什么是 DNS

域名服务将域名转换为计算机可读的 IP 地址。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

DNS

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义 DNS
  • 了解 DNS 请求的工作方式
  • 了解 DDoS 攻击者如何针对 DNS 漏洞

什么是 DNS?

DNS 通常被称为 Internet 的电话簿,当用户在其浏览器中键入网址时,DNS 就是该用户与他们正在寻找的网站的衔接。DNS 代表域名系统,DNS 维护 Internet 上每个网站的目录。

计算机只能使用 IP 地址来查找网站,这是一长串由标点符号分隔的数字,例如 192.168.1.1(旧的 IPv4 格式)或 2400:cb00:2048:1::c629:d7a2(新的 IPv6)。这些地址可能让人难以记住,除此之外,某些网站的 IP 地址是动态的,而且可能会定期更改。DNS 通过让人们使用对人类友好的网址(也称为 URL),使人们更容易访问网站。

例如,Cloudflare.com 的当前 IPv6 IP 地址为 2400:cb00:2048:1::c629:d7a2。用户无需记住这个地址,可以在浏览器中键入“www.cloudflare.com”。发生这种情况时,浏览器向 DNS 发送请求,DNS 返回一个响应,告知浏览器这个网站的 IP 地址,然后浏览器向该 IP 地址发送一个请求,后者以网站数据作为响应。

DNS 请求如何工作?

A DNS Request

DNS 服务器以分布式层次结构设置,这意味着数据分散到多台计算机上。当客户端发出 DNS 请求时,该请求由递归解析器处理,递归解析器是一个 DNS 服务器,它开始与其他 DNS 服务器进行一系列通信,直到找到请求的 IP 地址,然后将其返回给客户端。递归解析器还可以缓存 DNS 记录,从而使经常访问的记录更易于使用。

DNS 和 DDoS 攻击

有两种流行的 DDoS 攻击利用了 DNS 服务器,分别是 DNS放大攻击和 DNS 洪水攻击。

  • DNS 放大攻击是基于反射的 DDoS 攻击,攻击者向开放的 DNS 服务器发送伪造的查询请求,然后服务器将响应发送回目标受害者。由于攻击者发送的请求数据小于受害者接收的响应数据,因此攻击被放大了。了解有关 DNS 放大攻击的更多信息。
  • 在 DNS 洪水攻击中,攻击者试图使特定区域的 DNS 服务器不堪重负,以破坏对该区域的合法流量。通常,使用僵尸网络使 DNS 解析器无法处理查找请求来完成这种攻击。了解有关 DNS 洪水攻击的更多信息。

域名系统还有什么作用?

DNS 还定义了 DNS 协议,即 DNS 中使用的通信交换和数据结构的详细规范。这属于 Internet 协议套件(TCP/IP)。此外,DNS 维护着一个已知发送垃圾电子邮件的 IP 地址的主黑洞列表。可以基于此列表配置邮件服务器,以标记或拒绝怀疑是垃圾邮件的邮件。

DNS

The Domain Name Service translates domain names into computer-readable IP addresses.

Common DDoS Attacks
DDoS Attack Tools
DDoS Glossary of Terms

DNS

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define DNS
  • Understand how a DNS request works
  • Understand how DDoS attackers target DNS vulnerabilities

What is DNS?

DNS is often referred to as the phonebook of the internet, when a user types a web address into their browser, DNS is what connects that user with the web site they are seeking. DNS stands for Domain Name System, and the DNS maintains a directory of every website on the internet.

A computer can only find a website using it’s IP address, which is a long, punctuated string of numbers, such as 192.168.1.1 in the older IPv4 format, or 2400:cb00:2048:1::c629:d7a2 in the new IPv6 . These addresses can be hard for humans to remember, and on top of that, the IP addresses for some websites are dynamic and can change periodically. DNS makes it easier for people to access websites by letting them use human-friendly web addresses, also known as URLs.

For example, a current IPv6 IP address for Cloudflare.com is 2400:cb00:2048:1::c629:d7a2. Instead of memorizing that address, a user can type ‘www.cloudflare.com’ into their browser. When that happens, the browser sends out a request to DNS, and DNS returns a response telling the browser the IP address of that website, and the browser then sends a request to that IP address which responds with the website’s data.

How does a DNS request work?

DNS servers are set up in a distributed hierarchy, meaning the data is spread out over several computers. When a client makes a DNS request, the request is handled by a recursive resolver, which is a DNS server that starts a series of communications with other DNS servers until it finds the requested IP address, returning it to the client. Recursive resolvers can also cache DNS records, making frequently accessed records more readily available.

DNS and DDoS Attacks

There are two popular DDoS attacks that utilize DNS servers: DNS amplification attacks and DNS flood attacks.

  • DNS amplification attacks are reflection-based DDoS attacks where the attacker sends spoofed look-up requests to an open DNS server, and the server then sends the responses back to a targeted victim. The attack is amplified because the request data sent by the attacker is smaller than the response data received by the victim. Learn more about DNS amplification attacks.
  • In a DNS flood attack, the attackers attempt to overwhelm the DNS servers for a particular zone in an attempt to disrupt legitimate traffic to that zone. This type of attack is generally done by using a botnet to overwhelm a DNS resolver with lookup requests. Learn more about DNS flood attacks.

What else does the Domain Name System do?

The DNS also defines the DNS Protocol, which is a detailed specification of communication exchanges and data structures used in the DNS. This falls under the Internet Protocol Suite (TCP/IP). Additionally, The DNS maintains a master Blackhole List of IP addresses known for sending out spam email. Mail servers can be configured based on this list to flag or reject messages suspected to be spam.