Chrono24

Chrono24 通过在 Cloudflare 麾下实现整合来节省资金、提升网站性能和提高安全性

自 2003 年以来,Chrono24 一直经营着全球最大的在线豪华手表市场之一。该公司的移动应用程序拥有超过 500 万用户。Chrono24 桌面市场可通过 46 个区域化的顶级域名访问,提供 22 种语言的内容,每天吸引超过一百万的访问者。这些访问者平均每天可以浏览来自 120 个以上国家/地区的 3,000 多家专业经销商和私人卖家在线出售的 475,000 种以上的豪华手表。

挑战:以前的性能和安全供应商提供的性能很差且服务不佳

在与 Cloudflare 合作之前,Chrono24 从 EdgeCast 订阅了内容交付网络(CDN)解决方案,并从另一家供应商那里购买了 DDoS 防护和 Web 应用程序防火墙(WAF)。

CDN 的效果很差,尤其是对于日本和澳大利亚的用户,延迟非常大。Chrono24 对其安全供应商的性能和客户服务也非常不满意。两种产品拖慢了 Chrono24 网站和应用程序的速度,而且技术总监 Sven Ferber 认为,该供应商提供的分析手段无助于监控或缓解威胁。

“当我们遇到问题时,客服代表根本起不了什么作用,而且这种事经常发生。他们不断告诉我们问题出在我们身上,而实际上这些问题是由他们的产品引起的。” Ferber 回忆说。“此外,他们提供的统计数据和见解的质量也很差。我们对安全威胁或攻击的透明度为零。”

Ferber 还认为雇用两个供应商的成本太高了。他决定将性能和安全整合到同一个供应商旗下,由其提供快速可靠的 CDN、WAF 和 DDoS 防护措施,以保护和加速其网站和移动应用程序。

解决方案:Cloudflare 在整合解决方案的同时提供卓越的性能和服务

Ferber 选择了 Cloudflare 的核心性能和安全软件包,其中包括 Cloudflare 的全球分布式 CDN、WAF 和 DDoS 防护服务。Cloudflare 的客户服务和易用性给他留下了深刻的印象。

他回忆说:“建立我们的 Cloudflare 解决方案一点也不复杂。”“在入门阶段,Cloudflare 为我们提供了大量文档和支持。与以往的经验相比,部署非常简单。Cloudflare 的解决方案工程师使用我们之前供应商提供的数据来设置 CDN,这对我们来说效果确实非常好。我们对 WAF 的细节有一些疑问。我们不确定它会对我们的网站产生什么影响,但是 Cloudflare 的工程师向我们解释了每件事情,并且效果非常好。”

他继续说道:“Cloudflare 的标准规则阻止了绝大多数威胁。”“对于 Cloudflare 未能捕获的少数威胁,我们很容易针对其设置自定义 WAF 规则。”

部署了 Cloudflare 之后,Chrono24 的站点速度立即获得提高。“我们的所有站点在全球范围内的运行速度都变得更快,但在日本和澳大利亚,这种改进尤为明显,因为那里是我们遇到的最大问题所在,” Ferber 解释说。“日本的网站速度同比加快了 35%。在 Cloudflare 之前平均页面下载时间为 4.2 秒;现在是 2 秒。”

Ferber 对 Cloudflare 的 WAF 和 DDoS 保护也感到满意。Cloudflare 每月可以阻止大约 140 万次威胁,Ferber 及其团队可以访问到具有独到见解,且可操作性强的安全分析。他说:“Cloudflare 使我们的网络安全更加易于管理。”“以前,我们缺乏对潜在威胁的可视性。Cloudflare 的安全分析仪表板为我们提供了完全的透明度。我们可以看到对我们网站和应用程序的所有安全威胁。”

除了性能和安全性改进之外,Cloudflare 还为 Chrono24 节省资金。“由于我们将性能和安全性整合到一个供应商身上,因此我们的基本成本要低得多。我估计我们将花费大约三分之一的费用。”Ferber 表示。

Ferfla 对 Cloudflare 的客户服务也印象深刻。“我们成为 Cloudflare 的客户大约 9 个月了,而且自从我们首次完成所有设置以来,现已不再需要请求支持。太神奇了;它绝对说明服务质量和易用性。即使一家公司拥有出色的客户支持,但遇到问题就一个劲打电话给他们也不是一件好事。”

他继续说道:“与 Cloudflare 合作是一次很棒的经历。”“他们绝对满足了我们对性能、安全性和客户支持的期望。将所有安全性和性能需求改由一个供应商基于一种基础架构提供,对于 Chrono24 来说是巨大的财务优势和后勤优势。如果我们需要更多的安全和性能服务,我们一定会求助于 Cloudflare。”

实际上,Ferber 设想在不久的将来扩充其 Cloudflare 安全产品组合。“DDoS 攻击曾经是我们面对的最大安全问题,但现在,最大问题却变成了恶意机器人,因此,我们正在与 Cloudflare 讨论如何实施其机器人管理解决方案。”

