Carousell 利用 Cloudflare 保护并扩展其电子商务市场

在当今世界,使用者能够通过移动应用程序处理交易、购买奢侈品并即刻与世界各地的人们进行交流,因此速度和安全性至关重要。Quek Siu Rui、Lucas Ngoo 和 Marcus Tan 创立 Carousell 的最初构思就来自于此:一个基于智能手机和网络的市场,使购买商品就像聊天一样容易,让出售商品像拍照一样轻松。

Carousell 成立于 2012 年,是东南亚最大的 C2C 电子商务市场之一,客户遍布新加坡、印度尼西亚、中国香港、马来西亚、中国台湾、澳大利亚和菲律宾。用户可以购买和出售各种类别的商品——汽车、房地产、时装、家用电器、辅助设备、电子产品等等——并针对各行各业发布工作清单或提供服务。

Carousell 首席架构师 Harshad Rotithor 估计,新加坡有超过四分之一的人口使用该平台,而该平台迄今为止拥有超过 2.5 亿个上架项目。随着越来越多的用户涌向该网站,这些数字正在扩大,带来了许多需要克服的新性能挑战。

挑战

Carousell 每月传输大约 1 PB 的图像,并利用人工智能为希望在平台上买卖商品的人提供顺畅的用户体验。为了满足快速增长的区域客户群对性能的严格要求,他们需要一个云提供商,既要确保在高流量事件期间的正常运行时间,又要能够根据需要缓存动态页面。

这些问题在 Carousell 的定期“闪售”期间成为了焦点——闪售是周期性的限时事件,他们与卖方合作为买方提供大幅折扣。一次闪售就可以吸引 Carousell 平常流量 3 倍以上的流量。

“用户抱有一定的期望,认为站点能够快速加载,他们能够浏览所展示的各种产品并尽快达成交易,”Harshad 解释说。“如果我们不能做到,则会给客户带来非常糟糕的用户体验。我们希望确保我们的客户始终在 Carousell 上获得非常流畅的体验,并能够轻松地购买、出售和交流他们找到的产品。”

这不是一件容易的事,尤其是在闪售期间,流量快速涌入会给平台带来巨大压力。最初,Carousell 使用 Amazon CloudFront 来保持站点的平稳运行,但很快发现他们无法满足站点不断增长的受众和性能需求。

通过 Cloudflare 全球网络简化缓存

在 2016 年,Carousell 转用 Cloudflare。

“我们最初将之用作满足我们的 DNS 和 SSL 终止要求的解决方案,”Harshad 说。“然后,我们开始探索在 Cloudflare 高速缓存资产的能力,并开始将资产从另一个 CDN 移出一部分。现在,我们完全在 Cloudflare 上高速缓存。”

Cloudflare 在全球 90 多个国家/地区的 200 个城市和设有数据中心,可帮助 Carousell 在网络边缘缓存资产,使内容尽可能接近最终用户。这可确保该站点在进行高人气的销售活动时不会出现中断,也不会因页面加载缓慢而失去客户。

Cloudflare 还使 Carousell 可以在短时间内缓存动态页面,这使它们可以轻松地在闪售期间处理大量流量,并提供无缝的用户体验。

“Cloudflare 满足了我们对 CDN、WAF、缓存层、SSL 端点和 DNS 的要求,”Harshad 补充说。“这些产品可帮助我们满足业务指标,同时为我们带来出色的投资回报。”

自动 WAF 保护有助于 Carousell 保护客户数据

除了扩展和加速平台之外,Carousell 还需要先人一步,以应对 DDoS 攻击和恶意机器人活动等容量安全威胁。机器人通过迫使 Carousell 投资于其他基础结构来满足由机器人生成的请求而抓取内容并消耗内部资源——即使 Carousell 并未从流量增加中获得任何收益也不例外。

