什么是物联网(IoT)?

物联网(IoT)是连入互联网的器件的集合,如摄像头、冰箱和智能扬声器等。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

物联网

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义物联网(IoT)
  • 描述一些促进物联网广泛采用的技术
  • 概述 IoT 设备如何被用于网络攻击

什么是物联网(IoT)?

物联网是所有连入互联网的并且不属于传统计算机的设备的统称。这包括从健身追踪器和智能手表,到智能冰箱、耳机、相机、洗衣机、汽车、交通信号灯、飞机引擎和家庭安保系统等一切设备。

随着对 Internet 宽带服务的访问不断增长,处理器变得更加实惠,越来越多具有 Wi-Fi 功能的器件由此诞生。目前,大约有 85 亿个 IoT 设备存在,到 2020 年这个数字有望跃升至 200-300 亿。

这种设备网络给予用户巨大的利益和便利,但 IoT 设备也有成为攻击者目标的可能,并且成为参与网络攻击的一份子。与连入互联网的计算机一样,这些设备使用起来非常安全,但应采取预防措施来确保它们不会受到破坏。

物联网有怎样的发展历程?

一位名叫凯文·阿什顿(Kevin Ashton)的英国技术研究人员于 1999 年创造了“物联网”一词,但自上世纪八十年代初起,开发人员就已在探讨连入互联网的设备。实际上,第一台 IoT 设备是 1982 年制造的改装款苏打水机,它可传输有关其库存和内部饮料温度的数据。这只是一次性的原型,而且直到再过了 25 年后,物联网设备才开始广泛扩散。

两项技术为大规模制造 IoT 设备铺平了道路:RFID 标签和 IPv6 IP 地址。RFID 标签是小巧而轻盈的电子传感器,无需电源即可传输信息,并且生产成本也非常低。这些标签可以小至米粒一般,已在工业领域广泛采用。与 IoT 设备结合使用的 RFID 标签已用于跟踪仓库中的库存、装配线上的零件,甚至是医院中的患者。这一实践运用节省了无数的工时。工业领域也是第一个使用基于 IoT 的安保系统的行业,这样的系统中集成了智能摄像头和智能锁具等设备。

IPv6 地址的引入意味着互联网设备 IP 地址数量减少问题已成为历史,也为大规模生产消费型 IoT 设备开启了大门。“智能家居”概念也是推动向消费者交付 IoT 设备的主要因素,带来了对智能家居安保系统、摄像头、电视机、扬声器(如 Google Home)、灯具和恒温器等产品的巨大需求。

IoT 设备如何用于网络攻击?

许多 IoT 设备中的固件都没有与大多数计算机和智能手机上运行的现代操作系统相同的保护级别。在许多情况下,这些设备在无法修补的固件上运行。因此,IoT 设备常被攻击者视为容易攻击的目标。

一个典型的例子是 Mirai 僵尸网络Mirai 是一种恶意软件套件,可以通过控制 IoT 设备来创建用于 DDoS 攻击的僵尸网络。为了展开攻击,Mirai 会扫描 Internet 的大部分以查找 IoT 设备,然后尝试使用一系列用户名/密码组合(多种设备的预配置默认值)登录这些设备。由于许多人从不费心更改其设备上的登录凭据,因此 Mirai 能够构建一个由大量受损设备组成的网络,然后使这个网络感染上相应的软件,以使用恶意流量让目标服务器超载。

若要阻止 Mirai 和其他 IoT 僵尸网络攻击,需要每个拥有 IoT 设备的人重新启动其设备并更新其登录凭据。在此之前,仍然存在用户设备遭到窃取并用于 DDoS 攻击的可能性。同时,诸如 Cloudflare 的DDoS 保护等 DDoS 解决方案也是防止网站或服务遭受此类攻击的最佳方法。

What is the Internet Of Things (IoT)?

The Internet Of Things (IOT) is the collection of internet-connected gadgets such as cameras, refrigerators, and smart speakers.

Common DDoS Attacks
DDoS Attack Tools
DDoS Glossary of Terms

Internet Of Things

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define IoT
  • Describe some of the technologies that enabled widespread IoT adoption
  • Outline how IoT devices can be used in a cyber attack

What Is The Internet Of Things (IoT)?

Internet of Things is a catchall phrase for all the various internet-connected devices that are not traditional computers. This includes everything from fitness trackers and smart watches to smart refrigerators, headphones, cameras, washing machines, cars, traffic lights, airplane engines, and home security systems.

As access to broadband Internet service grows and processors become more affordable, more and more gadgets with Wi-Fi capabilities are being created. Currently there are around 8.5 billion IoT devices in existence and this number is expected to jump to 20-30 billion by the year 2020.

This network of devices produces great benefits and convenience for users, but IoT devices can also be targeted by attackers as well as used to carry out cyber attacks. As with internet-connected computers, these devices are perfectly safe to use, but precautions should be taken to ensure they aren’t compromised.

What’s the history of the Internet of Things?

A British technology researcher named Kevin Ashton coined the term ‘Internet of Things’ in 1999, but developers have been playing with the idea of internet-connected devices since the early 1980s. In fact, the first IoT device was a modified soda machine made in 1982 that transmitted data about its inventory and the temperature of the drinks inside. This was a one-off prototype, and the widespread proliferation of IoT devices didn’t start for another 25 years.

Two technologies helped pave the way for the mass manufacture of IoT devices: RFID tags and IPv6 IP addresses. RFID tags are small, lightweight electronic sensors that can transmit information without a power source, and they can be produced at very low cost. These tags can be as small as a grain of rice, and their use has been widely adopted in the industrial sector. RFID tags used in conjunction with IoT devices have been used to track inventory in a warehouse, parts on an assembly line, and even patients in a hospital. This practice has saved countless hours of labor. The industrial sector was also the first to use IoT-based security systems, incorporating devices like smart cameras and smart locks.

The introduction of IPv6 addresses meant that the dwindling number of IP addresses for internet devices was a problem of the past, and helped open the floodgates for the mass production of consumer IoT devices. The ‘smart home’ concept has also been a major driving factor in bringing IoT devices to the hands of consumers, creating a heavy demand for things like smart home security systems, cameras, televisions, speakers (e.g. Google Home), lighting, and thermostats.

How can IoT devices be used in cyber attacks?

The firmware in most IoT devices does not have the same level of protection as do the modern operating systems running on most computers and smartphones. In many cases these devices run on firmware that cannot be patched. As a result, IoT devices are often seen as easy targets by attackers.

A prime example of this is the Mirai botnet. Mirai is a malware suite that can take control of IoT devices for the purpose of creating a botnet to conduct DDoS attacks. Mirai works by scanning large portions of the Internet for IoT devices and then attempting to log into those devices using a series of username/password combinations that are the preconfigured defaults for several devices. Since many people never bother to change the login credentials on their devices, Mirai is able to build a large network of compromised devices, which it then infects with software used to overload a target server with malicious traffic.

Stopping Mirai and other IoT botnet attacks would require everyone who owns IoT devices to restart their devices and update their login credentials. Until then, there will remain the possibility of users having their devices compromised and used in DDoS attacks. In the meantime, a DDoS solution like Cloudflare’s DDoS protection is the best way to protect a web site or service from these sorts of attacks.