discover it. Ideally, DNS resolvers should only provide their services to devices that originate within a trusted domain. In the case of reflection based attacks, the open DNS resolvers will respond to queries from anywhere on the Internet, allowing the potential for exploitation. Restricting a DNS resolver so that it will only respond to queries from trusted sources makes the server a poor vehicle for any type of amplification attack.

Source IP verification – stop spoofed packets leaving network

Because the UDP requests being sent by the attacker’s botnet must have a source IP address spoofed to the victim’s IP address, a key component in reducing the effectiveness of UDP-based amplification attacks is for Internet service providers (ISPs) to reject any internal traffic with spoofed IP addresses. If a packet is being sent from inside the network with a source address that makes it appear like it originated outside the network, it’s likely a spoofed packet and can be dropped. Cloudflare highly recommends that all providers implement ingress filtering, and at times will reach out to ISPs who are unknowingly taking part in DDoS attacks and help them realize their vulnerability.

How does Cloudflare mitigate DNS amplification attacks?

With a properly configured firewall and sufficient network capacity (which isn't always easy to come by unless you are the size of Cloudflare), it's trivial to block reflection attacks such as DNS amplification attacks. Although the attack will target a single IP address, our Anycast network will scatter all attack traffic to the point where it is no longer disruptive. Cloudflare is able to use our advantage of scale to distribute the weight of the attack across many Data Centers, balancing the load so that service is never interrupted and the attack never overwhelms the targeted server’s infrastructure. During a recent six month window our DDoS mitigation system "Gatebot" detected 6,329 simple reflection attacks (that's one every 40 minutes), and the network successfully mitigated all of them. Learn more about Cloudflare's advanced DDoS Protection.