什么是缓存控制?缓存说明

缓存控制决定网站的缓存行为,让浏览器知道应以多少频率刷新本地存储的资源。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

缓存控制

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义访问控制
  • 描述浏览器缓存
  • 概述几个缓存控制指令

什么是缓存控制?

缓存控制是一种 HTTP 标头,指定浏览器的缓存行为。简而言之,当某人访问网站时,其浏览器将在称为缓存的存储中保存某些资源,例如图像和网站数据。当该用户重新访问同一网站时,缓存控制设置的规则会确定该用户是否从本地缓存中加载这些资源,或者浏览器是否必须向服务器发送新资源的请求。若要更深入地了解缓存控制,需要对浏览器缓存和 HTTP 标头有基本的认识。

什么是浏览器缓存?

如上文所述,浏览器缓存是指 Web 浏览器保存网站资源,以便不必再次从服务器获取它们。例如,网站上的背景图像可以保存到本地缓存中,这样在用户第二次访问该页面时,该图像将从用户的本地文件加载,页面就能以更快的速度加载加。

浏览器只会在指定的时间段里保留这些资源,这称为生存时间(TTL)。如果 TTL 过期后用户请求缓存的资源,浏览器必须再次与服务器联系并下载该资源的新副本。浏览器和 Web 服务器如何知道每一资源的 TTL?这是 HTTP 标头的用武之地。

什么是 HTTP 标头?

超文本传输协议(HTTP)概述了万维网上通信的语法,此通信由客户端对服务器的请求和服务器对客户端的响应构成。这些 HTTP 请求和响应各自带有一系列称为标头的键值对。

这些标头包含有关每次通信的许多重要信息。例如,请求标头通常包含:

  1. 有关请求了什么资源的信息
  2. 客户端正在使用哪一浏览器
  3. 客户端会接受哪些数据格式

响应标头通常包含以下信息:

  1. 请求是否成功得到满足
  2. 响应主体中任何资源的语言和格式。

缓存控制标头可以出现在 HTTP 请求和响应中。

什么是缓存控制标头?

标头由通过冒号分隔的键值对构成。对于缓存控制,“键”或冒号左侧的部分始终为“cache-control”。“值”是在冒号右侧的内容,可以有一个或几个逗号分隔的值来用于缓存控制。

Example Cache Control Header

这些值称为指令,指定谁可以缓存资源,以及在必须更新资源之前这些资源可以缓存的时间。下面我们介绍一些最常见的缓存控制指令:

cache-control: private

具有“private”指令的响应只能由客户端缓存,不能由中间代理(例如 CDN或代理)缓存。这些资源通常是包含私密数据的资源,例如显示用户个人信息的网站。

cache-control: public

相反,“public”指令表示资源可以由任何缓存存储。

cache-control: no-store

带有“no-store”指令的响应无法缓存到任何位置,也永不缓存。也就是说,用户每次请求此数据时,都必须将请求发送到源站服务器以获取新副本。此指令通常保留给包含极其敏感数据的资源,例如银行帐户信息。

cache-control: no-cache

此指令表示,只有先检查有无更新版本后,才可使用所请求资源的缓存版本。这通常使用 ETag 来完成。

ETag 是另一种 HTTP 标头,其中包含一个特定于请求之时资源版本的令牌。每当资源更新时,此令牌会源站服务器上更改。

每次用户返回到具有“no-cache”资源的页面时,客户端都必须连接到源站服务器,并将已缓存资源上的 ETag 与服务器上的 ETag 进行比较。如果 ETag 相同,则向用户提供缓存的资源。否则表示资源已经更新,客户端需要下载新版本以提供给用户。此过程可确保用户始终获得资源的最新版本,并且无需进行不必要的下载。

cache-control: max-age

此指令指定了生存时间,也就是资源在下载后可以从缓存服务多少秒钟。例如,如果将最大期限设置为 1800,则首次从服务器请求资源后的 1800 秒(30 分钟)内,后续请求都会向用户提供该资源的缓存版本。如果 30 分钟后用户再次请求资源,则客户端必须向源站服务器请求新副本。

“s-maxage”指令专门用于 CDN 等共享缓存,指定这些共享缓存能够在多长时间内持续从缓存中提供资源。该指令会覆盖各个客户端的“max-age”指令。

为什么缓存控制很重要?

浏览器缓存是一种既可以保留资源又能改善 Internet 上用户体验的好方法,但若没有缓存控制,它会非常脆弱。各个站点上的每一资源都受到相同缓存规则的约束;也就是说,敏感信息和公共信息会以相同的方式进行缓存,频繁更新的资源也与很少更改的资源缓存同样的时间。

缓存控制可以增加灵活性,让浏览器缓存真正发挥作用,使开发人员能够决定如何缓存每种资源。它还允许开发人员为中介设置特殊规则,这就是为什么使用 CDN 的网站(例如Cloudflare CDN )的性能一般要胜于不使用 CDN 的网站。

What Is Cache-Control? Cache Explained

Cache control dictates caching behavior for a website, letting browsers know how often to refresh locally stored resources.

