什么是社会工程学攻击?

在社会工程学攻击中,攻击者通过操纵受害人,让其提供可用于恶意目的的敏感信息。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

社会工程学

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义社会工程学
  • 简述几种社会工程学攻击
  • 了解避免遭到社会工程学攻击的最佳做法

什么是社会工程学?

从广义上讲,社会工程学是操纵人们放弃敏感信息的做法。社交工程学攻击可能当面发生,例如盗匪装扮成送货员闯入建筑物。本文将重点关注社会工程学网络攻击。在大多数情况下,此类攻击旨在使受害者泄露登录凭据或敏感的财务信息。

  • 攻击者向受害者发送电子邮件,并将电子邮件伪装成似乎来自受害者的联系人列表中的某人。电子邮件中可能包含可疑链接,点击链接即会执行恶意的跨站点脚本攻击,或将受害者定向到恶意站点。
  • 攻击者使用所谓的流行电影或软件下载链接在线诱骗用户,但这些下载链接实际上包含恶意有效负载。
  • 攻击者联系受害人,声称自己是富裕的外国人,需要美国银行帐户信息来转移其财富,并提供丰厚的酬谢以换取受害者的银行帐户信息。实际上,攻击者是为了盗取受害者帐户中的款项。
社会工程学攻击实例

除了这些小型的个人社会工程学骗局之外,还存在针对整个组织的更复杂的社会工程学攻击,例如,丢 U 盘攻击。这些攻击可以针对受到良好保护的公司网络,甚至是没有连接到 Internet 的公司。攻击者通过在目标公司的停车场周围散落多个 USB 驱动器来实现此目的。他们在这些驱动器上贴上诱人的标签,例如“机密”,期待一些好奇的员工捡到并插入其电脑。这些驱动器可能包含破坏性很强的病毒或蠕虫,由于它们是从本地计算机进入网络的,因此很难检测到。

社会工程学攻击有哪些著名案例?

2011 年 RSA 的数据泄露事件引起了巨大轰动,这主要是因为 RSA 是一家值得信赖的安全公司。该漏洞导致 RSA 广受欢迎的双因素身份验证服务 SecurID 中断。虽然攻击的所有细节尚未公开,但众所周知,攻击始于社会工程学攻击。攻击是通过基本的网络钓鱼攻击发起的,攻击者向 RSA 底层员工发送看似有关招聘的公司电子邮件。某个员工打开了电子邮件中的附件,从而触发了攻击。

美联社在 2013 年遭到了社会工程学攻击,导致股票市场暴跌 1,360 亿美元。这同样是通过发给员工的网络钓鱼攻击引起的。一名员工打开了电子邮件中的链接,由此触发了攻击,导致 AP 的 Twitter 帐户遭到破坏,攻击者在推特上发布了有关白宫爆炸的虚假新闻报道。这个虚假的新闻故事迅速流传开来,导致道指暴跌 150 点。一个名为“叙利亚电子军”的叙利亚黑客组织声称对这次袭击负责,但从未提供任何证据。

由于攻击手段非常高明,2013 年针对 Target 的数据泄露攻击已成为历史上最臭名昭著的网络攻击之一。像此处提到的其他攻击一样,这次攻击也始于社交工程学攻击,但攻击者并未通过 Target 的任何员工发动攻击。相反,他们向为 Target 商店安装高科技空调的供应商的员工发送电子邮件。这些空调链接到 Target 的店内计算机系统。攻击者入侵第三方供应商后,便得以入侵 Target 的网络并从数千家商店的信用卡扫描仪中收集信用卡信息,导致大约 4000 万目标客户的财务信息泄露。

防范社会工程学攻击的方法

尽管电子邮件筛选等自动安全功能有助于阻止攻击者与受害者联系,但是防御社会工程学攻击的最佳方法是尊重常识以及及时了解流行的社会工程学攻击方法。美国计算机应急准备小组(US-CERT)建议公民警惕任何可疑的通信,并仅在安全网页上提交敏感信息(HTTPS 和 TLS 是网站安全性的有效标识)。他们还建议不要点击电子邮件中的链接,而是直接在浏览器中输入可信任公司的 URL。网站所有者可以使用 Cloudflare CDN 等服务来帮助防范此类攻击,当攻击者使用其域进行网络钓鱼攻击时,该服务会向其发送提醒。

Social Engineering Attack

In social engineering attacks, victims are manipulated into handing over sensitive information which can be used for malicious purposes.

