什么是往返时间?| RTT 定义

往返时间 (RTT) 是网络请求从起点到目的地然后再回到起点所花费的时长(以毫秒为单位)

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

往返时间

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义往返时间 (RTT)
  • 了解如何使用 RTT
  • 说明可能影响 RTT 的因素
  • 了解 CDN 可以缩短 RTT 的方式

h2 class="learning-content-h2 learning-content-h2--margin-top-16px" itemprop="headline">什么是往返时间?

往返时间 (RTT) 是网络请求从起点到目的地然后再回到起点所花费的时长(以毫秒为单位)。RTT 是确定本地网络或较大 Internet 上连接的运行状况的重要指标,并且网络管理员通常使用 RTT 来诊断网络连接的速度和可靠性。


缩短 RTT是 CDN 的主要目标。可以通过往返时间的减少和需要往返的实例的消除情况(例如通过修改标准 TLS/SSL 握手)来衡量延迟的改进结果。


ping 实用程序几乎在所有计算机上可用,这是一种估计往返时间的方法。下面是几个 ping Google 的示例,底部都计算了往返时间。请注意,ping 时间之一(17.604 毫秒)高于其余时间。

Ping RTT example

往返时间的工作原理

往返时间表示数据到另一位置往返所花费的时间。延用 CDN 延迟的益处的例子,我们假设纽约的用户想要与新加坡的服务器联系。


当纽约的用户发出请求时,网络流量将在位于不同地理位置的许多路由器之间传输,最终到达位于新加坡的服务器。然后,新加坡的服务器通过 Internet 将响应发送回纽约。请求达到纽约后,即可对两个位置之间往返所需的时间进行粗略估算。

Round-trip time map

需要记住的是,往返时间是估计,而不是保证;两个位置之间的路径可能会随时间变化,并且其他因素(例如网络拥塞)可能会产生影响,进而影响总的传输时间。无论如何,RTT 都是了解是否可以建立连接以及如果可以、建立连接大约需要花费多长时间的重要指标。

影响 RTT 的常见因素有哪些?

基础设施组件、网络流量以及源与目的地之间路径的物理距离都是可能影响 RTT 的潜在因素。

RTT 影响因素列表:

  • 传输介质的性质 - 建立连接的方式会影响连接移动的速度;通过光纤进行的连接与通过铜线进行的连接会有不同的行为。同样,通过无线频率进行的连接的行为将不同于卫星通信进行的连接。
  • 局域网 (LAN) 流量 - 局域网上的流量可能成为连接到达较大的 Internet 之前的瓶颈。例如,如果许多用户同时使用流视频服务,则即使外部网络有多余容量并且运行正常,往返时间也可能会受到影响。
  • 服务器响应时间 - 服务器处理和响应请求所花费的时间是网络延迟的潜在瓶颈。当服务器因为请求而不堪重负,例如在 DDoS 攻击期间,其有效响应的能力受到抑制,导致 RTT 延长。
  • 节点数量和拥塞 - 根据连接在 Internet 上经过的路径,它可能i通过不同数量的中间节点进行路由或“跳跃”。一般而言,连接经过的节点数量越多,速度就越慢。节点可能还会遇到其他网络流量造成的网络拥塞,这将减慢连接速度并延长 RTT。
  • 物理距离 - 尽管通过 CDN 优化的连接通常可以减少到达目的地所需的跃点数量,但无法克服光速所带来的限制。起点和终点之间的距离是网络连通性的限制因素,只有通过将内容移到请求用户附近才能降低影响。为了克服这一障碍,CDN 将在请求用户附近缓存内容,从而缩短 RTT。

CDN 如何改善 RTT?

通过将服务器维护在 Internet 交换点并与 Internet 服务提供商和其他网络运营商建立优选关系,CDN 能够优化位置之间的网络路径,从而缩短了 RTT 并改善了访问者访问 CDN 中缓存的内容的延迟。


探索 CDN 性能课程,了解缓存、数据中心布局、文件大小减少以及其他优化如何缩短延迟并改善 RTT。了解如何使用 Cloudflare CDN 改善 RTT。

Improve your site with free and paid apps:

Cloudflare Developer Fund

Cloudflare and world class investment firms invest $100 Million to deliver powerful tools for the Internet. The Cloudflare Developer Fund is looking for companies that are building apps on Cloudflare’s platform.