Cache-Control

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define cache control
  • Describe browser caching
  • Outline several cache-control directives

What is cache-control?

Cache-control is an HTTP header that dictates browser caching behavior. In a nutshell, when someone visits a website, their browser will save certain resources, such as images and website data, in a store called the cache. When that user revisits the same website, cache-control sets the rules which determine whether that user will have those resources loaded from their local cache, or whether the browser will have to send a request to the server for fresh resources. In order to understand cache-control in greater depth, a basic understanding of browser caching and HTTP headers is required.

What is browser caching?

As explained above, browser caching is when a web browser saves website resources so it doesn’t have to fetch them again from a server. For example, a background image on a website might be saved locally in cache so that when a user visits that page for the second time, the image will load from the user’s local files and the page will load much faster.

Browsers will only store these resources for a specified period of time, known as the Time To Live (TTL). If a user requests a cached resource after the TTL has expired, the browser will have to reach out to the server again and download a fresh copy of the resource. How do browsers and web servers know the TTL for each resource? This is where HTTP headers come into play.

What are HTTP headers?

The Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) outlines the syntax for communications on the World Wide Web, and this communication consists of requests from clients to servers and responses from servers back to clients. These HTTP requests and responses each come stamped with a series of key-value pairs called headers.

These headers contain a lot of important information about each communication. For example, a request header usually contains:

  1. Information on what resource is being requested
  2. Which browser the client is using
  3. What data formats the client will accept

Response headers often include information on:

  1. Whether or not the request was successfully fulfilled
  2. The language and format of any resources in the body of the response.

A cache-control header can appear in both HTTP requests and responses.

What’s in a cache-control header?

Headers consist of key-value pairs which are separated by a colon. For cache-control, the ‘key’, or the part to the left of the colon, is always ‘cache-control’. The ‘value’ is what’s found on the right of the colon, and there can be one or several comma-separated values for cache control.

Example Cache Control Header

These values are called directives, and they dictate who can cache a resource as well as how long those resources can be cached before they must be updated. Below we go through some of the most common cache-control directives:

cache-control: private

A response with a ‘private’ directive can only be cached by the client and never by an intermediary agent, such as a CDN or a proxy. These are often resources containing private data, such as a website displaying a user’s personal information.

cache-control: public

Conversely, the ‘public’ directive means the resource can be stored by any cache.

cache-control: no-store

A response with a ‘no-store’ directive cannot be cached anywhere, ever. This means that every time a user requests this data, a request must be sent to the origin server for a fresh copy. This directive is typically reserved for resources that contain extremely sensitive data, such as bank account information.

cache-control: no-cache

This directive means that cached versions of the requested resource cannot be used without first checking to see if there is an updated version. This is typically done using an ETag.

An ETag is another HTTP header which contains a token unique to the version of the resource at the time it was requested. This token is changed on the origin server whenever the resource is updated.

When a user returns to a page with a ‘no-cache’ resource, the client will always have to connect to the origin server and compare the ETag on the cached resource with one on the server. If the ETags are identical, the cached resource will be provided to the user. If not, this means that the resource has been updated and the client will need to download a fresh version to provide to the user. This process ensures that the user is always getting the most up-to-date version of that resource without requiring unnecessary downloads.

cache-control: max-age

This directive dictates the time to live, in other words how many seconds a resource can be served from cache after it's been downloaded. For example, if the max age is set to 1800, this means that for 1,800 seconds (30 minutes) after the resource was first requested from the server, the user will be served a cached version of that resource on subsequent requests. If the user requests the resource again after that 30 minutes has expired, the client will have to request a fresh copy from the origin server.

The ‘s-maxage’ directive is specifically for shared caches such as CDNs, and it dictates how long those shared caches can keep serving up the resource from cache. This directive overrides the ‘max-age’ directive for individual clients.

Why does cache-control matter?

Browser caching is a great way to both preserve resources and improve user experience on the Internet, but without cache-control, it would be very brittle. Every resource on every site would be bound by the same caching rules, meaning that sensitive information would be cached the same way as public information, and frequently-updated resources would be cached for the same amount of time as ones that rarely change.

Cache-control adds the flexibility that makes browser caching truly useful, letting developers dictate how each resource will be cached. It also lets developers set special rules for intermediaries, which is a factor in why sites that use a CDN, like the Cloudflare CDN, tend to perform better than sites that don’t.