什么是 HTTP 实时流?| HLS 流

HTTP 实时流(HLS)是一种广泛使用的视频流协议,几乎可在任何服务器上运行,并且受到大多数设备的支持。HLS 通过提高或降低流的质量,使客户端设备无缝适应不断变化的网络条件。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

HTTP 实时流

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义 HTTP 实时流(HLS)
  • 了解 HLS 的工作方式。
  • 探索自适应比特率流式传输的好处

什么是 HTTP 实时流(HLS)?

HTTP 实时流(HLS)是使用最广泛的视频协议之一。尽管它称为 HTTP“实时”流,但它同时适用于点播流和实时流。HLS 将视频文件分解为较小的可下载 HTTP 文件,并使用 HTTP 协议来交付。客户端设备加载这些 HTTP 文件,然后将它们作为视频进行播放。

HLS 有一个优点,所有连入 Internet 的设备都支持 HTTP,因而它比需要使用专用服务器的流协议更易于实施。另一个优点是,HLS 流可以根据网络条件提高或降低视频质量,不会中断播放。这就是为什么当用户观看视频时,会发现视频质量可能在中途变好或变差的原因。这种功能称为“自适应比特率视频交付”或“自适应比特率流式传输”。若无此功能,网络速度缓慢可能会使视频彻底停止播放。

HLS 由 Apple 为 Apple 产品开发,但现在已广泛用于许多设备。

什么是流传输?

流式传输是通过 Internet 向用户传递视频和音频媒体的一种方式。它通过连续地将媒体文件发送到用户设备来工作,一次传输一小部分,而不是一次性传输全部。原始媒体文件可以存储在远程位置,或者在实时流式传输的情况下,可以使用远程摄像机或麦克风实时创建。这样,视频或音频可以开始播放,无需用户的设备预先下载整个文件。

什么是 HTTP?

HTTP 是应用程序层协议,用于在连接到网络的设备之间传输信息。普通用户可以访问的每个网站和应用程序都在 HTTP 上运行。通过 HTTP 传输数据通常基于请求和响应。几乎所有 HTTP 消息都是请求或对请求的响应。

对于通过 HTTP 的流式传输,标准的请求与响应模式并不适用。客户端和服务器之间的连接在流的持续时间内保持开启状态,并且服务器将视频数据推送到客户端,因此客户端不必逐一请求视频数据的每个片段。

HLS 如何工作?

服务器:HLS 流源自于服务器,其中存储了媒体文件(在点播流式传输中)或创建了流(在实时流式传输中)。因为 HLS 基于HTTP,所以任何普通的 Web 服务器都可以发起流。

服务器上发生两个主要过程:

  1. 编码:重新格式化视频数据,以便任何设备都可能识别和解释数据。HLS 必须使用 H.264 或 H.265 编码。
  2. 分段:视频分成几个长度为几秒钟的片段。片段长度不等,但默认长度为 10 秒。
    • 除了将视频分割为片段外,HLS 还创建视频片段的索引文件,以记录它们所属的次序。
    • HLS 还会创建几组不同质量等级的重复片段:480p、720p 和 1080p 等。

分发:当客户端设备请求流时,已编码的视频段通过 Internet 推送到客户端设备。通常,内容交付网络(CDN)可以协助将流分发到地理上不同的区域。CDN 还可以缓存流,从而更快地将其提供给客户端。

客户端设备:客户端设备是接收流并播放视频的设备,例如用户的智能手机或笔记本电脑。客户端设备使用索引文件作为参考,以正确的顺序组装视频,并根据需要从更高质量影像切换到低质量影像(反之亦然)。

什么是 HLS 自适应比特率流式传输?

