網域證券交易委員會根簽署儀式

根 DNS 區域包含有關如何查詢頂層網域 (TLD) 名稱伺服器 (.com、.edu、.org、等),使網際網路使用者能夠存取所有 TLD 中的網域,甚至是全新的網域,如 .software 和 .bank,使其成為全球網際網路不可或缺的一部分。

DNSSEC 的工作原理中,我們介紹了如何從父區域的 DS 資源記錄衍生出對 DNSSEC 的信任。但是,根 DNS 區域沒有父區域,於是我們如何信任其資訊的完整性和真實性呢?

official ceremony photo

照片提供:IANA

這就是根簽署儀式的目的—關於在接下來的幾個月中對根 DNS 區域的公開金鑰資訊進行簽署的嚴格程序。在此程序中使用的私有簽署金鑰實際上是整個受 DNSSEC 保護的網際網路的金鑰。圍繞存取此金鑰的公開、經過審核且嚴格控制的儀式是 DNSSEC 成功成為全球標準的必要條件。

8 月,Cloudflare 的工程經理及 ICANN 的加密人員 Ólafur Guðmundsson 參加了儀式。這些是他對根簽署儀式的反思。

dnssec logo

根簽署金鑰在哪裡?

有兩個地理位置不同的位置來保護根金鑰簽署金鑰:加利福尼亞州埃爾塞貢多和弗吉尼亞州庫爾佩珀。兩者都是安全設施,並且包含金鑰的備援副本。儀式在埃爾塞貢多與庫爾佩珀地點之間交替舉行。

典禮參與者

  • 典禮管理員
  • 內部見證人
  • 憑證保管庫控制器
  • 硬體保管庫控制器
  • 加密人員#1
  • 加密人員#2
  • 加密人員#3

這些參與者中的每一個都只能執行儀式的某些部分。他們的角色以一種確保一組陰謀者破壞根簽署金鑰的可能性小於 1:1,000,000 方式劃分,假設這些人之間的不誠實率為 5%(是的,這在規範中正式)。

誰持有金鑰的圖表

其中前四人是 ICANN 工作人員,而這三名加密人員是來自網際網路社群的受信任志願者。威瑞信也扮演著重要的角色,因為他們是根區域維護者,負責產生在儀式期間簽署的根區域簽署金鑰。此外,整個過程由兩家與威瑞信或 ICANN 均無關聯的四大稽核公司進行稽核。

典禮籌備

世界上只有 14 名可用的加密人員(每個地點有 7 名附屬人員),其中至少有三名必須參加儀式。因此,第一步是對加密人員進行民意調查,以找到一個為期兩天的視窗,其中 4-5 人可以參加。我們通常會嘗試找到一個超過最少三個的時間段,因為緊急情況或旅行問題可能會導致儀式取消。

最後一次儀式於 8 月 13 日在埃爾塞貢多工廠舉行。為了進入設施,我必須出示政府簽發的身份證,並出示我包裡的東西。繼而,我在襯衫上貼了一條身份證。然後,我等著 ICANN 工作人員護送我進去。為了進門,他必須刷一張門禁卡,把手放在掃描器上。

第一站是供應午餐的會議室。我們在那裡混在一起,等待其他儀式參與者到達。作為加密人員,大多數閒聊都圍繞著試圖竊取根簽署金鑰。我們認為只需要半個小時左右就可以在牆上炸出一個洞,然後帶著保管庫走出去。但是,這可能會使地震感測器跳閘,因此我們知道金鑰已損壞。

一旦每個人都出現,我們就被護送到儀式室,因為入口房間只有大約 8 人。在這個房間裡,我們在被允許進入主金鑰儀式室之前簽署一根日誌。要進入入口房間,ICANN 工作人員需要使用智慧卡;要進入主房間,需要對所述工作人員進行視網膜掃描。

一個人走進一個有兩個保管庫的房間...

