应用程序层 DDoS 攻击

应用程序层 DDoS 攻击针对 Internet 的应用程序层,以中断前往网站或服务的正常流量。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

应用程序层攻击

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义应用程序层 (L7) 攻击
  • 了解有关应用程序层攻击的运作原理的更多信息
  • 探索如何防护应用程序层攻击

什么是应用程序层 DDoS 攻击?

应用程序层攻击又称为第 7 层 (L7) DDoS 攻击,是指旨在针对 OSI 模型“顶层”的恶意行为,HTTP GET 和 HTTP POST 等常见 Internet 请求就发生在这一层。与 DNS 放大等网络层攻击相比,第 7 层攻击特别有效,因为它们除了消耗网络资源,还会消耗服务器资源。

应用程序层攻击的工作原理

大多数 DDoS 攻击的潜在有效性来自发起攻击所需的资源量与吸收或防护攻击所需的资源量之间的差异。尽管第 7 层攻击也符合这种情况,但这种攻击可以同时影响目标服务器和网络,因此需要更少的总带宽即可达到相同的破坏效果;应用程序层攻击消耗更少的总带宽即可造成更大的破坏。


为了探讨为什么会这样,我们看一下发出请求的客户端和响应请求的服务器之间的相对资源消耗差异。当用户发送登录到在线帐户(例如 Gmail 帐户)的请求时,用户的计算机必须使用的数据和资源数量很少,并且与检查登录凭据、从数据库加载相关用户数据然后发回包含所请求网页的响应这一过程中消耗的资源数量不成比例。


即使没有登录,多次收到客户端请求的服务器也必须进行数据库查询或其他 API 调用以生成网页。在许多设备将单个 Web 资产作为目标(例如在僵尸网络攻击期间)时,这种差异将进一步放大,使目标服务器不堪重负,从而对正常流量拒绝服务。在许多情况下,仅对 API 发起第 7 层攻击就足以使服务脱机。

为什么应用程序层 DDoS 攻击难以阻止?

攻击流量和正常流量很难区分,尤其是在应用程序层攻击(例如僵尸网络对受害服务器执行 HTTP 洪水攻击)的情况下。由于僵尸网络中的每个机器人都发出看似正常的网络请求,因此流量不是欺骗流量,而是来自可能来自“正常”来源的流量。


应用程序层攻击需要一种自适应策略,包括根据特定规则集限制可能会定期波动的流量的能力。正确配置的 WAF 等工具可以防护传递到源站的虚假通信量,从而大大减少 DDoS 尝试的影响。


对于其他攻击(例如 SYN 泛洪)或反射攻击(例如 NTP 放大),只要网络本身具有足够带宽可以承载,就可以使用策略相当有效地丢弃流量。遗憾的是,大多数网络无法承受 300Gbps 的放大攻击,而可以正确路由并满足第 7 层攻击可能产生的大量应用程序层请求的网络更是鲜见。

哪些策略有助于防护应用程序层攻击?

一种方法是对发出网络请求的设备实施质询,以测试它是否属于机器人。这是通过类似于在线创建帐户时常见的 CAPTCHA 测试的测试完成的。通过提出 JavaScript 计算挑战之类的要求,可以防护许多攻击。


其他阻止 HTTP 洪水的途径包括使用 Web 应用程序防火墙,通过 IP 信誉数据库以及工程师的实时网络分析来管理和筛选流量。


由于我们的网络达到了数百万用户的规模,Cloudflare 能够分析来自各种来源的流量,并通过不断更新的 WAF 规则和其他缓解策略来防护潜在的攻击 - 常常是在这些攻击发生之前或有机会重新针对其他目标之前。探索 Cloudflare 的 DDoS 高级保护服务

Application Layer DDoS attacks

Application layer DDoS attacks target the application layer of the Internet in order to disrupt the normal flow of traffic to a website or service.

Share
Common DDoS Attacks
DDoS Attack Tools
DDoS Glossary of Terms

Application Layer attack

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define an application layer (L7) attack
  • Learn more about how application layer attacks work
  • Explore how to mitigate an application layer attack

What is an Application Layer DDoS attack?

Application layer attacks or layer 7 (L7) DDoS attacks refer to a type of malicious behavior designed to target the “top” layer in the OSI model where common internet requests such as HTTP GET and HTTP POST occur. These layer 7 attacks, in contrast to network layer attacks such as DNS Amplification, are particularly effective due to their consumption of server resources in addition to network resources.

How do application layer attacks work?

The underlying effectiveness of most DDoS attacks comes from the disparity between the amount of resources it takes to launch an attack relative to the amount of resources it takes to absorb or mitigate one. While this is still the case with L7 attacks, the efficiency of affecting both the targeted server and the network requires less total bandwidth to achieve the same disruptive effect; an application layer attack creates more damage with less total bandwidth.


To explore why this is the case, let's take a look at the difference in relative resource consumption between a client making a request and a server responding to the request. When a user sends a request logging into an online account such as a Gmail account, the amount of data and resources the user’s computer must utilize are minimal and disproportionate to the amount of resources consumed in the process of checking login credentials, loading the relevant user data from a database, and then sending back a response containing the requested webpage.


Even in the absence of a login, many times a server receiving a request from a client must make database queries or other API calls in order to produce a webpage. When this disparity is magnified as a result of many devices targeting a single web property like during a botnet attack, the effect can overwhelm the targeted server, resulting in denial-of-service to legitimate traffic. In many cases simply targeting an API with a L7 attack is enough to take the service offline.

Why is it difficult to stop application layer DDoS attacks?

Distinguishing between attack traffic and normal traffic is difficult, especially in the case of a application layer attack such as a botnet performing a HTTP Flood attack against a victim’s server. Because each bot in a botnet makes seemingly legitimate network requests the traffic is not spoofed and may appear “normal” in origin.


Application layer attacks require an adaptive strategy including the ability to limit traffic based on particular sets of rules, which may fluctuate regularly. Tools such as a properly configured WAF can mitigate the amount of bogus traffic that is passed on to an origin server, greatly diminishing the impact of the DDoS attempt.


With other attacks such as SYN floods or reflection attacks such as NTP amplification, strategies can be used to drop the traffic fairly efficiently provided the network itself has the bandwidth to receive them. Unfortunately, most networks cannot receive a 300Gbps amplification attack, and even fewer networks can properly route and serve the volume of application layer requests an L7 attack can generate.

What tactics help mitigate application layer attacks?

One method is to implement a challenge to the device making the network request in order to test whether or not it is a bot. This is done through a test much like the CAPTCHA test commonly found when creating an account online. By giving a requirement such as a JavaScript computational challenge, many attacks can be mitigated.


Other avenues for stopping HTTP floods include the use of a web application firewall, managing and filtering traffic through an IP reputation database, and through on-the-fly network analysis by engineers.


Having the advantage of scale with over 6 million users on our network, Cloudflare has the ability to analyze traffic from a variety of sources, mitigating potential attacks with constantly updated WAF rules and other mitigation strategies, often before they occur or have a chance to retarget others. Explore Cloudflare's DDoS advanced protection services.