如何使每个人的互联网速度更快

许多因素会影响互联网速度。为了加快互联网速度,需要针对网络拥塞、DNS 解析和网络延迟的解决方案。

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 了解影响互联网速度的因素
  • 了解如何使整个互联网变得更快

相关内容


想要继续学习吗?

订阅 TheNET,这是 Cloudflare 每月对互联网上最流行见解的总结!

参阅 Cloudflare 的隐私政策,了解我们如何收集和处理您的个人数据。

复制文章链接

有哪些因素导致互联网性能下降?

网络延时

距离是延迟的主要原因之一。为了使互联网发挥作用,计算机、服务器和路由器需要来回通信,通过绵延数百英里的电缆以电脉冲的形式交换信息。由于宇宙的物理定律,互联网内置了一定的延迟——光速是信息传播速度的硬性限制。这非常快,但这仍然意味着信息需要几毫秒到近一秒的时间才能通过电缆从客户端传输到服务器并返回(参阅什么是延迟?)。

网站性能缓慢

网站速度慢的原因有很多。需要加载一个或多个大型 CSS 文件、高清图像或多个 JavaScript 文件才能正常运行的站点可能需要很长时间才能呈现。此外,网站的托管位置会影响网站速度,尤其是在不使用 CDN 的情况下;在多伦多托管的网站对于多伦多用户来说可能表现良好,但在休斯顿加载需要很长时间。网站速度测试可以帮助开发人员确定其 Web 资产的表现以及效率低下的地方。

网络攻击

恶意活动通常会阻碍互联网速度。例如,对网站的 DDoS 攻击会显着降低网站的性能或使网站完全崩溃。

网络拥塞

在任何给定时间可以通过网络的数据量是有限的;可以通过的最大量称为带宽。当某个点(无论是在互联网交换点 (IXP)数据中心内还是在私人住宅的 LAN 路由器上)的传入网络流量超过带宽时,由此产生的网络拥塞会导致互联网速度变慢,就同高速公路上的汽车太多会导致交通变慢一样。

网络拥塞可能仅限于某个地理区域,可能会影响整个 ISP 的网络,或者可能发生在家中(例如,如果多人同时尝试流式传输高清视频)。

客户端设备上的问题

多种情况会导致网站和 Web 应用程序在用户设备(客户端-服务器模型中的“客户端”)上表现不佳。例如:

  • 设备上运行的浏览器选项卡或进程过多会降低浏览器性能。
  • 由于硬件问题或恶意软件感染,导致设备本身运行缓慢。
  • 浏览器中运行的扩展程序和插件太多,也会降低网页速度。

DNS 对互联网速度有何影响?

域名系统 (DNS) 将域名映射或“解析”到 IP 地址,因为这必须在浏览器导航和显示网站之前完成,所以 DNS 解析会影响网站的加载速度。对于大多数消费者来说,他们的 ISP(互联网服务提供商)默认分配 DNS 解析器,如果 ISP 的 DNS 服务器运行缓慢,这会降低该 ISP 用户的互联网速度。

用户还可以使用其 ISP 以外的 DNS 解析器,尽管许多用户不知道此选项。1.1.1.1 是目前最快的 DNS 解析器,专门设计用于减少这些延迟。通常,1.1.1.1 大约在 10-20 毫秒内响应;其他解析器可能需要超过 100 毫秒。

CDN 如何加快互联网速度?

CDN(内容交付网络)极大地减少了网络延迟。CDN 将内容缓存在世界各地的服务器中,这样它无需传输很远的距离就能到达最终用户处。这减少了网络延迟,并加快了使用 CDN 的网站的速度。一些 CDN 还执行负载平衡,这有助于防止网络拥塞。Cloudflare CDN 在全球 200 个城市拥有数据中心。这有助于使 Web 内容更接近用户并加快网站性能。

开发人员如何提高页面速度?

网站速度对于加快互联网速度至关重要。开发人员可以通过优化图像、保持代码尽可能短以及通常保持页面文件大小尽可能小来保持页面速度。他们还可以最后加载阻止呈现的资源*,这实际上并没有使网页加载更快,但确实允许浏览器更快地呈现用户看到的内容。使用 CDN 还可以让网页加载得更快。

*阻止呈现的资源是在加载其他任何内容之前需要加载的文件,例如 CSS 和 JavaScript。

如何改善互联网路由并减少网络拥塞?

交通拥堵在大城市非常普遍。为了避开拥堵和恶劣的路况,一些司机选择使用 Waze 等智能地图应用程序,将他们重新指引到不太拥挤的街道上。与许多司机的驾驶路线一样,互联网路由将网络流量转发到两点之间的最短距离。但实际上,这并非总是最快的路线。主要的互联网路由协议 BGP 在保持互联网基础设施的全球连接方面很有效,但在流量级别方面并不“智能”——它无法根据流量和/或网络拥塞选择不同的路由。BGP 对于互联网的一般操作至关重要。接下来需要的是 BGP 之上的智能层。

Argo Smart Routing 就是执行此操作的服务示例。改进互联网路由,以便可以根据这些因素重新路由网络流量,从而使整个互联网更快。Argo 建立在 BGP 出色的弹性之上,并能够寻找绕过拥塞路径的方法。

How to Make the Internet Faster for Everyone

A number of factors affect Internet speed. To speed up the Internet, solutions for network congestion, DNS resolving, and network latency are needed.