HLS 与一些其他流协议相比的优势之一是自适应比特率流式传输。这是指根据网络条件变化而在流的中间调整视频质量的能力。即使网络条件变差,此功能也可以使视频继续播放;相反,它也可以最大化视频质量,达到网络可以支持的最高质量。

如果网络速度变慢,用户的视频播放器会检测到,自适应比特率流式传输就会降低流的质量,从而使视频不会停止播放。如果有更多网络带宽可用,则自适应比特率流式传输将提高流的质量。

自适应比特率流式传输之所可行,是因为 HLS 在分割过程中会创建多个不同质量级别的重复的分段流。用户的视频播放器可以在视频播放期间从其中一个流无缝切换到另一个流。

HLS 是否使用 TCP 或 UDP 作为其传输协议?

TCPUDP 是传输协议,即它们负责通过 Internet 交付内容。TCP 交付数据的可靠性一般比 UDP 高,但后者速度要快得多,尽管传输过程中可能会丢失一些数据。

由于 UDP 速度更快,许多流式传输协议都使用 UDP 而非 TCP。但是,HLS 使用的是 TCP。这有几个原因:

  1. HLS 基于 HTTP,并且 HTTP 协议设计为与 TCP 搭配使用(也有一些例外)。
  2. 现代 Internet 比最初开发流式传输时更加可靠,更加高效。在当今世界的许多地方,用户连接已得到极大改善,尤其是移动连接。因此,用户有足够的带宽来支持每个视频帧的交付。
  3. 自适应比特率流式传输有助于补偿 TCP 潜在的较慢数据交付。
  4. HLS 流式传输并不必须“实时”,例如在视频会议连接中。多几秒的延迟不会像丢失视频帧那样严重影响用户体验。

流式传输通常还使用其他哪些协议?

有许多与 HLS 相似的协议,例如 MPEG-DASH 和 HDS,它们也可以通过 HTTP 运行并提供自适应比特率流式传输。基于 RTMP 协议运行的 Adobe Flash 一度是视频流式传输的主要技术;不过,许多浏览器已不再支持 Flash。RTMP 仍在广泛使用。

Cloudflare 是否支持 HTTP 实时流式传输?

Cloudflare 支持点播和实时流媒体的 HLS。Cloudflare Stream 将视频存储、编码和可自定义的播放器与快速、安全和可靠的 Cloudflare 网络集成在一起,该网络遍及 100 个国家/地区的 200 个城市。这使世界各地的用户都可以接收快速,高质量的 HLS 流。了解有关 Cloudflare Stream 的更多信息

What Is HTTP Live Streaming? | HLS Streaming

HTTP live streaming (HLS) is a widely used video streaming protocol that can run on almost any server and is supported by most devices. HLS allows client devices to seamlessly adapt to changing network conditions by raising or lowering the quality of the stream.

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon
  • Why Site Speed Matters
  • How Site Speed Boosts SEO
  • Making a Site Mobile Friendly
  • Test the Speed of a Site
  • More on Performance
  • Glossary

HTTP Live Streaming

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define HTTP live streaming (HLS)
  • Learn how HLS works
  • Explore the benefits of adaptive bitrate streaming

What is HTTP live streaming (HLS)?

HTTP live streaming (HLS) is one of the most widely used video streaming protocols. Although it is called HTTP "live" streaming, it is used for both on-demand streaming and live streaming. HLS breaks down video files into smaller downloadable HTTP files and delivers them using the HTTP protocol. Client devices load these HTTP files and then play them back as video.

One advantage of HLS is that all Internet-connected devices support HTTP, making it simpler to implement than streaming protocols that require the use of specialized servers. Another advantage is that an HLS stream can increase or decrease video quality depending on network conditions without interrupting playback. This is why video quality may get better or worse in the middle of a video as a user is watching it. This feature is known as "adaptive bitrate video delivery" or "adaptive bitrate streaming," and without it, slow network conditions can stop a video from playing altogether.

HLS was developed by Apple for use on Apple products, but it is now used across a wide range of devices.

What is streaming?

Streaming is a way of delivering visual and audio media to users over the Internet. It works by continually sending the media file to a user's device a little bit at a time instead of all at once. The original media file is stored remotely, or, in the case of live streaming, created in real-time with a remote camera or microphone. This way, the video or audio can play without the user's device downloading the entire file first.