儀式室的側面有一個機箱,裡面有兩個保管庫。這些保管庫存放儀式期間使用的所有敏感材料。機箱只能在儀式管理員和內部見證人在場的情況下進入。這是利用儀式管理員和內部見證人的第二張視網膜掃描和門禁卡強制執行。

圖中一個人走進一個有兩個保管庫的房間

但是,儀式管理員或內部見證人實際上都不能打開保管庫。為此,我們需要保管庫控制器

憑證保管庫

憑證保管庫控制器打開第一個保管庫,在裡面我們找到了幾個保管庫,每個保管庫都需要兩把金鑰。儀式管理員擁有其中一個金鑰,每個加密人員都有一個不同盒子的金鑰。儀式管理員和加密人員一起(在內部見證人和憑證保管庫控制器在場的情況下)打開三個保管庫。

繪製憑證保管庫圖

每個保管庫都包含一個操作員卡和一個硬體安全性模組 (HSM) 的安全性權限卡,我們將在下一節中討論。解鎖 HSM 需要三張操作員卡,這就是為什麼必須有三名加密人員參加儀式的原因。安全性權限卡僅在我們需要傳輸根簽署金鑰時使用,因此我們通常會將其保留在保管庫中。

兩張卡都存放在包裹在防拆封袋中的塑膠盒中(如果您還不能分辨,大部分儀式都圍繞著偵測犯規行為)。這些卡在不使用時會留在保管庫中,這意指最後一次有人接觸保管庫是在先前的根簽署儀式上。防拆封袋有助於確保保管庫在此期間沒有被改變。

塑膠箱也非常重要,因為有人發現可以透過在防拆封袋上戳針來操縱卡,這在檢查袋子時不一定顯而易見。這是關於儀式的安全性程序如何不斷發展的一個很好的例子。

防拆封袋

硬體保管庫

然後,硬體保管庫控制器進入保管庫室並打開第二個保管庫,其中包含防篡改硬體安全性模組 (HSM)。HSM 是專為處理敏感加密材料而設計的實體運算裝置。您可以將其視為根簽署金鑰的數位鎖盒。只能使用我們從憑證保管庫中收集的三個操作員卡進行取用。

繪製硬體保管庫圖

HSM 無法在沒有外部介面的情況下運作,因此硬體保管庫還包含一台特殊的攜帶型電腦,可以發送命令至 HSM。這台攜帶型電腦沒有電池,硬碟,甚至沒有時鐘備用電池,因此一旦拔下電源就無法儲存狀態。目標是消除根簽署金鑰在儀式結束後離開 HSM 的任何可能性。

現在,我們有了執行根簽署儀式的硬體。請注意,所有 7 名參與者都必須在場才能親自取用儀式的材料。同樣,我們的想法是將對 HSM 的取用與對啟動 HSM 的操作員卡的取用分開,使惡意共謀者的風險降至最低。

一個包含每個先前儀式日誌的 USB 和一張用於啟動攜帶型電腦的 DVD(都在他們自己的防拆封袋中)也從這個保管庫中取出。

設備設定

現在,我們已準備好執行實際的根簽署儀式。所有裝置都擺放在一張桌面上,可以看到所有出席者,以及用於稽核程序的攝影機。

三名加密人員一個接一個地被叫到桌旁,並要求交出他們從保管庫中取出的 HSM 操作員卡。在此之前,他們驗證防拆封袋是否與在上一次儀式結束時將其放入保管庫時的狀態相同。一旦他們交出,只有儀式管理員才能接觸卡片。

繪製設備設定圖

儀式管理員從 DVD 啟動攜帶型電腦,並初始化記錄儀式日誌的 USB。請記住,攜帶型電腦沒有備用時鐘電池,這意味著需要從儀式室的特殊掛鐘手動設定時間。這是自五年前第一次儀式以來使用的時鐘,此時鐘與世界其他地區完全隔離。此時鐘略有漂移,但這很好,因為僅用於日誌記錄目的。

根簽署儀式

儀式桌,設備設定前

接下來,儀式管理員需要通過將從加密人員收集的三張操作員卡放入機器中來啟動 HSM。然後,HSM 透過乙太網路電纜連接到攜帶型電腦。儀式管理員現在有權取用根簽署金鑰。

對根 DNS 金鑰進行簽署

有兩個地理位置不同的位置來保護根金鑰簽署金鑰:加利福尼亞州埃爾塞貢多和弗吉尼亞州庫爾佩珀。兩者都是安全設施,並且包含金鑰的備援副本。儀式在埃爾塞貢多與庫爾佩珀地點之間交替舉行。

圖表對根 DNS 金鑰進行簽署

攜帶型電腦/ HSM系統實體隔離,這意指它與任何可能不安全的電腦網路(例如網際網路)在實體上是隔離的。使用 USB 隨身碟是將資訊從外部世界移動到攜帶型電腦/ HSM 的唯一方法。因此,金鑰簽署請求透過 USB 載入到攜帶型電腦中。為確保正確對金鑰進行簽署,將運算金鑰簽署請求的 PGP 雜湊,威瑞信將驗證該雜湊是否與他們提供的雜湊相同。

