德国商报媒体集团

Cloudflare 如何推动 Handelsblatt Media Group 的数字化转型

德国商报媒体集团(HMG)是德国领先的商业和金融信息媒体公司。这家总部位于杜塞尔多夫的媒体集团成立于 1946 年,致力于提供以事实为依据、独立而优质的新闻。通过以决策者为目标读者的媒体品牌,包括 德国《商报》( Handelsblatt)德国《经济周刊》(WirtschaftsWoche) ,拥有超过 200 万读者。HMG 还通过旗下多家子公司服务于大型企业,提供营销专业知识、企业内容代理等各项服务。

作为一家声名卓著的媒体企业,HMG 经常遭到恶意分子的联合在线攻击,在迁移至 Cloudflare 之前,这些攻击引发了重大问题。短短几周时间里,HMG 数次遭遇在线攻击,源站瘫痪,网站无法访问。

对新闻机构而言,信任至关重要,而网站的不稳定会快速削弱这种信任。由于这些攻击毫无减弱势头,HMG 解决这一问题刻不容缓。

Cloudflare 的不同之处

HMG 的数字产品与开发团队评估了各种云平台,他们需要的解决方案不仅要阻止这些恶意攻击,还要在性能、可靠性、运营效率和成本方面带来效益。HMG 很快就认定 Cloudflare 是不二之选。

从传统云供应商快速迁移(期间零停机)出来后,HMG 启用了 Cloudflare 的 Web Application Firewall (WAF) 和 DDoS 防护来阻止恶意攻击者,立竿见影地解决了可靠性问题。依托来自 Cloudflare 网络数百万资产的集体情报,Cloudflare 防火墙持续并自动更新以应对最新威胁,从针对任一资产的攻击中获得洞察,从而更好地保护网络上的所有资产。

如今,HMG 团队可以集中精力处理其他重要事务,例如提高性能和设法释放其团队的更多生产力。

“我们要寻找的供应商既能阻止攻击者,也是适当的合作伙伴,能为我们的组织注入创新和效率。Cloudflare 满足并超越了这一需求。”

— Benedikt Geuer
Handelsblatt Media Group 开发运营主管
事实上,随着 HMG 对 Cloudflare 平台的研究越深入,它越能看到广阔的改进机会,从安全性和性能到运营效率,不一而足。

驱动数字化转型

HMG 正在彻底转变其数字化战略,为此,它需要全面改革基础设施,并且随着 HMG 致力于成为数字出版界的创新先驱,它还需要转变企业文化,借助这次转型来实现蓬勃发展。

HMG 的一大收获是 Cloudflare 的深层 API 支持,这使得 HMG 能以编程方式配置 Cloudflare 的各种产品和功能。借助用代码定义其基础设施的功能,HMG 得以减少依赖性、更好地利用自动化,并过渡到持续部署模式,从而大大加快了开发流程。

Cloudflare 在网络堆栈中的地位是它的另一大优势,这使它除了 SaaS 应用程序之外,还可以与本地及云基础设施的任意组合协同运作,并管理其中的各项策略。HMG 基本上仍在本地服务器上运转,但是它正在积极尝试公共云,并且使用 Cloudflare 作为独立的中间层,明智地同时管理多个云。

“Cloudflare 正在简化我们从本地到云端的迁移。“当我们利用各种公共云服务时,Cloudflare 成为我们独立、统一的控制点,为我们提供战略灵活性,能选择合适的云解决方案,并能在日后轻松进行更改。”

— Isabel Wolters 博士
首席技术官,德国商报媒体集团
**这只是开端。**

在推进数字化转型的过程中,HMG 还有着更宏伟的目标,Cloudflare 将一如既往为实现这些目标发挥重要作用。Cloudflare 的 Argo Smart Routing 促进了网站性能的极大提高,能够以动态方式引导访问者流量绕开网络拥塞。HMG 团队目前正在探索性地运用最前沿的无服务器平台,Cloudflare Workers,以实现更深度的个性化定制。

“德国商报媒体集团正努力在数字媒体领域发挥先锋作用,Cloudflare 一直是这方面的重要合作伙伴。Cloudflare 的技术能力首屈一指,他们一直在构建我们希望有时间自行开发的功能。锦上添花的是,他们的客户支持工作也十分出色。”

— Isabel Wolters 博士
首席技术官,德国商报媒体集团
相关案例研究
主要成果

• Cloudflare 强大的安全保护功能减轻了针对 HMG 的在线威胁,消除了由此引发的停机时间。

• 借助 Cloudflare 的深层 API 支持,HMG 能以编程方式配置 Cloudflare 的各种产品和功能。

• 用代码定义其基础设施的功能大大加快了 HMG 的开发流程。

Cloudflare 成为我们独立、统一的控制点,为我们提供战略灵活性,方便我们为工作选择合适的云解决方案,并能够轻松进行线下更改。

Isabel Wolters 博士
Handelsblatt Media Group 首席技术官

How Cloudflare is Powering Handelsblatt Media Group’s Digital Transformation

The Handelsblatt Media Group (HMG) is the leading media house for business and financial information in Germany. The Düsseldorf-based media group was founded in 1946 and stands for well-founded, independent quality journalism. With its decision-maker media properties including Handelsblatt and WirtschaftsWoche, HMG reaches more than two million readers. HMG also serves large businesses through a variety of subsidiaries, offering marketing expertise, a corporate content agency, and more.

