死亡之子 (R.U.D.Y.) 攻击

R.U.D.Y. 是一种低速缓慢攻击工具,它模仿正常流量,可以无限期地阻塞服务器。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

R U Dead Yet?

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义 R.U.D.Y. 工具
  • 描述如何使用 R.U.D.Y. 破坏 Web 服务
  • 概述防护 R.U.D.Y. 攻击的两种策略

什么是 R.U.D.Y. 攻击?

“死神之子”又称 R.U.D.Y.,是一种拒绝服务攻击工具,旨在通过以惊人的缓慢速度提交表单数据来使 Web 服务器保持捆绑状态。R.U.D.Y. 漏洞利用属于低速缓慢攻击,因为它着重于创建少量持续请求、而不是通过大量快速请求使服务器不堪重负。成功的 R.U.D.Y. 攻击将导致受害者的源站无法用于正常流量。

R.U.D.Y. 软件包括一个用户友好的点击界面,因此攻击者只需将工具指向带有漏洞的目标即可。任何接受表单输入的 Web 服务都容易受到 R.U.D.Y. 攻击,因为该工具通过嗅探表单字段并利用表单提交过程来运转。

R.U.D.Y. 攻击的工作原理

R.U.D.Y. 攻击可分为以下步骤:

  1. R.U.D.Y. 工具对受害人的应用程序进行抓取以查找表单字段。
  2. 找到表单后,该工具将创建一个 HTTP POST 请求以模仿正常的表单提交。该 POST 请求包含一个标头*,警告服务器其将提交非常长的内容。
  3. 然后,该工具通过将表单数据分解为小至每个 1 字节的数据包,以 10 秒钟左右的随机间隔将这些数据包发送到服务器,从而拉长提交表单数据的过程。
  4. 工具持续无限期提交数据。Web 服务器将保持连接打开以接受数据包,因为攻击行为与连接速度较慢的用户提交表单数据的行为类似。在这个时候,Web 服务器处理正常流量的能力就会受损。

R.U.D.Y. 工具可以同时创建多个针对一个 Web 服务器的慢速请求。由于 Web 服务器一次能够处理的连接数量有限,因此 R.U.D.Y. 攻击有可能占用所有可用的连接,这意味着试图访问 Web 服务器的任何正常用户都将被拒绝服务。R.U.D.Y. 甚至可以通过计算机网络同时进行攻击,导致具有大量可用连接的强大 Web 服务器下线,这被称为分布式拒绝服务 (DDoS) 攻击

*HTTP 标头是随 HTTP 请求或响应一起发送的键/值对,它们提供重要信息,例如正在使用的 HTTP 版本、内容所用的语言、要传递的内容量等等。

如何阻止 R.U.D.Y. 攻击

因为慢速和低速攻击比传统的拒绝服务攻击要巧妙得多,因此很难检测到,但是可以采取保护措施来防止。一种预防措施是在 Web 服务器上设置更严格的连接超时间隔,也就是说最慢的连接将被切断。但该解决方案具有副作用:服务器可能对 Internet 连接速度较慢的合法用户拒绝服务。或者可以采用反向代理解决方案,如 CloudFlare 的 DDoS 防护,筛选 R.U.D.Y. 攻击等低速缓慢攻击流量,但不会使合法用户断开。

R U Dead Yet? (R.U.D.Y.)

R.U.D.Y. is a low-and-slow attack tool that mimics legitimate traffic and it can keep a server tied up indefinitely.

Common DDoS Attacks
DDoS Attack Tools
DDoS Glossary of Terms

R U Dead Yet?

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define the R.U.D.Y. tool
  • Describe how R.U.D.Y. is used to disrupt web services
  • Outline two strategies for mitigating R.U.D.Y. attacks

What is a R.U.D.Y. attack?

‘R U Dead Yet?’ or R.U.D.Y. is a denial-of-service attack tool that aims to keep a web server tied up by submitting form data at an absurdly slow pace. A R.U.D.Y. exploit is categorized as a low-and-slow attack, since it focuses on creating a few drawn-out requests rather than overwhelming a server with a high volume of quick requests. A successful R.U.D.Y. attack will result in the victim’s web server becoming unavailable to legitimate traffic.

The R.U.D.Y. software includes a user-friendly point-and-click interface, so all an attacker needs to do is point the tool at a vulnerable target. Any web service that accepts form input is vulnerable to a R.U.D.Y. attack, since the tool works by sniffing out form fields and exploiting the form submission process.

How does a R.U.D.Y. attack work?

A R.U.D.Y. attack can be broken down into the following steps:

  1. The R.U.D.Y. tool crawls the victim’s application looking for a form field.
  2. Once a form is found, the tool creates an HTTP POST request to mimic a legitimate form submission. This POST request contains a header* which alerts the server that a very lengthy piece of content is about to be submitted.
  3. The tool then drags out the process of submitting the form data by breaking it down into packets as small as 1 byte each, sending these packets to the server at randomized intervals of around 10 seconds each.
  4. The tool continues submitting data indefinitely. The web server will keep the connection open to accept the packets, since the behavior of the attack is similar to that of a user with a slow connection speed submitting form data. Meanwhile the web server’s capacity to handle legitimate traffic is impaired.

The R.U.D.Y. tool can simultaneously create several of these slow requests all targeting one web server. Since web servers can only handle so many connections at once, it’s possible for the R.U.D.Y. attack to tie up all available connections, meaning any legitimate users trying to access the web server will be denied service. Even a robust web server with a high number of connections available can be taken down by R.U.D.Y. via a network of computers conducting attacks simultaneously, this is known as a Distributed Denial-of-Service (DDoS) attack.

*HTTP headers are key/value pairs that are sent with any HTTP request or response, and they provide vital information such as the HTTP version being used, what language the content is in, how much content is being delivered, etc.

How to stop R.U.D.Y. attacks

Because slow and low attacks are carried out much more subtly than traditional denial-of-service attacks, they can be hard to detect, but protections can be put in place to prevent them. One such prevention measure is to set stricter connection timeout intervals on a web server, meaning that the slowest connections will be severed. This solution comes with a side effect: legitimate users with slow Internet connections could be denied service by the server. Alternately a reverse-proxy solution, such as Cloudflare’s DDoS protection, can filter out low-and-slow attack traffic like R.U.D.Y. attacks, without disconnecting legitimate users.