早稻田大學

Waseda University realized stable web service even during cyberattacks with maintenance-free and cost effective Cloudflare WAF service

早稻田大學將於 2032 年慶祝建校 150 週年,為此制定了「早稻田視野 150」作為中長期計畫,以鞏固其作為亞洲最負盛名的大學之一的地位。為了實現該計畫,早稻田大學的 IT 策略部盡可能發揮電腦化的價值、加速實施所有措施 (例如遷移到雲端) 以及加強安全性措施,以確定要實現的目標和應採取的措施。

The Situation and Challenge

IT 策略部副行政總監、IT 策略科行政總監 Tomohiro Takahashi 說:「早稻田大學資訊規畫部已將管理改革、加強協作、災難控制措施和安全性作為我們的首要任務,這使得擁有可靠性始終如一的高效能網站和應用程式變得至關重要。」

Complicated on-premise management in rapidly changing environment and high workloads under cyberattacks

當早稻田大學舉辦重大活動,例如大學入學考試或開放校園期間,網路峰值流量也會逐年增加。過去的早稻田大學網站基於內部部署解決方案,曾遭受過隨機的 DDoS 攻擊,導致訪客抱怨回應時間很慢。為了查清造成問題的根本原因並加以解決,IT 員工被迫工作到深夜或在週末加班。由於正常存取和峰值存取期間的伺服器負載存在很大的差距,不僅造成開發成本高昂,而且伺服器的規模調整也非常困難。由於所有設施均為內部部署,當遭到地震等災害破壞時無法繼續提供服務,因此,迫切需要採取防災措施。早稻田大學的團隊開始相信,使用雲端或託管服務替代現有的內部部署方法,可以快速、合乎成本效益地開發出符合客戶要求的新服務。

Reasons for Selection

Fully integrated, rich feature set on a massive platform

"Cloudflare delivers all the functionality on one, integrated platform and covers everything we want to do," said Tomohiro Takahashi. Cloudflare’s network spans more than 200 cities in over 100 countries, including 16 cities in mainland China, and Cloudflare delivers all functions on each point-of-presence (PoP) including CDN (Content Delivery Network), WAF (Web Application Firewall), DDoS mitigation and Bot mitigation. As a result, the Cloudflare network handles user traffic quickly and securely and, in addition, customers can easily configure, manage and use all functionalities as a service. As Waseda University also accepts students from overseas, it was necessary to deliver stable web services to China users as well.

Simple pricing structure and flat rate

Cloudflare pricing is mainly based on the total amount of traffic and number of target TLDs (Top Level Domains) such as ‘.jp’ or ‘.com’. This contrasts with other CDN vendors whose price is based on number of target subdomains, not TLDs. “Budgeting is difficult for us, since the University has all kinds of education and research projects which effect website utilization and can increase or decrease the number of subdomains accordingly. Cloudflare’s pricing structure is very simple, allowing us to plan a budget with peace of mind,” continued Tomohiro Takahashi. In addition, when a customer is attacked by DDoS, other vendors may charge for attack traffic. Cloudflare does not charge for such burst traffic as its service is provided at a flat rate.

Everything we need is offered as an all-in-one package at low cost

「在多個階段的供應商選擇過程中,我們對比了幾家 CDN 供應商。Cloudflare 陸續推出了令人興奮的新功能,是很有影響力的供應商。Cloudflare 的合作夥伴 GlobalDots 提供了可儲存和分析 3 個月以上原始資料的服務。我們堅信,透過選擇 Cloudflare 和 GlobalDots,我們將能夠以多合一軟體套件形式提供我們所需的功能,包括營運和事件支援以及長期記錄分析。

Cloudflare Solutions

Service stability and easier operations

Hitoshi Kusunoki 解釋道:「生產階段是在試用的幾個月之後開始。為避免誤判,我們使用 WAF 策略選項中包含的模擬功能來檢查實際流量下新 WAF 策略的行為。WAF 策略採用預設策略,我們發現這很容易設定。如果我們需要自訂簽章,則一旦我們從平台發送請求,Cloudflare 馬上就會將其反映在平台上,並且幾乎無需維護即可操作。過去,曾有使用者詢問為什麼在大型活動 (例如開放校園) 期間 Web 存取速度非常慢。但在安裝了 Cloudflare 之後,我們再也沒有聽到過這樣的抱怨。」Tomohiro Takahashi 總結:「透過採用 Cloudflare,服務穩定性得到了增強,操作變得更加容易。」