Share

Speed Up the Web

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Understand the factors that impact Internet speed
  • Learn how the Internet as a whole can be made faster

What are some of the factors that slow down internet performance?

Network latency

Distance is one of the principal causes of latency. For the Internet to function, computers, servers, and routers need to communicate back and forth, exchanging information in the form of pulses of electricity across cables that stretch for hundreds of miles. A certain amount of latency is built into the Internet because of the physical laws of the universe – the speed of light is a hard limit on how fast information can travel. That's very fast, but it still means that it will take information from a few milliseconds up to nearly a second to travel through cables from the client to the server and back (see What is latency?).

Slowly performing websites

Websites can be slow for a number of reasons. Sites that have to load one or more large CSS files, high-definition images, or multiple JavaScript files in order to function properly may take a long time to render. Additionally, where the site is hosted makes a difference to website speed, especially if it doesn't use a CDN; a website hosted in Toronto may load just fine for Toronto users but take a long time to load in Houston. A website speed test can help developers determine how their web properties are performing and where the inefficiencies are.

Cyber attacks

Malicious activity often hinders Internet speed. For example, DDoS attacks on websites can significantly slow a website's performance or crash the website altogether.

Network congestion

The amount of data that can pass through a network at any given time is limited; the maximum amount that can pass through is known as the bandwidth. When incoming network traffic exceeds bandwidth at a certain point on the network, whether that's within an Internet Exchange Point (IXP), in a data center, or on a LAN router in a private home, the resulting network congestion leads to slower Internet speeds, the same way too many cars on the freeway results in slower traffic.

Network congestion may be limited to a certain geographic area, may affect an entire ISP's network, or may take place inside a home (for instance, if multiple people are trying to stream high-definition video at the same time).

Issues on the client device

A variety of conditions can cause websites and web applications to perform poorly on user devices (the 'client' in the client-server model). For example:

  • Too many open browser tabs or processes running on the device can slow browser performance.
  • The device itself can run slowly due to hardware issues or malware infections.
  • Too many extensions and plugins running in the browser can also slow webpage speed.

How does DNS affect internet speed?

The Domain Name System (DNS) maps, or 'resolves,' domain names to IP addresses, and because this has to be done before a browser can navigate to and display a website, DNS resolution affects how quickly websites load. For most consumers, their ISP (Internet service provider) assigns DNS resolvers by default, and if the ISP's DNS servers are performing slowly, this slows down Internet speed for that ISP's users.

Users also have the ability to use a DNS resolver other than their ISP's, although many users are unaware of this option. 1.1.1.1 is currently the fastest DNS resolver and is designed to reduce these delays. Typically, 1.1.1.1 responds in about 10-20 milliseconds; other resolvers may take well over 100 milliseconds.

How do CDNs speed up the Internet?

CDNs (content delivery networks) greatly reduce network latency. A CDN caches content in servers around the world so that it does not have to travel as far to reach end users. This reduces network latency and speeds up websites that use the CDN. Some CDNs also perform load balancing, which helps prevent network congestion. The Cloudflare CDN has over 155 points of presence worldwide. This helps to bring web content closer to users and speed up website performance.

How can developers increase page speed?

Website speed is essential for making the Internet faster. Developers can keep pages fast by optimizing images, keeping code as short as possible, and in general keeping page file size as small as possible. They can also load render-blocking resources* last, which does not actually make webpages load faster but does allow the browser to render the content that the user sees more quickly. Use of a CDN also allows webpages to load faster.

*Render-blocking resources are the files that need to be loaded before anything else can be loaded, such as CSS and JavaScript.

How can Internet routing be improved and network congestion reduced?

Vehicular traffic jams are an all too common occurrence in major cities. To get around congestion and bad road conditions, some drivers opt to use smart maps apps like Waze, which reroute them onto less congested streets. Internet routing, just like many drivers' commuting routes, forwards network traffic to the shortest distance between two points. But in reality, that's not always the fastest route. The main Internet routing protocol, BGP, is effective at keeping the internet infrastructure globally connected, but is not 'smart' when it comes to traffic levels – it can't pick a different route based on traffic and/or network congestion. BGP is vital for the general operation of the Internet. What’s needed next is a smart layer above BGP.

Argo smart routing is an example of a service that does just this. Improving Internet routing so that network traffic can be rerouted based on these factors makes the Internet as a whole faster. Argo builds on BGP's excellent resilience and handles the nitty-gritty of finding ways around congested paths.