Common Threats
VPN Resources
Glossary

Social Engineering

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define social engineering
  • Outline several types of social engineering attacks
  • Understand the best practices to avoid becoming a victim of a social engineering attack

What is social engineering?

Broadly speaking, social engineering is the practice of manipulating people into giving up sensitive information. Social engineering attacks can happen in person, such as a burglar who dresses up as a delivery man to get buzzed into a building. This article will instead focus on social engineering cyber attacks. In most cases these attacks aim to get the victim to divulge either login credentials or sensitive financial information.

  • An attacker sending an email to a victim which appears to come from someone in the victim’s contact list. This email can contain a suspicious link that will execute a malicious cross-site scripting attack, or direct the victim to a malicious site.
  • An attacker baits users online with links that claim to be downloads of popular movies or software, but these downloads actually contain a malicious payload.
  • An attacker contacts a victim claiming to be a wealthy foreigner who needs US bank account information to transfer their fortune, offering to reward the victim handsomely in exchange for their bank account information. In reality, the attacker is out to drain the victim’s accounts.

In addition to these types of small and personal social engineering scams, there are also more sophisticated social engineering attacks that are leveraged against entire organizations, for example thumb-drive drops. These attacks can target the networks of well-protected companies, even those that are not connected to the Internet. Attackers do this by scattering several USB drives around the parking lot of the target company. They put an enticing label such as ‘confidential’ on these drives in hopes that some curious employee will find one and stick it into their computer. These drives can contain very destructive viruses or worms that will be hard to detect, since they are entering the network from a local computer.

What are some famous examples of social engineering attacks?

The 2011 data breach of RSA created a big stir, primarily because RSA is a trusted security company. This breach disrupted RSA’s popular two-factor authentication service, SecurID. While all the details of the attack have not been publicly disclosed, it is known that it began with a social engineering attack. The attack was initiated with a basic phishing attack, where the attackers sent low-level RSA employees emails that appeared to be company emails regarding recruiting. One of these employees opened an attachment in this email which triggered the attack.

The Associated Press fell victim to a social engineering attack in 2013 that led to a $136 billion stock market plummet. Once again this was carried out by a phishing attack sent out to employees. By simply opening a link in the email, one of the employees triggered the attack which resulted in the AP’s Twitter account being compromised, and the attackers tweeted out a fake news story about an explosion in the White House. This fake news story circulated quickly and led to a 150 point nosedive of the Dow. A Syrian hacker group known as the Syrian Electronic Army claimed responsibility for the attack, but never provided any proof.

The data breach attack leveraged against Target in 2013 has become one of the most infamous cyber-attacks in history thanks to its level of sophistication. Like the others mentioned here, this attack began with social engineering, but the attackers didn’t go after anyone working for Target. Instead they sent emails to employees of a heating-and-air-conditioning vendor that had high-tech air conditioners installed in Target stores. These air conditioners were linked to Target’s in-store computer systems, and once the attackers were able to compromise the third-party vendor, they were then able to hack into Target’s networks and collect credit card information from credit card scanners in thousands of stores, exposing the financial data of around 40 million Target customers.

How to protect against social engineering attacks

While automated security features like email screening can help prevent attackers from contacting victims, the best defense against social engineering attacks is common sense combined with an up-to-date knowledge of popular social engineering attacks. The United States Computer Emergency Readiness Team (US-CERT) advises citizens to be wary of any suspicious communications, and to only submit sensitive information over the web on secure web pages (HTTPS and TLS are good indications of website security). They also recommend avoiding clicking on links sent in emails, and instead typing the urls of trusted companies directly into the browser. Website owners can do their part by using a service like the Cloudflare CDN which will alert them when attackers are using their domain in phishing attacks.