ECDSA:DNSSEC 的缺失一部分

DNSSEC 是一個複雜的話題,更令人困惑的是,IANA 定義的用於對 DNS 記錄進行簽名的幾種標準安全演算法的可用性。演算法 13 是橢圓曲線數位簽名演算法 (ECDSA) 的變體。雖然目前只有不到 0.01% 的域使用,但我們認為 ECDSA 幫助我們消除了廣泛採用 DNSSEC 的最後兩個障礙:區域枚舉和 DDoS 放大。

即時簽名可防止區域枚舉,並且只有在快速生成 ECDSA 簽名時,這才具有計算效率。橢圓曲線產生的密鑰和簽名也比 RSA 對應物小得多,這意味著對 DNS 查詢的回應更小。這大大降低了基於 DNS 的 DDoS 攻擊的放大係數。

ECDSA & DNSSEC - 區域列舉

DNSSEC 透過 NSEC 和 NSEC3 記錄引入對否認存在的答覆進行身份驗證。但是,正如我們在 DNSSEC 複雜性和注意事項中所討論,NSEC 和 NSEC3 都允許攻擊者在區域中行走。解決方案是稱為「DNSSEC 善意謊言」(在 RFC 44704471中描述)的聰明技術,但只能在對 DNSSEC 記錄進行動態簽署情況中實施。

RSA 最廣泛的簽署演算法是 DNSSEC,部分原因是這是通訊協定定義的唯一必需演算法。不幸的是,使用 RSA 進行即時簽署的成本高得令人望而卻步。

ECDSA 相比於 RSA 效能

ECDSA 獲得的效能是顯著的。與可比較的 RSA 簽章相比,產生 ECDSA 簽章的計運算成本減少 10 倍。這使得即時簽署(和 DNSSEC 善意謊言)可行,即使大規模也是如此。

在我們的 DNSSEC 測試期間(已簽署的網域少於 1,000 個),Cloudflare 已經每秒回答數以萬計的 DNSSEC 查詢。每天有超過 10 億次查詢,我們動態簽署所有必要的 RRSIG 記錄。簽署比 RSA 快 10 倍的演算法在載入到我們的 DNSSEC 伺服器上時會產生巨大改變。

當我們開始與 ECDSA 合作時,我們在 Go 中使用的 OpenSSL 實施。考慮到我們正在做的所有簽署,最佳化簽章產生是首要重點。因此,我們重寫 ECDSA 實施是低階組合語言,現在比 Go 中的快 20 倍以上。該程式碼已開放原始碼,將進入 Go 1.7,使整用個加密社群都可以利用我們的最佳化。

瞭解更多

DDoS 放大

雲端版是全球最大的託管 DNS 供應商。我們真正不希望的是將我們的 DNSSEC 伺服器變成分散式拒絕服務 (DDoS) 攻擊的放大媒介。每次從 DNSSEC 伺服器請求記錄時,還會傳回與該記錄關聯的簽章,以及用於驗證該簽章的公開金鑰。這可能是很多資訊。

使 DNSSEC 查詢的回應大小盡可能小是防止潛在攻擊者濫用我們的 DNS 基礎結構的重要要求。橢圓曲線數位簽章演算法 (ECDSA) 金鑰和簽章的尺寸很小,這大大有助於實現這一目標。

ECDSA 相比於 RSA 的回應規模

使用 ECDSA 實現 128 位元安全性需要 256 位元金鑰,而可比較的 RSA 金鑰需要 3072 位元。這是一個 12 倍的放大因數,僅運用金鑰。您可以在此部落格文章中閱讀關於為什麼密碼編譯金鑰大小不同的更多資訊。

但是,大多數 RSA 金鑰不是 3072 位元,因此 12 倍的放大倍數可能不是最實際的。讓我們來看看 DDoS 放大的最壞情況,這是一個負面回應(NSEC 記錄)。對於雲端版(使用 ECDSA 簽章和 DNSSEC 善意謊言)後面的網域,典型的 DNSSEC 回應為 377 個位元組。將其與不使用 ECDSA 或 DNSSEC 善意謊言的網域的 1075 位元組進行比較。

考慮到事實上所有其他大規模 DNSSEC 實現都依賴於 RSA 簽章,攻擊者利用我們的 DNSSEC 基礎架構作為 DDoS 向量是沒有吸引力的。

ECDSA 和 DNSSEC 現狀

ECDSA 解決了 DNSSEC 中的主要問題,但全球 DNSSEC 社群幾乎沒有利用 ECDSA。我們簡要介紹了 ECDSA 在根 DNS 區域和 Alexa 的前 100 萬個網站中的採用情況。

