网站性能如何影响转化率

网站转化率指的是采取所需行动的用户所占的百分比,转化率与网站产生的收入直接相关。页面速度对用户行为有着巨大影响。

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义转化率
  • 了解网站性能如何以及在多大程度上影响转化率

复制文章链接

什么是网页转化率?

用网络术语来说,如果用户执行网页设计师希望他们执行的操作,这便发生了转化。例如,在展示婴儿车的电子商务页面上,用户决定购买婴儿车并点击“购买”按钮,这便发生了转化。不过,用户不一定要购买东西才会转化,因为网页可以具有各种各样的用途。用户转化的其他示例包括填写和提交联系表、回答调查问题,甚至只是点击进入网站的下一页。

转化率是转化的访问者占网页总访问者的百分比。如果有 100 位用户访问了婴儿推车广告页面,而 2 位用户实际点击了“购买”按钮,则转化率为 2%。转化率优化(CRO)是将这一数字推至最高的做法。转化率优化是一个持续的过程,因为除非页面的转化率是 100%(这是极不可能的),否则始终都有进一步优化的余地。

网页转化

转化率与页面流量

转化率是对页面的总访问量或访问者人数的单独衡量。如果页面的转化率下降,那么即使页面流量保持完全相同,转化的用户总数也会下降。反之,如果网页的流量保持不变,但转化率增加,则转化总数将增加。

网站速度如何影响转化率?

网站性能对转化率有巨大影响,这种影响是可以衡量的。多项研究表明,页面速度加快可以提高转化率。换而言之,网页加载速度越快,用户越有可能对该网页执行期望的操作。

转换率与页面加载时间

网页应以多快速度加载?根据 skilled.co,47% 的客户希望网页在 2 秒或更短时间内完成加载。同样来自 skilled.co 的数据,AI 医疗保健软件公司 mPulse Mobile 的测试发现:

  • 页面加载时间为 2.4 秒以内时,其转化率为 1.9%
  • 3.3 秒时,转化率为 1.5%
  • 4.2 秒时,转化率为不到 1.1%
  • 超过 5.7 秒时,转化率为 0.6%

其他公司也获得类似的结果

  • 沃尔玛发现,页面加载时间每减少 1 秒,转化数就会增加 2%
  • COOK 通过将页面加载时间减少 0.85 秒,使转化数提高了 7%
  • Mobify 发现,首页加载时间每减少 100 毫秒,转化率就会提高 1.11%

这些转化上的增强看似很小,但对网站产生的收入有着巨大影响。例如,一个电子商务网站每年产生 1000 万美元销售额,如果网站加载时间缩短一秒后转化率提高 2%(如沃尔玛案例研究所示),这表示其收入会增加 200,000 美元。

除了网页性能外,还有哪些其他因素会影响转化率?

影响转化率的还有页面设计、页面布局,以及页面上的文本和图像等。如果页面访问者不清楚下一步该怎么做,或者看到太多的选项,他们可能会从页面跳出。除了所有这些问题外,网站速度优化也应该能提高转化率,即便页面上仍有其他需要优化的地方。

网站速度、SEO 和转化率

页面速度同时影响转化率和 SEO。因此,改进这一项可以帮助提升页面总访问量和转化率。<a href='/cdn/''>Cloudflare CDN 通过加快网站性能,帮助广大公司和网站运营商最大限度地转化页面的访问者。

How Website Performance Affects Conversion Rates

A website's conversion rate is the percentage of users who take a desired action, and conversion rate is tied directly to how much revenue a website generates. Page speed has a huge impact on user behavior.

Share

Performance and Conversions

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define conversion rate
  • Understand how and to what degree website performance impacts conversion rates

What is a webpage's conversion rate?

In web jargon, a user converts when they take the action that the designers of the webpage wanted them to take. For example, on an e-commerce page displaying baby strollers, a user converts when they decide to purchase a stroller and click on the 'buy' button. A user does not need to purchase something in order to convert, however, as a webpage can have a variety of purposes. Other examples of user conversions include filling out and submitting a contact form, answering survey questions, or even just clicking through to the next page on the website.

The conversion rate is the percentage of total visitors to the webpage who convert. If 100 users visit the page advertising baby strollers, and 2 users actually click the 'buy' button, then the conversion rate is 2%. Conversion rate optimization (CRO) is the practice of pushing this figure as high as possible. Conversion rate optimization is an ongoing process, because unless a page's conversion rate is 100%, which is highly unlikely, it can always be optimized further.

Webpage Conversion
Conversion rate vs. page traffic

Conversion rate is a separate measurement from the total traffic, or number of visitors, to a page. If a page's conversion rate declines, then the total number of users converting goes down even if page traffic remains exactly the same. Conversely, if a page's traffic stays the same but the conversion rate increases, the total number of conversions will go up.

How does site speed affect conversion rates?

Website performance has a large, measurable effect on conversion rates. Studies have consistently shown that fast page speed will result in a better conversion rate. In other words, the quicker a webpage loads, the more likely a user is to perform the targeted action on that webpage.

Conversion Rates vs Page Load Times

How quickly should a webpage load? 47% of customers expect a webpage to load in 2 seconds or less, according to skilled.co. Also per skilled.co, testing by AI healthcare software company mPulse Mobile found that:

  • Pages that loaded in 2.4 seconds had a 1.9% conversion rate
  • At 3.3 seconds, conversion rate was 1.5%
  • At 4.2 seconds, conversion rate was less than 1%
  • At 5.7+ seconds, conversion rate was 0.6%

Other companies have experienced similar results:

  • Walmart found that for every 1 second improvement in page load time, conversions increased by 2%
  • COOK increased conversions by 7% by reducing page load time by 0.85 seconds
  • Mobify found that each 100ms improvement in their homepage's load time resulted in a 1.11% increase in conversion

These seemingly small increases in conversion have a huge impact on how much revenue a site generates. If an e-commerce site produces 10 million dollars in sales per year, and if the conversion rate increases by 2% after the website's load time improves by a second (as in the Walmart case study), that's a $200,000 increase in revenue.

What other factors besides page performance affect conversion rate?

Conversion rate is also affected by page design, page layout, the text and images on the page, and so on. If it's not clear to a page visitor what action they should take next, or if too many options are presented, they may bounce from the page. Independent of all these issues, website speed optimization should improve conversion rates even if the page still has other areas that need to be optimized.

Website speed, SEO, and conversion rate

Page speed affects both conversion rate and SEO. Thus, improving it can help increase both total traffic and the conversion rate for a page. The Cloudflare CDN speeds up website performance in order to help companies and website operators maximize the number of converting page visitors.