最後,儀式管理員可以使用私密金鑰簽署金鑰對 KSR 進行簽署。他在命令提示符下輸入「Y」,儀式的戲劇性部分已經完成。結果是數位簽章的集合,在 DNSSEC 中也稱為 RRSIG 記錄,我們稍後將對此進行探討。

請注意,KSR 實際上包含區域簽署金鑰套件組合,這些金鑰每 15-16 天輪換一次。套件組合中有足夠的金鑰可以持續到三個月後的下一個根簽署儀式。

公共記錄

每一個微小的細節都由稽核員記錄下來並錄影,使整個儀式成為公開記錄的問題。如果整個受 DNSSEC 保護的網際網路要信任根名稱伺服器的簽章,這點至關重要。

此影片在儀式期間即時串流式傳輸,我們能夠即時追蹤有多少人觀看儀式。這次我們的觀眾人數創下了紀錄,可能是因為比以前的儀式宣傳得更好。我們甚至能夠讓參與者透過聊天室轉達觀眾的問題。我們對所有這些參與都感到非常高興。

記錄

在儀式結束時,日誌被列印出來,並交給房間內任何想要副本的人。威瑞信將獲得在 USB 隨身碟上設定的已簽署金鑰的複本,他們將在今年第 4 季度在根區域中使用這些已簽署的 DNSKEY RRset。所有材料都放回防拆封袋中,並放入各自的保險箱中。

讓我們看看簽署的金鑰!

有兩個地理位置不同的位置來保護根金鑰簽署金鑰:加利福尼亞州埃爾塞貢多和弗吉尼亞州庫爾佩珀。兩者都是安全設施,並且包含金鑰的備援副本。儀式在埃爾塞貢多與庫爾佩珀地點之間交替舉行。

深入探討dnskey +dnssec

這將向根 DNS 名稱伺服器請求 dnskey 記錄。回應的有趣部分應如下所示:

. 20868 IN DNSKEY 257 3 8 AwEAAagAIKlVZrpC6Ia7gEzahOR+9W29euxhJhVVLOyQbSEW0O8gcCjF FVQUTf6v58fLjwBd0YI0EzrAcQqBGCzh/RStIoO8g0NfnfL2MTJRkxoX bfDaUeVPQuYEhg37NZWAJQ9VnMVDxP/VHL496M/QZxkjf5/Efucp2gaD X6RS6CXpoY68LsvPVjR0ZSwzz1apAzvN9dlzEheX7ICJBBtuA6G3LQpz W5hOA2hzCTMjJPJ8LbqF6dsV6DoBQzgul0sGIcGOYl7OyQdXfZ57relS Qageu+ipAdTTJ25AsRTAoub8ONGcLmqrAmRLKBP1dfwhYB4N7knNnulq QxA+Uk1ihz0= . 20868 IN DNSKEY 256 3 8 AwEAAa67bQck1JjopOOFc+iMISFcp/osWrEst2wbKbuQSUWu77QC9UHL ipiHgWN7JlqVAEjKITZz49hhkLmOpmLK55pTq+RD2kwoyNWk9cvpc+tS nIxT7i93O+3oVeLYjMWrkDAz7K45rObbHDuSBwYZKrcSIUCZnCpNMUtn PFl/04cb . 20868 IN RRSIG DNSKEY 8 0 172800 20150913235959 20150830000000 19036 . QKU/YSUHNXa0coshORV2r8o0PWZ43dn/u1ml4DglqLXTi2WJh+OyMFgi w4Xc7cF4T8Eab5TLbwqDHOrE87fmvcdSgQQOVwYN6jwStHAliuEICs6X rd+sqanyyMpaynLI630k5PuuQVOWxHn/Hyn4yFN5MJoQG9Pz+gn8FjCB oNGs0vu1TQm2m6DSGfjRTd7tRIchXAbOUvEVVnDWaTNPX3c35xqoHlUZ Ta00N9FvKqEwZDjdR1e0BCaDLL/Pk+CRygzOyfSKiuULzKEecsp3jPYY nXfKZmTuMuaQNRmcyJD+WSFwi5XyRgqrnxWUYmFcum4zw1NXdyp0mlGO slQ6NQ==

