什么是 DDoS 缓解?

妥善实施 DDoS 缓解是确保网站在攻击期间保持在线状态的重要手段。探索 DDoS 缓解过程以及需要了解的重要服务特征。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

DDoS 缓解

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够

  • 探索 DDoS 攻击缓解策略
  • 了解 DDoS 攻击范围
  • 重点介绍常见攻击

什么是 DDoS 缓解?

DDoS 缓解是指成功保护目标服务器或网络以抵御分布式拒绝服务 (DDoS) 攻击的过程。目标受害者可以使用专门设计的网络设备或基于云的保护服务缓解传入的威胁。

DDoS Mitigation Stages

使用基于云的提供程序,可分 4 个阶段缓解 DDoS 攻击:

  1. 检测 - 为阻止分布式攻击,网站需要能够区分攻击流量与大规模正常流量。如果产品发布或其他公告导致网站涌入大批新的合法访问者,那么网站最不希望的就是限制访问者或以其他方式阻止访问者查看网站内容。IP 信誉、常见攻击模式和过往数据均有助于妥善完成检测。
  2. 响应 - 在此步骤中,DDoS 防护网络将通过智能方式丢弃恶意机器人流量并吸收其余流量,从而对传入的已识别威胁做出响应。利用 WAF 页面规则发动应用程序层 (L7) 攻击,或者运用其他过滤流程发动低层级 (L3/L4) 攻击(如 memcachedNTP 放大),网络能够缓解中断攻击。
  3. 路由 - 高效 DDoS 缓解解决方案通过智能方式路由流量,将剩余流量分解为可管理的区块,从而防止拒绝服务
  4. 调整 - 卓越的网络可以分析流量总结模式(如重复违规的 IP 块),特别是攻击来自某些特定国家/地区或特定协议使用不当时效果尤为显著。通过调整攻击模式,防护服务可以加强自身以防范未来攻击。

选择 DDoS 缓解服务

传统 DDoS 缓解解决方案需要采购现场设备并过滤传入流量。 这种方法需要采购和维护昂贵设备,而且依赖能够缓解攻击的网络。如果 DDoS 攻击规模足够大,将可以从上游切断网络基础设施,阻止各类现场解决方案生效。如果采购基于云的 DDoS 缓解服务,应对某些特征进行评估。

  1. 可扩展性 - 高效解决方案必需能够适应不断增长的业务需求,并对层出不穷的 DDoS 攻击做出响应。超过每秒 1 TB/s (TBPS) 的攻击已然出现,而且尚无迹象表明攻击流量规模呈下滑趋势。Cloudflare 网络能够缓解比以往规模大 10 倍的 DDoS 攻击。
  2. 灵活性 - 能够创建临时策略和模式,因而可以实时调整 Web 属性以抵御传入的威胁。为确保站点在攻击期间保持在线状态,实施页面规则并在整个网络中填充相关更改显得至关重要。
  3. 可靠性 - DDoS 防护就好比座椅安全带,只在必要时使用,一旦使用最好确保正常运行。无论任何防护策略,保证 DDoS 解决方案可靠性对于顺利推行策略均至关重要。为确保服务长时间正常运行及实现较高的站点可靠性,工程师每天 24 小时不间断工作,以维持网络在线状态并识别新威胁。冗余、故障转移及广阔的数据中心网络是推行平台战略的核心。
  4. 网络规模 - 随着具体协议和攻击手段的不断转变,Internet DDoS 攻击也存在一定的规律。鉴于网络庞大且数据传输范围较广,DDoS 缓解提供商可以快速有效地分析和响应攻击,通常能够抢先一步阻止攻击。Cloudflare 网络运行的 Internet 请求约占财富 1,000 强企业的 10%,为分析全球攻击流量数据创造了优势。

Extensions Extension Products
Extensions Extension Products
Extensions Extension Products

What is DDoS Mitigation?

Properly implemented DDoS mitigation is what keeps websites online during an attack. Explore the process of DDoS mitigation and the important characteristics to look for in a service.

Common DDoS Attacks
DDoS Attack Tools
DDoS Glossary of Terms

DDoS Mitigation

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Explore mitigation strategies for DDoS attacks
  • Learn about the range of DDoS attacks
  • Highlight common attacks

What is DDoS mitigation?

DDoS mitigation refers to the process of successfully protecting a targeted server or network from a distributed denial-of-service (DDoS) attack. By utilizing specially designed network equipment or a cloud-based protection service, a targeted victim is able to mitigate the incoming threat.

DDoS Mitigation Stages

There are 4 stages of mitigating a DDoS attack using a cloud-based provider:

  1. Detection - in order to stop a distributed attack, a website needs to be able to distinguish an attack from a high volume of normal traffic. If a product release or other announcement has a website swamped with legitimate new visitors, the last thing the site wants to do is throttle them or otherwise stop them from viewing the content of the website. IP reputation, common attack patterns, and previous data assist in proper detection.
  2. Response - in this step, the DDoS protection network responds to an incoming identified threat by intelligently dropping malicious bot traffic, and absorbing the rest of the traffic. Using WAF page rules for application layer (L7) attacks, or another filtration process to handle lower level (L3/L4) attacks such as memcached or NTP amplification, a network is able to mitigate the attempt at disruption.
  3. Routing - By intelligently routing traffic, an effective DDoS mitigation solution will break the remaining traffic into manageable chunks preventing denial-of-service.
  4. Adaptation - A good network analyzes traffic for patterns such as repeating offending IP blocks, particular attacks coming from certain countries, or particular protocols being used improperly. By adapting to attack patterns, a protection service can harden itself against future attacks.

Choosing a DDoS mitigation service

Traditional DDoS mitigation solutions involved purchasing equipment that would live on site and filter incoming traffic. This approach involves purchasing and maintaining expensive equipment, and also relied on having a network capable of absorbing an attack. If a DDoS attack is large enough, it can take out the network infrastructure upstream preventing any on-site solution from being effective. When purchasing a cloud-based DDoS mitigation service, certain characteristics should be evaluated.

  1. Scalability - an effective solution needs to be able to adapt to the needs of a growing business as well as respond to the growing size of DDoS attacks. Attacks larger than 1 TB per second (TBPS) have occurred, and there’s no indication that the trend in attack traffic size is downward. Cloudflare’s network is capable of handling DDoS attacks 10X larger than have ever occurred.
  2. Flexibility - being able to create ad hoc policies and patterns allows a web property to adapt to incoming threats in real time. The ability to implement page rules and populate those changes across the entire network is a critical feature in keeping a site online during an attack.
  3. Reliability - much like a seatbelt, DDoS protection is something you only need when you need it, but when that time comes it better be functional. The reliability of a DDoS solution is essential to the success of any protection strategy. Make sure that the service has high uptime rates and site reliability engineers working 24 hours a day to keep the network online and identify new threats. Redundancy, failover and an expansive network of data centers should be central to the strategy of the platform.
  4. Network size - DDoS attacks have patterns that occur across the Internet as particular protocols and attack vectors change over time. Having a large network with extensive data transfer allows a DDoS mitigation provider to analyze and respond to attacks quickly and efficiently, often stopping them before they ever occur. Cloudflare’s network runs 10% of the Internet, creating an advantage in analyzing data from attack traffic around the globe.