根區域中的 DNSSEC 安全演算法

首先,我們檢查了根 DNS 區域,以查看頂層網域正在使用的哪個 DNSSEC 演算法。下表顯示由根區域檔案中的 DS 記錄指定的安全性演算法:

curl -s http://www.internic.net/domain/root.zone | awk '$4 == "DS" { print $6}' | sort -n | uniq -c
Alexa 的前 100 萬個網站

我們對 Alexa 的前 100 萬個網站進行了類似的分析,為我們提供了一個總體全球網際網路流量截面:

演算法 已簽署的 DS 記錄數
1 (RSA/MD5) 1
3 (DSA/SHA1) 10
5 (RSA/SHA-1) 3322
7 (RSASHA1-NSEC3-SHA1) 5083
8 (RSA/SHA-256) 7003
10 (RSA/SHA-512) 201
13 (使用 SHA-256 的 ECDSA Curve P-256) 23

最引人注目的啟示是,在 1,000,000 個網站中,只有 15,643 個網站以 任何 處理能力啟用了 DNSSEC。在這 1.5% 中,只有 23 個區域使用演算法 13 進行簽署。而且,這些演算法 13 區域中有一半以上受到 Cloudflare 網路保護。這意指在 Cloudflare 之外,在 Alexa 的前 100 萬個網站中只有不到十幾個區域使用 ECDSA。這支援 Roland van Rijswijk-Deij 等人對於 .com、.net、和 .org 中 99.99% 的已簽署網域使用 RSA 的發現結果。

那麼,為什麼演算法 13 的使用率如此之低,特別是考慮到它解決了 DNSSEC 中的如此重大問題的事實?好吧,RSA 是從通訊協定的一開始就與 DNSSEC 一起引入的。ECDSA 是一種新的加密演算法、解析程式、網域名稱註冊商和註冊機構仍在迎頭趕上。

ECDSA 的缺點

ECDSA 並非沒有權衡取捨。根據 Roland van Rijswijk-Deij 等人,只有 80% 的解析程式支援 ECDSA 驗證。這個數字還在成長,但這意指,如果我們立即把整個 DNSSEC 網際網路切換到 ECDSA 上,則每天有數百萬網際網路使用者的 DNSSEC 驗證將失敗並回復為傳回未經驗證的 DNS 記錄。

此外,雖然 ECDSA 簽章的建立速度比 RSA 快,簽章驗證實際上要慢得多。Roland van Rijswijk-Deij 等人表明,即使 ECDSA 經最佳化,我們為開放 SSL 做出貢獻,ECDSA 仍然比 1024 位元 RSA(這是用於區域簽署金鑰的最常見演算法)慢 6.6 倍。這是一個嚴重的問題,因為重新載入 DNS 解析程式可能會減慢整個網際網路的速度。

結論

對於所有這些演算法 13 的討論,有一個非常重要的警告:只有 1.5% 的 Web 資產支援任何處理能力的 DNSSEC。並非所有網域名稱註冊商支援 DNSSEC,增添支援並非易事。他們需要允許他們的使用者上傳 DS 記錄,而這些記錄又需要由網域名稱註冊商上傳到註冊機構。我們正在努力實現自動化程序因此,網域名稱註冊商甚至不需要上傳 DS 記錄,但仍然需要註冊機構的介入。

好消息是,我們正朝著正確的方向發展。在過去的 12 個月,DNSSEC 總體上已經看到了相當數量的成長。而且,在我們的公共 DNSSEC 測試版與通用版 DNSSEC 公告之間的三週內,Hover、OVH、Metaname、Internet.bsInternet.bs、和 .NZ 註冊機構增添了對演算法 13 的支援。

我們相信,DNSSEC 是現代網路必不可少的技術而且,ECDSA 實現全球採用 DNSSEC 成為可能。希望我們能繼續看到網域名稱註冊商和註冊機構(無論規模)支援演算法 13。

設定 Cloudflare 輕鬆簡單



在 5 分鐘內建立網域。保留您的代管提供者。無需更改程式碼。


深受數百萬網際網路資產的信賴

ECDSA: The missing piece of DNSSEC

DNSSEC is a complicated topic, and making things even more confusing is the availability of several standard security algorithms for signing DNS records, defined by IANA. Algorithm 13 is a variant of the Elliptic Curve Digital Signing Algorithm (ECDSA). While currently used by less than 0.01% of domains, we’d like to argue that ECDSA helped us eliminate the final two barriers for widespread DNSSEC adoption: zone enumeration and DDoS amplification.

