什么是 GSLB?负载均衡说明

全局服务器负载均衡(GSLB)是一种将 Internet 流量分散到全球服务器网络的方法,可带来更加快速、可靠的用户体验。

Share facebook icon linkedin icon twitter icon email icon

GSLB

学习目标

阅读本文后,您将能够:

  • 定义全局服务器负载均衡
  • 描述 GSLB 如何提高可靠性和性能

什么是 GSLB?

全局服务器负载均衡(GSLB)是一种在分布于世界各地的大量联网服务器之间分配 Internet 流量的方法。GSLB 具有提高可靠性和缩短延迟等益处。

想象一家通过邮购向全球顾客销售鞋子的商店。如果这家鞋店在单个地点运营,那么远方的顾客需要很久才能提交订单并收到购买的鞋子。在繁忙的购物季节,鞋店可能会因为订单过多而无法迅速为所有顾客的订单交货。

Too Many Orders

现在假设这家鞋店在世界各地开设了几家分店。这样一来,顾客可以从附近的门店订购鞋子,这不仅能缩短运输时间,还能降低个别店铺订单过多的几率。这正是 GSLB 对网站和服务所发挥的作用,成为最受拥有全球用户群的公司欢迎的一种负载均衡解决方案。

什么是负载均衡?

负载均衡是在两台或更多服务器之间分配流量的一种方法。一些负载均衡技术基于随机化流量分配,采用“笨拙的”负载均衡策略。例如,循环 DNS 就是一种随机化 DNS 负载均衡技术,它将每个请求发送到与最后一个请求不同的服务器。另外也有“聪明的”负载均衡技术,它们能够通过分析数据来确定哪一服务器是处理请求的最佳服务器。例如,Anycast 路由在选取服务器时部分基于客户端与服务器之间的最快传输时间。

GSLB 如何缩短延迟?

即使在源站服务器超载并停止满足请求之前,传向服务器的大量流量仍可能会导致严重的延迟问题。GSLB 系统可以将这些流量分配到几个不同的位置,确保没有一个位置因为处理太多请求而导致延迟。

另外,GSLB 可以大大缩短用户与服务器之间请求和响应的传输时间。如果用户在洛杉矶,正在使用源站服务器器位于巴黎的 Web 服务,那么请求和响应都必须传输非常远的距离,整个路程分割成数个称为“跃点”的小段。这可能会导致加载时间明显延迟。

使用 GSLB 时,全球服务器池可确保每个用户都可以连接到地理位置较近的服务器,最大程度地减少跃点数并缩短传输时间。在上例中,如果这家位于巴黎的公司使用了 GSLB,那么洛杉矶用户就能连接到距离 100 英里内的服务器,获得更加畅快的用户体验。

如何启用 GSLB?

若要实施 GSLB,一种最简单并且成本效益最高的方法是利用内容交付网络(CDN),如 Cloudflare CDN。全球 CDN 服务从客户的源站服务器获取数据并将其缓存在地理上分散的服务器网络中,从而向世界各地的用户提供快速可靠的 Internet 内容交付。

What Is GSLB? Load Balancing Explained

Global Server Load Balancing (GSLB) is a method of distributing internet traffic to a network of servers across the globe, creating a faster and more reliable user experience.

Share

GSLB

Learning Objectives

After reading this article you will be able to:

  • Define Global Server Load Balancing
  • Describe how GSLB can create improvements reliability and performance

What Is GSLB?

Global Server Load Balancing or GSLB is the practice of distributing Internet traffic amongst a large number of connected servers dispersed around the world. The benefits of GSLB include increased reliability and reductions in latency.

Imagine a store that sells shoes through the mail to customers all over the world. If that shoe store operates out of a single location, it will take a very long time for faraway customers to submit orders and receive their shoes. During busy shopping seasons, the store might get overloaded with orders and lose the ability to fill all their customers’ orders quickly.

Too Many Orders

Now imagine that the shoe store opens several more locations all over the world. This means customers can order shoes from a nearby location, cutting down on shipping times and reducing the possibility of one store getting overloaded with orders. This is exactly what GSLB does for web sites and services, making it one of the most popular load balancing solutions for companies with a global user base.

What is load balancing?

Load balancing is the practice of distributing traffic among two or more servers. Some load balancing technique utilize a ‘dumb’ load balancing strategy, based on randomizing the distribution of traffic. For example round-robin DNS, a randomized DNS load balancing technique, sends each request to a different server than the last. There are also ‘smart’ load balancing techniques that analyze data in order to decide which is the best server to handle a request. Anycast routing, for example, picks a server based in part on the quickest travel time between the client and the server.

How does GSLB reduce latency?

Even before an origin server overloads and stops fulfilling requests, high amounts of traffic to that server can still cause significant latency issues. A GSLB system can distribute that traffic among several different locations, ensuring that no single location is handling so many requests that it causes delay.

Additionally GSLB can greatly reduce the travel time of requests and responses between users and servers. If a user is in Los Angeles and they are using a web service with a Paris-based origin server, then both the requests and responses will have to travel a very long distance, cut up into smaller travel segments called ‘hops’. This can cause significant delays in load time.

Using GSLB, a worldwide pool of servers ensures that each user can connect to a server that is geographically close to them, minimizing hops and travel time. In the example above, if the Paris-based company was utilizing GSLB, the Los Angeles user could connect to a server within 100 miles of their location, resulting in a much snappier user experience.

How to enable GSLB?

One of the easiest and most cost-effective ways to implement GSLB is through a Content Delivery Network (CDN), such as the Cloudflare CDN. A global CDN service will take data from their customers’ origin servers and cache it on a geographically distributed network of servers, providing fast and reliable delivery of Internet content to users around the world.