OkCupid

OkCupid helps people find love, while Cloudflare bullet-proofs its infrastructure

OkCupid, das oft als Google des Online-Datings bezeichnet wird, erhebt seinen algorithmischen Zauberstab und verhilft Millionen von Menschen dazu, sich online zu verbinden und Liebe zu finden. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Dating-Sites stellt OkCupid seine Kernfunktionalität immer kostenlos zur Verfügung. Die Webseite verfügt über ein umfangreiches Profil- und Zuordnungssystem. Das Unternehmen hat sich schnell als Rivale der anderen Online-Dating-Webseiten entpuppt und eine davon – Match.com – übernahm OkCupid im Jahr 2011. Mit 10 Millionen aktiven Benutzern und mehr als einer Million App-Installationen pro Woche ist OkCupid ein Lieblingsziel von Menschen, die online nach Liebe suchen.

80% Savings in Operating Costs by utilizing Cloudflare's technology to reduce servers needed

An Online Match That Just Works

OkCupid first started using Cloudflare to shield its website from online threats and to ensure strong security and high availability for its growing user base. “We were exploring security solutions, and Cloudflare’s name bubbled to the top of the list,” says Alex Dumitriu, VP of Operations at OkCupid. “We liked that Cloudflare is a nimble, fast-moving company that matches our company’s ethos.”

OkCupid nutzte die integrierten Cloudflare-Performance- und Sicherheitslösungen und das weltweit verteilte Netzwerk der Rechenzentren in 275 Städten. Neben dem robusten Sicherheitsschutz profitierte das Unternehmen von verbesserten Ladezeiten für Seiten: In den USA erfuhren Benutzer an der Westküste eine Reduzierung der Ladezeiten von Seiten um 30 %, in Großbritannien um 50 % – eine dramatische Verbesserung für die britische Nutzerbasis. Sowohl die Website- als auch die Mobilnutzer haben diese Verbesserungen erfahren.

Außerdem profitierte OkCupid von Geschwindigkeitsoptimierungen für den dynamischen Inhalt. Cloudflare verbesserte die API-Reaktionszeit, da SSL-Handshakes näher bei den Endbenutzern durchgeführt wurden. Darüber hinaus konnte OkCupid mit der Hilfe von Cloudflare einen langsamen TCP-Start vermeiden, da Verbindungen zwischen der Cloudflare Edge und OkCupids Ursprung wiederverwendet wurden.

Neben dem schnelleren Laden der Seiten verzeichnete OkCupid dank der Caching-Funktionen von Cloudflare, insbesondere für Bilder – welche viel Bandbreite verbrauchen –, Einsparungen von fast 80 % bei der Bandbreitenrechnung im Vergleich zum direkten Ursprung.

„Letzten Endes wechselten wir von Akamai zu Cloudflare, um die integrierten Performance- und Sicherheitslösungen von Cloudflare zu nutzen“, so Dumitriu. „Das Team leistete hervorragende Unterstützung – kurzfristig und mitten in der Nacht. Aufgrund dieser Unterstützung, kombiniert mit der innovativen Technologie und ausgezeichneten Preisgestaltung, ist Cloudflare ein perfekter Geschäftspartner für uns.“

OkCupid
Wichtigste Ergebnisse

100 % sauberer Traffic

80 % sparsamere Bandbreitennutzung

50 % schnelleres Laden der Seiten in Großbritannien

Dank der Kombination einer technisch versierten und flinken Firma in Verbindung mit hervorragenden Preisen und Technologien war Cloudflare der perfekte Geschäftspartner.

Alex Dumitriu
VP of Operations

OkCupid

OkCupid helps people find love, while Cloudflare bullet-proofs its infrastructure

Key Results
100% clean traffic
80% bandwidth savings
50% faster page load times in the United Kingdom

Often referred to as the Google of online dating, OkCupid works its algorithmic magic to help millions of people connect online and find love. Unlike other dating sites, OkCupid’s core functionality is always free, and the site boasts a rich profile and matching system. The company has quickly risen to rival the superiority of other online dating sites, one of which – Match.com – acquired OkCupid in 2011. Today, with 10 million active users and over one million app installs per week, OkCupid is a favorite destination for people looking to find love online.

80%
Savings in operating costs
by utilizing Cloudflare’s technology to reduce servers needed
An Online Match That Just Works

OkCupid first started using Cloudflare to shield its website from online threats and to ensure strong security and high availability for its growing user base. “We were exploring security solutions, and Cloudflare’s name bubbled to the top of the list,” says Alex Dumitriu, VP of Operations at OkCupid. “We liked that Cloudflare is a nimble, fast-moving company that matches our company’s ethos.”

OkCupid took advantage of Cloudflare’s integrated performance and security solutions, and its globally distributed network (86 data centers as of August 2016). In addition to the robust security protection, the company benefited from improved page load times: in the United States, users on the West Coast experienced a 30% improvement in page load times, and in the United Kingdom, Cloudflare cut page load times by 50%—a dramatic improvement for its UK user base. Both website and mobile users experienced these improvements.

OkCupid also experienced speed optimizations to its dynamic content. Cloudflare improved the API response time by performing SSL handshakes closer to end users. Moreover, Cloudflare helped OkCupid avoid TCP slow start by reusing connections between Cloudflare’s edge and OkCupid’s origin.

In addition to faster page load times, OkCupid saved nearly 80% on its bandwidth bill compared to direct to origin by taking advantage of Cloudflare’s caching capabilities, especially for images—one of the main assets that consume large amount of bandwidth.

“Eventually we transitioned away from Akamai to take advantage of Cloudflare’s integrated performance and security solutions,” said Dumitriu. “ We’ve had incredible support from their team on short notices and at all hours of the night. That type of support, combined with their innovative technology and excellent pricing, made them a perfect business partner for us.”

Related Case Studies

“The combination of technically adept and nimble company paired with excellent pricing and set of technologies made Cloudflare the perfect business partner.”

-Alex Dumitriu VP of Operations