什麼是通訊協定?| 網路通訊協定定義

在網路中,通訊協定是一套用於格式化和處理資料的標準化規則,以便電腦能夠相互通訊。

學習目標

閱讀本文後,您將能夠:

  • 在網路環境中定義「通訊協定」
  • 將通訊協定與 OSI 模型層相關聯
  • 瞭解網際網路上最常用的通訊協定

相關內容


想要繼續瞭解嗎?

訂閱 TheNET,這是 Cloudflare 每月對網際網路上最流行見解的總結!

請參閱 Cloudflare 的隱私權政策,了解我們如何收集和處理您的個人資料。

複製文章連結

什麼是網路通訊協定?

在網路中,通訊協定是一組用於格式化和處理資料的規則。網路通訊協定就像電腦的通用語言。網路中的電腦可能會使用完全不同的軟體和硬體;然而,使用通訊協定使它們無論如何都能能彼此通訊。

標準化通訊協定就像電腦可以使用的共同語言,類似於來自世界不同地區的兩個人可能不理解對方的母語,但他們可以使用共同的第三語言進行交流。如果一台電腦使用網際網路通訊協定 (IP),而第二台電腦也使用該通訊協定,它們將能夠進行通訊——就像聯合國依靠其 6 種官方語言在全球各地的代表之間進行交流一樣。但是,如果一台電腦使用 IP,而另一台電腦不知道該通訊協定,則它們將無法通訊。

在網際網路上,不同類型的處理序有不同的通訊協定。通訊協定通常與處理序在 OSI 模型中所屬的層相關。

電子書
使用統一的平台加強網路安全

與專家討論
瞭解 Cloudflare 如何保護您的業務

OSI 模型有哪些層?

開放系統互相連線 (OSI) 模型是網際網路運作原理的抽象表示。它包含 7 層,每層代表不同類別的網路功能。

OSI 模型

通訊協定使這些網路功能成為可能。例如,網際網路通訊協定 (IP) 透過表明封包*的來源和目的地,對資料進行路由。IP 使網路到網路的通訊成為可能。因此,IP 被認為是一個網路層(第 3 層)通訊協定。

再比如,傳輸控制通訊協定 (TCP) 用於確保封包在網路上的運輸順利進行。因此,TCP 被認為是一個傳輸層(第 4 層)通訊協定。

*封包是一小段資料;透過網路傳送的所有資料被分成封包。

註冊
透過任何 Cloudflare 方案獲取安全性和速度

哪些通訊協定在網路層上執行?

如上所述,IP 是負責路由的網路層通訊協定。但它不是唯一的網路層通訊協定。

IPsec:網際網路通訊協定安全性 (IPsec) 會透過虛擬私人網路 (VPN) 設定加密、經過驗證的 IP 連線。從技術上講,IPsec 不是一個通訊協定,而是一個通訊協定的集合,包括封裝安全性通訊協定 (ESP)、驗證標頭 (AH) 和安全性關聯 (SA)。

ICMP:網際網路控制訊息通訊協定 (ICMP) 會報告錯誤並提供狀態更新。例如,如果路由器無法傳遞封包,它會將 ICMP 訊息傳送回封包的來源。

IGMP:網際網路群組管理通訊協定 (IGMP) 可設定一對多的網路連線。IGMP 有助於設定多點傳送,這意味著多台電腦可以接收指向一個 IP 位址的封包。

網際網路上還使用哪些其他通訊協定?