第一條記錄是 HSM 中私密金鑰簽署金鑰的公共對應項,第二條記錄是威瑞信提供的區域簽署金鑰,第三條 RRSIG 記錄是我們在根簽署儀式期間建立的。如果沒有最後一個,全球 DNSSEC 系統將無法運作。

概述

根簽署儀式將根 DNS 名稱伺服器轉換為信任錨。信任不是從父區域衍生的,而是假定信任。整個儀式旨在加強這種信任。這是保護網際網路的一個非常人性化的方面:您可以信任根 DNS 伺服器的原因是因為您可以信任簽署的人。而且,您可以信任簽署它的人的原因是因為他們這樣做時遵循嚴格的通訊協定。這就是根簽署儀式的全部意義所在。

設定 Cloudflare 輕鬆簡單



在 5 分鐘內建立網域。保留您的代管提供者。無需更改程式碼。


深受數百萬網際網路資產的信賴

Logo mars trusted by gray
Logo loreal trusted by gray
Logo doordash trusted by gray
Logo garmin trusted by gray
Logo ibm trusted by gray
Logo 23andme trusted by gray
Logo shopify trusted by gray
Logo lending tree trusted by gray
Logo labcorp trusted by gray
Logo ncr trusted by gray
Logo thomson reuters trusted by gray
Logo zendesk trusted by gray

The DNSSEC Root Signing Ceremony

The root DNS zone contains information about how to query the top-level domain (TLD) name servers (.com, .edu, .org, etc). It enables Internet users to access domain names in all TLDs, even brand new ones like .software and .bank, making it an integral part of the global Internet.

In How DNSSEC Works, we explained how trust in DNSSEC is derived from the parent zone’s DS resource record. However, the root DNS zone has no parent, so how can we trust the integrity and authenticity of its information?

Photo courtesy of IANA

That’s the purpose of the Root Signing Ceremony—a rigorous procedure around signing the root DNS zone’s public keying information for the next few months. The private signing key used in this process is quite literally the key to the entire DNSSEC-protected Internet. A public, audited, and tightly controlled ceremony around accessing this key is a necessity for DNSSEC to succeed as a global standard.

Ólafur Guðmundsson, an engineering manager at Cloudflare and Crypto Officer at ICANN, participated in the ceremony this August. These are his reflections on the Root Signing Ceremony.

Where Is the Root-Signing Key?

There are two geographically distinct locations that safeguard the root key-signing key: El Segundo, CA and Culpeper, VA. Both are secure facilities, and they contain redundant copies of the key. The ceremony alternates between the El Segundo and Culpeper locations.

Ceremony Participants

  • The Ceremony Administrator
  • An Internal Witness
  • The Credentials Safe Controller
  • The Hardware Safe Controller
  • Crypto Officer #1
  • Crypto Officer #2
  • Crypto Officer #3

Each of these participants can only perform certain parts of the ceremony. Their roles are divided in a way that ensures less than a 1:1,000,000 chance that a group of conspirators could compromise the root-signing key, assuming a 5% dishonesty rate (yes, that’s formally in the specification) amongst these individuals.

The first four of these individuals are ICANN staff members, while the three crypto officers are trusted volunteers from the Internet community. Verisign also plays an important role, as they are the root zone maintainer responsible for generating the root zone-signing key that is signed during the ceremony. In addition, the entire procedure is audited by two Big Four auditing firms that are not associated with either Verisign or ICANN.

Ceremony Preparations

There are only 14 available Crypto Officers in the world (7 are affiliated with each location), and at least three of them must attend the ceremony. So, the first step is to poll the Crypto Officers to find a two-day window when 4-5 of them can attend. We usually try to find a period where more than the minimum three are available, as emergencies or travel problems can cause a ceremony cancellation.

The last ceremony took place on August 13th at the El Segundo facility. To get into the facility, I had to show a government issued ID and show the contents of my bag. In return, I got an ID strip attached to my shirt. Then, I waited for an ICANN staffer to escort me inside. To get through the door, he had to swipe an access card and place his hand on a scanner.

The first stop was a conference room where lunch was being served. We mingled there while waiting for the rest of the ceremony participants to arrive. Being Crypto Officers, most of the small talk revolved around trying to steal root-signing key. We figured it would only take a half hour or so to blast a hole in the wall and walk out with the safe; however, that would probably trip the seismic sensors, so we would know that the key was compromised.

