什么是数据泄露?

数据泄露指公开敏感信息。很多类型的在线攻击的主要目标是引起数据泄露,以公开登录凭据和个人财务数据等信息。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

数据泄露

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义数据泄露
  • 描述几个数据泄露的示例
  • 了解防范数据泄露的策略

什么是数据泄露?

数据泄露指将机密信息、私人信息或其他敏感信息发布到不安全的环境中。数据泄露可能由意外引起,也可能是蓄意攻击的结果。

每年都有数百万人卷入数据泄露,包括意外看错病人图表的医生,以及破解政府计算机以获取军事机密的精英人员团队。

数据泄露

因为敏感数据不断地通过 Internet 传输,因此数据泄露是网络安全的主要问题。由于需要连续传输信息,攻击者可以在任何位置尝试对其选择的几乎任何个人或企业进行数据泄露攻击。

数据泄露有哪些常见示例?

  • 凭据丢失或被盗 - 在线查看私人数据的最简单方法是使用其他人的登录凭据登录服务。为此,攻击者采用一系列策略来获取人们的登录名和密码。其中包括蛮力攻击中间人攻击
  • 社会工程学攻击 - 社会工程学攻击指通过操纵人们的心理来诱使他们交出敏感信息。例如,攻击者可能冒充 IRS 代理打电话给受害者,试图说服他们透露其银行帐户信息。
  • 内部威胁 - 有权访问受保护信息的个人故意泄露相关数据,这通常是为了谋取私利。例如,餐厅服务员复制客户的信用卡号,高级政府雇员将机密出售给其他国家。
  • 针对大型公司的攻击 - 由于大型公司提供大量有效负载,因此是数据泄露攻击者的主要目标。这些有效负载包括数百万用户的个人和/或财务信息,例如登录凭据和信用卡号。这些数据都可以在黑市上转售。
  • 实体销售点攻击 - 这些攻击旨在获取信用卡和借记卡信息,最常见的方式是通过扫描和读取这些卡的设备来发动攻击。例如,有人可能会安装假的 ATM 机,甚至将扫描仪安装到合法的 ATM 机上,以期收集卡号和密码。
  • 凭据欺诈 - 某个用户的登录凭据泄露后,攻击者可能会尝试再用这些凭据登录许多其他的平台。如果该用户使用相同的用户名和密码登录多种服务,则攻击者可能会访问受害者的电子邮件、社交媒体和/或在线银行帐户。

现实世界中的数据泄露是怎样的?

近年来最著名的一起数据泄露事件是 2013 年 Target 遭受的网络攻击。由于这次攻击使用的策略组合非常复杂,因此至今仍受到广泛讨论。它涉及社会工程学攻击、劫持第三方供应商,以及对实体销售点设备发起大规模攻击。

攻击者通过网络钓鱼诈骗发起攻击,钓鱼的对象是与 Target 签约、为其商店提供空调制冷设备的一家空调公司的雇员。这些空调连接到 Target 网络的计算机上以监控能源使用情况。为了进入 Target 系统,攻击者入侵了这家空调公司的软件。最终,攻击者得以对 Target 商店中的信用卡扫描程序重新编程,使之向攻击者提供客户信用卡数据。这些扫描仪未联网,但经过编程可以定期将保存的信用卡数据转存到攻击者监控的访问点中。这次攻击取得了巨大的成功,导致大约 1.1 亿目标客户的数据被泄露。

如何防止数据泄露?

由于数据泄露有多种形式,没有单一的解决方案可以阻止数据泄露,因此需要一种整体方法。使用常识性的数据安全方法可以避免许多类型的数据泄露。比如,不针对可疑的供应商使用信用卡,为在线服务选择唯一的长密码,这些做法可以阻止一些最简单和最常见的数据泄露攻击。为软件安装最新的安全修补程序,并使用防病毒和恶意软件阻止程序等安全软件,也将有助于防范数据泄露。

雇主可以通过确保其雇员仅具有完成其工作所需的最小访问权限,来防止数据泄露。公司还可以制定一个应对数据泄露的响应计划,以便尽量减少或遏制信息泄漏。

企业还应使用 SSL/TLS 加密技术为其网站加密,以保护客户数据。此外,WAF 可以保护企业免受旨在造成数据泄露的多种应用程序攻击。实际上,根据推测,如果 Equifax 能正确配置 WAF,就可以避免 2017 年遭受的重大数据泄露攻击。

What Is A Data Breach?

