网站速度如何促进搜索引擎优化 (SEO)?

了解优化网站的性能是确保网站在搜索结果中排名靠前的重要组成部分

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 什么是SEO
  • 了解为什么站点性能对SEO很重要

复制文章链接

网站速度如何促进 SEO 优化?

网站速度是搜索引擎优化 (SEO) 学科中涉及的诸多因素之一,但它不是唯一的因素。SEO 是根据 Google 和 Bing 等搜索引擎评估网页并在搜索结果中进行排名的方式来调整内容和网站体验的做法。SEO 的目标是使网页在搜索结果中获得尽可能高的排名,最终为网站带来更多流量。

从搜索引擎的角度来看,让用户轻松找到所需信息非常重要,因此网站的用户体验非常重要。站点性能是用户体验的重要组成部分;当用户不得不等待页面完成加载时,他们会感到沮丧。

网站速度对SEO有多大影响?

在 2010 年,Google 就已经宣布了将网站速度纳入其搜索排名。从那时起,网站性能变得越来越有影响力,而性能优化现在是 SEO 优化的重要组成部分。在他们最初宣布将网站速度作为排名因素时,Google 强调了用户的观点,以及缓慢的网站如何对用户体验产生不利影响。Google 还指出,用户不太可能留在加载缓慢的网站上。(这意味着用户因此不太可能停留足够长的时间来寻找他们所需要的答案。)

谷歌并未透露有关其搜索算法的详细信息,因此很难准确地量化多少网站速度会影响SEO。但是,网站的可用性和整体用户体验当然至关重要,尤其是对于移动设备而言,谷歌自己的研究表明,如果加载时间超过3秒,则53%的移动站点将被用户完全放弃。

SEO 的基本原理

SEO 是如何工作的?

当用户使用搜索引擎进行搜索时,搜索引擎会生成一个网站列表,这些网站从最有可能到最不可能满足查询的顺序排列。该列表通常分为一系列结果页面(或 SERP),列出可以回答用户查询的网站,通常每个 SERP 有 10 个结果。大多数用户只会浏览搜索结果的第一页,然后选择优化搜索并重试。因此,大多数 SEO 专家的目标是让他们管理的网站进入他们所针对的查询的前 10 个搜索结果中。

一个网站在搜索引擎结果排名中的高低取决于许多因素,包括它与查询的相关程度以及搜索算法认为该网站的权威程度。通过优化网站进行搜索,网站所有者可以确保其内容在搜索排名中显示的尽可能高,从而使用户更有可能点击。

搜索引擎优化的功能是帮助搜索引擎确定一个网站上提供什么样的信息,并延伸到让寻找该信息的用户能够找到它。

在西方,谷歌主导了搜索引擎市场,因此,谷歌的算法在很大程度上决定了SEO最佳实践。在北美,谷歌拥有近90%的搜索量,Bing 和雅虎搜索占据了其余大部分市场。但是,在世界其他地区,其他搜索引擎仍然占据主导地位。例如,百度是中国的主要搜索引擎。

SEO 包含各种策略,包括:

  • 内容质量关系到一篇文章在什么样的程度上能够回答用户在搜索中提出的问题。从业人员使用一个称为关键词研究的过程,以确保主题和搜索词值得追求。关键字研究包括了解搜索量、相关搜索词以及某个关键字的竞争情况。此外,作品的质量涉及到作品与用户意图的匹配程度——或帮助用户完成使他们进入该页面的任何目标。例如,一篇标题为“什么是 SEO”的文章应该专注于定义 SEO 并解释其相关组件,而一篇标题为“如何优化 SEO”的文章应该专注于可操作的建议。
  • 网页因素是指网页内容的组织方式。经过优化的网页有清晰而直接的标题、有用的章节标题、描述性的文件名和图片的 alt 标签,以及易于理解的网站层次结构。这些因素使搜索引擎很容易“理解”网页的内容。
  • 与此相反,页外因素在网站本身的内容之外。最常见的页外因素之一是网站的外部链接数量。当权威(或值得信赖)的网站链接到其网站以外的内容时,Google 算法会将此视为该内容十分有价值的标志。
  • 用户体验侧重于网站访问者,Core Web Vitals (CWV) 在这方面发挥了重要作用。CWV 是 Google 用来衡量网页上的项目加载速度和流畅度,并进而衡量网站用户体验的一组指标。虽然 CWV 对任何网站都很重要,但对某些行业可能特别关键,如电子商务。例如,当有人试图在一家在线鞋店结账时,缓慢的页面速度可能意味着 100 美元收入和 0 美元之间的区别。