Once everybody showed up, we were escorted to the ceremony room in small groups as the entrance room only holds about 8 people. In this room we sign a log before we are allowed into the main key ceremony room. To access the entrance room, an ICANN staff member needs to use a smart card; to enter the main room a retina scan is needed of said staffer.

A Guy Walks Into a Room with Two Safes…

The ceremony room has a cage on the side of it that contains two safes. These safes store all of the sensitive material used during the ceremony. The cage can only be entered in the presence of the Ceremony Administrator and an Internal Witness. This is enforced by a second retina scan and access cards from both the Ceremony Administrator and Internal Witness.

However, neither the Ceremony Administrator or Internal Witness can actually open the safes. For that, we need the Safe Controllers

The Credentials Safe

The Credentials Safe Controller opens the first safe, and inside we find several safe deposit boxes, each requiring two keys. The Ceremony Administrator has one of those keys, and each of the Crypto Officers has a key to a different box. Together (and in the presence of the Internal Witness and Credentials Safe Controller), the Ceremony Administrator and the Crypto Officers open three safe deposit boxes.

Each safe deposit box contains an operator card and a security permissions card for the Hardware Security Module (HSM), which we’ll discuss in the next section. Three operator cards are required to unlock the HSM, which is why three Crypto Officers must attend the ceremony. The security permissions cards are only used when we need to transfer the root-signing key, so we usually leave those in the safe deposit box.

Both cards are stored inside plastic cases wrapped in tamper-evident bags (most of the ceremony revolves around detecting foul-play, if you couldn’t tell already). These cards stay in the safe when not in use, which means the last time someone touched them was at the previous Root Signing Ceremony. The tamper-evident bags help ensure that they haven’t been altered in the interim.

The plastic cases are also very important, as someone discovered that it was possible to manipulate the cards by poking needles through the tamper evident bag, which would not necessarily be noticeable when inspecting the bag. This is a good example of how the security procedures around the ceremony are constantly evolving.

The Hardware Safe

The Hardware Safe Controller then enters the safe room and opens up the second safe, which contains a tamper-proof hardware security module (HSM). The HSM is a physical computing device designed specifically for working with sensitive cryptographic material. You can think of it as a digital lock-box for the root-signing key. It can only be accessed with the three operator cards that we collected from the credentials safe.

The Hardware Safe The Hardware Safe Controller then enters the safe room and opens up the second safe, which contains a tamper-proof hardware security module (HSM). The HSM is a physical computing device designed specifically for working with sensitive cryptographic material. You can think of it as a digital lock-box for the root-signing key. It can only be accessed with the three operator cards that we collected from the credentials safe. The HSM can’t be operated without an external interface, so the hardware safe also contains a special laptop that can send commands to the HSM. This laptop has no battery, hard disk, or even a clock backup battery, and thus can’t store state once it’s unplugged. The goal is to eliminate any possibility of the root-signing key leaving the HSM after the ceremony ends.

We now have the hardware to perform the Root Signing Ceremony. Notice that the presence of all 7 participants is required to physically access the materials for the ceremony. Again, the idea is to minimize the risk of malicious conspirators by separating access to the HSM from access to the operator cards that activate the HSM.

The Hardware Safe The Hardware Safe Controller then enters the safe room and opens up the second safe, which contains a tamper-proof hardware security module (HSM). The HSM is a physical computing device designed specifically for working with sensitive cryptographic material. You can think of it as a digital lock-box for the root-signing key. It can only be accessed with the three operator cards that we collected from the credentials safe. The HSM can’t be operated without an external interface, so the hardware safe also contains a special laptop that can send commands to the HSM. This laptop has no battery, hard disk, or even a clock backup battery, and thus can’t store state once it’s unplugged. The goal is to eliminate any possibility of the root-signing key leaving the HSM after the ceremony ends. We now have the hardware to perform the Root Signing Ceremony. Notice that the presence of all 7 participants is required to physically access the materials for the ceremony. Again, the idea is to minimize the risk of malicious conspirators by separating access to the HSM from access to the operator cards that activate the HSM. A USB containing logs from each of the prior ceremonies and a DVD used to boot the laptop (both in their own tamper-evident bags) are also removed from this safe.

Equipment Setup

We’re now ready to perform the actual Root Signing Ceremony. All of the equipment is laid out on a table in full view of all those attending, as well as the camera used to audit the proceedings.