需要瞭解的一些重要通訊協定包括:

TCP:如上所述,TCP 是一種傳輸層通訊協定,可確保可靠的資料傳輸。TCP 與 IP 一起使用,這兩個通訊協定經常被合稱為 TCP/IP。

HTTP:超文字傳輸通訊協定 (HTTP) 是全球資訊網(大多數使用者與之互動的網際網路)的基礎,用於在裝置之間傳輸資料。HTTP 屬於應用程式層(第 7 層),因為它將資料轉換成應用程式(如瀏覽器)無需進一步解釋即可直接使用的格式。OSI 模型的較低層由電腦的作業系統處理,而非應用程式。

HTTPS:HTTP 的問題是它沒有加密,任何截獲 HTTP 資訊的攻擊者都可以讀取它。HTTPS(HTTP 安全)透過加密 HTTP 訊息修復了此問題。

TLS/SSL:傳輸層安全性 (TLS) 是 HTTPS 用於加密的通訊協定。TLS 曾被稱為安全通訊端層 (SSL)

UDP:使用者資料包通訊協定 (UDP) 是傳輸層中 TCP 的一個替代品,速度更快,但沒那麼可靠。它經常被用於影片串流和遊戲等服務,在這些服務中,快速的資料傳輸最為重要。

路由器使用什麼通訊協定?

網路路由器使用某些通訊協定來探索通往其他路由器的最有效網路路徑。這些通訊協定不用於傳輸使用者資料。重要的網路路由通訊協定包括:

BGP:邊界閘道協定 (BGP) 是一個應用程式層通訊協定,網路使用該通訊協定來廣播它們控制的 IP 位址。該資訊可讓路由器決定封包在前往目的地的途中應經過哪些網路。

EIGRP:增強型內部閘道路由通訊協定 (EIGRP) 用於識別路由器之間的距離。EIGRP 自動更新每個路由器的最佳路由記錄(稱為路由表),並將這些更新廣播給網路內的其他路由器。

OSPF:先開啟最短的路徑 (OSPF) 通訊協定根據各種因素(包括距離和頻寬)計算最有效的網路路線。

RIP:路由資訊通訊協定 (RIP) 是一個較早的路由通訊協定,用於識別路由器之間的距離。RIP 是一個應用程式層通訊協定。

如何在網路攻擊中使用通訊協定?

就像運算的任何方面一樣,攻擊者可以利用網路通訊協定的運作方式來入侵或擊垮系統。許多此類通訊協定被用於分散式阻斷服務 (DDoS) 攻擊。例如,在 SYN 洪水攻擊中,攻擊者利用了 TCP 通訊協定的運作原理。它們傳送 SYN 封包,反复啟動與伺服器的 TCP 交握,直到伺服器資源被所有虛假的 TCP 連線佔用,導致伺服器無法為合法使用者提供服務。

Cloudflare 提供了許多解決方案來阻止這些和其他網路攻擊。Cloudflare Magic Transit 能夠緩解 OSI 模型第 3 層、第 4 層和第 7 層的攻擊。在 SYN 洪水攻擊的範例中,Cloudflare 代表伺服器處理 TCP 交握過程,因此伺服器的資源永遠不會被開放式 TCP 連線所淹沒。

What is a protocol? | Network protocol definition

In networking, a protocol is a standardized set of rules for formatting and processing data. Protocols enable computers to communicate with one another.

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon
  • Network Layer
  • How the Internet Works
  • Routing
  • What is a LAN?
  • Internet Protocol (IP)
  • Glossary

What is a Protocol

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define 'protocol' in a networking context
  • Relate protocols to OSI model layers
  • Learn about the most commonly used protocols on the Internet

What is a network protocol?

In networking, a protocol is a set of rules for formatting and processing data. Network protocols are like a common language for computers. The computers within a network may use vastly different software and hardware; however, the use of protocols enables them to communicate with each other regardless.

Standardized protocols are like a common language that computers can use, similar to how two people from different parts of the world may not understand each other's native languages, but they can communicate using a shared third language. If one computer uses the Internet Protocol (IP) and a second computer does as well, they will be able to communicate — just as the United Nations relies on its 6 official languages to communicate amongst representatives from all over the globe. But if one computer uses IP and the other does not know this protocol, they will be unable to communicate.

On the Internet, there are different protocols for different types of processes. Protocols are often discussed in terms of which OSI model layer they belong to.

What are the layers of the OSI model?