Expectation for Cloudflare

Hitoshi Kusunoki 提到:「Cloudflare 的最初目標範圍包括 2 個網站:一個是擁有最大使用者存取量的早稻田大學主網站,另一個是早稻田大學資訊規畫部使用的網站。伴隨初期實施的成功,範圍已擴展到其他網站,包括早稻田大學的學習管理系統 (LMS)。GlobalDots 將最佳化 WAF 策略以保護 LMS 網站。我們考慮增加更多伺服器來處理不斷增長的使用者存取請求。但是,藉由 Cloudflare,我們可以將伺服器使用率降低近一半。結果有望進一步降低成本。」

此外,下個階段是將網頁伺服器遷移到雲端,為此,早稻田大學正計畫採取措施,利用 Cloudflare 的 DNS 防火牆來減少跨越整個系統的災難。擁有主網頁伺服器實際 DNS 記錄的權威 DNS 伺服器目前正在內部部署環境中執行,並且很難在不影響服務的情況下遷移到雲端模型。Cloudflare DNS 防火牆快取來自權威 DNS 伺服器的 DNS 回應,如果權威 DNS 伺服器出現故障,則 DNS 防火牆將繼續透過使用快取的回應來提供 DNS 服務,直到 DNS 伺服器重新上線。

「Cloudflare 接連推陳出新,例如推出 Cloudflare Access,使學生或教授無需代理程式即可安全地存取內部 Web 資源,如內部網路。或 Cloudflare Magic Transit,這透過 BGP 分配早稻田大學擁有的全球 IP 位址集區,並為內部部署和雲端平台提供網路攻擊保護。我們期待聽到更多有關 Cloudflare 創新和新解決方案的消息。」Hitoshi Kusunoki 總結道。

合作夥伴:
相關案例研究
主要成效
  • 將伺服器負載減少一半,並且無需調整伺服器規模

  • 零使用者投訴,且具有自動保護功能

  • 快速部署服務,初始成本為零

我們堅信,透過選擇 Cloudflare 和 GlobalDots,我們將能夠以多合一軟體套件形式提供我們所需的功能,包括營運和事件支援以及長期記錄分析。


IT 策略部

Waseda University

Waseda University realized stable web service even during cyberattacks with maintenance-free and cost effective Cloudflare WAF service

Waseda University, which will celebrate the 150th anniversary of its founding in 2032, formulated the "WASEDA VISION 150" as its medium-and-long-term plan to build a firm position as one of Asia's most prestigious universities. To realize this plan, the University’s IT Strategies Division determines goals and measures to be achieved by maximizing the value of computerization, by accelerating implementation of all measures such as migration to the cloud, and by strengthening security measures.

The Situation and Challenge

“Waseda University’s Information Planning Department has stipulated management reforms, collaboration enhancement, disaster control measures, and security as our top priorities, which makes having consistently reliable, high-performing websites and applications essential,” stated Tomohiro Takahashi, Associate Administrative Director, IT Strategies Division Administrative Director, IT Strategies Section.

Complicated on-premise management in rapidly changing environment and high workloads under cyberattacks

The amount of peak web traffic increases year by year as Waseda University hosts significant events such as university admissions tests or open campus sessions. In the past, Waseda’s website, built on on-premise solutions, has experienced random DDoS attacks causing visitors to complain about slow response times. To investigate the root cause and resolve the issue, IT staff was forced to work late into the night or on weekends. Not only was development cost high, but also server sizing was very difficult since there was a big gap of server load between normal access and peek access. Disaster control measures were also urgently needed since all facilities were provided on-premise and would be unable to keep serving when damaged by disasters such as earthquakes. Waseda University’s team came to believe that new services qualified with customer requirements could be quickly and more cost-effectively developed using a cloud or managed service as a replacement to its existing on-premise approach.