One by one, each of the three Crypto Officers is called up to the table and asked to hand over the HSM operator card they took out of their safe deposit box. Before doing so, they verify that the tamper-evident bag is in the same condition as when they placed it in the safe deposit box at the end of the previous ceremony. Once they hand it over, only the Ceremony Administrator is allowed to touch the card.

The Ceremony Administrator boots the laptop from a DVD and initializes the USB that records the ceremony logs. Remember that the laptop has no clock battery backup, which means the time needs to be set manually from a special wall clock in the ceremony room. It’s the same clock used since the first ceremony five years ago, and it’s completely isolated from the rest of the world. It’s drifted slightly, but that’s fine, as it’s only used for logging purposes.

Ceremony table, before equipment setup

Next, the Ceremony Administrator needs to activate the HSM by placing the three operator cards collected from the Crypto Officers into the machine. Then, the HSM is connected to the laptop via ethernet cable. The Ceremony Administrator now has access to the root-signing key.

Signing the Root DNS Keys

There are two geographically distinct locations that safeguard the root key-signing key: El Segundo, CA and Culpeper, VA. Both are secure facilities, and they contain redundant copies of the key. The ceremony alternates between the El Segundo and Culpeper locations.

The laptop/HSM system is air-gapped, meaning it is physically isolated from any potentially insecure computer networks (e.g., the Internet). The only way to move information from the outside world into the laptop/HSM is via USB drive. Accordingly, the key-signing request is loaded into the laptop via USB. To ensure that the correct key is being signed, a PGP hash of the key-signing request is computed, and Verisign verifies that it is identical to the one they provided.

Finally, the Ceremony Administrator can sign the KSR with the private key-signing key. He enters “Y” on a command prompt, and the dramatic portion of the ceremony is complete. The result is a collection of digital signatures, otherwise known in DNSSEC as the RRSIG record, which we’ll explore in a moment.

Note that the KSR actually contains a bundle of zone-signing keys that are rotated out every 15-16 days. There are enough keys in the bundle to last until the next Root Signing Ceremony three months from now.

Public Record

Every tiny detail is recorded by auditors and videotaped, making the whole ceremony a matter of public record. This is crucial if the entire DNSSEC-protected Internet is to trust the root name servers’ signatures.

This video is streamed live during the ceremony, and we were able to track how many people were watching the ceremony in real time. We had a record-breaking number of viewers this time, probably due to better publicity than previous ceremonies. We were even able to have a participant relay questions from the audience via chatroom. We were very happy about all this engagement.

At the end of the ceremony, logs are printed out and given to anybody in the room that wants a copy. Verisign is given a copy of the signed key set on a USB stick, and they will use these signed DNSKEY RRsets in the root zone during Q4 this year. All materials are put back into tamper-evident bags and placed in their respective safes.

Let’s See Those Signed Keys!

There are two geographically distinct locations that safeguard the root key-signing key: El Segundo, CA and Culpeper, VA. Both are secure facilities, and they contain redundant copies of the key. The ceremony alternates between the El Segundo and Culpeper locations.

dig . dnskey +dnssec

This requests the dnskey records from the root DNS name servers. The interesting part of the response should look something like the following:

. 20868 IN DNSKEY 257 3 8 AwEAAagAIKlVZrpC6Ia7gEzahOR+9W29euxhJhVVLOyQbSEW0O8gcCjF FVQUTf6v58fLjwBd0YI0EzrAcQqBGCzh/RStIoO8g0NfnfL2MTJRkxoX bfDaUeVPQuYEhg37NZWAJQ9VnMVDxP/VHL496M/QZxkjf5/Efucp2gaD X6RS6CXpoY68LsvPVjR0ZSwzz1apAzvN9dlzEheX7ICJBBtuA6G3LQpz W5hOA2hzCTMjJPJ8LbqF6dsV6DoBQzgul0sGIcGOYl7OyQdXfZ57relS Qageu+ipAdTTJ25AsRTAoub8ONGcLmqrAmRLKBP1dfwhYB4N7knNnulq QxA+Uk1ihz0= . 20868 IN DNSKEY 256 3 8 AwEAAa67bQck1JjopOOFc+iMISFcp/osWrEst2wbKbuQSUWu77QC9UHL ipiHgWN7JlqVAEjKITZz49hhkLmOpmLK55pTq+RD2kwoyNWk9cvpc+tS nIxT7i93O+3oVeLYjMWrkDAz7K45rObbHDuSBwYZKrcSIUCZnCpNMUtn PFl/04cb . 20868 IN RRSIG DNSKEY 8 0 172800 20150913235959 20150830000000 19036 . QKU/YSUHNXa0coshORV2r8o0PWZ43dn/u1ml4DglqLXTi2WJh+OyMFgi w4Xc7cF4T8Eab5TLbwqDHOrE87fmvcdSgQQOVwYN6jwStHAliuEICs6X rd+sqanyyMpaynLI630k5PuuQVOWxHn/Hyn4yFN5MJoQG9Pz+gn8FjCB oNGs0vu1TQm2m6DSGfjRTd7tRIchXAbOUvEVVnDWaTNPX3c35xqoHlUZ Ta00N9FvKqEwZDjdR1e0BCaDLL/Pk+CRygzOyfSKiuULzKEecsp3jPYY nXfKZmTuMuaQNRmcyJD+WSFwi5XyRgqrnxWUYmFcum4zw1NXdyp0mlGO slQ6NQ==

