什么是 CDN 边缘服务器?

边缘服务器是使 Internet 快速发展的主要组成部分。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

CDN 边缘服务器

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义 CDN 边缘服务器
  • 了解数据如何通过网络传递
  • 区分边缘服务器和源站

什么是 CDN 边缘服务器?

CDN 边缘服务器是位于网络的逻辑极限或“边缘”的计算机。边缘服务器通常充当独立网络之间的连接。CDN 边缘服务器的主要目的是将内容存储在尽可能靠近发出请求的客户端计算机的位置,从而减少延迟并缩短页面加载时间。


边缘服务器是一种边缘设备,可提供进入网络的入口点。其他边缘设备包括路由器和路由交换机。边缘设备通常放置在 Internet 交换点 (IxPs) 以允许不同的网络连接并共享传输。

边缘服务器的工作原理

在任何特定的网络布局中,都是多个设备使用一个或多个预定义的网络模式相互连接。如果网络要连接到另一网络或更大的 Internet,则它必须具有某种形式的桥接,以便流量从一个位置流向另一个位置。在网络边缘上创建这种桥接的硬件设备称为边缘设备。

网络跨边缘连接

在有多个设备连接的典型家庭或办公室网络中,移动电话或计算机等的设备通过星型网络模型与网络连接和断开连接。所有设备都存在于同一局域网 (LAN) 中,并且每个设备都连接到中央路由器,它们正是通过中央路由器相互连接的。


要将第二个网络连接到第一个网络,必须在某个点在两个网络之间建立连接。根据定义,边缘设备是网络能够通过其相互连接的设备。

CDN edge network device diagram

现在,如果网络 A 内的计算机需要连接到网络 B 内的计算机,则该连接必须从网络 A 跨网络边缘传递到第二个网络。同样的范式也可以在更复杂的环境中使用,例如通过 Internet 建立连接时。网络共享传输的能力受到网络之间的边缘设备可用性的限制。


当连接必须穿越 Internet 时,就必须在网络 A 和网络 B 之间采取更多的中间步骤。为简单起见,我们假设每个网络都是一个圆圈,圆圈相互接触的地方是网络边缘。为了使连接跨 Internet 移动,它通常会接触许多网络并跨许多网络边缘节点移动。一般来说,连接必须穿越的距离越远,必须遍历的网络数量就越大。在达到目标之前,连接可能会遍历不同的 Internet 服务提供商和 Internet 骨干基础设施硬件。

CDN edge server placement diagram

CDN 提供商会将服务器放置在许多位置,但是最重要的是不同网络之间的边缘连接点。这些边缘服务器将与多个的网络连接,允许流量在网络之间快速有效地传递。如果没有 CDN,传输可能会在来源和目的地之间历经较慢和/或较复杂的路线。在最坏的情况下,流量将“延展”出较大距离;当连接到街对面的另一台设备时,连接可能会在全国移动后再返回。通过将边缘服务器放置在关键位置,CDN 可以将内容快速交付给不同网络内的用户。要了解有关使用 CDN 获得的改进的更多信息,请探索 CDN 性能的工作原理

边缘服务器和源站有什么区别?

源站是一种 Web 服务器,当 Web 资产未使用 CDN 时,它接收所有 Internet 流量。在没有 CDN 时使用源站意味着每个 Internet 请求都必须返回到源站的物理位置,而不管它在世界何处。这会导致加载时间延长,服务器距请求客户端计算机越远,加载时间就会越长。


CDN 边缘服务器在具有战略意义的位置存储(缓存)内容,以减轻一个或多个源站的负担。通过将静态资产(如图像、HTML 和 JavaScript 文件以及可能的其他内容)尽可能移到请求客户端计算机附近,边缘服务器缓存可以减少加载 Web 资源所需的时间。使用 CDN 时,源站仍具有重要的功能,因为重要的服务器端代码(例如用于身份验证的哈希客户端凭据数据库)通常在原始位置维护。了解 Cloudflare CDN 和遍布全球的边缘服务器。

What is a CDN Edge Server?

Edge servers are a primary component of making the Internet fast.

CDN Edge Server

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define a CDN edge server
  • Understand how data passes across networks
  • Differentiate between edge and origin servers

What is a CDN edge server?

A CDN edge server is a computer that exists at the logical extreme or “edge” of a network. An edge server often serves as the connection between separate networks. A primary purpose of a CDN edge server is to store content as close as possible to a requesting client machine, thereby reducing latency and improving page load times.


An edge server is a type of edge device that provides an entry point into a network. Other edges devices include routers and routing switches. Edge devices are often placed inside Internet exchange points (IxPs) to allow different networks to connect and share transit.

How does an edge server work?

In any particular network layout, a number of different devices will connect to each other using one or more predefined network pattern. If a network wants to connect to another network or the larger Internet, it must have some form of bridge in order for traffic to flow from one location to another. Hardware devices that creates this bridge on the edge of a network are called edge devices.

Networks connect across the edge

In a typical home or office network with many devices connected, devices such as mobile phones or computers connect and disconnect to the network through a hub-and-spoke network model. All of the devices exist within the same local area network (LAN), and each device connects to a central router, through which they are able to connect with each other.


In order to connect a second network to the first network, at some point the connection must be made between the networks. The device through which the networks are able to connect with each other is, by definition, an edge device.

CDN edge network device diagram

Now, if a computer inside Network A needs to connect to a computer inside Network B, the connection must pass from network A, across the network edge, and into the second network. This same paradigm also works in more complex contexts, such when a connection is made across the Internet. The ability for networks to share transit is bottlenecked by the availability of edge devices between them.


When a connection must traverse the Internet, even more intermediary steps must be taken between network A and network B. For the sake of simplicity, let's imagine that each network is a circle, and the place in which the circles touch is the edge of the network. In order for connection to move across the Internet, it will typically touch many networks and move across many network edge nodes. Generally speaking, the farther the connection must travel, the greater the number of networks that must be traversed. A connection may traverse different Internet service providers and Internet backbone infrastructure hardware before reaching its target.

CDN edge server placement diagram

A CDN provider will place servers in many locations, but some of the most important are the connection points at the edge between different networks. These edge servers will connect with multiple different networks and allow for traffic to pass quickly and efficiently between networks. Without a CDN, transit may take a slower and/or more convoluted route between source and destination. In worst case scenarios, traffic will “trombone” large distances; when connecting to another device across the street, a connection may move across the country and back again. By placing edge servers in key locations, a CDN is able to quickly deliver content to users inside different networks. To learn more about the improvements of using CDN, explore how CDN performance works.

What is the difference between an edge server and an origin server?

An origin server is the web server that receives all Internet traffic when a web property is not using a CDN. Using an origin server without a CDN means that each Internet request must return to the physical location of that origin server, regardless of where in the world it resides. This creates an increase in load times which increases the further the server is from the requesting client machine.


CDN edge servers store (cache) content in strategic locations in order to take the load off of one or more origin servers. By moving static assets like images, HTML and JavaScript files (and potentially other content) as close as possible to the requesting client machine, an edge server cache is able to reduce the amount of time it takes for a web resource to load. Origin servers still have an important function to play when using a CDN, as important server-side code such as a database of hashed client credentials used for authentication, typically is maintained at the origin. Learn about the Cloudflare CDN with edge servers all over the globe.