东京大学

Cloudflare 助力东京大学轻松保护数百个子域

东京大学成立于 1877 年,是日本第一所现代大学,拥有 10 所本科学校和 15 所研究生院,分布在六个不同的校区。大约 28,000 名学生就读于其本科、研究生和博士课程,并拥有大约 10,000 名教职员工,使其成为日本所有国立大学实体中最大的。

东京大学为不同的学校、部门和研究办公室维护了大约 1000 个网站子域。这些团体通常使用商业托管服务、公共云和现场服务器的组合来自行设置和运行页面。大学的信息技术中心帮助管理其中的一些页面,管理它们的安全性和性能,并对大型跨学科信息系统进行研究。

东京大学需要保护数百个子域

这种复杂的混合网站基础结构给东京大学带来了安全性问题。很少有站点实施了防火墙和 WAF(Web 应用程序防火墙)等安全性措施。这些网站没有遭受任何攻击或数据泄露,但大学希望确保这种情况仍然存在。

并且由于各个部门负责管理自己的子域,他们自己处理安全性问题是不可行的。“发布大约 1,000 个子域意味着至少有大约 1,000 个子域管理员,” 信息技术中心全校计算研究部的研究助理 Kazuya Okada 博士说。“管理员的知识和经验因人而异......即使管理员一直在为他们的每个站点制定自己的独立安全性措施,随着安全性威胁日益先进和复杂,我们不能仅仅通过保护自己免受已知威胁的攻击来停止像零日攻击这样的未知威胁。”

Cloudflare 的 Anycast 网络可缓解 DDoS 攻击,并且易于大规模管理

东京大学意识到,内容分发网络 (CDN) 可以有效防御 DDoS 攻击,因为正确的 CDN 甚至能够吸收最大的攻击。东京大学与领先的 IT 服务公司三井知识产业有限公司(MKI) 合作,且选择了 Cloudflare。

“虽然有许多不同的 CDN 服务,但东京大学之所以选择 Cloudflare 而不是其他服务商,是因为它具有丰富的安全性功能,并且采用 Anycast 作为路由技术,”Okada 博士说。“Anycast 路由到最近的节点,是对抗 DDoS 攻击的最有效对策。”

东京大学还对 Cloudflare Anycast 网络的规模表示赞赏—跨越 100 多个国家/地区的 200 多个城市,包括日本的多个地点—提供了防止孤立中断的冗余。此外,东京大学喜欢 Cloudflare 易于采用和管理—鉴于前者的混合基础结构,这是一个重要的考虑因素。

Okada 博士说:“最大的效果是能够在 Campuswide Computing Research Division 对需要为每个站点实施的安全性措施进行集中 DNS 管理。”Cloudflare 提供了一个易于理解的带有日文用户界面的控制仪表板。创造 Cloudflare 的公司自己过去也遭受过多次大规模的 DDoS 攻击,在应对这些攻击方面,我们可以欣赏到他们极高的技术可靠性。我们也对 MKI 的支持系统感到满意,该系统响应十分迅速。”

In Partnership With
Related Case Studies
Related Products
Key Results
  • Cloudflare 的 Anycast 网络保护东京大学免受任何规模的 DDoS 攻击

  • Cloudflare 的单一平台让东京大学能够从单一管理平台对约 1000 个子域应用安全性控制

  • Cloudflare 的 Anycast 网络提供了防止中断的冗余

”Cloudflare 提供了一个易于理解的带有日文用户界面的控制仪表板。创造 Cloudflare 的公司自己过去也遭受过多次大规模的 DDoS 攻击,在应对这些攻击方面,我们可以欣赏到他们极高的技术可靠性。


计算机研究部信息技术中心研究员

The University of Tokyo

Cloudflare helps The University of Tokyo protect hundreds of subdomains with ease

Founded in 1877 as Japan's first modern university, The University of Tokyo has 10 undergraduate schools and 15 graduate schools located on six different campuses. Approximately 28,000 students are enrolled in its undergraduate, graduate and doctorate programs, and it employs roughly 10,000 faculty members, making it the largest of all of Japan’s national university entities.

The University maintains roughly 1000 website subdomains for different schools, departments, and research offices. These groups often set up and run pages on their own, using a mixture of commercial hosting services, public clouds, and on-site servers. The University’s Information Technology Center helps to administer some of these pages, looks after their security and performance, and also conducts research into large-scale interdisciplinary information systems.

Tokyo University needed to secure hundreds of subdomains

This complex, hybrid website infrastructure created security concerns for Tokyo University. There were very few sites where security measures like firewalls and WAF (Web Application Firewall) had been implemented. These sites had not experienced any attacks or data breaches, but the University wanted to ensure this would remain the case.

And since various departments were responsible for managing their own subdomains, it was not feasible for them to handle security on their own. "Approximately 1,000 subdomains being issued means that there are at least around 1,000 subdomain administrators,” said Dr. Kazuya Okada, a research associate with the Information Technology Center’s Campus-wide Computing Research Division. “The knowledge and experience of the administrators varied from person to person....even though administrators have been working on their own individual security measures for each of their sites, with security threats becoming more advanced and sophisticated at present day by day, we cannot stop unknown threats like zero-day attacks merely by protecting ourselves against known threats.”

Cloudflare’s network mitigates DDoS attacks and is easy to manage at scale

Tokyo University realized that a content delivery network (CDN) could be an effective defense against DDoS attacks, since the right CDN is able to absorb even the largest attacks. Working in collaboration with the leading IT services company Mitsui Knowledge Industry Co., Ltd. (MKI), the University selected Cloudflare.

"While there are a number of different CDN services, the reason why the university chose Cloudflare over the others was because of its rich security features and its adoption of Anycast for routing technology,” Dr. Okada said. “Anycast, which does its routing to the closest node, is the most effective countermeasure against DDoS attacks.”

Tokyo University also appreciated that the scale of Cloudflare’s network — which spans 200+ cities in 100+ countries, including multiple locations in Japan — offered redundancy against isolated outages. In addition, the University liked that Cloudflare was easy to adopt and manage — an important consideration in light of the former’s hybrid infrastructure.

"The greatest effect will be being able to perform centralized management at the Campuswide Computing Research Division on security measures that have needed to be implemented for each respective site,” Dr. Okada said. “Cloudflare provides an easy-to-understand control dashboard with a user interface in Japanese. The company that makes Cloudflare has suffered a number of large-scale DDoS attacks themselves in the past, and we can appreciate their extremely high technical reliability in terms of dealing with these attacks. We are also satisfied with MKI's support system, which responds quickly."

The University of Tokyo
In Partnership With
Related Case Studies
Key Results
  • Cloudflare’s Anycast network protects Tokyo University from DDoS attacks of any size

  • Cloudflare’s single platform lets Tokyo University apply security controls for ~1000 subdomains from a single pane of glass

  • Cloudflare’s network scale offers redundancy against outages

Cloudflare provides an easy-to-understand control dashboard with a user interface in Japanese. The company that makes Cloudflare has suffered a number of large-scale DDoS attacks themselves in the past, and we can appreciate their extremely high technical reliability in terms of dealing with these attacks.


Research Associate, Information Technology Center, Computing Research Division