什么是拒绝服务(DoS)攻击?

拒绝服务攻击是一种恶意的行为,利用流量使 Web 资产不堪重负,以破坏其正常运行。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

拒绝服务

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义 DoS 攻击
  • 说明 DoS 攻击的工作方式
  • 探索 DoS 攻击的一些示例
  • 调查是否正在遭受 DoS 攻击
  • 区分 DoS 攻击与 DDoS 攻击

什么是拒绝服务攻击?

拒绝服务(DoS)攻击是一种网络攻击,恶意行为者通过中断设备的正常功能,使其目标用户无法使用计算机或其他设备。DoS 攻击通常通过请求压垮或淹没目标计算机,直到其无法处理正常流量,从而对其他用户造成拒绝服务。DoS 攻击的特征是使用一台计算机来发起攻击。

分布式拒绝服务(DDoS)攻击是一种 DoS 攻击,它来自许多分布式来源,例如僵尸网络 DDoS 攻击

DoS 攻击如何工作?

DoS 攻击的主要重点是使目标计算机的容量过饱和,从而对其他请求造成拒绝服务。DoS 攻击具有多种攻击途径,可通过它们的相似性来分组。

DoS 攻击通常分为两类:

缓冲区溢出攻击

在这一种攻击类型中,内存缓冲区溢出可以导致计算机耗尽所有可用的硬盘空间、内存或 CPU 时间。这种利用形式通常会导致行为缓慢、系统崩溃或其他有害的服务器行为,从而造成拒绝服务。

洪水攻击

通过使目标服务器充满大量数据包,恶意行为者便能够使服务器容量过饱和,从而导致拒绝服务。大多数 DoS 洪水攻击若要得逞,恶意行为者必须具有比目标更多的可用带宽。

历史上有哪些重大的 DoS 攻击?

从历史上看,DoS 攻击通常利用网络、软件和硬件设计中存在的安全漏洞。这种攻击已变得不那么普遍,因为 DDoS 攻击具有更强的破坏性,并且一旦有可用工具便相对容易实现。实际上,大多数 DoS 攻击也可以转变为 DDoS 攻击。

一些曾经常见的 DoS 攻击包括:

  • Smurf 攻击 - 一种以前曾被利用的 DoS 攻击。恶意行为者通过发送伪造的数据包来利用易受攻击的网络的广播地址,从而导致目标 IP 地址被淹没。
  • Ping 洪水 - 这种简单的拒绝服务攻击基于用 ICMP(ping)数据包使目标不堪重负。用数量超过其有效响应能力的 ping 来淹没目标,从而造成拒绝服务。此攻击也可以用作 DDoS 攻击。
  • 死亡之 Ping - 通常与 Ping 洪水攻击混为一谈,死亡之 Ping攻击涉及将格式错误的数据包发送到目标计算机,从而导致系统崩溃等有害行为。

如何判断计算机是否正在遭受 DoS 攻击?

尽管很难将攻击与其他网络连接错误或高带宽消耗区分开来,但某些特征可能表明正在遭受攻击。

DoS 攻击的迹象包括:

  • 网络性能通常会降低,例如文件或网站的加载时间比较长
  • 无法加载特定网站,例如您的 Web 资产
  • 同一网络中各设备之间的连接突然中断

DDoS 攻击和 DOS 攻击有什么区别?

DDoS 和 DoS 之间的显著区别是攻击中使用的连接数。一些 DoS 攻击(如 Slowloris 等“慢速”攻击)的危害能力源自于实现它们的简单性和低要求性。

DoS vs DDoS attack

DoS 攻击利用单个连接,而 DDoS 攻击则利用许多攻击流量来源,通常采用僵尸网络的形式。一般而言,许多攻击在本质上是相似的,可以使用更多恶意流量来源来展开。了解 Cloudflare 的 DDoS 保护如何阻止拒绝服务攻击。

Denial-of-Service (DoS)

A denial-of-service attack is a malicious attempt to overwhelm a web property with traffic in order to disrupt it's normal operations.

Common DDoS Attacks
DDoS Attack Tools
DDoS Glossary of Terms

Denial-of-Service

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define a DoS attack
  • Explain how a DoS attack works
  • Explore some examples of DoS attacks
  • Investigate if under DoS attack
  • Differentiate between a DoS vs DDoS attack

What is a denial-of-service attack?

A denial-of-service (DoS) attack is a type of cyber attack in which a malicious actor aims to render a computer or other device unavailable to its intended users by interrupting the device's normal functioning. DoS attacks typically function by overwhelming or flooding a targeted machine with requests until normal traffic is unable to be processed, resulting in denial-of-service to addition users. A DoS attack is characterized by using a single computer to launch the attack.

A distributed denial-of-service (DDoS) attack is a type of DoS attack that comes from many distributed sources, such as a botnet DDoS attack.

How does a DoS attack work?

The primary focus of a DoS attack is to oversaturate the capacity of a targeted machine, resulting in denial-of-service to additional requests. The multiple attack vectors of DoS attacks can be grouped by their similarities.

DoS attacks typically fall in 2 categories:

Buffer overflow attacks

An attack type in which a memory buffer overflow can cause a machine to consume all available hard disk space, memory, or CPU time. This form of exploit often results in sluggish behavior, system crashes, or other deleterious server behaviors, resulting in denial-of-service.

Flood attacks

By saturating a targeted server with an overwhelming amount of packets, a malicious actor is able to oversaturate server capacity, resulting in denial-of-service. In order for most DoS flood attacks to be successful, the malicious actor must have more available bandwidth than the target.

What are some historically significant DoS attacks?

Historically, DoS attacks typically exploited security vulnerabilities present in network, software and hardware design. These attacks have become less prevalent as DDoS attacks have a greater disruptive capability and are relatively easy to create given the available tools. In reality, most DoS attacks can also be turned into DDoS attacks.

A few common historic DoS attacks include:

  • Smurf attack - a previously exploited DoS attack in which a malicious actor utilizes the broadcast address of vulnerable network by sending spoofed packets, resulting in the flooding of a targeted IP address.
  • Ping flood - this simple denial-of-service attack is based on overwhelming a target with ICMP (ping) packets. By inundating a target with more pings than it is able to respond to efficiently, denial-of-service can occur. This attack can also be used as a DDoS attack.
  • Ping of Death - often conflated with a ping flood attack, a ping of death attack involves sending a malformed packet to a targeted machine, resulting in deleterious behavior such as system crashes.

How can you tell if a computer is experiencing a DoS attack?

While it can be difficult to separate an attack from other network connectivity errors or heavy bandwidth consumption, some characteristics may indicate an attack is underway.

Indicators of a DoS attack include:

  • Atypically slow network performance such as long load times for files or websites
  • The inability to load a particular website such as your web property
  • A sudden loss of connectivity across devices on the same network

What is the difference between a DDoS attack and a DOS attack?

The distinguishing difference between DDoS and DoS is the number of connections utilized in the attack. Some DoS attacks, such as “low and slow” attacks like Slowloris, derive their power in the simplicity and minimal requirements needed to them be effective.

DoS vs DDoS attack

DoS utilizes a single connection, while a DDoS attack utilizes many sources of attack traffic, often in the form of a botnet. Generally speaking, many of the attacks are fundamentally similar and can be attempted using one more many sources of malicious traffic. Cloudflare DDoS protection