Reasons for Selection

Fully integrated, rich feature set on a massive platform

"Cloudflare delivers all the functionality on one, integrated platform and covers everything we want to do," said Tomohiro Takahashi. Cloudflare’s network spans more than 200 cities in over 100 countries, including 16 cities in mainland China, and Cloudflare delivers all functions on each point-of-presence (PoP) including CDN (Content Delivery Network), WAF (Web Application Firewall), DDoS mitigation and Bot mitigation. As a result, the Cloudflare network handles user traffic quickly and securely and, in addition, customers can easily configure, manage and use all functionalities as a service. As Waseda University also accepts students from overseas, it was necessary to deliver stable web services to China users as well.

Simple pricing structure and flat rate

Cloudflare pricing is mainly based on the total amount of traffic and number of target TLDs (Top Level Domains) such as ‘.jp’ or ‘.com’. This contrasts with other CDN vendors whose price is based on number of target subdomains, not TLDs. “Budgeting is difficult for us, since the University has all kinds of education and research projects which effect website utilization and can increase or decrease the number of subdomains accordingly. Cloudflare’s pricing structure is very simple, allowing us to plan a budget with peace of mind,” continued Tomohiro Takahashi. In addition, when a customer is attacked by DDoS, other vendors may charge for attack traffic. Cloudflare does not charge for such burst traffic as its service is provided at a flat rate.

Everything we need is offered as an all-in-one package at low cost

“We compared several CDN vendors as part of a multi-phased vendor selection process. Cloudflare has launched new and exciting features one after another and is an influential vendor. Cloudflare’s partner, GlobalDots, offered a service which can store and analyze raw data for more than 3 months. We were convinced that by selecting Cloudflare and GlobalDots, we would be able to deliver our required functionalities, including operation and incident support and long-term log analyzing as an all-in-one package,” explained Hitoshi Kusunoki, Project Leader, IT Strategies Division at Waseda University.

Cloudflare Solutions

Service stability and easier operations

“The production phase started a few months after the trial. To avoid a false positive, we used simulation functionality included in WAF policy options to check the behavior of the new WAF policy with actual traffic. WAF policies are provided by default and we found them very easy to configure. If we need a custom signature, as soon as we send a request from the platform, it will be reflected on the platform by Cloudflare and can be operated almost maintenance-free. In the past, there were inquiries from users that web access was extremely slow at large events such as open campus. However, we never heard such complaints again after Cloudflare was installed,” explained Hitoshi Kusunoki. "By using Cloudflare, service stability has been strengthened and operations have become much easier,” concluded Tomohiro Takahashi.

Expectation for Cloudflare

“The initial target scope of Cloudflare was 2 websites: the main website of Waseda University that has the greatest user access, and the website used by the University’s Information Planning Department. With the success of the initial implementations, the scope has been expanded to other websites including the University’s Learning Management System (LMS). GlobalDots will optimize WAF policies for LMS website protection. We considered adding more servers to handle the ever-increasing number of user access requests. With Cloudflare, however, we could reduce the server usage to almost half. As the result, further cost reduction could be expected,” mentioned Hitoshi Kusunoki.

In addition, as the next stage of migrating web servers to the cloud, Waseda University is planning to take measures to reduce disasters across the entire system by utilizing Cloudflare's DNS Firewall. The authoritative DNS servers that hold the actual DNS records of main web servers are currently running on an on-premise environment, and it is difficult to move to a cloud model without service impact. Cloudflare DNS firewall caches the DNS response from the authoritative DNS servers, and if an authoritative DNS server goes down, the DNS firewall continues to provide DNS service by using the cached response until the DNS server comes back online.

"Cloudflare has launched one innovation after another such as Cloudflare Access, which allows students or professors to securely access internal web resources such as the intranet without an agent. Or Cloudflare Magic Transit, which distributes the global IP address pool held by Waseda University via BGP and provides cyberattack protection for on-premise and cloud platforms. We look forward to hearing of more Cloudflare innovations and new solutions to come." concludes Hitoshi Kusunoki.

Waseda University
In Partnership With
Key Results
  • Reduced server loads by half and no need for server sizing

  • Zero complaints from users with automated protection

  • Rapid service deployment with zero initial cost

We were convinced that by selecting Cloudflare and GlobalDots, we would be able to deliver our required functionalities, including operation and incident support and long-term log analyzing as an all-in-one package.


IT Strategies Division