一些网站所有者选择使用称为“黑帽”搜索引擎优化的策略,但这些策略是有问题,通常并不推荐使用。最著名的技术之一被称为关键词堆砌。

关键字填充是一种在内容中以不自然的方式多次使用关键字的做法,目的是在搜索引擎排名中获得优势。Google 不再考虑使用关键字的频率相关性,有时会因关键字填充的明显倾向而对网站做出惩罚。

SEO 为何重要?

SEO 对整体营销战略至关重要,部分原因是拥有排名较高的相关内容对公司在其所选行业的权威性有好处。

此外,SEO 是一种有机或无需付款的营销策略。虽然优化一段内容或优化用户体验可能需要时间和精力,但搜索引擎优化工作所获得的流量是无法购买的。与数字广告相比,一旦公司停止为广告支付费用,数字广告就会消失。从这个意义上说,与付费战术相比,SEO 工作可能能够带来更多的长期利益。

SEO 还可以帮助公司发展可能成为未来买家的受众。例如,如果一家销售防晒霜的电子商务公司想把潜在客户带到他们的网站,他们可以付费让他们的网站作为广告出现在其他网站上。但这只能抓住一些潜在的买家。在 Google 上搜索“涂防晒霜有什么好处”的人也可能是潜在客户,但不太可能点击或看到广告。一个整体的营销策略会有一些战术,让这两类客户熟悉他们的品牌,并最终将他们转化为买家。SEO 应该是该战略的一部分。

如何对我的网页进行 SEO 优化?

内容和关键词研究

  • 进行关键词研究:只有当人们确实在搜索某个关键词时,针对该关键词优化页面才会有意义。关键词研究的过程可以帮助网站所有者确定搜索者正在提出什么类型的问题,并找到这些问题与自己的业务优先事项的重叠之处。
  • 了解搜索意图并为之写作:无论自己是否意识到,所有读者在阅读或访问网页时都有一个目标。网站所有者应该思考如何最好地帮助读者完成他们的目标。例如,当读者访问一篇关于如何缝制衣服的文章时,他们是在寻找一些有指导性和可操作性的内容。网站所有者可以用视频演示或过程的图片来补充他们的文章,让读者更容易按此操作。
  • 撰写全面、易懂的文章:Google 将对其认为最能回答搜索问题的文章进行排名。让作品获得最佳排名的一个方法是,网站所有者要确保他们尽可能多地涵盖与读者目标相关的主题。此外,写一些读者容易理解的文章也有助于提高 SEO,因为可读性是另一个排名因素。
  • 页面上的 SEO 技巧

    • 通过标题来组织:使用标题来划分一篇文章的内容,可以帮助读者更轻松地浏览文章,改善他们的体验。这也可能是一个机会,可以根据组织的目标关键词来撰写文章。例如,写一个标题为“如何缝制一件衣服”不仅可以让读者轻松找到可操作的说明,还可以让 Google 更容易理解这篇文章可能非常适合搜索词“服装缝纫说明”。
    • 使用 alt 文本:Alt 文本用于描述图像的内容。这让使用屏幕阅读器浏览互联网的人更容易访问网站。它还通过创造额外的机会来纳入关键词或核心概念,帮助强化作品的中心思想。
    • 关键词纳入:虽然关键词堆砌从来都不是一个好的策略,但有些地方包含目标关键字非常重要,例如元标题和元描述。
    • 用户体验和技术性 SEO

      技术性 SEO 有很多因素,下面是两个最重要的因素:

    • 网站速度:快速的网站是技术性 SEO 的核心原则之一。一些有助于提高网站速度的方法包括使用内容分发网络 (CDN)调整图像大小。CDN 的工作方式是在一个服务器网络中缓存内容或存储内容副本。这样,当用户访问一个网页时,其内容将在离他们更近的服务器上加载,从而提高加载速度。同样,减少图片的大小可提升其加载速度,从而提高网站性能。
    • 可抓取的网页:技术性 SEO 的另一个重要因素是确保搜索引擎能够抓取网页。一种方法是确保相关网页被“编入索引”。这表明该网页应该在搜索结果中显示出来。网站架构是使网站可被抓取的另一部分。使用内部链接(包括从网站内部链接到网站上网页的超链接)有助于告诉 Google 哪些页面最重要。

    Cloudflare 如何协助搜索引擎优化?