主要成果
  • 网站安全和性能成本降低 67%。

  • 目睹世界范围内的页面加载速度有了显著提高,其中日本提高了 35%。

  • Cloudflare WAF 和 DDoS 防护每月阻止了大约 140 万次威胁。

与 Cloudflare 一起工作是一次很棒的经历。他们绝对满足了我们对性能、安全性和客户支持的期望。将所有安全性和性能需求改由一个供应商基于一种基础架构提供,对于 Chrono24 来说是巨大的财务优势和后勤优势。

Sven Ferber
技术总监

Chrono24

Chrono24 saves money, accelerates website performance & improves security by consolidating under Cloudflare

Since 2003, Chrono24 has run one of the world’s largest online marketplaces for luxury watches. The company’s mobile apps have over 5 million users. The Chrono24 desktop marketplace, which is accessible from 46 regionalized top-level domains, offers content in 22 languages and attracts over half a million visitors daily. On an average day, these visitors can browse over 475,000 luxury watches listed for sale by more than 3,000 professional dealers and private sellers from over 120 countries.

Challenge: Poor performance and subpar service from previous performance & security vendors

Prior to partnering with Cloudflare, Chrono24 subscribed to a content delivery network (CDN) solution from EdgeCast and purchased DDoS mitigation and a web application firewall (WAF) from another vendor.

The CDN performed poorly, especially for users in Japan and Australia, who experienced significant latency. Chrono24 was also unsatisfied with their security vendor’s performance and customer service. Both products slowed down Chrono24’s site and app, and Sven Ferber, Director of Technology, did not find the vendor’s analytics helpful in monitoring or mitigating threats.

“Their customer service reps weren’t helpful at all when we had issues, which happened frequently. They kept telling us the problem was on our end, when it was actually their product causing the issues,” Ferber recalls. “Additionally, the statistics and insights they provided were of very poor quality. We had zero transparency into security threats or attacks.”

Ferber also felt that having two vendors was too costly. He decided to consolidate performance and security under one vendor that could provide a fast, reliable CDN, a WAF, and DDoS mitigation to secure and accelerate its website and mobile apps.

Solution: Cloudflare offers superior performance & service while consolidating solutions

Ferber chose Cloudflare’s core performance and security package, which included Cloudflare’s globally distributed CDN, WAF, and DDoS mitigation services. He was immediately impressed with Cloudflare’s customer service and the ease of use.

“Setting up our Cloudflare solutions wasn’t complex at all,” he recalls. “Cloudflare provided us with plenty of documentation and support during the onboarding phase. Compared to our past experiences, deployment was extremely straightforward. Cloudflare’s solution engineers used our data from our previous vendor to set up our CDN, and that has worked out really well for us. We had some questions regarding the details of the WAF. We weren’t sure what effect they’d have on our site, but Cloudflare’s engineers explained everything to us, and the outcome was great.”

“Cloudflare’s standard rules block the overwhelming majority of threats,” he continues. “It was easy for us to set up custom WAF rules for the few threats that Cloudflare doesn’t catch.”

After deploying Cloudflare, Chrono24 saw an immediate increase in site speed. “All of our sites got faster worldwide, but the improvement was especially noticeable in Japan and Australia, because that’s where we’d been having the biggest problems,” Ferber explains. “Site speed in Japan increased by 35% year over year. Average page download time before Cloudflare was 4.2 seconds; now, it’s 2 seconds.”

Ferber was just as pleased with Cloudflare’s WAF and DDoS protection. Cloudflare blocks approximately 1.4 million threats each month, and Ferber and his team can access insightful, actionable security analytics. “Cloudflare has made our cybersecurity much more manageable,” he says. “Previously, we lacked visibility into potential threats. Cloudflare’s security analytics dashboard gives us full transparency. We can see every security threat to our sites and app.”

In addition to performance and security improvements, Cloudflare is saving Chrono24 money. “Our base cost is much lower now that we’ve consolidated performance and security under one provider. I estimate we’re spending about one-third as much,” Ferber reports.

Ferber is also highly impressed with Cloudflare’s customer service. “We’ve been Cloudflare customers for about nine months now, and we haven’t needed to request support since we first set everything up. That’s phenomenal; it definitely speaks to quality of service and ease of use. Even if a company has great customer support, it’s not good if we have to call them all the time because we’re having issues.”

“Working with Cloudflare has been a great experience,” he continues. “They absolutely met our expectations regarding performance, security, and customer support. It’s been a huge financial and logistical advantage for Chrono24 to have all of our security and performance needs delivered by one vendor, on one infrastructure. If we need more security and performance services, we’ll definitely turn to Cloudflare.”

In fact, Ferber envisions expanding his Cloudflare security portfolio in the near future. “DDoS attacks used to be our biggest security issue, but now, it’s malicious bots, so we’re in discussions with Cloudflare regarding implementing their bot management solution.”

Chrono24
Related Case Studies
Key Results
  • 67% reduction in website security and performance costs.

  • Saw significant improvement in page load speeds worldwide, including a 35% improvement in Japan.

  • Cloudflare WAF and DDoS mitigation block approximately 1.4 million threats each month.

Working with Cloudflare has been a great experience. They absolutely met our expectations regarding performance, security, and customer support. It’s been a huge financial and logistical advantage for Chrono24 to have all of our security and performance needs delivered by one vendor, on one infrastructure.

Sven Ferber
Director of Technology