The first record is the public counterpart to the private key-signing key in the HSM, the second is the zone-signing key provided by Verisign, and the third RRSIG record is what we created during the Root Signing Ceremony. Without that last one, the worldwide DNSSEC system wouldn’t work.

Summary

The Root Signing Ceremony turns the root DNS name servers into a trust anchor. Instead of trust being derived from a parent zone, trust is assumed. This whole ceremony is designed to reinforce that trust. It’s a very human side of securing the Internet: the reason you can trust the root DNS servers is because you can trust the people signing it. And, the reason you can trust the people signing it is because of the strict protocols they follow while doing so. That’s what the Root Signing Ceremony is all about.

Setting Up Cloudflare Is Easy

Set up a domain in less than 5 minutes. Keep your hosting provider. No code changes required.

Cloudflare Pricing

Everyone’s Internet application can benefit from using Cloudflare.
Pick a plan that fits your needs.

Free $ 0 /mo per website
Expand to see more
For personal websites, blogs, and anyone who wants to explore Cloudflare.

Learn More

The Free Plan includes all of these features:
  • Limited DDoS protection
  • Global CDN
  • Shared SSL certificate
  • 3 page rules
Compare all features
PRO $ 20 /mo per website
Expand to see more
For professional websites, blogs, and portfolios requiring basic security and performance.

Learn More

The Pro Plan includes all of these features:
  • Basic web application firewall (WAF) with Cloudflare rulesets
  • Image optimizations with Polish™
  • Mobile optimizations with Mirage™
  • I'm Under Attack™ mode
  • 20 page rules
Compare all features
BUSINESS $ 200 /mo per website
Expand to see more
For small eCommerce websites and businesses requiring advanced security and performance, PCI compliance, and prioritized support.

Learn More

The Business Plan includes all of these features:
  • Advanced DDoS protection
  • Advanced web application firewall (WAF) with 25 custom rulesets
  • Custom SSL certificate upload
  • PCI compliance thanks to TLS 1.2 only mode and WAF
  • Accelerate delivery of dynamic content with Railgun™
  • Prioritized support
  • 50 page rules
Compare all features
Enterprise contact us
Expand to see more
For companies requiring enterprise-grade security and performance, 24/7/365 emergency support, and guaranteed uptime across one or more Internet assets.

Learn More

The Enterprise Plan includes all of these features:
  • 24/7/365 enterprise-grade phone and email support
  • 100% uptime guarantee with 25x reimbursement SLA
  • Advanced DDoS protection with prioritized IP ranges
  • Advanced web application firewall (WAF) with unlimited custom rulesets
  • Multiuser role-based account access
  • Multiple custom SSL certificate uploads
  • Access to raw logs
  • Dedicated solution and customer success engineers
  • Access to China CDN points of presence (Additional Cost)
  • 100 page rules
Compare all features

Free

$ 0 / mo
 
For personal websites, blogs, and anyone who wants to explore Cloudflare.

Pro

$ 20 / mo
per domain
For professional websites, blogs, and portfolios requiring basic security and performance.
MOST POPULAR

Business

$ 200 / mo
per domain
For small eCommerce websites and businesses requiring advanced security and performance, PCI compliance, and prioritized support.

Enterprise

Contact Us
 
For companies requiring enterprise-grade security and performance, 24/7/365 emergency support, and guaranteed uptime across one or more Internet assets.