    Cloudflare 提供了一些提高网站速度的工具,这可以改善技术性 SEO。Cloudflare CDN 通过在覆盖 100 多个国家/地区的 275 多个城市的全球网络中缓存静态和动态内容,提高网站性能。此外,Cloudflare Images 提供调整大小的功能,可以压缩图片,进一步提高网站加载速度。

How does website speed boost search engine optimization (SEO)?

Optimizing a website's performance is an important part of ensuring a website shows up high in search results

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Explain what SEO is
  • Understand why site performance is important for SEO

Copy article link

How does website speed boost SEO optimization?

Website speed is one of many factors involved in the discipline of search engine optimization (SEO), but it is not the only one. SEO is the practice of tailoring content and website experience to how search engines like Google and Bing evaluate webpages and rank them in search results. The goal of SEO is to rank pages as highly as possible in search results, which ultimately drives more traffic to a website.

From a search engine's perspective, it is important to make it easy for users to find the information they need, so a website's user experience is very important. Site performance is a big part of user experience; it is frustrating for the user when they have to wait for pages to finish loading.

How much does site speed affect SEO?

In 2010, Google announced that site speed would be factored into their search rankings. Since that time, site performance has grown more influential, and optimizing for performance is now a large part of optimizing for SEO. In their initial announcement of site speed as a ranking factor, Google emphasized the perspective of the user, and how a slow website adversely impacts the user's experience. Google also pointed out that users were less likely to stay on websites that loaded slowly. (This would imply that users were therefore less likely to stay long enough to get their query answered.)

Google does not reveal details about its search algorithms, so it is difficult to quantify exactly how much site speed affects SEO. However, website usability and the overall user experience are certainly crucial, especially for mobile devices, and Google's own research has shown that 53% of mobile sites are abandoned altogether if they take longer than 3 seconds to load.

SEO fundamentals

How does SEO work?

When a user performs a search, the search engine generates a list of websites that are put in order from most likely to least likely to fulfill the query. This list is typically divided into a series of results pages (or SERPs) listing websites that may answer the user's query, and usually there are 10 results per SERP. Most users will not go past the first page of search results, opting instead to refine their search and try again. For this reason, the goal of most SEO experts is to get the website they are managing into the top 10 search results for the queries they are targeting.

A website will rank higher or lower in search engine results depending on a number of factors, including how relevant it is for the query and how authoritative the search algorithm considers the website to be. By optimizing a website for search, website owners can make sure their content shows up as high as possible in search rankings, making it more likely that users will click.

SEO functions as a collection of practices for helping search engines determine what kind of information is offered on a website, and by extension, enabling users who are looking for that information to find it.

In the West, Google dominates the search engine market, and because of this Google's algorithms are largely what determine SEO best practices. In North America, Google has close to 90% of all searches, with Bing and Yahoo search taking up most of the rest of the market. However, in other parts of the world, other search engines hold sway; for instance, Baidu is the main search engine in China.

SEO encompasses a variety of tactics, including:

  • Content quality relates to how well a piece answers the questions users raise in search. Practitioners use a process called keyword research to ensure topics and search terms are worth pursuing. Keyword research involves understanding search volume, related search terms, and the competitive landscape for a keyword. Additionally, the quality of a piece relates to how well a piece matches user intent — or helps the user accomplish whatever goal landed them on that page. For example, a piece titled “what is SEO” should focus on defining SEO and explaining its relevant components, while a piece titled “how to optimize SEO” should focus on actionable advice.
  • On-page factors refer to how the webpage content is structured. Optimized webpages have clear and direct titles, helpful section headers, descriptive file names and alt tags for images, and easy-to-understand site hierarchies. These factors make it easy for search engines to “understand” what a webpage is about.
  • Off-page factors, on the other hand, are outside of the content on the website itself. One of the most common off-page factors is the amount of external links a website has. When authoritative (or trusted) websites link to content outside of their website, the Google algorithm interprets that as an indication the content is valuable.
  • User experience focuses on the website visitor and is where core web vitals (CWVs) come into play. The CWVs are a set of metrics Google uses to measure how quickly and smoothly items on a webpage load and in turn, how users experience the site. While CWVs matter for any website, they may be particularly critical for certain industries, like ecommerce. For example, when someone is trying to check out from an online shoe store, slow page speed could be the difference between $100 in revenue and $0.

