什麼是 TCP/IP?

裝置如何通過網際網絡通信和傳輸數據包。

學習目標

閱讀本文後,您將能夠:

  • 定義 TCP/IP

複製文章連結

什麼是 IP 和 TCP?

網際網絡通訊協定 (IP) 是網際網絡的地址系統,具有將信息包從源裝置傳送到目標裝置的核心功能。IP 是建立網絡連接的主要方式,它奠定了網際網絡的基礎。IP 不處理數據包排序或錯誤檢查。這種功能需要另一種通訊協定,通常是 TCP。

TCP / IP 關係類似於通過郵件向某人發送寫在拼圖上的消息。寫好消息后,拼圖被拆分成碎片。然後,每片碎片都可以通過不同的郵政路線運送,部分路線比其他需要更長時間。當拼圖碎片經過不同路線到達後,它們的順序可能是錯誤的。網際網絡通訊協定確保碎片到達它們的目的地址。TCP 協定可以被認爲是另一邊的拼圖組裝者,可將拼圖按正確的順序組裝在一起,要求重新發送缺失的碎片,並讓發送者知道拼圖已經收到。TCP 在第一塊拼圖碎片發送之前到最後一塊拼圖發送之後保持與發送方的連接。

IP 是一種無連接通訊協定,這意味着每個資料單元從源裝置單獨尋址並路由到目標裝置,目標裝置不向源設備發送確認。這就是傳輸控制通訊協定TCP) 這類通訊協定的用武之地。TCP 與 IP 結合使用,以維持發送方和目標之間的連接,並確保包的順序。

例如,當通過 TCP 發送電子郵件時,將建立連接並進行 3 次握手。首先,源向目標伺服器發送一個 SYN 「初始請求」封包以開始對話。然後,目標伺服器發送一個 SYN-ACK 封包以同意進行這個進程。最後,源向目標發送一個 ACK 封包來確認進程,然後才能發送消息內容。電子郵件消息最終被分解成多個封包,然後每個封包被發送到網際網絡,它要經過一系列閘道才到達目標裝置,然後這組封包在目標裝置上被 TCP 重新組合成電子郵件的原始內容。

TCP handshake diagram

今天網際網絡上所用 IP 的主要版本是網際網絡通訊協定第四版本(IPv4)。由於 IPv4 中可能地址總數的大小限制,人們開發了一種更新的通訊協定。這種更新的通訊協定被稱為 IPv6,提供更多可用的地址,並越來越多得到應用。

Improve your site with free and paid apps:

Cloudflare Developer Fund

Cloudflare and world class investment firms invest $100 Million to deliver powerful tools for the Internet. The Cloudflare Developer Fund is looking for companies that are building apps on Cloudflare’s platform.

Internet Protocol (IP) & Transmission Control Protocol

Common DDoS Attacks
DDoS Attack Tools
DDoS Glossary of Terms

IP & TCP

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define TCP/IP

What are IP & TCP?

The Internet Protocol (IP) is the address system of the internet and has the core function of delivering packets of information from a source device to a target device. IP is the primary way in which network connections are made, and it establishes the basis of the internet. IP does not handle packet ordering or error checking. Such functionality requires another protocol, typically TCP.

The TCP/IP relationship is similar to sending someone a message written on a puzzle through the mail. The message is written down and the puzzle is broken into pieces. Each piece then can travel through a different postal route, some of which take longer than others. When the puzzle pieces arrive after traversing their different paths, the pieces may be out of order. The Internet Protocol makes sure the pieces arrive at their destination address. The TCP protocol can be thought of as the puzzle assembler on the other side who puts the pieces together in the right order, asks for missing pieces to be resent, and lets the sender know the puzzle has been received. TCP maintains the connection with the sender from before the first puzzle piece is sent to after the final piece is sent.

IP is a connectionless protocol, which means that each unit of data is individually addressed and routed from the source device to the target device, and the target does not send an acknowledgement back to the source. That’s where protocols such as the Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) come in. TCP is used in conjunction with IP in order to maintain a connection between the sender and the target and to ensure packet order.

For example, when an email is sent over TCP, a connection is established and a 3-way handshake is made. First, the source send an SYN “initial request” packet to the target server in order to start the dialogue. Then the target server then sends a SYN-ACK packet to agree to the process. Lastly, the source sends an ACK packet to the target to confirm the process, after which the message contents can be sent. The email message is ultimately broken down into packets before each packet is sent out into the internet, where it traverses a series of gateways before arriving at the target device where the group of packets are reassembled by TCP into the original contents of the email.

The primary version of IP used on the internet today is Internet Protocol Version 4 (IPv4). Due to size constraints with the total number of possible addresses in IPv4, a newer protocol was developed. The newer protocol is called IPv6 and it makes many more addresses available and is increasing in adoption.