As a marquee media property, HMG regularly faces concerted online attacks from hostile actors — and before moving to Cloudflare, they were causing major issues. Over a span of several weeks, HMG was overwhelmed multiple times by online attacks that incapacitated its origin server, rendering the site inaccessible.

Trust is paramount for news organizations, and erratic website reliability can quickly erode that trust. With no signs of the attacks abating, it was time for HMG to act.

The Cloudflare Difference

HMG’s Digital Products & Development team evaluated a variety of cloud platforms as it looked for something that could not just mitigate these hostile attacks, but would also provide benefits to performance, reliability, operational efficiency — and cost. It quickly decided that Cloudflare was the clear choice.

After a swift migration — with zero downtime — from a legacy cloud vendor, HMG enabled Cloudflare’s web application firewall (WAF) and DDoS protection to thwart hostile actors, and its reliability issues immediately ceased. Informed by the collective intelligence of the over 20 million properties on Cloudflare’s network, Cloudflare’s firewall is continuously and automatically updated against the latest threats, using insights from attacks on any one property to better protect them all.

Now, the HMG team can focus on other priorities, like accelerating performance and finding ways to unlock more productivity from its team.


“We were looking for a provider that could stop our attackers in their tracks — and would also serve as the right partner to infuse innovation and efficiency into our organization. Cloudflare has delivered on that and more.”

— Benedikt Geuer
Head of DevOps, Handelsblatt Media Group

Indeed, the more it explored Cloudflare’s platform, the more opportunities HMG saw to improve everything from its security and performance to its operational efficiency.

Powering A Digital Transformation

HMG is in the midst of fundamentally changing the way it approaches its digital strategy — which entails overhauling its infrastructure, and adapting its culture to thrive as it works to become a pioneer in digital publishing innovation.

One of the biggest wins for HMG has been Cloudflare’s deep API support, which enables HMG to programmatically configure a wide array of Cloudflare products and features. The ability to define its infrastructure with code has empowered HMG to reduce dependencies, better leverage automation, and transition to a continuous deployment process that markedly accelerates its development pipeline.

Another major benefit stems from Cloudflare’s position in the network stack, which allows it to work in tandem with — and manage policies across — any combination of on-premise and cloud infrastructure (in addition to SaaS apps). HMG still operates largely from on-premise servers, but it is in the process of embracing the public cloud — and it uses Cloudflare as an independent intermediary layer to tactically manage multiple clouds simultaneously.


“Cloudflare is streamlining our migration from on-prem to the cloud. As we tap into various public cloud services, Cloudflare serves as our independent, unified point of control — giving us the strategic flexibility to choose the right cloud solution for the job, and the ability to easily make changes down the line.”

— Dr. Isabel Wolters
Chief Technology Officer, Handelsblatt Media Group

Just the Beginning

HMG has even bigger ambitions as part of its digital transformation, and Cloudflare will continue to play a leading role. Cloudflare’s Argo Smart Routing has contributed to a dramatic acceleration in the site’s performance, dynamically routing visitor traffic around Internet congestion. And the HMG team is currently experimenting with Cloudflare Workers, the bleeding-edge serverless platform, to enable deeper personalization.


“Handelsblatt Media Group is working toward taking a pioneering role in digital media, and Cloudflare has been an invaluable partner in that. Cloudflare’s technology is second-to-none, and it’s always building things we wish we had time to build ourselves. Even better, its customer support has been fantastic.”

— Dr. Isabel Wolters
Chief Technology Officer, Handelsblatt Media Group

How Cloudflare is Powering Handelsblatt Media Group’s Digital Transformation
Key Results

• Cloudflare's robust security protection mitigates online threats against HMG, eliminating associated downtime.

• Cloudflare’s deep API support enables HMG to programmatically configure a wide array of Cloudflare products and features.

• The ability to define its infrastructure with code has drastically accelerated HMG's development pipeline.

“Cloudflare serves as our independent, unified point of control — giving us the strategic flexibility to choose the right cloud solution for the job, and the ability to easily make changes down the line.”

Dr. Isabel Wolters
Chief Technology Officer, Handelsblatt Media Group