什么功能即服务 (FaaS)?

FaaS 是一种无服务器后端服务,允许开发人员即时编写模块化代码段,以便响应某些事件而执行。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

功能即服务

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义 FaaS
  • 探索 FaaS 的优点和缺点
  • 描述为什么大型边缘网络对 FaaS 应用程序性能至关重要

什么是功能即服务?

功能即服务(FaaS) 是在边缘执行模块化代码段的无服务器方法。FaaS 使开发人员可以即时编写和更新一段代码,然后在响应事件(例如用户单击 Web 应用程序中的元素)时执行该代码。这使得扩展代码变得容易,并且是实现微服务的一种经济高效的方法。

什么是微服务?

如果说 Web 应用程序是视觉艺术作品,那么使用微服务架构就像制作马赛克拼贴画。艺术家可以轻松地一次添加、更换和修复一小块瓷砖。单体架构就像在一块画布上绘出整个作品。

Microservices vs Monolithic Architecture

这种用一组模块化组件构建应用程序的方法称为微服务体系结构。将应用程序划分为微服务对开发人员而言很有吸引力,因为这意味着开发人员可以创建和修改可轻松实施到代码库中的小段代码。这与单体架构相反,在单体架构中,所有代码都交织到一个大型系统中。对于大型的单体系统,即使对应用程序进行很小的更改,也需要繁重的部署过程。FaaS 消除了这种部署复杂性。

使用 FaaS 等无服务器代码,Web 开发人员可以专注于编写应用程序代码,而无服务器提供商则负责服务器分配和后端服务。

使用 FaaS 有什么优势?

提高开发人员速度

使用 FaaS,开发人员可以将更多的时间花在编写应用程序逻辑上,而将更少的时间用于服务器和部署上。这通常意味着开发周期更短。

内置可扩展性

由于 FaaS 代码固有可扩展性,因此开发人员不必担心会因为高流量或大量使用而产生意外情况。无服务器提供商将处理所有扩展问题。

成本效益

与传统的云提供商不同,无服务器 FaaS 提供商不会向客户收取空闲计算时间的费用。因此,客户仅需对使用时间支付费用,而无需浪费金钱来过度配置云资源。

FaaS 的缺点是什么?

更少系统控制

由第三方管理基础设施的一部分会使您难以理解整个系统,并增加了调试挑战。

测试的复杂性提高

将 FaaS 代码合并到本地测试环境中可能非常困难,因此对应用程序进行全面测试会成为一项更加繁重的任务。

如何开始使用 FaaS

开发人员必须与无服务器提供商建立关系,方可将 FaaS 功能用于 Web 应用程序。由于 FaaS 集成意味着将从边缘传送一些应用程序代码,因此边缘服务器的可用性和地理分布是一个重要的考虑因素。意大利的用户访问依赖于巴西一个超载数据中心提供的 FaaS 边缘代码的站点时,会遇到导致高跳出率的延迟。Cloudflare Workers 是一个 FaaS 解决方案,它利用 Cloudflare 的全球网络(由 194 台边缘服务器组成),因此成为一个大受欢迎的选择。

What Is Function as a Service (FaaS)?

FaaS is a serverless backend service allowing developers to write modular pieces of code on the fly that can be executed in response to certain events.

Share

Function As a Service

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define FaaS
  • Explore the advantages and disadvantages of FaaS
  • Describe why a large edge network is essential to FaaS application performance

What is function as a service?

Function as a service (FaaS) is a serverless way to execute modular pieces of code on the edge. FaaS lets developers write and update a piece of code on the fly, which can then be executed in response to an event, such as a user clicking on an element in a web application. This makes it easy to scale code and is a cost-efficient way to implement microservices.

What are microservices?

If a web application were a work of visual art, using microservice architecture would be like making the art out of a collection of mosaic tiles. The artist can easily add, replace, and repair one tile at a time. Monolithic architecture would be like painting the entire work on a single piece of canvas.

Microservices vs Monolithic Architecture

This approach of building an application out of a set of modular components is known as microservice architecture. Dividing an application into microservices is appealing to developers because it means they can create and modify small pieces of code which can be easily implemented into their codebases. This is in contrast to monolithic architecture, in which all the code is interwoven into one large system. With large monolithic systems, even a minor changes to the application requires a hefty deploy process. FaaS eliminates this deploy complexity.

Using serverless code like FaaS, web developers can focus on writing application code, while the serverless provider takes care of server allocation and backend services.

What are the advantages of using FaaS?

Improved developer velocity

With FaaS, developers can spend more time writing application logic and less time worrying about servers and deploys. This typically means a much faster development turnaround.

Built-in scalability

Since FaaS code is inherently scalable, developers don’t have to worry about creating contingencies for high traffic or heavy use. The serverless provider will handle all of the scaling concerns.

Cost efficiency

Unlike traditional cloud providers, serverless FaaS providers do not charge their clients for idle computation time. Because of this, clients only pay for as much computation time as they use, and do not need to waste money over-provisioning cloud resources.

What are the drawbacks of FaaS?

Less system control

Having a third party manage part of the infrastructure makes it tough to understand the whole system and adds debugging challenges.

More complexity required for testing

It can be very difficult to incorporate FaaS code into a local testing environment, making thorough testing of an application a more intensive task.

How to get started with FaaS

Developers must create a relationship with a serverless provider in order to enable FaaS functionality for a web application. Since FaaS integration means some application code will be delivered from the edge, availability and geographical distribution of edge servers is an important consideration. A user in Italy accessing a site that relies on FaaS edge code served from an overloaded data center in Brazil will encounter the kind of delay that leads to high bounce rates. Cloudflare Workers is a FaaS solution that takes advantage of Cloudflare’s global network of over 155 edge servers, making it a popular choice.