什么是 Cloudflare Registrar?

Cloudflare Registrar 收取注册管理机构对域名收取的批发价格,而不像其他注册商一样人为地加价。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

Cloudflare Registrar

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 了解什么是 Cloudflare Registrar
  • 了解 Cloudflare 为什么要提供域名注册服务
  • 了解将域名转移到 Cloudflare Registrar 的步骤

什么是 Cloudflare Registrar?

Cloudflare Registrar 是一项可用来注册域名的服务,而且不为此加价。它提供的服务与其他域名注册商基本相同,但没有加价,既没有增加续订费,而且还提供一些附加的安全功能。本质上,Cloudflare Registrar 是免费的 – 唯一的费用是注册管理机构和 ICANN 收取的费用。

为什么 Cloudflare 会免费提供域名?

域名注册商有时会试图利用客户,通过低廉的初始注册费吸引客户,再大幅提高续期价格,因为客户通常别无选择,只能续期。但是,注册服务商实质上是充当中间人,他们的收费价格通常与实际提供的价值不成比例。

Cloudflare 的使命是建立一个更好的 Internet,提供没有加价的域名是确保任何有想法的人都可利用 Internet 力量的一种方法。任何人都应该能够发展业务、宣传推广组织或构建 Web 应用程序,而不必担心会因保留域名而不必要地支付费用。因此,Cloudflare 沿用了顶级域名和 ICANN 收取的价格,没有任何附加费用。

Cloudflare 如何做到这一点?

注册域名所有者所需要做的就是与注册管理机构建立关系,并能够向 API 发送一些命令。从技术角度来看,涉及的工作量很小。

Cloudflare 在提供 Cloudflare Registrar 之前就建立了自己的内部域名注册商,以确保我们域名的安全。这使得过渡到向全球提供域名注册服务变得相对容易。

除了成本之外,Cloudflare Registrar 与其他注册商相比如何?

对于大多数用户,Cloudflare Registrar 提供与其他注册商相同的服务。唯一的区别是价格。Cloudflare Registrar 还包括 DNSSEC 和双因素身份验证等安全功能,而且这些功能也是免费的。

对于某些企业用户,Cloudflare 提供了更多可定制的域名服务。

是否可以将域名从另一家注册商转移到 Cloudflare Registrar?

目标是使另一注册商的客户尽可能轻松地将其域名转移到 Cloudflare Registrar。客户可以按照以下步骤来启动流程:

  1. 让 Cloudflare 知道将要转移哪个域。Cloudflare 将检查以确保该域可以转移。
  2. 从旧注册商处解锁域。域通常被“锁定”,以防止未经授权的用户转移它们。注册人应具有禁用此锁定的能力。
  3. 获取授权码。旧注册商应提供转移的授权码,Cloudflare 将使用这个代码来确认转移是合法的。

如需更多详细信息,请参阅这篇关于 Cloudflare Registrar 的博客帖子Cloudflare Registrar 官方页面

什么是域名?

域名就是网站的名称。例如,Cloudflare 管理域名“Cloudflare.com”以及许多子域,如“blog.cloudflare.com”和“communityinfo.cloudflare.com”等。用户或组织若要能够使用域名,必须注册域名。

什么是注册商?域名注册如何工作?

域名注册过程涉及三方:注册管理机构、注册商和注册人。注册管理机构实际上发放域名;注册人是“购买”或注册域名的用户或公司。介于这两方之间的是注册商:充当注册管理机构和注册人之间的中介人,并记录谁拥有域。

What is Cloudflare Registrar?

Cloudflare Registrar charges the wholesale prices that registries charge for domain names, instead of artificially marking up the price like other registrars.

Share

Cloudflare Registrar

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Understand what Cloudflare Registrar is
  • Learn why Cloudflare wanted to offer a domain registration service
  • Learn the steps for transferring a domain name to Cloudflare Registrar

What is Cloudflare Registrar?

Cloudflare Registrar is a service for registering domain names that doesn't mark up the price for doing so. It offers essentially the same services as other domain name registrars but without markups, without increased renewal fees, and with some additional security features. In essence, Cloudflare Registrar is free – the only cost is what's charged by registries and by ICANN.

Why does Cloudflare offer domain names at no cost?

Domain registrars sometimes try to take advantage of customers by luring them in with low initial registration fees, then marking up the prices for renewal hugely because customers often have no choice but to renew. However, registrars are essentially acting as middlemen, and the prices they charge are commonly disproportionate to the value they actually provide.

Cloudflare is on a mission to build a better Internet, and offering domain names without marked-up prices is one way to ensure that anyone with an idea can take advantage of the power of the Internet. Anyone should be able to start a business, promote an organization, or build a web application without worrying they'll be charged unnecessarily for keeping their domain name. For this reason, Cloudflare passes along the prices charged by top-level domains and ICANN without any additional fees.

How is Cloudflare able to do this?

All that is needed to register owners of domain names is a relationship with registries and the ability to send some commands to an API. From a technical perspective, the effort involved is minimal.

Cloudflare built its own internal domain name registrar well before offering Cloudflare Registrar, in order to keep our domains secure. This made it relatively simple to transition into offering domain registration to the world.

Aside from cost, how does Cloudflare Registrar compare to other registrars?

For most users, Cloudflare Registrar offers the same service as other registrars. The only difference is in price. Cloudflare Registrar includes security features such as DNSSEC and two-factor authentication, also for free.

For certain enterprise users, Cloudflare offers much more customizable domain name services.

Is it possible to transfer a domain name from another registrar to Cloudflare Registrar?

The goal is to make it as easy as possible for customers of another registrar to transfer their domain names to Cloudflare Registrar. Customers can take the following steps to start the process:

  1. Let Cloudflare know which domain will be transferred. Cloudflare will check to make sure that the domain is available for transfer.
  2. Unlock the domain from the old registrar. Domains are typically 'locked' to prevent unauthorized users from transferring them. Registrants should have the ability to disable this lock.
  3. Obtain an authorization code. The old registrar should provide an authorization code for the transfer, and Cloudflare will use this code to confirm that the transfer is legitimate.

More details can be found in this blog post about Cloudflare Registrar, or on the official Cloudflare Registrar page.

What is a domain name?

A domain name is simply the name of a website. For example, Cloudflare manages the domain name 'Cloudflare.com,' along with a number of subdomains, such as 'blog.cloudflare.com' and 'communityinfo.cloudflare.com.' In order for a user or an organization to be able to use a domain name, the domain name has to be registered.

What is a registrar? How does domain registration work?

There are three parties involved in the process of registering a domain name: the registry, the registrar, and the registrant. The registry actually issues the domain names; the registrant is the user or company that 'buys' or registers the domain names. In between these two parties is the registrar: the party that acts as a go-between for the registry and the registrant, and that records who owns the domain.