什麽是網路交換器?| 交換器與路由器

網路交換器在裝置之間轉寄資料封包。交換器將封包直接傳送到裝置,而不是像路由器那樣將其傳送到網路。

學習目標

閱讀本文後,您將能夠:

  • 定義網路交換器
  • 瞭解交換器與路由器之間的區別
  • 深入瞭解乙太網路交換器、非受管理和受管理交換器等

相關內容


想要繼續瞭解嗎?

訂閱 TheNET,這是 Cloudflare 每月對網際網路上最流行見解的總結!

請參閱 Cloudflare 的隱私權政策,了解我們如何收集和處理您的個人資料。

複製文章連結

什麽是網路交換器?

網路交換器連接網路(通常是區域網路 (LAN)*)內的裝置,並在這些裝置之間轉寄資料封包。與路由器不同,交換器僅將資料傳送到預定的單個裝置(可能是另一個交換器、路由器或使用者的電腦),而不是包含多個裝置的網路。

網路流量從網際網路到路由器,再到網路交換器到電腦

*區域網路 (LAN) 是一組實際距離很近的連接裝置。家用 WiFi 網路是 LAN 的常見範例之一。

交換器和路由器有什麼區別?

路由器為資料封包選擇路徑以穿過網路並到達其目的地。路由器透過連接不同的網路並在網路之間轉寄資料來實現這一點,這些網路包括 LAN、廣域網路 (WAN)自主系統,後者是構成網際網路的大型網路。

實際上,這意味著路由器對於網際網路連線是必需的,而交換器僅用於互連裝置。家庭和小型辦公室需要路由器來存取網際網路,但大多數不需要網路交換器,除非它們需要大量乙太網路*連接埠。但是,擁有數十台或數百台電腦的大型辦公室、網路和資料中心通常確實需要交換器。

*乙太網路是用於在裝置之間傳送資料的第 2 層通訊協定。與 WiFi 不同,乙太網路需要透過乙太網路纜線進行實際連線。

什麼是第 2 層交換器?什麼是第 3 層交換器?

網路交換器可以在 OSI 第 2 層(資料連結層)或第 3 層網路層 )上運作。第 2 層交換器根據目的地 MAC 位址轉寄資料(有關定義,請參見下文),而第 3 層交換器則根據目的地 IP 位址轉寄資料。某些交換器可以同時執行這兩種操作。

但是,大多數交換器都是第 2 層交換器。第 2 層交換器通常使用乙太網路纜線連接至其網路中的裝置。乙太網路纜線是透過乙太網路連接埠插入裝置的實體纜線。

什麼是未受管理交換器?什麼是受管理交換器?

未受管理的交換器只會在 LAN 上建立更多的乙太網路連接埠,讓更多的本機裝置可以存取網際網路。未受管理交換器會根據裝置 MAC 位址來回傳遞資料。

受管理交換器可以為更大的網路實現相同的功能,並讓網路管理員更好地控制流量的優先順序。它們也可讓系統管理員設定虛擬 LAN (VLAN),進一步將本機網路細分為較小的區塊。

MAC 位址和 IP 位址有什麼區別?

網路交換器指用於將網際網路流量傳送到正確裝置的 MAC 位址,而不是 IP 位址。

每個連接到網際網路的裝置都有一個 IP 位址。IP 位址是一系列英數字元,例如 192.0.2.255 或 2001:0db8:85a3:0000:0000:8a2e:0370:7334。IP 位址的作用類似於郵寄地址,可讓導向至該位址的網際網路通訊連線到該裝置。IP 位址通常會變更:因為 IPv4 位址的數量有限,所以當使用者裝置與網路形成新連線時,通常會向其指派新的裝置。

IP 位址在第 3 層使用,這意味著網際網路上的所有電腦和裝置使用 IP 位址來傳送和接收資料,無論它們連接到哪個網路。所有 IP 封包都會在標頭中包含其來源和目的地 IP 位址,就像郵件具有目的地地址和回信地址一樣。

相反,MAC 位址是每個硬體的永久標識符,有點像序號。與 IP 位址不同,MAC 位址不會變更。MAC 位址用於第 2 層,而不是第 3 層——這意味著它們不包含在 IP 封包標頭中。換句話說,MAC 位址不是網際網路流量的一部分。它們僅在給定網路內使用。

網路交換器如何知道網路中裝置的 MAC 位址?