Zone enumeration is prevented by live signing, and this is only computationally efficient with the fast signature generation of ECDSA. Elliptic curves also produce significantly smaller keys and signatures than their RSA counterparts, which means responses to DNS queries are smaller. This greatly reduces the amplification factor of DNS-based DDoS attacks

Zone Enumeration

DNSSEC introduces authenticated denial-of-existence via NSEC and NSEC3 records. However, as we discussed in DNSSEC Complexities and Considerations, both NSEC and NSEC3 allow attackers to walk the zone. The solution is a clever technique called “DNSSEC white lies” (described in RFCs 4470 and 4471), but it can only be implemented if DNSSEC records are signed on-the-fly.

RSA is the most widespread signing algorithm is DNSSEC, partly because it’s the only required algorithm defined by the protocol. Unfortunately, live signing with RSA is prohibitively expensive.

ECDSA vs. RSA Performance

The performance gains of ECDSA are dramatic. It’s 10x less computationally expensive to generate an ECDSA signature than a comparable RSA signature. This makes live signing (and DNSSEC white lies) feasible, even at scale.

During our DNSSEC beta (with less than a 1,000 domains signed), Cloudflare has been answering tens of thousands of DNSSEC queries per second. That comes out to over 1 billion queries a day, and we sign all of the necessary RRSIG records on-the-fly. Having a signing algorithm that’s 10x faster than RSA makes a big difference when it comes to load on our DNSSEC servers.

We Made DNSSEC Even Faster

When we started working with ECDSA, the OpenSSL implementation we used was in Go. Considering all the signing that we’re doing, optimizing signature generation was a serious priority. So, we re-wrote the ECDSA implementation is low-level assembly, and now it’s over 20x faster than it was in Go. That code is open sourced and will make it into Go 1.7 so that the entire crypto community can take advantage of our optimizations. Read more here.

DDoS Amplification

Cloudflare is the largest managed DNS provider in the world. What we really don’t want is to turn our DNSSEC servers into an amplification vector for distributed denial-of-service (DDoS) attacks. Every time you request a record from a DNSSEC server, it also returns the signature associated with that record, as well as the public key used to verify that signature. That’s potentially a lot of information.

Making the response size for DNSSEC queries as small as possible is an important requirement to prevent abuse of our DNS infrastructure by would-be attackers. The small size of ECDSA keys and signatures goes a long way towards that end.

ECDSA vs. RSA Response Size

Achieving 128-bit security with ECDSA requires a 256-bit key, while a comparable RSA key would be 3072 bits. That’s a 12x amplification factor just from the keys. You can read more about why cryptographic keys are different sizes in this blog post.

But, most RSA keys are not 3072 bits, so a 12x amplification factor may not be the most realistic figure. Let’s take a look at a worst-case real-world scenario for DDoS amplification, which is a negative response (NSEC record). For a domain behind Cloudflare (which uses ECDSA signatures and DNSSEC white lies), a typical DNSSEC response is 377 bytes. Compare this to 1075 bytes for a domain not using ECDSA or DNSSEC white lies.

When you consider the fact that every other large-scale DNSSEC implementation relies on RSA signatures, it’s unappealing for an attacker to leverage our DNSSEC infrastructure as a DDoS vector.

Current State of ECDSA and DNSSEC

ECDSA solves major problems in DNSSEC, but it’s barely leveraged by the global DNSSEC community. We took a brief look at ECDSA adoption in the root DNS zone and the Alexa one million.

DNSSEC Security Algorithms in the Root Zone

First, we examined the root DNS zone to see which DNSSEC algorithms the top level domains are using. The following table shows the security algorithms specified by the DS records in the root zone file:

curl -s http://www.internic.net/domain/root.zone | awk '$4 == "DS" { print $6}' | sort -n | uniq -c

The Alexa One Million

We performed a similar analysis for the Alexa one million, which gives us a decent cross section of global Internet traffic:

Algorithm Number of DS records signed
1 (RSA/MD5) 1
3 (DSA/SHA1) 10
5 (RSA/SHA-1) 3322
7 (RSASHA1-NSEC3-SHA1) 5083
8 (RSA/SHA-256) 7003
10 (RSA/SHA-512) 201
13 (ECDSA Curve P-256 with SHA-256) 23

The most striking revelation is that only 15,643 of the 1,000,000 websites are DNSSEC-enabled in any capacity. Of that 1.5%, only 23 zones are signed with Algorithm 13. And, over half of those Algorithm 13 zones are behind the Cloudflare network. That means there’s less than a dozen zones in the Alexa one million using ECDSA outside of Cloudflare. This supports Roland van Rijswijk-Deij et al.’s findings that 99.99% of signed domains in .com, .net, and .org use RSA.

