什么是图像优化器?| 如何缩小图像大小

图像优化器可以减小图像文件的大小,从而优化 Internet 图像并实现快速加载。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

图像优化器

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义“图像优化器”
  • 了解加快图像加载速度的其他方法

什么是图像优化器?

图像优化器是能够使图像文件变小的服务、产品或库。通常,图像优化器将通过压缩和调整图像大小来减小图像文件的大小,在理想情况下也不会过多地损害图像质量。这可以用于优化 Web 图像,因为较小的图像只需更少的时间即可加载到用户的浏览器,从而提高网站速度和性能。

为什么需要减小图像大小?

网页上显示的所有图像都必须先由用户的浏览器下载,然后才能显示。图像越大(就文件大小,而不是尺寸而言),下载时间就越长,占用的带宽也就越大。如果用户使用移动设备,下载大图像时也会消耗大量数据流量。

因此,减小图像大小对于网站性能至关重要,而网站性能对于 SEO 以及保持用户在网站上的活跃度至关重要。Google 优先考虑能够快速加载的网站,如果网页需要较长的加载时间,用户更可能跳出,转化的可能性将降低。

如何减少图像文件的大小?

减少图像大小的第一步是缩小图像尺寸。例如,一般网站无需 3,000 像素宽度的图像。(实际上,大多数台式机显示器的宽度为 1,920 像素或以下。)调整图像尺寸可以在不影响图像质量的情况下减少文件大小。

此外还可以压缩图像。图像压缩器(例如 Photoshop 的“另存为 Web 图像”功能)可以将 JPEG 文件压缩至更低的分辨率级别,同时图像看起来基本和压缩前一样。但是,图像仍应显得专业,而非像素化。当分辨率达到某个临界点时,相应的性能提升将不足以弥补图像质量的损失。测试很重要;图像在大型显示器和小型智能手机屏幕上均应显得专业。

除了调整图像尺寸或压缩图像外,还有其他方法可以优化图像吗?

图像的文件格式会影响文件的大小。网络上的大多数图像都是 JPEG 格式,而不是 PNG 或 GIF 格式。这是因为 JPEG 格式的图片最容易调整质量(这会影响文件大小)。JPEG 文件是有损压缩,这意味着它们在压缩后会丢失视觉信息。因此,通过压缩可以大大减少 JPEG 文件的大小,而 GIF 和 PNG 文件通常无法做到这一点(两者都是无损压缩)。

CDN 如何加速图像加载?

CDN 或内容交付网络是分布在世界各地的一组服务器,用于存储和传输内容(包括图像)给最终用户。CDN 服务器针对速度进行了优化,与源站相比,它们与最终用户的距离更近,从而可以减少延迟并加快通过 Internet 传送的图像、视频和其他内容的加载速度。了解有关 Cloudflare CDN 的更多信息。

什么是图片 SEO 优化?

图像搜索引擎优化和图像优化是分开的,但彼此相关。减少图像文件大小确实可以缩短加载时间,从而有助于优化图像搜索,Google 鼓励开发人员尽可能压缩图像。

但是,要真正优化图像搜索,开发人员应:

  1. 给予图像文件具有相关性且易读的命名,并尽量添加一个相关的关键字
  2. 包含简短的描述性图像 alt 标签,该标签可为使用屏幕阅读器的网站访问者提供帮助,并包含一个或多个关键字
  3. 图像响应灵敏且适宜在移动设备上查看
  4. 在有助于增强用户体验并保持用户参与度的情况下,给图像添加字幕
  5. 包括 Open Graph 和 Twitter 卡片图像以用于社交分享

What Is an Image Optimizer? | How to Reduce Image Sizes

Image optimizers reduce image file sizes so that images are optimized for the Internet and can load quickly.

Share

Image Optimizer

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define 'image optimizer'
  • Understand additional ways to speed up images

What is an image optimizer?

An image optimizer is a service, product, or library that makes image files smaller. Typically, an image optimizer will reduce the file size of an image by compressing and resizing it, ideally without compromising the quality of the image too much. This optimizes images for the web because they will take less time to load in a user's browser, increasing website speed and performance.

Why is it necessary to reduce image size?

All images that appear on a webpage need to be downloaded by the user's browser before they can be displayed. The larger an image is (in terms of file size, not dimensions), the longer it takes to download, and the more bandwidth it will will take up. If users are on a mobile device, large images will also use up a lot of their data as they download.

Therefore, keeping images small is crucial for website performance, and website performance is extremely important for SEO and for keeping users engaged and active on a website. Google prioritizes sites that load quickly, and users are more likely to bounce and less likely to convert if a webpage takes a long time to load.

How is image file size reduced?

The first step for reducing image size is to shrink its dimensions. The typical website will not need images that are 3,000-plus pixels wide, for example. (In fact, most desktop displays are 1,920 pixels wide or smaller.) Adjustments to the dimensions of an image should reduce file size without reducing quality.

Images can also be compressed. Image compressors (such as Photoshop's 'Save for Web' feature) can shrink JPEG files to a much lower resolution level, and the images will look essentially the same. However, images should still look professional, not pixelated. There's a tipping point where the resolution becomes so low that the accompanying performance gains are not worth it. Testing is important; images should appear professional on large monitors and small smartphone screens alike.

Are there other ways to optimize images besides resizing or compressing them?

The file format used for an image affects how large the file is. Most images for the web should be in JPEG format, not PNG or GIF. This is because it's easiest to adjust the quality (which affects the file size) with JPEG files. JPEG files are lossy, which means they lose visual information when they are compressed. As a result, compression can shrink JPEG files to a fraction of their original sizes, which is usually not possible with GIF and PNG files (both are lossless).

How does a CDN speed up images?

A CDN, or content delivery network, is a group of servers distributed around the world that store and deliver content, including images, to end users. CDN servers are optimized for speed, and they are located closer to end users than origin servers are, reducing latency and speeding up load times for images, video, and other content delivered over the Internet. Learn more about the Cloudflare CDN.

What is image SEO optimization?

Image search engine optimization and image optimization are separate, but related. Reducing image file size does help optimize images for search by reducing load times, and Google encourages developers to compress images when possible.

However, for an image to be truly optimized for search, developers should:

  1. Give the image file a relevant, readable name, and include a relevant keyword if possible
  2. Include a brief, descriptive image alt tag that is helpful for site visitors using screen readers and contains one or more keywords
  3. Make images responsive and mobile-friendly
  4. Caption images where doing so enhances the user experience and keeps users engaged
  5. Include Open Graph and Twitter card images for social sharing