死亡之 Ping DDoS 攻击

DoS 攻击旨在通过发出异常大的数据包来破坏 Web 服务器。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

死亡之 Ping

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义死亡之 Ping (POD) 攻击
  • 说明 POD 攻击如何工作
  • 说明 POD 攻击的缓解策略

什么是死亡之 Ping 攻击?

死亡之 Ping 攻击是一种 拒绝服务 (DoS) 攻击,攻击者旨在通过发送大于最大允许大小的数据包来破坏目标计算机,从而导致目标计算机冻结或崩溃。原始的死亡之 Ping 攻击如今并不常见。称为 ICMP 洪水攻击的相关攻击更为普遍。

死亡之 Ping 如何工作?

Internet 控制消息协议 (ICMP) 回显回复消息或 “ping” 是用于测试网络连接的网络实用程序,其工作原理类似于声纳 – 发出“脉冲” 而该脉冲发出的“回显”告知操作员有关环境的信息。如果连接正常,则源计算机收到来自目标计算机的回复。


尽管某些 ping 数据包非常小,但 IP4 ping 数据包要大得多,并且可以达到 65,535 字节的最大允许数据包大小。某些 TCP/IP 系统从未设计用于处理大于最大值的数据包,从而使其容易受到大于该大小的数据包的攻击。

Ping of Death DDoS Attack

当恶意大数据包从攻击者传输到该目标时,该数据包将分成多个分段,每个分段均低于最大大小限制。当目标计算机尝试将这些部分一起放回时,总数超出大小限制,并且可能发生缓冲区溢出,从而导致目标计算机冻结、崩溃或重启。

虽然 ICMP 回显可用于此攻击,但发送 IP 数据报的任何内容均可用于此漏洞。其中包括 TCP、UDP 和 IPX 传输。

如何防护死亡之 Ping DDoS 攻击?

阻止攻击的一种解决方案是向重组过程添加检查,以确保在数据包重组后不会超出最大数据包大小限制。另一个解决方案是创建具有足够空间来处理超出准则最大值的数据包的内存缓冲区。


原始死亡之 Ping 攻击大多已经灭绝;1998 年后生产的设备通常都会防止此类攻击。部分旧设备可能仍易受攻击。最近发现了针对 Microsoft Windows IPv6 数据包的新型死亡之 Ping 攻击,并于 2013 年年中进行修补。Cloudflare DDoS 防护通过在格式错误的数据包到达目标主机计算机之前丢弃它们来缓解死亡之 Ping 攻击。

Ping of Death Attack

A DoS attack that aims to disrupt a web server by sending out abnormally large packets.

Common DDoS Attacks
DDoS Attack Tools
DDoS Glossary of Terms

Ping of Death

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define a Ping of Death (POD) attack
  • Explain how a POD attack works
  • Explain mitigation strategies for POD attacks

What is a Ping of Death attack?

A Ping of Death attack is a denial-of-service (DoS) attack, in which the attacker aims to disrupt a targeted machine by sending a packet larger than the maximum allowable size, causing the target machine to freeze or crash. The original Ping of Death attack is less common today. A related attack known as an ICMP flood attack is more prevalent.

How does a Ping of Death work?

An Internet Control Message Protocol (ICMP) echo-reply message or “ping”, is a network utility used to test a network connection, and it works much like sonar – a “pulse” is sent out and the “echo” from that pulse tells the operator information about the environment. If the connection is working, the source machine receives a reply from the targeted machine.

While some ping packets are very small, IP4 ping packets are much larger, and can be as large as the maximum allowable packet size of 65,535 bytes. Some TCP/IP systems were never designed to handle packets larger than the maximum, making them vulnerable to packets above that size.

Ping of Death DDoS Attack

When a maliciously large packet is transmitted from the attacker to the target, the packet becomes fragmented into segments, each of which is below the maximum size limit. When the target machine attempts to put the pieces back together, the total exceeds the size limit and a buffer overflow can occur, causing the target machine to freeze, crash or reboot.

While ICMP echo can be used for this attack, anything that sends an IP datagram can be used for this exploit. That includes TCP, UDP and IPX transmissions.

How is a Ping of Death DDoS attack mitigated?

One solution to stop an attack is to add checks to the reassembly process to make sure the maximum packet size constraint will not be exceeded after packet recombination. Another solution is to create a memory buffer with enough space to handle packets which exceed the guideline maximum.

The original Ping of Death attack has mostly gone the way of the dinosaurs; devices created after 1998 are generally protected against this type of attack. Some legacy equipment may still be vulnerable. A new Ping of Death attack for IPv6 packets for Microsoft Windows was discovered more recently, and it was patched in mid 2013. Cloudflare mitigates Ping of Death attacks by dropping malformed packets before they reach the targeted host computer. Cloudflare DDoS Protection