The Open Systems Interconnection (OSI) model is an abstract representation of how the Internet works. It contains 7 layers, with each layer representing a different category of networking functions.

The OSI Model

Protocols make these networking functions possible. For instance, the Internet Protocol (IP) is responsible for routing data by indicating where data packets* come from and what their destination is. IP makes network-to-network communications possible. Hence, IP is considered a network layer (layer 3) protocol.

As another example, the Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) ensures that the transportation of packets of data across networks goes smoothly. Therefore, TCP is considered a transport layer (layer 4) protocol.

*A packet is a small segment of data; all data sent over a network is divided into packets.

Which protocols run on the network layer?

As described above, IP is a network layer protocol responsible for routing. But it is not the only network layer protocol.

IPsec: Internet Protocol Security (IPsec) sets up encrypted, authenticated IP connections over a virtual private network (VPN). Technically IPsec is not a protocol, but rather a collection of protocols that includes the Encapsulating Security Protocol (ESP), Authentication Header (AH), and Security Associations (SA).

ICMP: The Internet Control Message Protocol (ICMP) reports errors and provides status updates. For example, if a router is unable to deliver a packet, it will send an ICMP message back to the packet's source.

IGMP: The Internet Group Management Protocol (IGMP) sets up one-to-many network connections. IGMP helps set up multicasting, meaning multiple computers can receive data packets directed at one IP address.

What other protocols are used on the Internet?

Some of the most important protocols to know are:

TCP: As described above, TCP is a transport layer protocol that ensures reliable data delivery. TCP is meant to be used with IP, and the two protocols are often referenced together as TCP/IP.

HTTP: The Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) is the foundation of the World Wide Web, the Internet that most users interact with. It is used for transferring data between devices. HTTP belongs to the application layer (layer 7), because it puts data into a format that applications (e.g. a browser) can use directly, without further interpretation. The lower layers of the OSI model are handled by a computer's operating system, not applications.

HTTPS: The problem with HTTP is that it is not encrypted — any attacker who intercepts an HTTP message can read it. HTTPS (HTTP Secure) corrects this by encrypting HTTP messages.

TLS/SSL: Transport Layer Security (TLS) is the protocol HTTPS uses for encryption. TLS used to be called Secure Sockets Layer (SSL).

UDP: The User Datagram Protocol (UDP) is a faster but less reliable alternative to TCP at the transport layer. It is often used in services like video streaming and gaming, where fast data delivery is paramount.

What protocols do routers use?

Network routers use certain protocols to discover the most efficient network paths to other routers. These protocols are not used for transferring user data. Important network routing protocols include:

BGP: The Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) is an application layer protocol networks use to broadcast which IP addresses they control. This information allows routers to decide which networks data packets should pass through on the way to their destinations.

EIGRP: The Enhanced Interior Gateway Routing Protocol (EIGRP) identifies distances between routers. EIGRP automatically updates each router's record of the best routes (called a routing table) and broadcasts those updates to other routers within the network.

OSPF: The Open Shortest Path First (OSPF) protocol calculates the most efficient network routes based on a variety of factors, including distance and bandwidth.

RIP: The Routing Information Protocol (RIP) is an older routing protocol that identifies distances between routers. RIP is an application layer protocol.

How are protocols used in cyber attacks?

Just as with any aspect of computing, attackers can exploit the way networking protocols function to compromise or overwhelm systems. Many of these protocols are used in distributed denial-of-service (DDoS) attacks. For example, in a SYN flood attack, an attacker takes advantage of the way the TCP protocol works. They send SYN packets to repeatedly initiate a TCP handshake with a server, until the server is unable to provide service to legitimate users because its resources are tied up by all the phony TCP connections.

Cloudflare offers a number of solutions for stopping these and other cyber attacks. Cloudflare Magic Transit is able to mitigate attacks at layers 3, 4, and 7 of the OSI model. In the example case of a SYN flood attack, Cloudflare handles the TCP handshake process on the server's behalf so that the server's resources never become overwhelmed by open TCP connections.