What is round-trip time? RTT definition

Round-trip time (RTT) is the duration in milliseconds (ms) it takes for a network request to go from a starting point to a destination and back again to the starting point

Round-Trip Time

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define round-trip time (RTT)
  • Understand how to use RTT
  • Explain factors that can affect RTT
  • Understand ways in which a CDN can reduce RTT

What is round-trip time?

Round-trip time (RTT) is the duration in milliseconds (ms) it takes for a network request to go from a starting point to a destination and back again to the starting point. RTT is an important metric in determining the health of a connection on a local network or the larger Internet, and is commonly utilized by network administrators to diagnose the speed and reliability of network connections.

Reducing RTT is a primary goal of a CDN. Improvements in latency can be measured in the reduction of round-trip time and by eliminating instances where roundtrips are required, such as by modifying the standard TLS/SSL handshake.

The ping utility, available on virtually all computers, is a method of estimating round-trip time. Here's an example of several pings to Google with the round-trip time calculated at the bottom. Notice that one of the ping times - 89.147ms - is much higher than the rest.

How does round-trip time work?

Round-trip time represents the amount of time it takes data to go roundtrip to another location. Borrowing from the example in the lesson on CDN latency benefits, let's say that a user in New York wants to contact a server in Singapore.

When the user in New York makes the request, the network traffic is transferred across many different routers in different physical locations before terminating at the server in Singapore. The server in Singapore then sends a response back across the Internet to the location in New York. Once the request terminates in New York, a rough estimate can be made of the amount of time it takes to go round trip between the two locations.

It's important to keep in mind that round-trip time is an estimate and not a guarantee; the pathway between the two locations can change over time and other factors such as network congestion can come into play, affecting the overall transit time. Regardless, RTT is an important metric in understanding if a connection can be made, and if so, roughly how long it will take to make the trip.

What are common factors that affect RTT?

Infrastructure components, network traffic, and physical distance along the path between a source and a destination are all potential factors that can affect RTT.

List of factors affecting RTT:
  • The nature of the transmission medium - the way in which connections are made affects how fast the connection moves; connections made over optical fiber will behave differently than connections made over copper. Likewise, a connection made over a wireless frequency will behave differently than that of a satellite communication.
  • Local area network (LAN) traffic - the amount of traffic on the local area network can bottleneck a connection before it ever reaches the larger Internet. For example, if many users are using streaming video service simultaneously, round-trip time may be inhibited even though the external network has excess capacity and is functioning normally.
  • Server response time – the amount of time it takes a server to process and respond to a request is a potential bottleneck in network latency. When a server is overwhelmed with requests, such as during a DDoS attack, its ability to respond efficiently can be inhibited, resulting in increased RTT.
  • Node count and congestion – depending on the path that a connection takes across the Internet, it may be routed or “hop” through a different number of intermediate nodes. Generally speaking, the greater the number of nodes a connection touches the slower it will be. A node may also experience network congestion from other network traffic, which will slow down the connection and increase RTT.
  • Physical distance – although a connection optimized by a CDN can often reduce the number of hops required to reach a destination, there is no way of getting around the limitation imposed by the speed of light; the distance between a start and end point is a limiting factor in network connectivity that can only be reduced by moving content closer to the requesting users. To overcome this obstacle, a CDN will cache content closer to the requesting users, thereby reducing RTT.

How can a CDN improve RTT?

By maintaining servers inside Internet exchange points and by having preferred relationships with Internet service providers and other network carriers, a CDN is able to optimize network pathways between locations, resulting in reduced RTT and improved latency for visitors accessing content cached inside the CDN.

Explore the CDN performance lesson to learn how caching, data center placement, file size reductions, and other optimizations reduce latency and improve RTT.