我的 IP 位址是什麼?

IP 位址是用於確定網際網絡上誰是誰的唯一標識符。根據使用 IPv4 還是 IPv6 協議,IP 位址的格式有所不同。

學習目標

閱讀本文後,您將能夠:

  • 定義 IP 位址
  • 區分 IPv4 和 IPv6
  • 區分動態和靜態 IP 位址

複製文章連結

那麼什麼是 IP 位址,它為什麼重要?

「IP」代表網際網絡通訊協定,它是一組規則,使設備可以通過網際網絡進行通信。每天有數十億人訪問網際網絡,因此需要唯一標識符來跟踪誰在做什麼。網際網絡協議通過為每個訪問網際網絡的設備分配 IP 號來解決這個問題。

DNS 請求

計算機的 IP 位址就像房子的實際位址。如果有人打電話給比薩店訂購外賣,就需要提供他們的實際位址。如果沒有那個位址,披薩送貨員將不知道將披薩送到哪家!

例如,當用戶向瀏覽器鍵入域名時,例如 google.com,這將向谷歌的網絡服務器發起請求,要求提供內容(谷歌主頁)。Google 收到請求後,需要知道將網站內容發送到何處。因此,請求將包含詢問者的 IP 位址。使用提供的 IP 位址,谷歌可以將響應發送回用戶的設備,然後該設備將在用戶的 web 瀏覽器中顯示該內容。

協調以上這一切的系統稱為 DNS。它的工作原理類似於 IP 位址的電話簿,以便用戶可以使用人性化的網域名稱訪問 Web 服務。當用戶在瀏覽器中鍵入「facebook.com」之類的域名時,就會開始一個 DNS 查詢,最終導致 DNS 伺服器將網域名稱轉化為 IP 位址。

IP 位址是什麼樣的?根據使用 IPv4 還是 IPv6 協議,IP 位址的格式有所不同。

IPv4 和 IPv6 有什麼區別?

IPv4 和 IPv6 是網際網絡協議的不同版本。IPv4 於 1983 年實施,至今仍在使用。IPv4 位址的格式是四組由點分隔的數位,例如:「74.125.224.72」。這是一種 32 位格式,這意味著它允許 232即大約 43 億個唯一 IP 位址,但事實證明,這對於現在網際網路上的裝置數量來說是不夠的。對更多 IP 位址的需求導致了 IPv6* 的實施。IPv6 位址使用更複雜的格式,該格式使用由單或雙冒號分隔的一組數位和字母,例如:「2607:f860:4005:804::200e」。這種 128 位格式可以支援 2128 個唯一位址。(計算結果是一個39位元數字!)

IPv6 為 IPv4 提供了一些其他更新,包括安全性和隱私改進。儘管存在差異,但 IPv4 和 IPv6 已在 web 上同時使用了大約十年。這兩個版本可以同步運行,但必須採取特殊措施來實現 IPv4 和 IPv6 設備之間的通信。必須做出這種妥協,因為如 web 上還有很多內容在 IPv4 位址上運行。

*IPv5 怎麼了? IPv5 是一個從未實施的實驗性流資料協定。它使用與 IPv4 相同的 32 位格式,因此不能恰當解決唯一 IP 位址不足的問題。因此,IPv6 成為 IPv4 的繼任者。

靜態 IP 和動態 IP 有什麼區別?

IPv4 位址的有限供應導致了動態分配 IP 位址的引入,這仍然是一種非常普遍的做法。大多數連接到網際網路的裝置都被分配臨時 IP 位址。例如,當家庭用戶在其筆記型電腦上連接到網際網路時,該用戶的 ISP 會從共用 IP 位址集區中為其分配一個臨時 IP 位址。這被稱為動態 IP 位址。對於 ISP 而言,這比為每個使用者分配一個永久或靜態 IP 位址更具成本效益。

動態 IP 位址

一些 ISP 客戶,例如大型企業,會付費以維持一個靜態 IP 位址。(例如,Cloudflare 的 1.1.1.1)。然而,對大多數使用者而言,擁有動態 IP 位址就已經足夠。當託管 web 伺服器時,比如自託管網站、API 或遊戲伺服器,動態 IP 位址可能會造成問題。IP 位址的更改可能會導致其 DNS 查詢失敗,從而導致該資源下線。幸運的是,這個問題可以通過 Cloudflare 的動態 DNS 輕鬆解決。

What Is My IP Address?