第 2 層網路交換器在記憶體中維護一個資料表,將 MAC 位址與交換器的乙太網路連接埠相匹配。該資料表稱為內容可定址記憶體 (CAM) 資料表。

假設電腦 A 連接到插入交換器連接埠 1 的乙太網路纜線,電腦 B 連接到連接埠 2,電腦 C 連接到連接埠 3。當資料到達電腦 A 時,交換器查詢其 CAM 資料表,查看電腦 A 的連接位置,並知道在連接埠 1 而非連接埠 2 或 3 轉寄與電腦 A 相關的流量。

交換器的 CAM 資料表看起來像這樣:

MAC 位址  連接埠 
電腦 A 的 MAC 位址 1
電腦 B 的 MAC 位址 2
電腦 C 的 MAC 位址 3

交換器的 CAM 資料表儲存在記憶體中。如果交換器關閉,該資料表將消失,並且交換器在重新啟動時必須重新學習該資料表。

現在,假設交換器剛剛開啟並且尚未建立其 CAM 資料表。它不知道電腦 A、B 和 C 連接到哪些連接埠。它也不知道它們的 MAC 位址。

 MAC 位址   連接埠 

假設電腦 A 傳送訊息給電腦 B。交換器會採取下列步驟將訊息傳送至電腦 B,並開始填寫其 CAM 資料表:

  • 它記錄電腦 A 的 MAC 位址和其訊息傳入的連接埠
  • 它會將電腦 A 的訊息轉寄給網路上的所有其他電腦(電腦 A 除外);這就是所謂的「洪水」
  • 當電腦 B 回覆時,它也記錄電腦 B 的 MAC 位址和連接埠
MAC 位址  連接埠 
電腦 A 的 MAC 位址 1
電腦 B 的 MAC 位址 2

現在,交換器的 CAM 資料表知道電腦 A 和電腦 B 在哪裡。它還知道它們的 MAC 位址。

Cloudflare 如何保護網路交換器?

Cloudflare Magic Transit 保護網路基礎結構裝置(例如就交換器和路由器)免受 DDoS 攻擊流量的攻擊,這些攻擊流量可能會使它們離線或受損。Magic Transit 可保護內部部署、雲端混合網路。進一步瞭解 Magic Transit第 3 層攻擊

What is a network switch? | Switch vs. router

A network switch forwards data packets between devices. Switches send packets directly to devices, rather than sending them to networks like a router does.

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon
  • Network Layer
  • How the Internet Works
  • Routing
  • What is a LAN?
  • Internet Protocol (IP)
  • Glossary

Network Switch

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define network switch
  • Learn the difference between a switch vs. a router
  • Learn about Ethernet switches, unmanaged and managed switches, and more

What is a network switch?

A network switch connects devices within a network (often a local area network, or LAN*) and forwards data packets to and from those devices. Unlike a router, a switch only sends data to the single device it is intended for (which may be another switch, a router, or a user's computer), not to networks of multiple devices.

Network traffic goes from Internet to router to network switch to computers

*A local area network (LAN) is a group of connected devices within close physical proximity. Home WiFi networks are one common example of a LAN.

What is the difference between a switch and a router?

Routers select paths for data packets to cross networks and reach their destinations. Routers do this by connecting with different networks and forwarding data from network to network — including LANs, wide area networks (WANs), or autonomous systems, which are the large networks that make up the Internet.

In practice, what this means is that routers are necessary for an Internet connection, while switches are only used for interconnecting devices. Homes and small offices need routers for Internet access, but most do not need a network switch, unless they require a large amount of Ethernet* ports. However, large offices, networks, and data centers with dozens or hundreds of computers usually do require switches.

