什么是反向 DNS?

反向 DNS 查找取 IP 地址,并返回与该 IP 关联的域名。传统的 DNS 查找则与之相反。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

反向 DNS

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 描述反向 DNS 查找
  • 概述反向 DNS 查找的用例
  • 了解 PTR 记录的定义以及它们存储 IP 地址的方式

什么是反向 DNS?

反向 DNS 查找是对给定 IP 地址所关联的域名的 DNS 查询。这与更常用的正向 DNS 查找相反,后者是查询 DNS 系统来返回 IP 地址。

reverse DNS

互联网工程任务组(IETF)提出了一些标准,建议每个域都应能够进行反向 DNS 查找,但由于反向查找对于 Internet 正常运作并不重要,因此这不是硬性要求。所以,反向 DNS 查找未得到普遍采用。

反向 DNS 查找有什么用途?

反向查找是电子邮件服务器极为常用的方法。许多电子邮件服务器会拒绝来自任何不支持反向查找的服务器的邮件。这是因为,垃圾邮件发送者通常使用无效的 IP,所以这些电子邮件服务器会先检查并查看邮件是否来自有效的服务器,然后再将其放入自己的网络中。


此外,日志记录软件通常也采用反向查找,以便在其日志数据中为用户提供人类可读的域名,而不是一堆数字 IP 地址。

反向 DNS 如何工作?

反向 DNS 查找向 DNS 服务器查询 PTR(指针)记录;如果服务器没有 PTR 记录,则无法解析反向查找。PTR 记录存储 IP 地址,将各段数字顺序颠倒,并在其后加上“.in-addr.arpa”。例如,如果域的 IP 地址为 1.2.3.4,则 PTR 记录会将该信息存储为 4.3.2.1.in-addr.arpa。

Reverse DNS

A reverse DNS lookup takes an IP address and returns the domain name associated with that IP. A traditional DNS lookup does just the opposite.

Reverse DNS

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Describe a reverse DNS lookup
  • Outline uses for reverse DNS lookups
  • Understand what PTR records are and how they store IP addresses

What is reverse DNS?

A reverse DNS lookup is a DNS query for the domain name associated with a given IP address. This accomplishes the opposite of the more-commonly-used forward DNS lookup, in which the DNS system is queried to return an IP address.

reverse DNS

There are standards from the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) suggesting that every domain should be capable of reverse DNS lookup, but as reverse lookups are not critical to the normal function of the internet, they are not a hard requirement. As such, reverse DNS lookups are not universally adopted.

What are reverse DNS lookups used for?

Reverse lookups are very commonly used by email servers. Many email servers will reject messages from any server that does not support reverse lookups. This is because spammers typically use invalid IPs, so these email servers check and see if the message came from a valid server before bringing it onto their network.


It’s also common for logging software to employ reverse lookups in order to provide users with human-readable domains in their log data as opposed to a bunch of numeric IP addresses.

How does reverse DNS work?

Reverse DNS lookups query DNS servers for a PTR (pointer) record; if the server does not have a PTR record, it cannot resolve a reverse lookup. PTR records store IP addresses with their segments reversed, and they append ‘.in-addr.arpa’ to that. For example if a domain has an IP address of 1.2.3.4, the PTR record will store that information as 4.3.2.1.in-addr.arpa.