要保持领先于各种攻击,就需要 Carousell 采用全面的安全解决方案,既可以保护客户数据并提供高级保护,而又不会影响性能。

“我们探索了由 Cloudflare 提供的 Web 应用程序防火墙,它完全满足我们的所有需求,”Harshad 说。“它具有与 OWASP 相关的基本规则,还有 Cloudflare 自己添加的其他各种专用规则。我们还可以添加自定义规则。因此,所有功能都完美贴合我们的需求。”

Cloudflare Web 应用程序防火墙 (WAF) 利用集体威胁情报来识别和阻止恶意请求,使用户能够主动防御传入的攻击并确保应用程序的可用性。而且 WAF 与机器人缓解和 DDoS 攻击保护无缝集成,以保护站点免受资源消耗机器人、DDoS 威胁、跨站点脚本 (XSS) 和其他攻击的侵害。

“即使在打开几乎所有的防火墙功能之后,我们也没有看到任何明显的延迟,”Harshad 说。“这是我们从 Cloudflare 中获得的最大好处之一。安全功能不会影响我们的整体网站性能,因此所有这些检查措施都不会降低用户体验。”

集成的安全和性能策略是提供出色用户体验的关键

今天,Carousell 不必担心跟不上他们的用户群或无法领先于潜在的攻击。Cloudflare 的集成安全性和性能解决方案使他们能够做到这两点,这意味着可以确保用户每次购物或售货时都能获得更流畅的体验。

Harshad 说:“Cloudflare 是我们提供用户体验的关键,而 Cloudflare 所关注的焦点,即帮助互联网变得更美好,是打动我们的关键,因为 Cloudflare 开发的任何产品都会最终惠及我们的最终用户,进而改善他们在 Carousell 上的体验。因此这对我们来说是双赢。”

Carousell 利用 Cloudflare 保护并扩展其电子商务市场
相关案例研究
主要成果
  • Cloudflare 帮助 Carousell 处理促销日的 3 倍流量峰值
  • 使用 Cloudflare,Carousell 的图像带宽缓存命中率约为 60%
  • Carousell 使用约 50 个页面规则来管理流量自定义
  • Cloudflare 支持 Carousell 阻止网络攻击并提供优质的用户体验

即使对手选择对我们进行任何攻击,Cloudflare 仍可确保我们拥有可防护这些攻击的工具,而不会对最终用户造成任何影响。

Harshad Rotithor
首席架构师

Carousell secures and scales their ecommerce marketplace with Cloudflare

In a world where mobile apps enable users to process transactions, source luxury goods, and instantly communicate with people around the world, both speed and security are key. That gave Quek Siu Rui, Lucas Ngoo, and Marcus Tan the idea for Carousell: a smartphone- and web-based marketplace that makes buying goods as easy as chatting and selling them as easy as snapping a photo.

Founded in 2012, Carousell is one of the largest C2C ecommerce marketplaces in Southeast Asia, with customers across Singapore, Indonesia, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Taiwan, Australia, and the Philippines. Users can purchase and sell items from a variety of categories — cars, property, fashion, household appliances, assistive devices, electronics, and more — and post job listings or offer services across an equally expansive range of industries.

Carousell chief architect Harshad Rotithor estimates that more than a quarter of Singapore’s entire population uses the platform, which boasts more than 250 million listings to date. Those figures are expanding as more users flock to the site, bringing a host of new performance challenges to overcome.

The challenge

Carousell serves around 1 PB of images per month and utilizes artificial intelligence to create a frictionless user experience for anyone looking to buy or sell items on their platform. In order to meet intensive performance requirements for a rapidly expanding regional customer base, they need a cloud provider that can ensure uptime during high-traffic events and cache dynamic pages on an as-needed basis.

These issues come into sharp focus during Carousell’s periodic “flash sales” — a recurring limited-time event when they partner with sellers to provide deep discounts for buyers. Just one of these flash sales can attract over 3x the amount of traffic Carousell typically sees.

