什麼是 WAF? | Web Application Firewall 說明

WAF 在 Web 應用程式與網際網路之間建立一個護盾;此護盾可協助緩解多個常見攻擊。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

WAF

學習目標

閱讀本文後,您將能夠:

  • 定義 Web Application Firewall
  • 解釋封鎖清單與白名單 WAF 之間的差異
  • 瞭解網路型、主機型及雲端型 WAF 的優缺點。

什麼是 Web Application Firewall (WAF)?

WAF 或 Web Application Firewall 透過過濾和監控網路應用程式和網際網路之間的 HTTP 流量來幫忙保護網路應用程式。它通常保護網路應用程式免受諸如跨網站偽造跨網站指令碼處理 (XSS) 、檔案包含及SQL 資料隱碼攻擊等等攻擊。WAF 是個通訊協定層7防禦(在 OSI 模型中),並非旨在防禦所有類型的攻擊。這種緩解攻擊的方法通常是一系列工具的一部分,這些工具共同建置一個整體防禦,專門防堵一系列攻擊向量。


透過在網路應用程式前面部署 WAF,可以在 Web 應用程式和網際網路之間安置一個防護工具。Proxy 伺服器透過使用中繼來保護客戶端計算機的身份時,WAF 是一種反向 Proxy,它藉由讓客戶端到達伺服器之前通過 WAF,由此保護伺服器免於曝險。


WAF 透過一組通常稱為原則的規則作業。這些策略旨在藉由過濾掉惡意流量來防止應用程式中的弱點。 WAF 的價值部分來自於原則修改得以實施的速度和簡易性,便於更快回應不同的攻擊向量;在 DDoS 攻擊中,可透過修改 WAF 原則來快速執行 Rate Limiting。

DDOS How A WAF Works

封鎖清單與白名單 WAF 之間有哪些差異?

依黑名單(負面安全性模型)作業的 WAF 可以防範已知的攻擊。想像 WAF 是個俱樂部保鏢,受命拒絕不符合著裝要求的客人入場。反之,依白名單作業的(肯定安全性模型)WAF 僅允許已預先核准的流量。這就像保鏢在獨家派對上一樣,他或她只接納名單上的人。黑名單和白名單各有其優缺點,這就是為什麼許多 WAF 提供混合式安全性模型的原因,該模型可同時達成兩種效果。

什麼是網路型、主機型和雲端型 WAF?

WAF 可使用上述三種不同方法之一來執行,每種方法各有其自身的優缺點:

  • 網路型 WAF 通常以硬體為基礎。由於它們是在本機安裝的,因此可以最大程度地減少延遲,但是網路型 WAF 是最昂貴的選項,而且還需要存放和維護實體設備。
  • 主機型 WAF 可以完全整合到應用程式軟體中。此一解決方案和網路型 WAF 相比起來沒那麼貴,而還有更多的可自訂性。不過主機型 WAF 的缺點就是會消耗本機伺服器資源、實施起來很複雜,以及維護成本高等問題。這些組合通常需要工程時間,還可能很昂貴。 .
  • 雲端型 WAF 提供了一種經濟實惠的選項,實施起來非常容易;這種 WAF 它們通常提供完整即用安裝,就像安裝 DNS 來重新導向流量一樣簡單。雲端型 WAF 還有最低前期成本,因為用戶可選擇每月或每年付費服務,為其網路安全性把關。雲端型 WAF 還可以不斷提供更新的解決方案,以抵禦最新的威脅,而無需在用戶端增加任何工作或成本。而雲端型 WAF 的缺點是用戶將責任移交給第三方,因此 WAF 的某些功能可能對他們來說是一個看不見內容的黑盒子。誠摯歡迎您多加了解 Cloudflare 的雲端型 WAF 解決方案。

Improve your site with free and paid apps:

Cloudflare Developer Fund

Cloudflare and world class investment firms invest $100 Million to deliver powerful tools for the Internet. The Cloudflare Developer Fund is looking for companies that are building apps on Cloudflare’s platform.

Web Application Firewall (WAF)

Common DDoS Attacks
DDoS Attack Tools
DDoS Glossary of Terms

WAF

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define web application firewall
  • Explain the difference between blacklist and whitelist wafs
  • Understand the pros and cons of network-based, host-based, and cloud-based wafs

What is a Web Application Firewall (WAF)?

A WAF or Web Application Firewall helps protect web applications by filtering and monitoring HTTP traffic between a web application and the Internet. It typically protects web applications from attacks such as cross-site forgery, cross-site-scripting (XSS), file inclusion, and SQL injection, among others. A WAF is a protocol layer 7 defense (in the OSI model), and is not designed to defend against all types of attacks. This method of attack mitigation is usually part of a suite of tools which together create a holistic defense against a range of attack vectors.

By deploying a WAF in front of a web application, a shield is placed between the web application and the internet. While a proxy server protects a client machine’s identity by using an intermediary, a WAF is a type of reverse-proxy, protecting the server from exposure by having clients pass through the WAF before reaching the server.

A WAF operates through a set of rules often called policies. These policies aim to protect against vulnerabilities in the application by filtering out malicious traffic. The value of a WAF comes in part from the speed and ease with which policy modification can be implemented, allowing for faster response to varying attack vectors; during a DDoS attack, rate limiting can be quickly implemented by modifying WAF policies.

DDOS How A WAF Works

What is the difference between blacklist and whitelist WAFs?

A WAF that operates based on a blacklist (negative security model) protects against known attacks. Think of a blacklist WAF as a club bouncer instructed to deny admittance to guests who don’t meet the dress code. Conversely, a WAF based on a whitelist (positive security model) only admits traffic that has been pre-approved. This is like the bouncer at an exclusive party, he or she only admits people who are on the list. Both blacklists and whitelists have their advantages and drawbacks, which is why many WAFs offer a hybrid security model, which implements both.

What are network-based, host-based, and cloud-based WAFs?

A WAF can be implemented one of three different ways, each with it’s own benefits and shortcomings:

  • A network-based WAF is generally hardware-based. Since they are installed locally they minimize latency, but network-based WAFs are the most expensive option and also require the storage and maintenance of physical equipment.
  • A host-based WAF may be fully integrated into an application’s software. This solution is less expensive than a network-based WAF and offers more customizability. The downside of a host-based WAF is the consumption of local server resources, implementation complexity, and maintenance costs. These components typically require engineering time, and may be costly.
  • Cloud-based WAFs offer an affordable option that is very easy to implement; they usually offer a turnkey installation that is as simple as a change in DNS to redirect traffic. Cloud-based WAFs also have a minimal upfront cost, as users pay monthly or annually for security as a service. Cloud-based WAFs can also offer a solution that is consistently updated to protect against the newest threats without any additional work or cost on the user’s end. The drawback of a cloud-based WAF is that users hand over the responsibility to a third-party, therefore some features of the WAF may be a black box to them. Learn more about Cloudflare’s cloud-based WAF.