绕过多因素身份验证

模拟用户行为的先进技术

新的网络攻击正在破坏 MFA 的安全性

多因素身份验证 (MFA) 长期以来一直是身份和访问管理的基石。通过要求用户使用额外的身份验证因素(从指纹到一次性密码到硬件密钥)作为对传统的用户名/密码组合的补充,组织可以更好地保护网络和数据免遭利用被盗凭证的攻击。

然而,攻击者正在寻找新的方法来规避 MFA。微软最近检测到了一次网络钓鱼活动,该活动使用在途攻击技术将目标瞄准了 10,000 多个组织。攻击者使用反向代理网站来冒充一个虚假的 Microsoft 365 登录页面,他们可以从该页面截获用户的密码和会话 cookie,从而绕过 MFA 措施并获得对许多电子邮件账户的访问权限。

一旦攻击者侵入合法的用户账户,他们就会创建收件箱规则,支持他们对毫无戒备的联系人进行有针对性的商业电子邮件泄露 (BEC) 攻击,并保持对账户的访问权限,哪怕用户后来更改了密码也可继续访问。

这次攻击向实施了 MFA 的组织敲响了警钟。毕竟,MFA 措施旨在验证用户身份,帮助证明员工、承包商、供应商和其他授权方身份无误,再授予对敏感信息和系统的访问权限。当攻击者能够成功冒充合法用户时,大门就全开了。

但 MFA 并非薄弱环节,组织也不应该因为其身份和访问管理方法不够强大而将其抛弃。相反,保护用户和数据免受高级网络攻击需要全面的 Zero Trust 安全策略,使用强大的身份验证措施来持续验证和监控企业网络上的所有账户、应用程序和端点。


攻击如何绕过传统的网络安全措施

在途攻击并非攻击者最近用来破坏 MFA 的唯一方法。联邦调查局和 CISA 报告了俄罗斯的一起网络攻击,为获得一个非政府组织的不活动账户的访问权限,该攻击使用了暴力密码攻击。攻击者一进入账户,就利用一个名为“PrintNightmare”的漏洞来运行代码,给予系统权限并绕过标准的 MFA 控制。

在另一些情况下,MFA 由于人为错误而遭到破坏。雪城大学 (Syracuse University) 在其内部电子邮件系统上实施 MFA 后,攻击者试图向学生和工作人员滥发邮件,发起“MFA 疲劳”攻击。攻击者利用网络钓鱼和其他方法获得了电子邮件凭证,然后向用户设备发送多个 MFA 请求,希望用户因太过厌烦而不再拒绝请求。一旦用户批准了授权请求(即使只是将手机静音),攻击者就能进一步访问学校资源和账户。

虽然攻击者不断寻找破坏 MFA 的新方法,但这并不表明 MFA 协议本身存在弱点。相反,主管网络和新兴技术的副国家安全顾问 Anne Neuberger 表示,使用 MFA 可以防止高达 90% 的网络攻击企图。关键是要记住,网络攻击是复杂的,攻击者并非仅瞄准 MFA 来攻破账户,而是作为一连串攻击的一部分,可能还涉及网络钓鱼、恶意软件、暴力密码破解、未打补丁的漏洞利用、盗取凭证,或其他各种战术的组合。


Zero Trust 有助于防止 MFA 利用

依靠任何单一的安全策略都无法保护组织免受日益复杂的攻击。正如攻击者依靠多种战术来访问敏感账户一样,组织需要一个多管齐下的安全策略来保护用户和数据。

Zero Trust 是现代网络安全的一个基本原则,在本质上不信任任何试图访问组织资源的用户。这使得攻击者(无论在组织外部还是内部)更难攻破网络或账户。

在实践中,Zero Trust 平台通过以下多种方法帮助组织确保网络安全:

  • 多因素身份验证:MFA 可以使用一次性密码、推送通知、用户生物特征识别(例如指纹或面部识别)、安全密钥或其他方法来验证用户和设备的身份

  • 持续监控和验证:必须不断重新験证用户和设备的身份,让攻击者即使使用盗窃的凭证也难以持续访问网络。

  • 最低权限的访问:仅授予用户需要使用的资源的访问权限,而非整个网络的访问权限。

  • 设备访问控制:连接到网络的设备必须获得授权,并监测其可疑活动迹象。

  • 防止横向移动:微分段通过限制对网络特定区域的访问权限,帮助防止横向移动。

部署 Zero Trust 策略后,基于 MFA 的攻击更不可能取得成功。即使攻击者设法访问了一个用户账户,他们也不会获得对整个网络不受限制的访问权限,也不能在没有不断重新验证用户和设备身份的情况下横向移动。


利用 Cloudflare 规避 MFA 攻击

Cloudflare Zero Trust 帮助保护企业网络和用户免受复杂的网络攻击,甚至那些试图利用 MFA 措施的攻击。通过 Cloudflare 综合的 Zero Trust 平台,组织能够简单地在云、本地和 SaaS 应用程序中实施一致的最低权限访问控制,防止攻击者破坏敏感系统和数据以及在组织内横向移动。

Cloudflare 就影响当今技术决策者的最新趋势和主题发布了系列文章,本文为其一。


关键要点

阅读本文后,您将能够了解:

  • 攻击者如何利用网络钓鱼来规避 MFA

  • MFA 破坏如何为数据盗窃和其他攻击打开大门

  • 防止 MFA 漏洞利用的关键策略


相关资源



深入探讨这个话题。

可靠的身份和访问管理策略离不开 MFA。欲了解如何将 MFA 融入整个 Zero Trust 安全模型,请获取解决方案简报《强身份验证如何帮助阻止钓鱼攻击》

Get the brief!

