什么是高轨道离子加农炮 (HOIC)?

高轨道离子加农炮是使用 HTTP 流量发起 Dos 和 DDoS 攻击的用户友好工具

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

高 Orbit 离子炮

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义高轨道离子炮 DDoS 工具
  • 描述 HOIC 可以进行的攻击类型
  • 了解如何防护 HOIC 攻击

什么是高轨道离子加农炮 (HOIC)?

高轨道离子加农炮是一种用于发起 DoS DDoS 攻击的热门工具,目的是用 Web 流量充塞受害者的网络,并关闭网站或服务。它是由黑客主义者组织 Anonymous 开发的易于获取的开源软件,是名为低轨道离子加农炮的较旧 DDoS 工具的后续工具(均以科幻视频游戏武器命名)。虽然大多数恶意软件工具都需要较高水平的技术技能,但是 HOIC 提供简单而用户友好的界面,仅需单击按钮即可开启。

尽管 HOIC 被用于许多恶意和非法攻击,但它仍然可以通过合法途径获取,因为 HOIC 带有合法测试工具,可供希望在自己的网络上实施“压力测试”的用户使用。

HOIC 的工作原理

HOIC 通过应用程序层 HTTP 洪水 DDoS 攻击产生效果,用 HTTP “GET”和“POST”请求充斥受害者的服务器,使服务器的请求容量超负荷。对于高级攻击,可以使用自定义脚本一次针瞄准受害者站点的多个子域。HOIC 还可以同时瞄准多达 256 个站点,使用户可以协调并发攻击。这种让多个攻击者同时针对许多不同页面和域的“霰弹枪方法”会使防护和检测工作更具挑战性。

内置的增强脚本还可以帮助攻击者避开检测。除增强脚本外,许多 HOIC 用户还使用瑞典代理来掩盖其位置(据信,他们选择瑞典是因为该国实行严格的互联网隐私法)。

使用 HOIC 发起严重攻击需要某种协调,因为它需要大约 50 个用户同时对同一目标发起攻击。2012 年,Anonymous 证明了 HOIC 的有效性 - 该组织成功地攻击了几家大型唱片公司、RIAA 以及 FBI。这是历史上最大的 DDoS 攻击之一,估计需要 27,000 台计算机同时使用 HOIC。

什么可以阻止 HOIC 攻击?

防护 HOIC HTTP 洪水攻击的策略有好几种。IP 信誉筛选 (IPRF) 是可根据已知恶意 IP 地址的数据库检查传入 IP 地址并将其流量保持在网络之外的一种预防措施。Web 应用程序防火墙 (WAF) 可以设置速率限制规则,这些规则将丢弃来自发出可疑数量请求的 IP 地址的流量。还有一些测试 Web 客户端是否合法的方法,例如 captcha 验证,以及一种更为复杂的方法 - 要求 Web 浏览器解出一个简单的数学问题而不中断用户体验。

大多数 DDoS 防护产品和服务都应包括针对 HOIC 攻击的防护。包括 WAF 的全面 DDoS 保护计划(例如由 Cloudflare 提供的)可对第 7 层攻击(例如由 HOIC 发起的攻击)提供强大的防御能力。

High Orbit Ion Cannon

The High Orbit Ion Cannon Is A User-Friendly Tool To Launch Dos And DDoS Attacks Using HTTP Traffic

Common DDoS Attacks
DDoS Attack Tools
DDoS Glossary of Terms

High Orbit Ion Cannon

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define the High Orbit Ion Cannon DDoS tool
  • Describe the types of attacks that can be made with the HOIC
  • Learn how to mitigate HOIC attacks

What is the High Orbit Ion Cannon (HOIC)?

The High Orbit Ion Cannon is a popular tool used to launch DoS and DDoS attacks, which aims to flood a victim’s network with web traffic and shut down a web site or service. It is an easily available piece of open-source software developed by hacktivist group Anonymous, and it’s a successor to an older DDoS tool called the Low Orbit Ion Cannon (both named after sci-fi video game weapons). While most malicious software tools require a high level of technical skill, the HOIC provides a simple and user-friendly interface and can be turned on with the click of a button.

Although it is used in many malicious and illegal attacks, the HOIC is still legally available because it has applications as a legitimate testing tool for users who want to implement a “stress test” on their own networks.

How does the HOIC work?

The HOIC works via an application layer HTTP Flood DDoS attack, flooding a victim’s server with HTTP ‘GET’ and ‘POST’ requests with the goal of overloading the server’s request capacity. For advanced attacks, custom scripts can be used to target multiple sub-domains of the victim’s site at once. The HOIC can also target as many as 256 sites simultaneously, making it possible for users to coordinate concurrent attacks. This ‘shotgun approach’ of having several attackers targeting many different pages and domains at once can make mitigation and detection efforts much more challenging.

Built-in booster scripts also help attackers avoid detection. In addition to the booster scripts, many HOIC users also use Swedish proxies to obfuscate their location (it is believed that they choose Sweden because of the strict internet privacy laws in that country).

Launching a serious attack with the HOIC requires some coordination, as it requires around 50 different users to launch the attack on the same target simultaneously. Anonymous demonstrated the HOIC’s effectiveness in 2012 when it successfully launched attacks against several major record companies, the RIAA, and even the FBI. It was one of the biggest DDoS attacks in history and required an estimated 27,000 computers simultaneously using the HOIC.

What can stop an HOIC attack?

Several strategies exist to mitigate HTTP flood attacks from the HOIC. IP Reputation Filtering (IPRF) is a preventative measure that checks incoming IP addresses against databases of known malicious IP addresses and keeps their traffic off the network. A Web Application Firewall (WAF) can set rate-limiting rules which will drop traffic from IP addresses that are making suspicious amounts of requests. There are also methods to test if a web client is legitimate, such as captcha verification and a more sophisticated method that asks web browsers to solve a simple math problem without interrupting the user experience.

Protection from HOIC attacks should be included in most DDoS protection products and services. A comprehensive DDoS protection plan which includes a WAF like the one offered by Cloudflare, offers a strong defense against layer 7 attacks, such as those launched by the HOIC.