什么是反向代理?|代理服务器介绍

反向代理可以保护 Web 服务器免受攻击,并可以提供性能和可靠性优势。了解有关正向和反向代理的更多信息。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

反向代理

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义代理服务器
  • 描述转发代理和反向代理之间的区别
  • 概述使用反向代理的好处

什么是反向代理?

反向代理是位于 Web 服务器前面的服务器,其将客户端(例如 Web 浏览器)请求转发到这些 Web 服务器。反向代理通常用于帮助提高安全性、性能和可靠性。为了更好地理解反向代理的工作原理以及它可以提供的好处,我们来首先定义什么是代理服务器。

什么是代理服务器?

转发代理,通常称为代理、代理服务器或 Web 代理,是位于一组客户端计算机之前的服务器。当这些计算机向 Internet 上的站点和服务发出请求时,代理服务器将拦截这些请求,然后代表客户端与 Web 服务器进行通信,起到中间设备的作用。


例如,典型的转发代理通信中涉及 3 台计算机:

  • A:这是用户的家用计算机
  • B:这是一个转发代理服务器
  • C:这是网站的源站(用于存储网站数据)
Forward Proxy Flow

在标准的 Internet 通信中,计算机 A 将直接与计算机 C 保持联系,客户端将请求发送到源站,并且源站将响应客户端。当存在转发代理时,A 将请求发送到 B,B 随后将请求转发给 C。C 将向 B 发送响应,而 B 则将响应转发给 A。


为什么要将这个多余的中间设备添加到 Internet 活动中?使用转发代理可能有几个原因:

  • 为避免州或机构的浏览限制 - 一些政府、学校和其他组织使用防火墙来使用户访问受限版本的 Internet。转发代理可用于绕过这些限制,因为它们使用户可以连接到代理,而不是直接连接到他们正在访问的站点。
  • 阻止访问某些内容 - 相对的,也可以设置代理以阻止特定用户群访问某些站点。例如,学校网络可能配置为通过启用内容筛选规则的代理连接到 Web,以拒绝转发来自 Facebook 和其他社交媒体网站的响应。
  • 保护自己的在线身份 - 在某些情况下,常规 Internet 用户希望增加在线匿名性,但在其他情况下,Internet 用户居住在政府可能对政治异议者施加严重后果的地方。在网络论坛或社交媒体上批评政府可能会导致这些用户受到罚款或监禁。如果持不同政见者使用转发代理连接到他们发布政治敏感评论的网站,则用于发表评论的 IP 地址将更难追溯到持不同政见者。仅代理服务器的 IP 地址将对他人可见。

反向代理有何不同?

反向代理是位于一个或多个 Web 服务器前面的服务器,拦截来自客户端的请求。这与转发代理不同 - 在转发代理中,代理位于客户端的前面。使用反向代理,当客户端将请求发送到网站的源站时,反向代理服务器会在网络边缘拦截这些请求。然后,反向代理服务器将向源站发送请求并从源站接收响应。


转发代理和反向代理之间的区别非常细微,但非常重要。简单概括而言,转发代理位于客户端的前面,确保没有源站直接与该特定客户端通信;而反向代理服务器位于源站前面,确保没有客户端直接与该源站通信。


这一次,所涉及的计算机包括:

  • D:任意数量的用户家用计算机
  • E:这是反向代理服务器
  • F:一台或多台源站
Reverse Proxy Flow

通常,来自 D 的所有请求都将直接发送到 F,而 F 会直接将响应发送到 D。使用反向代理,来自 D 的所有请求都将直接发送给 E,而 E 会将其请求发送到 F 并从 F 接收响应,然后将适当响应传递给 D。


下面是反向代理的一些好处:

  • 负载均衡 - 一个每天吸引数百万用户的热门网站可能无法使用单个源站处理所有传入站点流量。但该站点可以分布在不同服务器的池中,让所有服务器都处理同一站点的请求。在这种情况下,反向代理可以提供一种负载均衡解决方案,在不同服务器之间平均分配传入流量,以防止单个服务器过载。如果某台服务器完全无法运转,则其他服务器可以代为处理流量。
  • IP 地址
  • 防范攻击 - 配备反向代理后,网站或服务无需透露其源站的 IP 地址。这使得攻击者更难利用针对性攻击,例如 DDoS 攻击。这时候,攻击者只能针对反向代理,例如 Cloudflare 的 CDN,而后者拥有具有更严格的安全性,拥有更多资源来抵御网络攻击。
  • 全局服务器负载平衡 (GSLB) - 在这种负载均衡形式中,一个网站可以分布在全球各地的多个服务器上,反向代理会将客户端发送到地理位置上最接近它们的服务器。这样可以减少请求和响应传播的距离,从而最大程度地减少加载时间。
  • 缓存 - 反向代理还可以缓存内容,从而提高速度。例如,如果巴黎的用户访问使用反向代理而 Web 服务器位于洛杉矶的网站,则该用户实际上可能连接到巴黎本地的反向代理服务器,然后该本地反向代理服务器必须与洛杉矶的源站进行通信。之后,代理服务器可以缓存(或临时保存)响应数据。随后浏览该站点的巴黎用户将从巴黎反向代理服务器处获取本地缓存的响应,从而享受到更快的性能。
  • SSL 加密 - 加密和解密每个客户端的 SSL(或 TLS)通信对于源站可能需要耗费大量计算资源。可以配置由反向代理解密所有传入请求并加密所有传出响应,腾出源站上的宝贵资源。

如何实施反向代理

一些公司构建自己的反向代理,但这需要大量的软件和硬件工程资源,以及对硬件的大量投资。享受反向代理的所有好处的最简单、最具成本效益的方法之一就是注册 CDN 服务。例如,Cloudflare CDN 提供上面列出的所有性能和安全功能,以及许多其他功能。

What Is A Reverse Proxy? | Proxy Servers Explained

A reverse proxy protects web servers from attacks and can provide performance and reliability benefits. Learn more about forward and reverse proxies.