“Users come with certain expectations that the site will load quickly and that they will get to browse the various products on display and get to deals as quickly as possible,” Harshad explains. “If we fail to provide that, it gives our customers a very bad user experience. We want to ensure that our customers always get a very smooth experience on Carousell and can easily buy, sell, and communicate about the products they find.”

It isn’t an easy task, especially as the rapid influx of traffic during flash sales places a significant strain on the platform. Initially, Carousell turned to Amazon CloudFront to keep their site running smoothly, but soon found that they were not able to handle the site’s growing audience and performance needs.

Caching made simple with the Cloudflare global network

In 2016, Carousell switched to Cloudflare.

“It started off as a solution for our DNS and SSL termination requirements,” says Harshad. “Then we started exploring the ability to cache our assets at Cloudflare and started partially moving our assets over from a different CDN. Now, we are 100% cached on Cloudflare.”

With data centers in 200 cities and 90+ countries worldwide, Cloudflare helps Carousell cache their assets on the network edge, bringing content as close to end users as possible. This ensures that the site never experiences outages during high-visibility sales or loses customers due to slow page loads.

Cloudflare also enables Carousell to cache dynamic pages for short durations, which allows them to easily handle a huge amount of traffic during flash sales and provide a seamless user experience.

“Cloudflare handles our requirements of a CDN, WAF, caching layer, SSL endpoint, and DNS,” Harshad adds. “These products help us meet our business metrics while giving us an excellent return on our investment.”

Automatic WAF protection helps Carousell secure customer data

In addition to scaling and speeding up their platform, Carousell needs to stay ahead of volumetric security threats like DDoS attacks and malicious bot activity. Bots scrape content and drain internal resources by forcing Carousell to invest in additional infrastructure to serve bot-generated requests — even though Carousell doesn’t reap any benefit from the increase in traffic.

Staying ahead of these attacks requires Carousell to adopt a comprehensive security solution, one that safeguards customer data and offers premium protection without performance trade-offs.

“We explored the web application firewall offered by Cloudflare and it ticked all our boxes,” says Harshad. “It had the basic OWASP-related rules as well as various other specialized rules that Cloudflare themselves had added. We also had the ability to add custom rules. So all of the features essentially made it a perfect fit for our needs.”

The Cloudflare Web Application Firewall (WAF) leverages collective threat intelligence to identify and prevent malicious requests, empowering users to proactively defend against incoming attacks and ensure application availability. And it seamlessly integrates with bot mitigation and DDoS attack protection to shield sites from resource-draining bots, DDoS threats, cross-site scripting (XSS), and other attacks.

“Even after turning on almost all of the firewall features, we haven’t seen any measurable hit on the latency,” Harshad says. “That is one of the biggest benefits that we get out of Cloudflare. Since the security features don’t impact our overall site performance, the user experience doesn’t degrade with all of these checks that are put in place.”

Integrated performance and security is key to a seamless user experience

Today, Carousell doesn’t have to worry about keeping up with their user base or trying to get ahead of potential attacks. Cloudflare’s integrated security and performance solutions allow them to do both, which means that users are guaranteed a smoother experience every time they come to shop or sell.

“Cloudflare is key for the experience that we offer to our users,” says Harshad, “and the focus that Cloudflare has taken — of helping make the Internet a better place — is key for us, because any product that Cloudflare develops would essentially benefit our end users and, in turn, improve the experience they have on Carousell. So it’s a win-win for us.”

Carousell secures and scales their ecommerce marketplace with Cloudflare
Related Case Studies
Key Results
  • Cloudflare helps Carousell handle traffic spikes of 3x their normal traffic on sale days
  • With Cloudflare, Carousell sees a cache hit ratio of around 60% for image bandwidth
  • Carousell uses ~50 Page Rules to manage traffic customization
  • Cloudflare empowers Carousell to thwart cyber attacks and deliver a premium user experience

“Cloudflare ensures that we have the tools to mitigate those attacks without any impact on our end users, even if adversaries choose to try out any attacks on us.”

Harshad Rotithor
Chief Architect