什麼是網域名稱?| 網域名稱與 URL

網域名稱是用於存取網站的易於記憶的唯一位址,例如「google.com」和「facebook.com」。在 DNS 系統的支援下,使用者可以使用網域名稱來連接網站。

學習目標

閱讀本文後,您將能夠:

  • 定義網域名稱
  • 概述 DNS 查閱中的步驟
  • 區分網域名稱和 URL

相關內容


想要繼續瞭解嗎?

訂閱 TheNET,這是 Cloudflare 每月對網際網路上最流行見解的總結!

請參閱 Cloudflare 的隱私權政策,了解我們如何收集和處理您的個人資料。

複製文章連結

所有 Cloudflare 方案中均包含免費 DNS

什麼是網域名稱?

網域名稱是一個文字字串,對應到一個數字 IP 位址,可用於從用戶端軟體存取網站。用簡單的語言來說,網域名稱是使用者在瀏覽器視窗中鍵入以存取特定網站的文字。例如,Google 的網域名稱是「google.com」。

網站的實際位址是一個複雜的數字 IP 位址(例如 103.21.244.0),但由於 DNS 的存在,使用者可以輸入人類友好的網域名稱並將其路由到他們要查找的網站。此過程稱為 DNS 查閱。

誰管理網域名稱?

網域名稱全部由網域註冊機構管理,該機構將網域名稱保留委派給網域名稱註冊商。任何想要建立網站的人都可以向網域名稱註冊商註冊網域名稱,目前註冊的網域名稱已超過 3 億。

網域名稱和 URL 有什麼區別?

統一資源定位器 (URL) 有時也稱為網址,包含網站的網域名稱以及其他資訊,如通訊協定和路徑等。例如,在 URL「https://cloudflare.com/learning/」中,「cloudflare.com」是網域名稱,「https」是通訊協定,「/learning/」是指向網站上特定頁面的路徑。

網域名稱有哪些組成部分?

網域名稱通常分為兩個或三個部分,各個部分用一個點分隔。從右到左閱讀時,網域名稱中的標識符從最廣泛到最具體。網域名稱中最後一個點右邊的部分是頂層網域 (TLD)。其中包括「.com」、「.net」和「.org」等「通用」TLD,以及「.uk」和「.jp」等特定國家/地區的 TLD。

TLD 的左邊是次層網域 (2LD),如果 2LD 的左邊有任何內容,則稱為第三層網域 (3LD)。讓我們來看幾個範例:

對於 Google 的美國網域名稱「google.com」:

  • 「.com」是 TLD(最通用)
  • 「google」是 2LD(最具體)

但對於 Google UK 的網域名稱「google.co.uk」:

  • 「.com」是 TLD(最通用)
  • 「.co」*是 2LD
  • 「google」是 3LD(最具體)

*在此範例中,2LD 表示註冊網域的組織類型(英國的 .co 適用於公司註冊的網站)。

如何保護網域名稱的安全

向網域名稱註冊商註冊網域名稱後,該註冊商將負責在網域即將到期時通知註冊人,並讓他們有機會續約,以確保他們不會失去網域名稱。在某些情況下,網域名稱註冊商會掠奪使用者的過期網域名稱。他們會在網域名稱到期的那一刻購買這些網域名稱,然後以過高的價格將其賣回給原始註冊人。重要的是要選擇一個誠實和值得信賴的網域名稱註冊商,以避免這些類型的掠奪性做法。

What is a Domain Name? | Domain name vs URL

A domain name is a unique, easy-to-remember address used to access websites, such as ‘google.com’, and ‘facebook.com’. Users can connect to websites using domain names thanks to the DNS system.

Domain Name

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define a domain name
  • Outline the steps in a DNS lookup
  • Differentiate between a domain name and a URL

What is a domain name?

A domain name is a string of text that maps to a numeric IP address, used to access a website from client software. In plain English, a domain name is the text that a user types into a browser window to reach a particular website. For instance, the domain name for Google is ‘google.com’.

The actual address of a website is a complex numerical IP address (e.g. 103.21.244.0), but thanks to DNS, users are able to enter human-friendly domain names and be routed to the websites they are looking for. This process is known as a DNS lookup.

Who manages domain names?

Domain names are all managed by domain registries, which delegate the reservation of domain names to registrars. Anyone who wants to create a website can register a domain name with a registrar, and there are currently over 300 million registered domain names.

What’s the difference between a domain name and a URL?

A uniform resource locator (URL), sometimes called a web address, contains the domain name of a site as well as other information, including the transfer protocol and the path. For example, in the URL ‘https://cloudflare.com/learning/’, ‘cloudflare.com’ is the domain name, while ‘https’ is the protocol and ‘/learning/’ is the path to a specific page on the website.

Anatomy of a domain name

Domain names are typically broken up into two or three parts, each separated by a dot. When read right-to-left, the identifiers in domain names go from most general to most specific. The section to the right of the last dot in a domain name is the top-level domain (TLD). These include the ‘generic’ TLDs such as ‘.com’, ‘.net’, and ‘.org’, as well as country-specific TLDs like ‘.uk’ and ‘.jp’.

To the left of the TLD is the second-level domain (2LD) and if there is anything to the left of the 2LD, it is called the third-level domain (3LD). Let’s look at a couple of examples:

For Google’s US domain name, ‘google.com’:

  • ’.com’ is the TLD (most general)
  • ’google’ is the 2LD (most specific)

But for Google UK’s domain name, ‘google.co.uk’:

  • ’.com’ is the TLD (most general)
  • ’.co’* is the 2LD
  • ’google’ is the 3LD (most specific)

*In this case the 2LD indicates the type of organization that registered the domain (.co in the UK is for sites registered by companies)

How to keep a domain name secure

Once a domain name has been registered with a registrar, that registrar is in charge of notifying the registrant when their domain is about to expire and giving them the chance to renew, ensuring they don’t lose their domain name. In some cases registrars will prey on their users’ expired domain names by buying those domains the second they expire and then selling them back to the original registrant at an exorbitant price. It’s important to choose an honest and trustworthy registrar to avoid these kinds of predatory practices.