Reverse Proxy

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define a proxy server
  • Describe the differences between a forward and reverse proxy
  • Outline the benefits of using a reverse proxy

What is a reverse proxy?

A reverse proxy is a server that sits in front of web servers and forwards client (e.g. web browser) requests to those web servers. Reverse proxies are typically implemented to help increase security, performance, and reliability. In order to better understand how a reverse proxy works and the benefits it can provide, let’s first define what a proxy server is.

What’s a proxy server?

A forward proxy, often called a proxy, proxy server, or web proxy, is a server that sits in front of a group of client machines. When those computers make requests to sites and services on the Internet, the proxy server intercepts those requests and then communicates with web servers on behalf of those clients, like a middleman.

For example, let’s name 3 computers involved in a typical forward proxy communication:

  • A: This is a user’s home computer
  • B: This is a forward proxy server
  • C: This is a website’s origin server (where the website data is stored)
Forward Proxy Flow

In a standard Internet communication, computer A would reach out directly to computer C, with the client sending requests to the origin server and the origin server responding to the client. When a forward proxy is in place, A will instead send requests to B, which will then forward the request to C. C will then send a response to B, which will forward the response back to A.

Why would anyone add this extra middleman to their Internet activity? There are a few reasons one might want to use a forward proxy:

  • To avoid state or institutional browsing restrictions - Some governments, schools, and other organizations use firewalls to give their users access to a limited version of the Internet. A forward proxy can be used to get around these restrictions, as they let the user connect to the proxy rather than directly to the sites they are visiting.
  • To block access to certain content - Conversely, proxies can also be set up to block a group of users from accessing certain sites. For example, a school network might be configured to connect to the web through a proxy which enables content filtering rules, refusing to forward responses from Facebook and other social media sites.
  • To protect their identity online - In some cases, regular Internet users simply desire increased anonymity online, but in other cases, Internet users live in places where the government can impose serious consequences to political dissidents. Criticizing the government in a web forum or on social media can lead to fines or imprisonment for these users. If one of these dissidents uses a forward proxy to connect to a website where they post politically sensitive comments, the IP address used to post the comments will be harder to trace back to the dissident. Only the IP address of the proxy server will be visible.

How is a reverse proxy different?

A reverse proxy is a server that sits in front of one or more web servers, intercepting requests from clients. This is different from a forward proxy, where the proxy sits in front of the clients. With a reverse proxy, when clients send requests to the origin server of a website, those requests are intercepted at the network edge by the reverse proxy server. The reverse proxy server will then send requests to and receive responses from the origin server.

The difference between a forward and reverse proxy is subtle but important. A simplified way to sum it up would be to say that a forward proxy sits in front of a client and ensures that no origin server ever communicates directly with that specific client. On the other hand, a reverse proxy sits in front of an origin server and ensures that no client ever communicates directly with that origin server.

Once again, let’s illustrate by naming the computers involved:

  • D: Any number of users’ home computers
  • E: This is a reverse proxy server
  • F: One or more origin servers
Reverse Proxy Flow

Typically all requests from D would go directly to F, and F would send responses directly to D. With a reverse proxy, all requests from D will go directly to E, and E will send its requests to and receive responses from F. E will then pass along the appropriate responses to D.

Below we outline some of the benefits of a reverse proxy:

  • Load balancing - A popular website that gets millions of users every day may not be able to handle all of its incoming site traffic with a single origin server. Instead, the site can be distributed among a pool of different servers, all handling requests for the same site. In this case, a reverse proxy can provide a load balancing solution which will distribute the incoming traffic evenly among the different servers to prevent any single server from becoming overloaded. In the event that a server fails completely, other servers can step up to handle the traffic.
  • Protection from attacks - With a reverse proxy in place, a web site or service never needs to reveal the IP address of their origin server(s). This makes it much harder for attackers to leverage a targeted attack against them, such as a DDoS attack. Instead the attackers will only be able to target the reverse proxy, such as Cloudflare’s CDN, which will have tighter security and more resources to fend off a cyber attack.
  • Global Server Load Balancing (GSLB) - In this form of load balancing, a website can be distributed on on several servers around the globe and the reverse proxy will send clients to the server that’s geographically closest to them. This decreases the distances that requests and responses need to travel, minimizing load times.
  • Caching - A reverse proxy can also cache content, resulting in faster performance. For example, if a user in Paris visits a reverse-proxied website with web servers in Los Angeles, the user might actually connect to a local reverse proxy server in Paris, which will then have to communicate with an origin server in L.A. The proxy server can then cache (or temporarily save) the response data. Subsequent Parisian users who browse the site will then get the locally cached version from the Parisian reverse proxy server, resulting in much faster performance.
  • SSL encryption - Encrypting and decrypting SSL (or TLS) communications for each client can be computationally expensive for an origin server. A reverse proxy can be configured to decrypt all incoming requests and encrypt all outgoing responses, freeing up valuable resources on the origin server.

How to implement a reverse proxy

Some companies build their own reverse proxies, but this requires intensive software and hardware engineering resources, as well as a significant investment in physical hardware. One of the easiest and most cost-effective ways to reap all the benefits of a reverse proxy is by signing up for a CDN service. For example, the Cloudflare CDN provides all the performance and security features listed above, as well as many others.