So, why is Algorithm 13 usage so low, especially given the fact that it solves such major problems in DNSSEC? Well, RSA was introduced with DNSSEC from the very beginning of the protocol. ECDSA is a new cryptographic algorithm, and resolvers, registrars, and registries are still catching up.

Drawbacks of ECDSA

ECDSA is not without its trade-offs. According to Roland van Rijswijk-Deij et al., only 80% of resolvers support ECDSA validation. This number is growing, but it means that if we switched the entire DNSSEC Internet onto ECDSA right now, DNSSEC validation would fail for millions of Internet users everyday and fall back to returning unverified DNS records.

Furthermore, while ECDSA signature creation is faster than RSA, signature validation is actually much slower. Roland van Rijswijk-Deij et al. showed that, even with the ECDSA optimizations that we contributed to OpenSSL, ECDSA is still 6.6 times slower than 1024-bit RSA (which is the most common algorithm used for zone-signing keys). This is a serious problem, because overloading DNS resolvers could potentially slow down the entire Internet.

Conclusion

There’s one very important caveat to all this Algorithm 13 discussion: only 1.5% of web properties support DNSSEC in any capacity. Not all registrars support DNSSEC, and adding support is not trivial. They need to allow their users to upload DS records, which, in turn, need to be uploaded to the registry by the registrar. We’re working to make this an automated process so the registrant doesn’t even need to upload the DS record, but it still requires intervention by the registrar.

The good news is, we’re trending in the right direction. Over the last 12 months, DNSSEC in general has seen a decent amount of growth. And, in the three weeks between our public DNSSEC beta and our Universal DNSSEC announcement, Hover, OVH, Metaname, Internet.bs, and the .NZ registry have added support for Algorithm 13.

We believe that DNSSEC is an essential technology for the modern web and that ECDSA makes global DNSSEC adoption a real possibility. Hopefully, we’ll continue seeing support for Algorithm 13 from registrars and registries, big and small.

Setting Up Cloudflare Is Easy

Set up a domain in less than 5 minutes. Keep your hosting provider. No code changes required.

Cloudflare Pricing

Everyone’s Internet application can benefit from using Cloudflare.
Pick a plan that fits your needs.

Free $ 0 /mo per website
Expand to see more
For personal websites, blogs, and anyone who wants to explore Cloudflare.

Learn More

The Free Plan includes all of these features:
  • Limited DDoS protection
  • Global CDN
  • Shared SSL certificate
  • 3 page rules
Compare all features
PRO $ 20 /mo per website
Expand to see more
For professional websites, blogs, and portfolios requiring basic security and performance.

Learn More

The Pro Plan includes all of these features:
  • Basic web application firewall (WAF) with Cloudflare rulesets
  • Image optimizations with Polish™
  • Mobile optimizations with Mirage™
  • I'm Under Attack™ mode
  • 20 page rules
Compare all features
BUSINESS $ 200 /mo per website
Expand to see more
For small eCommerce websites and businesses requiring advanced security and performance, PCI compliance, and prioritized support.

Learn More

The Business Plan includes all of these features:
  • Advanced DDoS protection
  • Advanced web application firewall (WAF) with 25 custom rulesets
  • Custom SSL certificate upload
  • PCI compliance thanks to TLS 1.2 only mode and WAF
  • Accelerate delivery of dynamic content with Railgun™
  • Prioritized support
  • 50 page rules
Compare all features
Enterprise contact us
Expand to see more
For companies requiring enterprise-grade security and performance, 24/7/365 emergency support, and guaranteed uptime across one or more Internet assets.

Learn More

The Enterprise Plan includes all of these features:
  • 24/7/365 enterprise-grade phone and email support
  • 100% uptime guarantee with 25x reimbursement SLA
  • Advanced DDoS protection with prioritized IP ranges
  • Advanced web application firewall (WAF) with unlimited custom rulesets
  • Multiuser role-based account access
  • Multiple custom SSL certificate uploads
  • Access to raw logs
  • Dedicated solution and customer success engineers
  • Access to China CDN points of presence (Additional Cost)
  • 100 page rules
Compare all features

Free

$ 0 / mo
 
For personal websites, blogs, and anyone who wants to explore Cloudflare.

Pro

$ 20 / mo
per domain
For professional websites, blogs, and portfolios requiring basic security and performance.
MOST POPULAR

Business

$ 200 / mo
per domain
For small eCommerce websites and businesses requiring advanced security and performance, PCI compliance, and prioritized support.

Enterprise

Contact Us
 
For companies requiring enterprise-grade security and performance, 24/7/365 emergency support, and guaranteed uptime across one or more Internet assets.