IP Addresses are unique identifiers used to determine who is who on the Internet. IP addresses can be formatted differently depending on whether they use IPv4 or IPv6 protocol.

Share

IP Address

Learning Objectives

  • Define an IP Address
  • Differentiate between IPv4 and IPv6
  • Differentiate between dynamic and static IP addresses

Your IP Address Is:

So what is an IP address and why does it matter?

‘IP’ stands for Internet Protocol, which is the set of rules that makes it possible for devices to communicate over the Internet. With billions of people accessing the Internet every day, unique identifiers are necessary to keep track of who is doing what. The Internet Protocol solves this by assigning IP numbers to every device accessing the Internet.

A DNS Request

A computer’s IP Address is like the physical address of a house. If someone calls a pizzeria to order a delivery, they need to provide their physical address. Without that address, the pizza delivery person will have no idea which house to deliver the pizza to!


For example, when a user types a domain name, like google.com, into a web browser, this will initiate a request to Google’s web server asking for content (the Google homepage). Once Google receives the request, it needs to know where to send the website content. For this reason, the request will contain the asker’s IP address. Using the provided IP address, Google can send a response back to the user’s device, which will then display that content in the user’s web browser.


The system that orchestrates all this is called DNS. It works like a phone book for IP addresses so that users can access web services using human-friendly domain names. When a user types a domain name like ‘facebook.com’ into their browser window, this begins a DNS query which ultimately leads to a DNS server translating the domain name into an IP address.


What do IP addresses look like? These addresses have a different format based on whether they are IPv4 or IPv6.

What’s the difference between IPv4 and IPv6?

IPv4 and IPv6 are different versions of the Internet Protocol. IPv4 was implemented in 1983 and is still in use today. The format for IPv4 addresses is four sets of numbers separated by dots, for example: ‘74.125.224.72’. This is a 32-bit format, which means that it allows for 232, or about 4.3 billion, unique IP addresses, which it turns out is not enough for the amount of devices that are now on the internet. The need for more IP addresses led to the implementation of IPv6*. IPv6 addresses use a more complex format that utilizes sets of numbers and letters separated by single or double colons, for example: ‘2607:f860:4005:804::200e’. This 128-bit format can support 2128 unique addresses. (That computes to a 39-digit number!)


IPv6 provides some other updates to IPv4, including security and privacy improvements. Despite their differences, both IPv4 and IPv6 have been used concurrently on the web for around a decade. The two versions can run in parallel, but special measures had to be implemented to facilitate communications between IPv4 and IPv6 devices. This compromise had to be made because so much of the web is still running on IPv4 addresses.


*What happened to IPv5? IPv5 was an experimental streaming data protocol that was never implemented. It used the same 32-bit formatting as IPv4, so it did not adequately solve the problem of not having enough unique IP addresses. For this reason, IPv6 became the successor to IPv4.

What’s the difference between static IPs and dynamic IPs?

The limited supply of IPv4 addresses led to the introduction of dynamically assigning IP addresses, which is still a very common practice. Most devices connected to the Internet are assigned temporary IP addresses. For example, when a home user connects to the Internet on their laptop, that user’s ISP assigns them a temporary IP address from a pool of shared IP addresses. This is known as a dynamic IP address. This is more cost-effective for the ISP than assigning each user a permanent, or static, IP address.

dynamic IP Addresses

Some ISP customers, such as large enterprises, will pay to maintain a static IP address. (For example, Cloudflare’s 1.1.1.1). However, for most users, having a dynamic IP address is sufficient. When hosting a web server, such as a self-hosted website, API or gaming server, a dynamic IP address can create problems. A change in IP address can cause their DNS queries to fail, effectively taking the resource offline. Luckily, this issue can easily be corrected with Cloudflare’s dynamic DNS.