Some website owners opt to use problematic tactics called “black hat” SEO, but these are generally not recommended. One of the most well-known techniques is called keyword stuffing.

Keyword stuffing is the practice of using keywords multiple times in content to an unnatural degree to gain an advantage in search engine rankings. Google no longer considers the frequency with which keywords are used to be relevant and sometimes penalizes sites for clear instances of keyword stuffing.

Why is SEO important?

SEO is critical to a holistic marketing strategy, partially because having relevant content that ranks highly is good for a company’s authority in their chosen industry.

Additionally, SEO is an organic or unpaid marketing tactic. While it may require time and effort to optimize a piece of content or optimize the user experience, the traffic SEO efforts garner is not something that can be bought. Compare this to digital ads, which disappear as soon as a company stops paying for them. In this sense, SEO efforts may have more long-term benefits compared to pay-to-play tactics.

SEO can also help companies build an audience of future buyers. For example, if an ecommerce company that sells sunscreen wants to drive potential customers to their site, they can pay to have their website appear as an ad on other websites. But that will only capture some potential buyers. Someone who searches on Google, “what are the benefits of wearing sunscreen” may also be a potential customer, but could be unlikely to click or see an ad. A holistic marketing strategy will have tactics to make both of these types of customers familiar with their brand and eventually convert them into buyers. SEO should be part of that strategy.

How do I optimize my web page for SEO?

Content and keyword research

  • Conduct keyword research: Optimizing a page for a keyword only matters if people are actually searching for that keyword. The process of keyword research can help site owners to determine what types of questions searchers are looking for and find overlap with their own business priorities.
  • Understand and write for search intent: All readers have a goal in mind when they read or visit a webpage, whether they are consciously aware of it or not. Site owners should think about how to best help their readers accomplish their goals. For example, a reader who visits an article about how to sew a dress is looking for something instructive and actionable. A site owner may want to supplement their article with a video demonstration or images of the process to make it easier for the reader to follow along.
  • Write thorough, easy to understand pieces: Google will rank the pieces it believes best answers search queries. One way to give pieces the best shot to rank is for site owners to ensure they cover as much of a topic as relevant for the reader’s goals. Additionally, writing pieces that are easy for readers to understand can help boost SEO as well, because readability is another ranking factor.
  • On-page SEO tips

    • Organize by headers: Using headers to divide a piece of content can help make it easier for the reader to scan the piece, improving their experience. This could also be an opportunity to write based on the keywords an organization is targeting. For example, writing a header that says “how to sew a dress” can not only make it easy for the reader to spot where to get actionable instructions, but also make it easier for Google to understand that the piece may be a good fit for the search term “dress sewing instructions.”
    • Use alt text: Alt text is used to describe the contents of an image. This makes websites more accessible for people who use screen readers to navigate the Internet. It also helps reinforce the main idea of a piece by creating additional opportunities to incorporate the keyword or core concepts.
    • Keyword incorporation: While keyword stuffing is never a good tactic, there are some places that are very important to include a target keyword, such as the meta title and meta description.
    • User experience and technical SEO

      There are many factors in technical SEO, but here are two of the most important:

    • Site speed: A fast website is one of the core tenets of technical SEO. Some ways to help boost site speed are to use a content delivery network (CDN) and resizing images. A CDN works by caching (or storing copies of) content across a network of servers. This way, when a user visits a webpage, its content will load on a server that is closer to them, improving loading speed. Similarly, reducing the size of images helps them load faster, improving website performance.
    • Crawlable webpages: Another important factor in technical SEO is ensuring that search engines are able to crawl webpages. One way to do this is to make sure relevant webpages are “indexed.” This is an indication that the webpage should show up in search results. Site architecture is another part of making a website crawlable. Using internal linking (including hyperlinks to web pages on a website from within the website) helps tell Google which pages are most important.

    How can Cloudflare help with SEO?

    Cloudflare offers a few tools for boosting site speed, which can improve technical SEO. Cloudflare CDN improves website performance by caching static and dynamic content across a global network spanning more than 275 cities in over 100 countries. Additionally, Cloudflare Images offers resizing functionality that can compress images and further increase website loading speed.