What is HTTP?

HTTP is an application layer protocol for transferring information between devices connected to a network. Every website and application accessible by regular users runs on HTTP. Data transfer over HTTP is typically based on requests and responses. Almost all HTTP messages are either a request or a response to a request.

With streaming over HTTP, the standard request-response pattern does not apply. The connection between client and server remains open for the duration of the stream, and the server pushes video data to the client so that the client does not have to request every segment of video data.

How does HLS work?

Server: An HLS stream originates from a server where (in on-demand streaming) the media file is stored, or where (in live streaming) the stream is created. Because HLS is based on HTTP, any ordinary web server can originate the stream.

Two main processes take place on the server:

  1. Encoding: The video data is reformatted so that any device can recognize and interpret the data. HLS must use H.264 or H.265 encoding.
  2. Segmenting: The video is divided up into segments a few seconds in length. The length of the segments can vary, although the default length is 10 seconds.
    • In addition to dividing the video into segments, HLS creates an index file of the video segments to record the order they belong in.
    • HLS will also create several duplicate sets of segments at different quality levels: 480p, 720p, 1080p, and so on.

Distribution: The encoded video segments are pushed out to client devices over the Internet when client devices request the stream. Typically, a content delivery network (CDN) will help distribute the stream to geographically diverse areas. A CDN will also cache the stream to serve it to clients even more quickly.

Client device: The client device is the device that receives the stream and plays the video – for instance, a user smartphone or laptop. The client device uses the index file as a reference for assembling the video in order, and it switches from higher quality to lower quality picture (and vice versa) as needed.

What is adaptive bitrate streaming in HLS?

One of the advantages HLS has over some other streaming protocols is adaptive bitrate streaming. This refers to the ability to adjust video quality in the middle of a stream as network conditions change. This ability allows videos to keep playing even if network conditions get worse; conversely, it also maximizes video quality to be as high as the network can support.

If the network slows down, the user's video player detects this, and adaptive bitrate streaming lowers the quality of the stream so that the video does not stop playing. If more network bandwidth becomes available, adaptive bitrate streaming improves the quality of the stream.

Adaptive bitrate streaming is possible because HLS creates several duplicate segmented streams at different quality levels during the segmentation process. The user's video player can seamlessly switch from one of those streams to another one during video playback.

Does HLS use TCP or UDP as its transport protocol?

TCP and UDP are transport protocols, meaning they are responsible for delivering content over the Internet. TCP tends to deliver data more reliably than UDP, but the latter is much faster, even though some data may be lost in transit.

Because UDP is faster, many streaming protocols use UDP instead of TCP. HLS, however, uses TCP. This is for several reasons:

  1. HLS is over HTTP, and the HTTP protocol is built for use with TCP (with some exceptions).
  2. The modern Internet is more reliable and more efficient than it was when streaming was first developed. In many parts of the world today, user connectivity has vastly improved, especially for mobile connections. As a result, users have enough bandwidth to support the delivery of every video frame.
  3. Adaptive bitrate streaming helps compensate for the potentially slower data delivery of TCP.
  4. HLS streaming does not need to be "real time," as is the case with videoconferencing connections. A few extra seconds of lag does not impact the user experience as much as missing video frames would.

What other protocols are commonly used for streaming?

There are a number of similar protocols to HLS, like MPEG-DASH and HDS, that also run over HTTP and offer adaptive bitrate streaming. Adobe Flash, which runs on the RTMP protocol, used to be the main technology used for video streaming; however, many browsers no longer support Flash. RTMP is still in wide use.

Does Cloudflare support HTTP live streaming?

Cloudflare supports HLS for both on-demand and live streaming. Cloudflare Stream integrates video storage, encoding, and a customizable player with the fast, secure, and reliable Cloudflare network, which spans 200 cities in over 100 countries. This enables users around the world to receive fast, high-quality HLS streams. Learn more about Cloudflare Stream.