什么是ICMP?

互联网控制消息协议用于诊断互联网上的网络问题。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

ICMP

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义ICMP
  • 描述ping和traceroute的工作原理

什么是互联网控制消息协议(ICMP)?

互联网控制消息协议是网络设备用来诊断网络通信问题的互联网层协议。 ICMP主要用于确定数据是否及时到达其预期的目的地。通常,ICMP协议用于网络设备,例如路由器。

ICMP的用途是什么?

ICMP的主要目的是用于错误报告。当两个设备通过互联网连接时,如果任何数据未到达其预期的目的地,那么ICMP会生成错误以与发送给设备共享。

ICMP协议的第二个用途是执行网络诊断;常用的终端实用程序traceroute和ping都使用ICMP运行。Traceroute实用程序用于显示两个互联网设备之间的路由路径。路由路径是请求到达目的地之前必须经过的连接路由器的实际物理路径。一个路由器与另一个路由器之间的旅程称为“跃点”,跟踪路由还报告沿途每个跃点所需的时间。这对于确定网络延迟来源可能很有用。

Ping实用程序是traceroute的简化版本。 Ping将测试两个设备之间的连接速度,并准确报告数据包到达目的地并返回到发送方设备所花费的时间。尽管ping不提供有关路由或跃点的数据,但它对于衡量两个设备之间的延迟仍然是非常有用的指标。 ICMP回声请求和回声应答消息通常用于执行ping。不幸的是,网络攻击可以利用此过程,从而产生破坏手段,例如 ICMP Flood Attack(洪水攻击)Ping of Death(死亡之Ping)–––攻击。

ICMP Flood Attack(ICMP洪水攻击):

undefined

What Is ICMP?

The Internet Control Message Protocol is used to diagnose network issues over the Internet.

Common DDoS Attacks
DDoS Attack Tools
DDoS Glossary of Terms

ICMP

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define the ICMP
  • Describe how ping and traceroute work

What is the Internet Control Message Protocol (ICMP)?

The Internet Control Message Protocol is an internet layer protocol used by network devices to diagnose network communication issues. ICMP is mainly used to determine whether or not data is reaching its intended destination in a timely manner. Commonly, the ICMP protocol is used on network devices, such as routers.

What Is ICMP Used For?

The primary purpose of ICMP is for error reporting. When two devices connect over the Internet, the ICMP generates errors to share with the sending device in the event that any of the data did not get to its intended destination.

A secondary use of ICMP protocol is to perform network diagnostics; the commonly used terminal utilities traceroute and ping both operate using ICMP. The traceroute utility is used to display the routing path between two Internet devices. The routing path is the actual physical path of connected routers that a request must pass through before it reaches its destination. The journey between one router and another is known as a ‘hop’, and a traceroute also reports the time required for each hop along the way. This can be useful for determining sources of network delay.

The ping utility is a simplified version of traceroute. A ping will test the speed of the connection between two devices and report exactly how long it takes a packet of data to reach its destination and come back to the sender’s device. Although ping does not provide data about routing or hops, it is still a very useful metric for gauging the latency between two devices. The ICMP echo-request and echo-reply messages are commonly used for the purpose of performing a ping. Unfortunately network attacks can exploit this process, creating means of disruption such as the ICMP Flood Attack and the Ping of Death attack.

ICMP Flood Attack: