身份验证 3\.0:Udaan 利用 Cloudflare Access 保护印度最大的 B2B 平台

Udaan 是印度为人津津乐道的成功企业。它由 Flipkart(被沃尔玛以 $160 亿美元收购)的三位前任高管创立,现已成为印度最大的 B2B 电子商务平台。许多制造商、品牌、合作商、贸易商、批发商和零售商纷涌而来,购买和销售从智能手机到时装、水果和蔬菜等各式各样的商品。该平台促进了高效、透明并且便利的交易,网络覆盖 900 个城市的 300 万家零售商,连接全国各地的 2 万多个卖家,以最实惠的价格提供广泛的优质产品。

为印度如此庞大且多样化的人口提供商务服务面临着严峻的技术挑战。 Udaan 主动出击、迎难而上,确保为满足快速增长的需求奠定坚实的基础。Cloudflare 在这当中发挥了重要的作用。

Udaan 联合创始人 Amod Malviya 表示,“我们希望着眼于未来,所以打下坚实的基础非常重要。我们很早就采用 Cloudflare,以确保一流的安全性和性能,同时最大程度减少运营开销,Cloudflare 让我们真正做到了这一点。”

Malviya 还指出,“我们非常喜欢 Cloudflare, 在印度没有比我们更忠实的粉丝了。”

Cloudflare 的解决方案

Udaan 最初向 Cloudflare 寻求综合全面的安全保护,包括 DDoS 防护和 Cloudflare 的 Web Application Firewall。

Cloudflare 安全产品由源自于其网络上 %GlobalWebsiteCountWords%00 万互联网资产的综合智慧提供支持:从针对任何这些资产的每一次攻击获得见解,再用于为所有这些资产提供更好的保护。这意味着 Cloudflare 的防火墙会自动更新,能够防御最新的威胁。


“我们以极快的速度增长,从一开始就已做好被恶意攻击者盯上的准备。Cloudflare 的网络自动吸收攻击,我们甚至不会注意到它们—这的确能让我们安枕无忧。”

—Amod Malviya
Udaan 联合创始人

防御恶意攻击仅仅是一个开始:在研究了 Cloudflare 的仪表板后,Udaan 发现有许多其他增强功能可以利用。 Cloudflare 可以简化 Argo Smart Routing 等功能和 HTTP2 等新一代协议的部署,如同拨动开关那般简单。这样,Udaan 就能以最少的投入,让数百万用户享受到这些便利。

访问:已启用

Udaan 团队的一大收获是 Cloudflare Access 这款零信任访问管理解决方案。

Cloudflare Access 是传统 VPN 的现代化替代方案。 VPN 只是简单地保护网络界限并信任其内部的所有活动,Cloudflare Access 则不同,它以数字化方式质询每个用户发出的每一个请求。另外,VPN 拥有配置难度高、可靠性低的恶名,Cloudflare Access 则顺畅无碍,而且几乎不为最终用户所见(只要他们拥有正确的凭证)。

正是由于在传统 VPN 上的经历,Udaan 创始人清楚自己想要的是更为强大、直观的访问管理解决方案。在采用 Cloudflare Access 之前,该团队先自己开发了身份验证解决方案。但在粗略试用 Access 后,他们马上决定全面采用 Cloudflare 的解决方案。

如今,Udaan 有成千上万的用户受到 Cloudflare Access 的保护,包括员工、实习生和第三方供应商在内。Udaan 可以通过精细控制,配置和实施每一项访问策略。 Cloudflare Access 也简化了承包商的培训流程,免除了在复杂 HR 系统中登记的需要,同时又能通过授予他们有限的权限来保持稳固的安全态势。


“VPN 令人苦不堪言,让员工和支持他们的IT同事浪费了无数的时间和精力。此外,传统的 VPN 可以使人们产生虚幻的安全感。有了 Cloudflare Access,我们拥有了能够基于每个用户、每次访问运行的解决方案,而且更加安全可靠、直观易用。我认为它是身份验证 2.0—甚至是 3.0”

—Amod Malviya
Udaan 联合创始人

无需折衷的解决方案

Cloudflare 的一大亮点是其安全和性能产品拥有协同工作的设计,不会有与叠加多种云服务相关的延迟性加剧。而这正是经历着爆炸式增长的平台所梦寐以求的:

“只要做到位,技术在于追求极致。Cloudflare 就是你如何在安全性和性能上做到互不妥协的典范。”

身份验证 3\.0:Udaan 利用 Cloudflare Access 保护印度最大的 B2B 平台
Key Results

• Udaan 利用 Cloudflare Access 面向成千上万的员工和承包商实施精细控制的访问策略。

• Udaan 利用 Cloudflare 的 WAF、DDoS 防护和 HTTP/2 等诸多功能,全部从一个统一仪表板中操控。

VPN 令人苦不堪言,让员工和 IT 人员浪费了无数的时间和精力。有了 Cloudflare Access,我们拥有了能够基于每个用户、每次访问运行的解决方案,而且更加安全可靠、直观易用。我认为它是身份验证 2.0,甚至是 3.0。

Amod Malviya
Udaan 联合创始人

Authentication 3.0: Udaan Taps Cloudflare Access to Secure India’s Largest B2B Platform

Udaan is one of India’s marquee entrepreneurial success stories. Founded by three former top executives of Flipkart (which was acquired by Walmart for $16 billion), Udaan has already established itself as India’s largest business-to-business e-commerce platform — bringing together manufacturers, brands, white labels, traders, wholesalers and retailers who buy and sell everything from smartphones to fashion to fruits and vegetables. The platform facilitates efficient, transparent, and convenient transactions for its network of 3 million retailers in 900 cities, connecting them with 20,000 sellers across the country who offer a broad selection of high quality products at the best prices.

Facilitating commerce for a population as large and diverse as India’s is a gargantuan technological undertaking. Udaan has been responsively proactive about ensuring it has the foundation in place to meet its rapidly-rising demand — and Cloudflare plays a crucial role.

According to Amod Malviya, co-founder of Udaan, “We wanted to be oriented towards the future, so it was important to get these fundamentals right. We adopted Cloudflare early in our journey to ensure we have best-in-class security and performance, while minimizing our operational overhead — and Cloudflare has definitely delivered.”

“We’re huge fans of Cloudflare,” Malviya adds. “You won’t find a bigger evangelist in India.”

The Cloudflare Solution

Udaan first came to Cloudflare for its comprehensive security protection, including DDoS mitigation and Cloudflare’s Web Application Firewall.

Cloudflare security products are powered by collective intelligence derived from the 27 million Internet properties on its network: insights gained from an attack against any one of these properties are used to better protect them all. That means Cloudflare’s firewall is automatically updated to protect against the latest threats.


“We’re growing extremely quickly, and from the beginning we’ve been prepared for potential attention from hostile actors. Cloudflare’s network automatically absorbs attacks, so we don’t even notice them — it definitely helps us rest easier at night.”

— Amod Malviya
Co-founder, Udaan

Protection from hostile attacks was just the beginning: as it explored Cloudflare’s dashboard, Udaan discovered a range of additional enhancements to take advantage of. Cloudflare makes it easy to deploy features like Argo Smart Routing and next-generation protocols like HTTP2 with the flick of a switch — allowing Udaan to deliver these benefits to its millions of users with minimal effort.

Access: Enabled

One of the biggest wins for Udaan’s team has been Cloudflare Access, the Zero-Trust solution for access management.

Cloudflare Access is a modern alternative to conventional VPNs. Instead of simply securing the perimeter of the network and trusting anything that makes it inside, as a VPN does — Cloudflare Access digitally interrogates every request from each user. And unlike VPNs, which are notorious for configuration headaches and unreliability, Cloudflare Access is frictionless and nearly invisible to the end-user (provided they have the appropriate credentials).

Because of their experiences with traditional VPNs, Udaan’s founders knew they wanted a more robust, intuitive solution for access management. The team initially began developing its own authentication solution before adopting Cloudflare Access — but after a brief trial with Access, they quickly decided to go all-in with Cloudflare’s solution.

Today, Udaan has thousands of users secured with Cloudflare Access, spanning employees, interns, and third-party vendors — Udaan can configure and enforce access policies with granular control for each of them. Cloudflare Access also streamlines the process of onboarding contractors, obviating the need to enroll them in complex HR systems while maintaining a strong security posture that grants them limited permissions.


“VPNs are frustrating and lead to countless wasted cycles for employees and the IT staff supporting them. Furthermore, conventional VPNs can lull people into a false sense of security. With Cloudflare Access, we have a far more reliable, intuitive, secure solution that operates on a per user, per access basis. I think of it as Authentication 2.0 — even 3.0"

— Amod Malviya
Co-founder, Udaan

Solutions Without Tradeoffs

One of the best things about Cloudflare is the fact that its security and performance products are designed to work in tandem, without the increase in latency that can be associated with layering multiple cloud services. And that’s exactly what a platform experiencing explosive growth is looking for:

“Done right, technology is about eliminating tradeoffs — and Cloudflare is a classic example of how you can get both security and performance without compromising either.

Authentication 3.0: Udaan Taps Cloudflare Access to Secure India’s Largest B2B Platform
Key Results

• With Cloudflare Access, Udaan enforces granular access policies across thousands of employees and contractors.

• Udaan leverages Cloudflare's WAF, DDoS Mitigation, HTTP/2, and more — all from the same unified dashboard.

“VPNs are frustrating and lead to countless wasted cycles for employees and the IT staff supporting them. With Cloudflare Access, we have a far more reliable, intuitive, secure solution that operates on a per user, per access basis. I think of it as Authentication 2.0 — even 3.0”

Amod Malviya
Co-founder, Udaan