接收有关最流行互联网见解的每月总结。

Bypassing multi-factor authentication

Advanced techniques that simulate user behavior


New cyber attacks are breaching MFA security

Multi-factor authentication, or MFA, has long been a cornerstone of identity and access management. By requiring users to supplement conventional username/password combinations with additional authentication factors — from fingerprints to one-time passcodes to hard keys — organizations can better protect their networks and data from attacks that make use of stolen credentials.

However, attackers are finding new ways to circumvent MFA. Microsoft recently detected a phishing campaign that targeted over 10,000 organizations using on-path attack techniques. Attackers used reverse-proxy sites to simulate a fraudulent Microsoft 365 login page, from which they could intercept users’ passwords and session cookies — allowing them to bypass MFA measures and gain access to numerous email accounts.

Once attackers breached legitimate user accounts, they created inbox rules that allowed them to carry out targeted business email compromise (BEC) attacks on unsuspecting contacts and maintain access to the accounts, even if users later changed their passwords.

This attack raised alarm bells for organizations that had MFA in place. After all, MFA measures are designed to verify user identity, helping prove that employees, contractors, vendors, and other authorized parties are who they say they are before granting access to sensitive information and systems. When attackers can successfully impersonate legitimate users, the door is wide open.

But MFA isn’t the weak link — nor should organizations ditch it for less robust identity and access management methods. Rather, protecting users and data from advanced cyber attacks requires a comprehensive Zero Trust security strategy, one that uses strong authentication measures to continuously verify and monitor all accounts, applications, and endpoints on a corporate network.

How attacks get around conventional cyber security measures

On-path attacks aren’t the only approach attackers have used recently to compromise MFA. The FBI and CISA reported a Russian cyber attack that used a brute force password attack to gain access to an inactive account at a non-governmental organization. Once the attacker gained entry to the account, they used a vulnerability called “PrintNightmare” to run code that gave them system privileges and bypassed standard MFA controls.

In other circumstances, MFA has been compromised due to human error. After Syracuse University implemented MFA on their internal email systems, attackers tried spamming students and staff with an attack called “MFA fatigue.” Attackers used phishing and other methods to gain access to email credentials, then sent multiple MFA requests to user devices in the hope that the user would be too annoyed by the requests to deny them. Once a user approved an authorization request (even if just to silence their phone), the attacker gained further access to university resources and accounts.

Although attackers continue to find new ways of compromising MFA, this doesn’t signal a weakness in MFA protocols themselves. On the contrary: according to Deputy National Security Advisor for Cyber and Emerging Technology Anne Neuberger, using MFA may prevent up to 90% of cyber attack attempts. It’s important to remember that cyber attacks are complex, attackers aren’t simply targeting MFA to breach accounts but rather, as part of a chain of attacks, which may also involve phishing, malware, brute force password guessing, unpatched vulnerability exploits, stolen credentials, or a combination of other tactics.

Zero Trust helps prevent MFA exploitation

Relying on any single security tactic won’t protect an organization from increasingly sophisticated attacks. Just as attackers rely on multiple tactics to access sensitive accounts, organizations need a multi-pronged security strategy to protect their users and data.

Zero Trust is a foundational principle of modern cyber security that inherently distrusts any user attempting to gain access to an organization’s resources. This makes it more difficult for attackers — whether they exist outside or inside an organization — to breach a network or account.

In practice, a Zero Trust platform enables organizations to secure their networks via multiple methods, including the following:

  • Multi-factor authentication: MFA may be implemented using one-time passcodes, push notifications, user biometrics (e.g. fingerprint or facial recognition), security keys, or other methods to verify user and device identity

  • Continuous monitoring and validation: Users and devices must be reauthenticated continuously, making it difficult for attackers to gain consistent access to a network — even if they are using stolen credentials

  • Least-privilege access: Users are only given access to the resources they need to use, rather than access to the entire network

  • Device access control: Devices that connect to the network must be authorized and monitored for signs of suspicious activity

  • Lateral movement prevention: Microsegmentation helps prevent lateral movement by restricting access to specific areas of the network

With a Zero Trust strategy, MFA-based attacks are far less likely to succeed. Even if an attacker manages to access a user account, they will not be given unfettered access to the entire network, nor will they be able to move laterally without continuously reauthenticating user and device identity.

Sidestep MFA attacks with Cloudflare

Cloudflare Zero Trust helps protect corporate networks and users from sophisticated cyber attacks, even those that attempt to exploit MFA measures. Cloudflare’s consolidated Zero Trust platform makes it simple for organizations to enforce consistent least-privilege access controls across cloud, on-premise, and SaaS applications — preventing attackers from breaching sensitive systems and data and moving laterally within organizations.

This article is part of a series on the latest trends and topics impacting today’s technology decision-makers.

Key takeaways

After reading this article you will be able to understand:

  • How attackers use phishing tactics to circumvent MFA

  • How MFA compromise opens the door to data theft and other attacks

  • Key strategies to prevent MFA exploitation

RELATED RESOURCES


Dive deeper into this topic

MFA is a crucial part of a robust identity and access management strategy. To discover how MFA fits into a broader Zero Trust security model, get the solution brief, How strong authentication helps stop phishing attacks.

Get the brief!

Receive a monthly recap of the most popular Internet insights!