Data Breach

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define a data breach
  • Describe several examples of data breaches
  • Explore strategies to mitigate data breaches

What is a data breach?

A data breach is the release of confidential, private, or otherwise sensitive information into an unsecured environment. A data breach can occur accidentally, or as the result of a deliberate attack.

Millions of people are affected by data breaches every year, and they can range in scope from a doctor accidentally looking at the wrong patient’s chart, to a team of elite agents cracking government computers to uncover military secrets.

Data breaches are a major concern for cyber-security because sensitive data is constantly being transmitted over the Internet. This continuous transfer of information makes it possible for attackers in any location to attempt data breaches on almost any person or business they choose.

What are some common examples of a data breach?

  • Lost or stolen credentials - The simplest way to view private data online is by using someone else’s login credentials to sign into a service. To that end, attackers employ a litany of strategies to get their hands on people’s logins and passwords. These include brute force attacks and man-in-the-middle attacks.
  • Social engineering attacks - Social engineering involves using psychological manipulation to trick people into handing over sensitive information. For example, an attacker may pose as an IRS agent and call victims on the phone in an attempt to convince them to share their bank account information.
  • Insider Threats - These involve people who have access to protected information deliberately exposing that data, often for personal gain. Examples include a restaurant server copying customers’ credit card numbers as well as high-level government employees selling secrets to foreign states.
  • Attacks on large companies - Major corporations are prime targets for attackers attempting to cause data breaches because they offer such a large payload. This payload can include millions of users’ personal and/or financial information, such as login credentials and credit card numbers. This data can all be resold on the black market.
  • Physical point-of-sale attacks - These attacks target credit and debit card information and most often involve the devices that scan and read these cards. For example someone could set up a fake ATM machine or even install a scanner onto a legitimate ATM machine in hopes of gathering card and pin numbers.
  • Credential fraud - After someone’s login credentials are exposed, an attacker may try re-using those same credentials on dozens of other platforms. If that user logs in with the same username and password on multiple services, the attacker may gain access to the victim’s email, social media, and/or online banking accounts.

What does a real-world data breach look like?

One of the most notorious data breaches in recent years was the cyber-attack launched against Target in 2013. This attack is still widely discussed because the combination of strategies used to pull it off was so sophisticated. It involved a social engineering attack, the hijacking of a third-party vendor, and an large-scale attack on physical point-of-sale devices.

The attack was initiated with a phishing scam that went after employees of an air-conditioning company that Target was contracting with to provide air conditioning units to cool their stores. These air conditioners were linked to computers on Target’s network to monitor energy usage, and the attackers hacked the air-conditioning company’s software to gain access to the Target system. Eventually the attackers were able to reprogram credit-card scanners in Target stores to provide attackers with customer credit card data. These scanners were not connected to the internet, but were programmed to periodically dump saved credit card data into an access point monitored by the attackers. The attack was overwhelmingly successful and led to an estimated 110 million target customers having their data compromised.

How can data breaches be prevented?

Since data breaches come in so many forms, there is no single solution to stop data breaches and a holistic approach is required. Many types of data breaches can be avoided with a common sense approach to data security. Practices such as not using credit cards with suspicious vendors and choosing long, unique passwords for online services will stop some of the easiest and most common data breach attacks. Keeping software up to date with security patches and using security software such as antivirus and malware blockers will also help mitigate data breaches.

Employers can help combat data breaches by ensuring that their employees only have the minimum amount of access and permissions necessary to do their jobs. It is also a good idea for a company to prepare a response plan to be executed in the case of a data breach, with a goal of minimizing or containing the leak of information.

Business should also encrypt their websites using SSL/TLS encryption to protect their customers’ data. In addition, a WAF can protect a business from several types of application attacks that aim to create data breaches. In fact, it’s speculated that a properly-configured WAF would have prevented the major data breach attack on Equifax in 2017.