欧洲电视网

欧洲电视网因为 DDoS 攻击而下线。 但 Cloudflare 又使它恢复了正常。

欧洲电视网歌唱大赛 Eurovision Song Contest 自 1956 年以来每年举行一次,2013 年的全球电视观众达到了 1.70 亿。来自大约 40 个国家/地区的参与者表演一首原创歌曲,然后由公众投票和国家评审团共同决定谁可以从半决赛突围、进到总决赛。欧洲电视网的过往获奖者包括有史以来作品最畅销的加拿大艺人席琳·迪翁和参加比赛前最成功的乐队 ABAB。比赛全年展开,但半决赛和决赛仅持续一周,因此是一场十分精彩、激烈的决赛。

欧洲电视网向 Cloudflare 求救

在 2012 年欧洲电视网歌唱大赛半决赛期间,也就是网站全年最繁忙的时候,Eurovision.tv 遭到了大型 DDoS 攻击。 “我们当时的内容交付网络提供商面对攻击几乎束手无策,并且由于我们使用的是 CDN,我们的托管合作伙伴也不能做太多筛选,”EBU/EUROVISION 的欧洲电视网歌唱比赛项目开发人员 Wouter van Vliet 说。 “我们的 CDN 实施了一些拦截技术,缓解了第一波攻击流量,但是当攻击改变手段时,他们就无能为力了。”

在那之前的几个月,Wouter 和他的团队了解到了 Cloudflare,并决定在他们需要额外的安全性和保护考虑后者提供的服务。 他们只是没想到这个时候来得这么快。 欧洲最受欢迎的电视节目的主播站点在一年中最关键的时刻(即总决赛之前的几天)下线了,所以他们决定,他们需要 Cloudflare, 并且要尽快!

在第一场半决赛期间,欧洲电视网歌唱大赛的粉丝会访问该网站,以查找结果并观看比赛的在线直播。 由于站点服务中断,来自世界各地的 Eurovision.tv 访客都无法获得这些结果和信息流。 对于欧洲电视网歌曲大赛而言,网站必须要重新上线并运行。

因此,欧洲电视网歌唱大赛向 Cloudflare 发出了求救信号。Cloudflare 缓解了 DDoS 攻击,让网站恢复了在线状态。编辑团队和 Eurovision.tv 的访问者立即注意到网站已恢复正常运行。van Vliet 说:“我们还注意到,服务器也开始有了一些喘息的空间。从那之后,我们一直蓬勃发展。Cloudflare 使我们的平台更加稳定,这对我们来说具有巨大的价值。”

Cloudflare 有求必应,不仅仅提供搜索和救援

Cloudflare 不仅缓解了 DDoS 攻击,而且还提高了 Eurovision.tv 的性能,大大缩短了每个访客的加载时间。 在安全性和性能都得到照应之后,欧洲电视网歌唱大赛抛弃了之前的 CDN 服务,完全依靠 Cloudflare。

随着欧洲电视网歌唱大赛越来越多地使用 Cloudflare 的服务,他们发现了其他大有裨益的功能。 Eurovision.tv 使用“页面规则”在 Cloudflare 的边缘上缓存其他内容,从而在不牺牲全局活动最新更新的情况下,加快了交付速度。 通过页面规则,Cloudflare 客户可以对 Cloudflare 如何与页面进行逐页交互进行精细控制。

van Vliet 说:“缓解攻击和 CDN 的组合使它坚不可摧。 Cloudflare 团队给我们提供了大力支持,特别是在五月的高峰期,无论我们的网站有多少流量,都能保持平稳运行,这让我们感觉更加安全。”

欧洲电视网
主要成果

在大规模 DDoS 攻击后重新联机

流量高峰期间的稳定性

执行页面规则以提高性能

借助全局 CDN 大幅提高性能

Cloudflare 让我们的平台更稳定,这对我们来说意义重大......它结合了攻击缓解和 CDN,因此非常强大。

Wouter van Vliet
项目开发人员

Improve your site with free and paid apps:

Cloudflare Developer Fund

Cloudflare and world class investment firms invest $100 Million to deliver powerful tools for the Internet. The Cloudflare Developer Fund is looking for companies that are building apps on Cloudflare’s platform.

Eurovision

Eurovision was taken down with DDoS. Cloudflare brought it back online.

Key Results
Brought back online after massive DDoS attack
Stability during peak traffic events
Page Rule implementation to increase performance
Drastic performance improvements with global CDN

Held every year since 1956, the Eurovision Song Contest reached 170 million television viewers worldwide in 2013. Participants from about 40 countries perform an original song, and a combination of public vote and national juries decide who continues on from the semi-finals to the Grand Final. Past winners of Eurovision include Celine Dion, the best-selling Canadian artist of all time, and ABBA, the most successful group to ever to take part in the contest. The contest takes place throughout the year with the semi-finals and final lasting for just a week, making for an incredibly exciting and intense grand final event.

Eurovision Sends Cloudflare an SOS

During the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest semi final, the busiest time of year for the website, Eurovision.tv was targeted with a large DDoS attack. “Our content delivery network provider at that time could only do very little to mitigate the attack, and because we were using a CDN, our hosting partner couldn’t do much filtering either,” said Wouter van Vliet, Project Developer of the Eurovision Song Contest at EBU/EUROVISION. “The first flood of attack traffic was mitigated with some blocking techniques implemented by our CDN, but when the attack got more creative there was nothing more they could do.”

Wouter and his team came across Cloudflare a few months earlier and had decided to keep the service in mind in case they were in need of additional security and protection. That time came sooner than they had imagined. With the main site of Europe’s favorite TV show going down during the most critical time of the year, just days before the Grand Final, they decided they needed Cloudflare. And fast!

During the first semi final, fans of the Eurovision Song Contest access the website to find out results and to watch online streams of the contest. With the site service disrupting, visitors from around the world to Eurovision.tv experienced difficulty accessing these results and streams. It was imperative to the Eurovision Song Contest that they get back up and running.

So the Eurovision Song Contest reached out to Cloudflare. Cloudflare mitigated the DDoS attack and the site was brought back online. The editorial team and Eurovision.tv’s visitors immediately noticed the site was back in business. “We also noticed that the servers were beginning to have some space to breath again as well,” said van Vliet. “We have thrived from that moment on. Cloudflare has made our platforms much more stable, which has been a huge value for us.”

Cloudflare Answers, Provides More Than Just Search and Rescue

Cloudflare not only mitigated the DDoS attack, but also increased Eurovision.tv’s performance, providing a noticeable improvement in load time to everyone who visits the site. With security and performance taken care of, the Eurovision Song Contest was able to get rid of their old CDN service and rely entirely on Cloudflare.

As the Eurovision Song Contest used the service more, they discovered additional features that made their lives easier. Eurovision.tv used Page Rules to cache additional content on Cloudflare’s edge, speeding up delivery without sacrificing up-to-the-minute updates during the global event. Page Rules gives Cloudflare customers fine-grained control over how Cloudflare interacts with a site on a page-by-page basis.

“The combination of attack mitigation and CDN is what makes it so powerful,” said van Vliet. “Thanks to the great support we received from the Cloudflare team, especially during our peak weeks in May, we’ve felt more secure that the sites would keep running smooth regardless of amounts of traffic - and they have.”

“Cloudflare has made our platforms much more stable, which has been a huge value for us . . . The combination of attack mitigation and CDN is what makes it so powerful."

-Wouter van Vliet Project Developer