*Ethernet is a layer 2 protocol for sending data between devices. Unlike WiFi, Ethernet requires a physical connection via an Ethernet cable.

What is a layer 2 switch? What is a layer 3 switch?

Network switches can operate at either OSI layer 2 (the data link layer) or layer 3 (the network layer). Layer 2 switches forward data based on the destination MAC address (see below for definition), while layer 3 switches forward data based on the destination IP address. Some switches can do both.

Most switches, however, are layer 2 switches. Layer 2 switches most often connect to the devices in their networks using Ethernet cables. Ethernet cables are physical cables that plug into devices via Ethernet ports.

What is an unmanaged switch? What is a managed switch?

An unmanaged switch simply creates more Ethernet ports on a LAN, so that more local devices can access the Internet. Unmanaged switches pass data back and forth based on device MAC addresses.

A managed switch fulfills the same function for much larger networks, and offers network administrators much more control over how traffic is prioritized. They also enable administrators to set up Virtual LANs (VLANs) to further subdivide a local network into smaller chunks.

What is the difference between a MAC address and an IP address?

Network switches refer to MAC addresses in order to send Internet traffic to the right devices, not IP addresses.

Every device that connects to the Internet has an IP address. An IP address is a series of alphanumeric characters, like 192.0.2.255 or 2001:0db8:85a3:0000:0000:8a2e:0370:7334. IP addresses act like a mailing address, enabling Internet communications directed at that address to reach that device. IP addresses often change: because there is a limited number of IPv4 addresses, user devices are typically assigned new ones when they form a new connection with a network.

IP addresses are used at layer 3, which means computers and devices all over the Internet use IP addresses for sending and receiving data, no matter which network they are connected to. All IP packets include their source and destination IP addresses in their headers, just as a piece of mail has a destination address and a return address.

In contrast, a MAC address is a permanent identifier for each piece of hardware, somewhat like a serial number. Unlike IP addresses, MAC addresses do not change. MAC addresses are used at layer 2, not layer 3 — which means they are not included in IP packet headers. In other words, MAC addresses are not part of Internet traffic. They are only used inside a given network.

How do network switches know the MAC addresses of the devices in their network?

Layer 2 network switches maintain a table in memory that matches MAC addresses to the switch's Ethernet ports. This table is called a Content Addressable Memory (CAM) table.

Suppose Computer A is connected to an Ethernet cable that plugs into the switch's Port 1, Computer B is connected to Port 2, and Computer C to Port 3. When data arrives for Computer A, the switch consults its CAM table, sees where Computer A is connected, and knows to forward Computer A-bound traffic at Port 1, not Ports 2 or 3.

The switch's CAM table would look something like this:

MAC address  Port 
Computer A's MAC address 1
Computer B's MAC address 2
Computer C's MAC address 3

The switch's CAM table is stored in memory. If the switch is turned off, the table will disappear and the switch has to relearn the table when it is rebooted.

Now, suppose the switch was just turned on and has not yet created its CAM table. It does not know which ports Computers A, B, and C are connected to. It also does not know their MAC addresses.

 MAC address   Port 
? ?
? ?
? ?

Suppose Computer A sends a message to Computer B. The switch takes the following steps to get the message to Computer B and start filling out its CAM table:

  • It records Computer A's MAC address and the port its message came in on
  • It forwards Computer A's message to all other computers on the network (except Computer A); this is known as "flooding"
  • When Computer B replies, it records Computer B's MAC address and port as well
MAC address  Port 
Computer A's MAC address 1
Computer B's MAC address 2
? ?

Now, the switch's CAM table knows where Computer A and Computer B are. It also knows their MAC addresses.

How does Cloudflare protect network switches?

Cloudflare Magic Transit protects network infrastructure devices such as switches and routers from DDoS attack traffic that can knock them offline or compromise them. Magic Transit protects on-premise, cloud, and hybrid networks. Learn more about Magic Transit or about layer 3 attacks.